Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Classics

Az én XX. századom

My 20th Century

Mein 20. Jahrhundert

## ## ## ##

In 1879, as Thomas Alva Edison was lighting up Menlo Park with his first demonstration of the incandescent light bulb, far away in Europe, a dark and joyless childhood was beginning for identical twins Dora and Lili in Budapest. Orphaned and separated as young girls by a quirk of fate, their lives take very different directions. Dora becomes a successful con woman, while Lili joins a group of anarchist revolutionaries. Unknown to each other, their paths cross again briefly on New Year’s Eve in 1899 on the Orient Express. They will ultimately be linked by Z, a cosmopolitan gentlemen who has no idea that he is actually wooing two woman, not one …This first feature by director Ildikó Enyedi, who won the Golden Bear at the 2017 Berlinale for Testről és lélekről (On Body and Soul), is a bit like a puzzle. It presents the audience with a romantic love story, a poetic fairy tale, an erotic riddle – and at the same time, an inventory of new technology – electricity, the telegraph, film. Conceived as an homage to silent movies and shot in black-and-white, Az én XX. századom references many silent film techniques and tricks. – World premiere of the digitally restored version in 4K DCP.

by
Ildikó Enyedi

Hungary / Federal Republic of Germany 1989

Hungarian

105 min · Black/White · 4K DCP

Digitally restored version 2017

With

Dorota Segda
Oleg Jankovski
Péter Andorai
Gábor Máthé
Paulus Manker
Gyula Kéri
Andrei Schwartz
Dietrich Kuhlbrodt

Crew

Written and directed by
Ildikó Enyedi
Director of Photography
Tibor Máthé
Editor
Mária Rigó
Music
László Vidovszky
Sound
István Sipos
Set Construction
Róza Bálint
Costumes
Agnes Gyarmathy
Make-up
Helga Járai
Producers
Gábor Hanák, Norbert Friedländer

Biography

Ildikó Enyedi

Born in Budapest, Hungary in 1955, she began her career as a concept and media artist before turning to short and feature films as a writer and director. She has received more than 40 international awards for her work. Her film My 20th Century was chosen as one of the best 12 Hungarian films of all time. In 1992 she was a member of the Berlinale’s International Jury. She teaches masterclasses in film at the University of Theatre and Film Arts, Budapest. She is a founding member of the European Cross Media Academy and a member of the European Film Academy.

Filmography

1981 Flirt; short film 1983 The Viewer; short film 1986 Invasion 1987 The Mole 1988 Will-o’-the-wisp 1989 My 20th Century 1991 Winter War 1995 Magic Hunter 1997 Tamás and Juli 1999 Simon Magus 2000 Geschichten in Gesichtern 2004 EUROPA 2008 First Love 2013 TERÁPIA 1 + 2 + 3; TV series, 2012–2016 2017 Testről és lélekről

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Budapest Filmstudio

Friedländer Filmproduktion

World sales

Hungarian National Film Archive

Restoration by
Hungarian National Film Fund – Hungarian Film Archive, Budapest; Hungary

Digital image restoration: Hungarian Film Lab, Budapest; Hungary
Under the supervision of Tibor Máthé

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Classics

Az én XX. századom

My 20th Century

Mein 20. Jahrhundert

## ## ## ##

1879. Während in New Jersey Thomas Alva Edison Menlo Park im Licht der neuen Glühbirnen erstrahlen lässt, beginnt in Budapest, im tristen, fernen Europa, für die Zwillinge Dora und Lili eine licht- und freudlose Kindheit. Auf wundersame Weise voneinander getrennt, gehen sie bald unterschiedliche Wege: Dora reüssiert als Hochstaplerin, Lili schließt sich einer Anarchistengruppe an. In der Silvesternacht 1899 kreuzen sich ihre Lebensläufe, ohne sich zu berühren, im Orientexpress. Was sie verbinden wird, ist Z, ein weitgereister Gentleman, der nicht ahnt, dass er mit zwei Frauen eine Liaison hat statt mit einer … Das Debüt der 2017 für ihren Film Testről és lélekről (Körper und Seele) mit dem Goldenen Bären ausgezeichneten Regisseurin Ildikó Enyedi funktioniert wie ein Vexierbild. Es bietet dem Zuschauer eine romantische Liebesgeschichte, ein poetisches Märchen, ein erotisches Rätsel – und zugleich ein Inventar der einstmals Neuen Medien: Elektrizität, Telegrafie, Film. Als eine Hommage an den Stummfilm gedacht und in Schwarz-Weiß gedreht, zitiert Az én XX. századom dessen technische Mittel und Tricks. – Welterstaufführung der digital restaurierten Fassung im Vorführformat 4K DCP.

von
Ildikó Enyedi

Ungarn / Bundesrepublik Deutschland 1989

Ungarisch

105’ · Schwarz-Weiß · 4K DCP

Digital restaurierte Fassung 2017

Mit

Dorota Segda
Oleg Jankovski
Péter Andorai
Gábor Máthé
Paulus Manker
Gyula Kéri
Andrei Schwartz
Dietrich Kuhlbrodt

Stab

Regie, Buch
Ildikó Enyedi
Kamera
Tibor Máthé
Montage
Mária Rigó
Musik
László Vidovszky
Ton
István Sipos
Bau-Ausführung
Róza Bálint
Kostüm
Agnes Gyarmathy
Maske
Helga Járai
Produzenten
Gábor Hanák, Norbert Friedländer

Biografie

Ildikó Enyedi

Geboren 1955 in Budapest. Begann ihre Karriere als Konzept- und Medienkünstlerin und wandte sich später als Regisseurin und Drehbuchautorin sowohl dem Kurz- als auch dem Spielfilm zu. Für ihre Arbeiten gewann sie über 40 internationale Preise. Ihr Film My 20th Century von 1989 wurde unter die besten ungarischen Filme aller Zeiten gewählt. 1992 war sie Mitglied der Internationalen Jury der Berlinale. Sie unterrichtet Film in Meisterklassen und an der Theater- und Filmhochschule in Budapest und ist Gründungsmitglied der European Cross Media Academy sowie Mitglied der European Film Academy.

Filmografie

1981 Flirt; Kurzfilm 1983 The Viewer; Kurzfilm 1986 Invasion 1987 The Mole 1988 Will-o’-the-wisp 1989 My 20th Century 1991 Winter War 1995 Magic Hunter 1997 Tamás and Juli 1999 Simon Magus 2000 Geschichten in Gesichtern 2004 EUROPA 2008 First Love 2013 TERÁPIA 1 + 2 + 3; TV-Serie, 2012–2016 2017 Testről és lélekről; On Body and Soul

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Budapest Filmstudio

Friedländer Filmproduktion

Weltvertrieb

Hungarian National Film Archive

Eine Restaurierung des
Hungarian National Film Fund – Hungarian Film Archive, Budapest; Ungarn

Digitale Restaurierung: Hungarian Film Lab, Budapest; Ungarn
Unter der Aufsicht von Tibor Máthé