Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Berlinale Talents 2017:
A Question of Community

“Courage: Against All Odds” is the theme of Berlinale Talents, which in 2017 is already in its 15th edition. It in no way shows its age, however, and continues to seek out experimental fields to renew itself. In this interview, Project Manager Christine Tröstrum and Programme Manager Florian Weghorn speak about an analogue virtual reality performance and the courage of young Talents across the world.

A large part of Berlinale Talents is open to the public, and interaction with the general public is crucial. What can festival-goers look forward to this year?

Florian Weghorn: Well, things will certainly start with a bang. On Sunday morning, Jury President Paul Verhoeven and jury member Maggie Gyllenhaal discuss courage and challenges in the context of their films and a complex film industry. Questions from the audience are actively welcomed. And then in the afternoon, Christo introduces his working methods and will spend an hour answering questions. He prefers not to have a moderator for this event and instead is ceding control to the audience, which promises to be very exciting.

Christine Tröstrum: We’re making even more room for interaction and want to dissolve more and more the strict demarcation of roles between the audience and panel members. Berlinale Talents has always developed new formats “against all odds.” The governing principles are always the content and the interests of the Talents and visitors.

FW: For example, whoever wants to know what’s behind the current hype about virtual reality might be disappointed by events elsewhere. You don these thick glasses and listen to people saying extremely interesting things but they’re unfortunately rather hard to understand. We believe, in contrast, that the founding principles of VR – trusting in a much more active spectator, the open-ended flow of narrative and so on – have been experimented with for a long time already in performance art and theatre. So instead of just talking, we have invited the Gob Squad performance collective to demonstrate their methods in a practical manner and to interact with the audience. In this way, we’re providing exciting ways to access technical innovations.

„Looking Ahead: Meet Your Future Audience“ with Paul Tyler - Berlinale Talents 2016

So are there really no classic talks anymore?

FW: Of course, lots of filmmakers from the festival programme such as Agnieszka Holland, Gurinder Chadha, Raoul Peck, Andres Veiel, Olafur Eliasson and Sally Potter will be on stage and talk about their films and art. And naturally the Talents and the audience love to listen to someone like Meryl Streep, for example. But we’re going beyond that and creating new spaces. Workshops will become part of the public programme and we’re combining formats which were strictly separated before. On February 12, for example, Berlinale Talents alumna Ana Lily Amirpour, who had worldwide success with her film A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night and recently presented her new film The Bad Batch in Venice, will bring the playlist of her inspirations live to the stage. We’re interested in what’s behind her films but also in how she deals creatively with references to pop, music and other films . All this will hopefully be revealed in a relaxed and very cool format.

It’s always important for you to take a look behind the scenes of the films too, isn’t it?

FW: We want to complement the festival film programme in terms of content by providing a length and depth which normal Q&As can’t. Another distinctive feature is that we represent all disciplines, not just the director, producer and actors. This can be seen in the “Body Experience: Sounds from Inside” panel. Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe and Nicolas Becker recently gave aliens voices in Arrival and created the sounds for this remarkable sci-fi film. The audience can delve into an unfamiliar side of a film they might have just seen in the multiplex. At Berlinale Talents, all disciplines are the stars and the film is always seen as a synthesis of the arts.

CT: On February 12, 2017, the Robert Bosch Stiftung and we will celebrate five years of the Film Prize for International Cooperation between Germany and the Arab World. The awards ceremony is also open to the public and will show clips from films which are currently being produced, meaning works-in-progress – so, another glimpse behind the scenes. And that evening the winners of the animation, short and documentary film awards will also be present. It has required courage in many different areas to develop this film award but we have noticed how much cross-communication the Robert Bosch Stiftung has fostered and how closely the many German-Arab teams have grown together during the process.

Berlinale Talents 2016

Courage and Optimism

“Courage: Against All Odds” is your theme for 2017. Courage is a must-have in an industry where the risk of failure is so high. Do courage and tenacity pay off?

CT: Yes. An example of this is Palestinian filmmaker Ahmed Saleh who in 2017 submitted a project to the Film Prize of the Robert Bosch Stiftung for the third time. He was turned down twice before but nevertheless gave it another go: that demanded courage and also, of course, perseverance. He was a Talent with us in 2013. His tenacity already paid off during his second attempt because it enabled him to meet German producer Stefan Gieren, and together they worked on the project Ayny – My Second Eye which won the Student Oscar. That is a very nice success story. Courage begins with small steps and is essential to turn dreams and visions into reality. That is the core idea of Berlinale Talents: to always encourage!

One of the slogans on your posters this year is “Why Don't You Get a Real Job?” Haven’t working conditions in general become so extremely precarious during the last 15 years that this question has almost become irrelevant?

FW: That’s often true. Filmmakers are freelancers par excellence, with all the advantages and disadvantages that involves. It’s important to recognise this situation and to scrutinise it, but the Talents have also chosen their careers themselves. Thus they should have a positive answer to the question “Why Don't You Get a Real Job?” Many will say: “This job gives me the freedom to express myself. That is reason enough to contend with the risks.” But, for all our enthusiasm, courage and perseverance cannot replace an income. Whilst you can forego proper payment for the chance of a breakthrough once, we don’t want to encourage people to work long-term in precarious circumstances. It’s better to talk about this issue openly – what we’ll do for example on Tuesday, our “producers day”.

The HAU Hebbel am Ufer 1 - Berlinale Talents 2016

CT: “Why Don't You Get a Real Job?” is one of those typical sentences you hear from your grandmother. Our daily discourse is unfortunately often shaped in very negative ways. In contrast, Berlinale Talents says, “We believe in you”. We accentuate the positive and spread it out into the world. We’re especially delighted, of course, when films by former Talents are screened at the Berlinale. This year there are 93 films in which, believe it or not, 131 alumni were involved. In cooperation with Panorama, Forum, Generation and Berlinale Shorts, we’re screening four films and a short film selection followed by post-screening discussions in the wonderful HAU Hebbel am Ufer theatre.

“Against All Odds” brings to mind romantic heroes who assert themselves against all outside opposition. But it seems to me that the system is risk-averse and seeks to eliminate all possible dangers, including scripts being ever more optimised. In these circumstances, is courage not discouraged?

FW: Of course, sustainable models for showing courage on a daily basis whilst working within the “system” quickly become more of a desire than a reality. In “The Road Not Taken: Funding Courage” we ask film funders to give their concrete ideas about how to support experimentation and art in improved and longer lasting ways. We didn’t have the lonely romantic hero in mind at all. Berlinale Talents practices and proves the opposite. We bring people together who can work “against all odds” in teams. Courage multiplies!

CT: Since 2016, we’ve had a partnership with Kickstarter. This cooperation was an important step to inspire both us and the Talents about alternative routes to film financing. And the courage has been rewarded. For example, with the help of Kickstarter two young producers from Berlin managed to co-finance Bruce LaBruce’s new film The Misandrists which is screening in the 2017 Panorama. It was nail-biting to see whether or not they’d hit their target and it was a learning process, both for Bruce LaBruce and the producers. Film projects have to be presented differently there than with conventional funders and we are very grateful to Kickstarter for their expertise.

At the 2016 „Script Station“

Community

What motivates the Talents today? Is it fame alone?

FW: Fame is always nice, but what really motivates the Talents is the community. You can see that from the very first second as they come together here in Berlin. And when the participants discover over the course of the days that they have many things in common, that releases an incredible amount of energy. It knocks our socks off every year.

Many renowned players in the film industry stress how important negative experiences have also been for their careers. Is failure a prerequisite for success?

CT: Failure is a part of our daily lives. Some things simply don’t come off. And the more experience I gain, the better and more positively I can deal with the failures. They’re stages of development we have to go through. Perhaps the film financing falls through. Okay, then I’ll find another way. Sometimes only a change in career can help. Many great and well-known directors were only active for 15 years. Filmmaking can sometimes be just one stage in your life – let’s celebrate that or offer reasonable “exit strategies.”

Are there also situations in life when all the courage in the world does not help and you simply have to accept failure?

FW: We don’t invite anyone to Berlin and promise them the moon. We give the Talents the opportunity to become a part of the Berlinale Talents family. We remain in contact throughout the good times and the bad, because the group can always help each other. And hopefully it’s also a small “reality check” where people can review the state of things before they perhaps head down the drains.

In a press release you spoke about moments of courage in the filmmaking process “pushing artistic, political or financial boundaries.” What boundaries still remain today?

CT: In 2017, we have 250 participants from 71 countries, while our alumni network spans over 6,500 Talents from more than 100 countries. The Afghan filmmaker Karima Ishchi remained in Germany after the 2016 edition of Berlinale Talents because she kept hitting walls in her home country. She wasn’t allowed to do anything there, and now, in Berlin, she is enjoying a greater amount of freedom. We should always bear in mind restrictions like these in other countries across the world as well. Even here, we can again see massive efforts to build walls at the moment. We should value and cherish our freedom, and above all our freedom of artistic expression.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Berlinale Talents 2017:
Eine Frage der Gemeinschaft

„Courage: Against All Odds“: Mit diesem Thema geht Berlinale Talents 2017 in die bereits 15. Runde. Ihr Alter merkt man der Festivalinitiative indes nicht an, unvermindert sucht sie nach Experimentierfeldern, um sich zu erneuern. Im Interview sprechen die Projektleiterin Christine Tröstrum und der Programmleiter Florian Weghorn über eine analoge Virtual-Reality-Performance und den Mut junger Talente in aller Welt.

Berlinale Talents ist zum großen Teil eine öffentliche Veranstaltung. Dabei steht die Interaktion mit dem Publikum im Vordergrund. Worauf dürfen sich die Festivalbesucher in diesem Jahr freuen?

Florian Weghorn: Es geht gleich gut los: Am Sonntagmorgen sprechen Jurypräsident Paul Verhoeven und Jurymitglied Maggie Gyllenhaal über Mut und Hindernisse im Kontext ihrer Filme und einer komplexen Filmindustrie. Fragen aus dem Publikum sind sehr willkommen. Christo wird nachmittags in seine Arbeitsweisen einführen und ist dann eine Stunde für die Fragen der Besucher offen. Er will keine Moderation, sondern dem Publikum die Führung überlassen. Das wird spannend.

Christine Tröstrum: Wir machen noch mehr Platz für Interaktion und wollen die strikte Rollenverteilung zwischen Publikum und Panelteilnehmern mehr und mehr auflösen. Berlinale Talents hat schon immer „against all odds“ neue Formate entwickelt. Die Leitlinien sind dabei immer die Inhalte und die Interessen der Talente und Besucher.

FW: Wer sich etwa fragt, was hinter dem momentanen Hype um Virtual Reality steckt, ist vielleicht von Veranstaltungen anderswo enttäuscht. Man kann dicke Brillen aufsetzen und ansonsten Leuten lauschen, die extrem interessante, aber leider etwas schwer verständliche Dinge sagen. Wir glauben dagegen, dass Grundprinzipien von VR – das Vertrauen in einen viel aktiveren Zuschauer, die offenen Erzählverläufe und so weiter – eigentlich längst in der Performancekunst und im Theater erprobt wurden. Statt also wieder zu talken, haben wir das bekannte Performance-Kollektiv Gob Squad zu Gast, die ihre Methoden praktisch zeigen und dabei auch mit dem Publikum interagieren werden. So schaffen wir spannende Zugänge zu technischen Innovationen.

„Looking Ahead: Meet Your Future Audience“ mit Paul Tyler - Berlinale Talents 2016

Gibt es denn gar keine klassischen Talks mehr?

FW: Selbstverständlich kommen aus dem Festivalprogramm wieder viele Filmemacher wie Agnieszka Holland, Gurinder Chadha, Raoul Peck, Andres Veiel, Olafur Eliasson oder Sally Potter zu uns, um auf der Bühne über ihre Filme und Kunst zu sprechen. Und natürlich lieben es auch die Talente, zum Beispiel einer Meryl Streep zuzuhören. Aber eben nicht nur. Dafür schaffen wir neue Räume. Workshops werden Teil des öffentlichen Programms und wir verbinden somit Formate, die früher klar getrennt waren. Am 12. Februar zeigt zum Beispiel Talents-Alumna Ana Lily Amirpour, die mit ihrem Film A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night weltweit großen Erfolg hatte, die Playlist ihrer Inspirationen live auf der Bühne. Uns hat interessiert, was hinter ihren Filmen steckt, aber eben auch wie sie kreativ mit Referenzen zu Pop, Musik und anderen Filmen umgeht. Das wird sich in diesem lockeren, sehr coolen Format hoffentlich zeigen lassen.

Wichtig ist Euch auch immer der Blick hinter die Kulissen des Films, oder?

FW: Wir wollen dem Festivalprogramm keine Konkurrenz machen, sondern inhaltliche Ergänzungen bieten, die in dieser Länge und Tiefe bei den normalen Publikumsgesprächen nicht zur Sprache kommen könnten. Eine andere Besonderheit ist, dass wir alle Filmberufe repräsentieren und nicht nur die Regisseure, Produzenten oder Schauspieler. Etwa beim Panel „Body Experience: Sounds from Inside“. Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe und Nicolas Becker haben zuletzt den Aliens in Arrival eine Stimme gegeben und die Geräusche für den Science-Fiction-Film gemacht. Der Zuschauer kann also von einer ungewöhnlichen Seite auf einen Film schauen, den er oder sie vielleicht gerade erst im Multiplex gesehen hat. Bei Talents sind alle Gewerke die Stars und der Film immer ein Gesamtkunstwerk.

CT: Mit der Robert Bosch Stiftung feiern wir am 12. Februar 2017 fünf Jahre Filmförderpreis für internationale Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und der arabischen Welt. Die Preisverleihung ist ebenfalls öffentlich und zeigt Ausschnitte aus Filmen, die gerade produziert werden. Also Work-in-Progress, auch ein Blick hinter die Kulissen. Zudem erlebt man an dem Abend die Gewinner aus den Bereichen Animations-, Kurz- und Dokumentarfilm. Es hat Mut an verschiedensten Stellen gekostet, diesen Filmpreis aufzubauen. Aber wir haben gemerkt, wie viel Verständigung die Robert Bosch Stiftung geschaffen hat und wie sehr die vielen deutsch-arabischen Teams derweil zusammengewachsen sind.

Berlinale Talents 2016

Mut und Optimismus

„Courage: Against All Odds“ lautet Euer Thema 2017. Mut ist unerlässlich in einer Branche, in der die Gefahr des Scheiterns groß ist. Zahlen sich Mut und Hartnäckigkeit aus?

CT: Ja. Ein Beispiel ist Ahmed Saleh, ein palästinensischer Filmemacher, der sich 2017 bereits zum dritten Mal mit einem Projekt für den Filmpreis der Robert Bosch Stiftung beworben hatte. Zweimal wurde er abgelehnt, und dennoch versucht er es jetzt noch einmal: Das erfordert Mut und natürlich auch Durchhaltevermögen. Er war 2013 als Talent bei uns. Sein Dranbleiben ist allerdings auch schon beim zweiten Versuch belohnt worden, als er den deutschen Produzenten Stefan Gieren kennenlernte. Mit dem gemeinsamen Projekt Ayny - My Second Eye haben sie den Studenten-Oscar gewonnen. Eine schöne Erfolgsgeschichte. Mut fängt im Kleinen an und ist unerlässlich, um Wünsche und Visionen real werden zu lassen. Das ist der Kern von Talents: immer wieder Mut machen!

Ein Slogan auf Euren diesjährigen Plakaten ist „Why Don't You Get a Real Job?”. Sind die Arbeitsverhältnisse im Allgemeinen in den letzten 15 Jahren nicht überwiegend prekär geworden, so dass sich diese Frage kaum noch stellt?

FW: Das ist oft richtig, Filmemacher sind Freiberufler par excellence, mit allen Vor- und Nachteilen. Es ist wichtig, diese Situation zu erkennen und zu hinterfragen, aber die Talente haben ihren Beruf auch selbst gewählt. Also sollten sie auf die Frage „Why Don't You Get a Real Job?“ eine positive Antwort haben. Viele werden sagen: „Der Job gibt mir Freiheiten, mich auszudrücken. Das ist Grund genug, auch das Risiko einzugehen.“ Bei all unserem Enthusiasmus sind Mut und Durchhaltevermögen aber nicht mit einer Währung gleichzusetzen. Wo das Durchbeißen zum Ersatz für eine angemessene Bezahlung wird, lässt sich das einmal tolerieren, aber wir wollen nicht dazu ermutigen, langfristig in prekären Verhältnissen zu arbeiten. Da hilft es dann eher, offen darüber zu sprechen.

Das HAU Hebbel am Ufer 1 - Berlinale Talents 2016

CT: „Why Don't You Get a Real Job?“ ist einer der typischen Sätze, die man von der Oma zu hören bekommt. Unsere Alltagssprache ist leider oft sehr negativ geprägt. Berlinale Talents hingegen vermittelt „We believe in you“. Wir stärken das Positive und tragen es in die Welt. Besonders freuen wir uns natürlich, wenn Filme von ehemaligen Talenten bei der Berlinale laufen. In diesem Jahr sind es 93 Filme, an denen sage und schreibe 131 Alumni beteiligt waren. Vier Filme und ein Kurzfilmprogramm zeigen wir in Kooperation mit Panorama, Forum, Generation und Berlinale Shorts mit anschließenden Bühnengesprächen auch im wunderschönen HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

Mit „Against All Odds“ ließe sich der romantische Held assoziieren, der sich gegen alle äußeren Widerstände behauptet. Allerdings scheint mir das System darauf aus, Risiken zu vermeiden und alle möglichen Gefahren auszuschalten, indem etwa Drehbücher immer weiter optimiert werden. Wird Mut auf diese Weise nicht eher ausgeschlossen?

FW: Tragfähige Modelle, um auch innerhalb des „Systems“ täglich mutig zu sein, sind natürlich schnell mal mehr Wunsch als Wirklichkeit. Wir fragen aber in „The Road Not Taken: Funding Courage“ auch Filmförderer nach ihren konkreten Ideen für eine bessere und vor allem langfristigere Förderung von Experimenten und Kunst. An den einsamen romantischen Helden haben wir bislang kein einziges Mal gedacht. Talents praktiziert und beweist das Gegenteil, bringt Menschen zusammen, die gemeinsam „against all odds“ arbeiten. Mut addiert sich!

CT: Seit 2016 haben wir eine Partnerschaft mit Kickstarter. Diese Kooperation war ein wichtiger Schritt, um uns und die Talente auch für alternative Wege der Filmfinanzierung zu begeistern. Der Mut ist belohnt worden. Zwei junge Produzentinnen aus Berlin haben zum Beispiel Bruce LaBruces neuen Film The Misandrists, der 2017 im Panorama läuft, mit Hilfe von Kickstarter co-finanziert. Wir haben mitgefiebert, ob die Summe zustande kommt und es war ein Lernprozess, sowohl für Bruce LaBruce als auch die Produzenten. Ein Filmprojekt muss anders vorgestellt werden als bei klassischen Förderern, und wir sind Kickstarter dankbar für ihre Expertise.

Bei der „Script Station“ 2016

Gemeinschaft

Was motiviert die Talente heutzutage? Der Ruhm allein?

FW: Der Ruhm wird gerne mitgenommen, aber was die Talente motiviert, ist die Gemeinschaft. Das merkt man ab der ersten Sekunde, in der sie hier in Berlin zusammenkommen. Und wenn die Teilnehmer über die Tage herausfinden, dass sie viele Dinge gemeinsam haben, setzt das nochmal unfassbar viel Energie frei. Das haut uns jedes Jahr aus den Socken.

Viele renommierte Akteure im Filmgeschäft betonen, wie wichtig auch negative Erlebnisse für ihre Karriere waren. Ist Scheitern ein notwendiger Teil des Erfolgs?

CT: Scheitern ist Teil unseres Alltags. Manche Dinge gelingen einfach nicht. Und je mehr Erfahrung ich sammle, desto besser und positiver kann ich auch mit dem Scheitern umgehen. Das sind Entwicklungsstufen, die wir durchlaufen. Vielleicht klappt die Filmfinanzierung nicht, okay, dann suche ich einen anderen Weg. Manchmal hilft auch nur eine berufliche Alternative. Viele große und bekannte Regisseure waren nur 15 Jahre aktiv. Filmemachen kann manchmal nur eine Station im Leben sein.

Gibt es auch Situationen im Leben, bei dem aller Mut nichts hilft und man das Scheitern einfach akzeptieren muss?

FW: Wir laden niemanden nach Berlin ein, um ihm das Blaue vom Himmel zu versprechen. Wir geben den Talenten die Möglichkeit, Teil der Talents-Familie zu werden. Wir bleiben in schönen, aber auch in schwierigen Situationen in Kontakt, denn die Gruppe kann immer weiterhelfen. Und hoffentlich ist sie auch ein kleiner „Reality Check“, bei dem man seinen Stand der Dinge überprüft, bevor alles eventuell zum Scheitern führt.

In einer Pressemitteilung sprecht Ihr von filmischen Mutproben über „künstlerische, politische sowie finanzielle Grenzen und Barrieren hinweg“. Welche Barrieren gibt es heute noch?

CT: 2017 haben wir 250 Teilnehmer aus 71 Ländern, das Alumni-Netzwerk besteht aus über 5.000 Talenten aus über 100 Ländern. Die afghanische Filmemacherin Karima Ishchi ist nach Berlinale Talents 2016 in Deutschland geblieben, weil sie in ihrer Heimat überall an Grenzen stieß. Sie durfte gar nichts und jetzt genießt sie eine vergleichsweise große Freiheit in Berlin. Diese Restriktionen in anderen Ländern der Welt muss man immer im Hinterkopf haben. Im Moment wird ja auch bei uns wieder massiv versucht, Grenzen zu ziehen. Unsere Freiheit sollten wir schätzen und pflegen, vor allem auch die des künstlerischen Ausdrucks.