Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

## ##

B-side of an audio-play about cinema: part film-manifesto, part audio-essay, part cinematic-séance, channeled via the voice and words of Berlin/Salford-based FITH co-founder, filmmaker, writer Dalia Neis aka Dice Miller, with music, arrangement, and celluloid-splicing from Berlin-based Kreidler-chief, Andreas Reihse.
Voices summoned from the lucid realms of the technologically-spirited, more-than- human archive: “[…] backed with abstraction of classical instrumentation, with stabs of strings warped into a thousand fragments, brutally interspersed with piercing shrieks before bringing things back to earth with perfectly measured throbbing organic whirrs. Focussing on images, but […] bringing things almost chronologically forward, with the history of film being investigated.”

by
Dalia Neis
Andreas Reihse
Mohamed A. Gawad

Germany 2017

English

11’

With

Dalia Neis
René Schohe

Crew

Directors
Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse, Mohamed A. Gawad
Screenplay
Dice Miller
Music
Andreas Reihse
Sound
Andreas Reihse, Dice Miller
Producer
Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse, Mohamed A. Gawad

Biography

Dalia Neis

Dalia Neis is a writer, filmmaker, and vocalist living in Berlin and Salford. She is currently completing her PhD on cinematic representations of wind and the essay form in Salford. As Dice Miller, she is part of the experimental musical/poetry group, FITH, and is co-founder of Wanda-Portal – an imprint that releases albums and pamphlets that spiral across the cinematic, literary, and sonic spheres.

Filmography

2005 Missing Meilich 2008 Goray 1648 2010 Charles Bronson is Ibn Arabi 2012 Saints 2017 Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Andreas Reihse

Andreas Reihse is a Berlin-based musician and artist. Besides being a member of the internationally acclaimed electronic band Kreidler, he has worked for films, plays, performances, and installations. He also curates MOVES, a series of screenings, performances, and talks at Berlin's Image Movement.

Filmography

1985 Koordination Gehen 2002 Two Drifters; 4 min., with Jutta Tränkle 2012 Volkan, Van, No Moons 2013 Long Lines Andropov’s Ears 2017 Image Mouvement I-III · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Mohamed A. Gawad

Mohamed A. Gawad is an editor and filmmaker based in Cairo. He is co-founder of Cimatheque and a board member of CIC – Contemporary Image Collective.

Filmography

2009 Wogoud 2010 The Time of Thirst 2011 Call Egypt 2012 Lucid Shadows 2015 re : Di d u s ee t hat?! 2017 Betalpha · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Dalia Neis

Andreas Reihse

Mohamed A. Gawad

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

## ##

Die B-Seite eines Hörspiels über das Kino, zu gleichen Teilen Filmmanifest, Audio-Essay und Kinoséance. Text und Stimme stammen von der in Berlin und Salford lebenden Filmemacherin, Autorin und FITH-Mitbegründerin Dalia Neis aka Dice Miller; Musik, Arrangement und Zelluloid-Schnitt hat der Berliner Kreidler-Chef Andreas Reihse beigesteuert.
Stimmen aus den luziden Sphären des technologiebeseelten, mehr-als-menschlichen Archivs „[…] vor einem klassisch instrumentierten Hintergrund, aus dem in tausend Fragmente verdrehte Streicher stoßen, von markerschütterndem Gekreische brutal durchtrennt, um dann mit perfekt getaktetem, wabernd-organischem Summen wieder auf den Boden zu kommen. Eine auf Bilder fixierte, fast chronologisch fortschreitende Untersuchung der Filmgeschichte.“

von
Dalia Neis
Andreas Reihse
Mohamed A. Gawad

Deutschland 2017

Englisch

11’

Mit

Dalia Neis
René Schohe

Stab

Regie
Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse, Mohamed A. Gawad
Buch
Dice Miller
Musik
Andreas Reihse
Ton
Andreas Reihse, Dice Miller
Produzent
Dalia Neis, Andreas Reihse, Mohamed A. Gawad

Biografie

Dalia Neis

Dalia Neis ist Autorin, Filmemacherin und Sängerin und lebt in Berlin und Salford. In Salford promoviert sie zur Repräsentation des Winds und zur Essayform. Als Dice Miller ist sie Teil der experimentellen Musik-Poesie-Gruppe FITH und sie ist Mitgründerin von Wanda-Portal, einem Verlag, der Alben und Flugblätter herausgibt, die sich um kinematographische, literarische und "Klangwelten drehen.

Filmografie

2005 Missing Meilich; 22 Min. 2008 Goray 1648; 8 Min. 2010 Charles Bronson is Ibn Arabi 2012 Saints 2017 Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Andreas Reihse

Andreas Reihse ist Musiker und Künstler und lebt in Berlin. Er ist Teil der international gefeierten Elektronikband Kreidler und arbeitet außerdem für Filme, Theater, Performances oder Installationen. Er ist der Kurator von MOVES, einer Serie von Screenings, Performances und Vorträgen bei Image Movement in Berlin.

Filmografie

1985 Koordination Gehen; 3 Min. 2002 Two Drifters; 4 Min., mit Jutta Tränkle 2012 Volkan, Van, No Moons; 8 Min, 8 Min., 5 Min. 2013 Long Lines Andropov’s Ears; 5 Min. 2017 Image Mouvement I-III; 15 Min. · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Mohamed A. Gawad

Mohamed A. Gawad ist Editor und Filmemacher und lebt in Kairo. Er ist Mitgründer der Cimatheque und im Vorstand von CIC – Contemporary Image Collective.

Filmografie

2009 Wogoud; 6 Min. 2010 The Time of Thirst; 18 Min. 2011 Call Egypt; 4 Min. 2012 Lucid Shadows; 5 Min. 2015 re : Di d u s ee t hat?!; 1 Min. 2017 Betalpha; 4 Min. · Celluloid Corridors: Timehelix · Celluloid Corridors: Sermon

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Dalia Neis

Andreas Reihse

Mohamed A. Gawad