Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Forum Expanded 2017:
Giving an Image to Reality

The artistic treatment of an almost ungraspable reality forms the heart of the 2017 Forum Expanded. In this interview, section head Stefanie Schulte Strathaus and curator Ulrich Ziemons discuss the principles of cinematic perception, the reality of the irrational and the evidence carried by images.

Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon by Tomonari Nishikawa

I have the impression that this year’s programme is extremely closely knit and all the films bear very clear correspondences to one another. Am I wrong?

Stefanie Schulte Strathaus: Naturally we see the entire programme as a whole and expressly seek out correspondences. However, in 2017 we have paid a different kind of attention to the selection than in previous years. Media overkill has already affected our modes of perception for years but recently events in the real world have intensified its power. Thus, this year during the selection, we have been even more concentrated and focused. We may have lost a certain sense of ease we previously enjoyed, but this has not had any impact on the diversity of form.

Can images intervene in the current situation at all? The world seems to be comprised solely of images ...

SST: The question of whether a film can change the world is an old one which gained a strong and renewed relevance in this year’s selection process. What meaning can an artistic work actually have nowadays? Basically, we only screen works which trigger something within us when we see and hear them. That sounds rather banal but is not, however, self-evident – and it is also subjective. The next important step is the combination of the works: we want the films to give each other enough room but also to comment upon and compound each other.

Your 2017 theme is “The Stars Down to Earth”. Does that refer to the current state of perception?

Sokun Al Sulhufat by Rawane Nassif

During the viewing process we wanted to find a theme connected to themes of previous years. Then the term “post-factual” went viral and we had intense discussions about it. We didn’t want to use it as our title but it’s important for people to confront new terms like that and discuss them. In the end, our co-curator Anselm Franke brought Adorno’s book “The Stars Down to Earth and Other Essays on the Irrational in Culture” to the table. It contains a text about horoscopes in the LA Times. Their readers seek answers to very concrete questions in their daily lives and, in doing so, accept astrology as an abstract system which most of them don’t really understand but to which they nevertheless cede great power. They don't even consider who is responsible for writing the horoscopes. With the title “The Stars Down to Earth” we are indicating that, in a time when reality has stopped being graspable, artistic works give us the potential to look and listen more closely, to concentrate on what is actually happening in the world.

The term “post-factual” naturally invites the question about the factual age. Did it ever exist?

SST: Probably not. When he was writing the text, Adorno already pre-empted the question of what was new in the phenomenon of people devoting themselves to higher powers. His answer at that time, in the early 1950s, was that the decisive factor is the quantity and distance established between people and the higher powers regulating them. In spite of the big gap which makes it impossible for them to understand the operating mechanisms of these powers, they still determine their own behaviour in accordance with them.

The Framing of the Social

Does Eija-Liisa Ahtila’s method of reduction in Studies on the Ecology of Drama present a means to find our way back to reality?

SST: Eija-Liisa Ahtila comes from a fine art context. She has been working with moving images for many years and opens up a different perspective to those we are familiar with from film history. To pose the film theory question about framing anew – as happens in Studies on the Ecology of Drama – is connected to “The Stars Down to Earth” theme: adjusting the view in a transformed present is a method to bring new relevance to old questions. Ahtila places her female protagonist in the middle of a landscape near a tree and views their proportionality from the perspectives of varying distances. It prompts us to deeply ponder the relationship between a person and their surroundings.

Camera Threat by Bernd Lützeler

In many of your descriptions of the works the word “invisible” crops up in the context of making it visible.

SST: The idea that cinema should make visible the invisible is also not new. The concept has, however, gained new currency due to the fact that the invisible is something rather threatening that has now caught up with reality. In the quest to make things visible, the irrational can turn out to be helpful in broadening perspectives.

A film in which the social, the media and the real all seem to be inextricably intertwined is Camera Threat by Bernd Lützeler about the film city of Mumbai. How does the film reflect the manufactured aspect of reality?

SST: There is no country in the world where the film industry plays a stronger role in everyday life and society than in India. The entanglement of the film world and the real world is indissoluble and Indian independent cinema is fascinated by this. Camera Threat is made by a German director who has lived and worked there for many years. The screening of the film poses a special challenge: it is being shown in a double projection where the digital and analogue merge on the screen. In the split screen sequences, one side shows 35mm and the other DCP. So the production of the film continues even into the cinema because the work requires special technical arrangements.
The film’s title Camera Threat says a lot because it is about how the camera is perceived as something of a threat, for example, in a casting situation or at a family celebration. A gaze always points in one direction, thus creating a relationship of inequality, a hierarchical relationship. This is a structural issue, a social matter which therefore affects reality.

Ulysses in the Subway by Marc Downie, Paul Kaiser, Flo Jacobs, Ken Jacobs

The Conditions of Seeing

One filmmaker who addresses the conditions of perception is Ken Jacobs. What distinguishes his work Popeye Sees 3D?

SST: Ken Jacobs is the true inventor of three-dimensional cinema. Since the 1950s – using film and performance – he has explored the significance of three-dimensional vision for the cinema and the implications it has for the medium. Technological developments have now given him the opportunity to do things he has always wanted to do. Every 3D image he creates is more meaningful than many of the things we see today, because he never regards the technology as an end in itself. For him, the cinematic form can only possess relevance if it emerges from a process of working, thinking and seeing. That’s why he only ever films where he lives, in Manhattan, because the images he captures – his surroundings – are on the one hand the starting point and on the other the materialisation.

Is it possible to also rediscover narrative film through Jacob’s work?

SST: Absolutely. Narrative forms are not cast in iron, and examples like Popeye Sees 3D demonstrate how they can develop in all sorts of directions.

The installation Bawabet Yafa (Jaffa Gate) designed by Khaldun Bshara is also a special experience of perception ...

Ulrich Ziemons: The historic photographs used in this work have been divided into different levels. By zooming into the image, they shift divergently in relation to the virtual lens and create the impression of three-dimensionality. The pictures were taken around the Jaffa Gate which, following the British invasion of 1917, was remodelled according to the ideas of the new colonial masters. The tower was demolished. In the installation there is also, alongside the video, a model of the gate in its original form – complete with tower. With this work, the RIWAQ organisation is examining how memory manifests itself in architecture, how reconstruction can work and the ideological implications that rebuilding the gate in its original form would hold.

Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams by Karrabing Film Collective

The Consequences of Archive

The archive has been a subject matter close to your heart for years. Is there a special event relating to this topic in 2017?

SST: We are hosting an entire panel day exclusively for matters regarding archive, entitled “Think Film No. 5 – Archival Constellations”. We want to keep tabs on the topics we are addressing, not just during the festival but also in the long run. That’s why we have invited back two of the archive projects we presented last year – in order to show what has happened to them in the meantime. One is from Indonesia, the other Nigeria. There are also new projects to be discovered, like unofficial film archives or those that don’t even physically exist, such as the archive of films in the context of the Palestinian revolution, compiled by Subversive Film, which poses the question of whether a never-completed revolution can be archived at all. It’s all about archives which haven’t or barely have had a chance to write themselves into film history. Their relevance lies in the connections they can make in order to maintain visibility, meaning the people who work with them. Work with archives is always closely related to production. The Indigenous Australian Karrabing Film Collective haven’t explicitly dedicated themselves to archive, but instead produce films which introduce new and distinct forms of narratives, challenge the old and thus create the foundations for archives to come which might change the landscape altogether and throw it off balance.

UZ: The starting point of the project was mapping territory of the “aboriginal community” to document territorial disputes – there are no treaties defining the land due to the indigenous population which is why colonial mapping is difficult to contest. Videos and mobile phone footage serve to produce evidence, facts. Starting from that, the collective have developed an experimental way of making feature films. Their latest work Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams will be on display in the group exhibition. This piece questions the rules of narration: how are stories told? How can they be told from different perspectives?

UHF42 by Mike Crane

With UHF42 you’re showing a series in Forum Expanded for the first time ...

UZ: UHF42 is conceived as a series and has been produced at Wattan TV by the broadcaster’s staff. The American artist Mike Crane blended the images of their daily lives with a staged soap opera. We’re showing the first two episodes.

Nevertheless, serial thinking has always been deeply embedded in your curatorial work, hasn’t it?

SST: It has. We follow many artists and filmmakers over several years, but there are always new additions, too. And certain issues occupy us for a long time, which we want to share with the public. Sustainable development is very important to us, because we always understand our work as research as well. Research is often more important to us than the presentation of finished results. In this respect, every event during the Berlinale should be perceived as part of a publicly conducted research project which remains with us throughout the year and not just during the ten days of the Festival.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Forum Expanded 2017:
Der Realität ein Bild geben

Der künstlerische Umgang mit einer kaum noch zu greifenden Realität steht im Zentrum des Forum Expanded 2017. Im Interview sprechen Sektionsleiterin Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Kurator Ulrich Ziemons über die Grundlagen der filmischen Wahrnehmung, die Realität des Irrationalen und die Beweislast der Bilder.

Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon von Tomonari Nishikawa

Ich hatte den Eindruck, dass dieses Jahr das Programm sehr eng gestrickt ist und alle Filme in unmittelbarer Korrespondenz stehen. Täuscht das?

Stefanie Schulte Strathaus: Wir haben natürlich immer das Gesamtprogramm vor Augen und Korrespondenzen sind ausdrücklich erwünscht. Allerdings waren wir 2017 bei der Auswahl auf eine andere Art achtsam als bisher. Durch die Medienüberflutung haben wir schon seit Jahren eine veränderte Wahrnehmungssituation, aber in jüngster Zeit wird sie durch reale Ereignisse in der Welt noch einmal potenziert. Deshalb waren wir in diesem Jahr während der Auswahl noch konzentrierter und fokussierter. Eine gewisse Leichtigkeit, die wir früher hatten, fällt uns gerade schwer, was aber nichts an der Formenvielfalt ändert.

Können Bilder in die aktuelle Situation überhaupt noch intervenieren? Die Welt scheint nur noch aus Bildern zu bestehen…

SST: Die Frage, ob ein Film die Welt verändern kann, gab es schon immer. Sie wurde im diesjährigen Auswahlprozess wieder sehr relevant. Was kann eine künstlerische Arbeit noch für eine Bedeutung haben? Grundsätzlich zeigen wir nur Arbeiten, die beim Sehen und Hören etwas in uns auslösen. Das klingt zwar banal, ist aber nicht selbstverständlich - und auch subjektiv. Die Zusammenstellung der Arbeiten ist dann der nächste wichtige Schritt: Wir wollen, dass die Filme sich untereinander Raum lassen, aber auch gegenseitig kommentieren und bestärken.

Das Thema 2017 lautet „The Stars Down to Earth“. Steht das im Zusammenhang mit der aktuellen Wahrnehmungssituation?

Sokun Al Sulhufat von Rawane Nassif

SST: Während des Sichtungsprozesses wollten wir ein Thema finden, das an die Themen der Vorjahre anknüpft. Dann wurde der Begriff des „Postfaktischen“ virulent und von uns intensiv diskutiert. Wir wollten ihn nicht im Titel verwenden, aber man muss mit solchen neuen Begriffen umgehen und darüber sprechen. Schließlich brachte unser Co-Kurator Anselm Franke Adornos Buch „The Stars Down to Earth and Other Essays on the Irrational in Culture“ ins Spiel. Es enthält einen Text über die Horoskopseite in der LA Times. Ihre Leserinnen und Leser suchen Antworten auf ganz konkrete Fragen des Alltags und um die zu bekommen, akzeptieren sie Astrologie als abstraktes System, das die meisten von ihnen gar nicht verstehen, was ihr wiederum Macht verleiht. Wer für das Schreiben der Horoskope verantwortlich ist, wird nicht hinterfragt. Mit dem Titel „The Stars Down to Earth“ verweisen wir darauf, dass künstlerische Arbeiten das Potential haben, zu einem Zeitpunkt, an dem die Wirklichkeit nicht mehr greifbar ist, genauer hinzusehen und zu hören, sich auf das zu konzentrieren, was sich auf der Erde gerade abspielt.

Der Begriff des Postfaktischen fordert natürlich die Frage nach dem faktischen Zeitalter heraus. Hat es das je gegeben?

SST: Wahrscheinlich nicht. Adorno hat bereits beim Verfassen des Textes die Frage vorweg genommen, was neu an dem Phänomen sei, dass Menschen sich höheren Mächten hingeben. Seine Antwort war zu jenem Zeitpunkt, also Anfang der 1950er Jahre: Entscheidend ist die Quantität, die Distanz, die sich zwischen ihnen und jenen Mächten aufgebaut hat, die sie regulieren. Trotz des großen Abstands, der es ihnen unmöglich macht, die operativen Mechanismen dieser Macht zu verstehen, bestimmen sie ihr Verhalten danach.

Das Framing des Sozialen

Ist Eija-Liisa Ahtilas Methode der Reduktion in Studies on the Ecology of Drama ein Weg, zur Realität zurückzufinden?

SST: Eija-Liisa Ahtila kommt aus dem Kontext der Bildenden Kunst. Sie hat sich jahrelang mit Bewegbild beschäftigt und eröffnet eine andere Perspektive als die, die wir aus der Filmgeschichte kennen. Die filmtheoretische Frage nach dem Framing noch einmal neu zu stellen - wie es in Studies on the Ecology of Drama passiert - berührt das Thema „The Stars Down to Earth“: Es ist eine Methode, den Blick neu zu justieren in einer veränderten Gegenwart, die alten Fragen neue Relevanz verleiht. Ahtila stellt ihre Protagonistin inmitten einer Landschaft neben einen Baum und betrachtet das Größenverhältnis aus der Perspektive verschiedener Entfernungen. Wir müssen sehr wohl einiges überdenken, etwa das Verhältnis des Menschen zu seiner Umgebung.

Camera Threat von Bernd Lützeler

In vielen Eurer Beschreibungen der Arbeiten taucht das „Unsichtbare“ auf, das sichtbar gemacht werden soll.

SST: Die Idee, dass Kino Unsichtbares sichtbar macht, ist auch nicht neu. Der Gedanke hat allerdings dadurch eine neue Relevanz bekommen, dass das Unsichtbare als etwas Bedrohliches die Realität eingeholt hat. Im Versuch der Sichtbarmachung kann sich das Irrationale als hilfreich herausstellen, indem es Blicke erweitert.

Ein Film, in dem Soziales, Mediales und Reales untrennbar verschlungen erscheinen, ist Camera Threat von Bernd Lützeler über die Filmstadt Mumbai. Wie reflektiert der Film das Gemachte der Realität?

SST: In keinem anderen Land ist die Filmindustrie so stark Teil der Alltagskultur und in der Gesellschaft verwurzelt wie in Indien. Die Verflechtung von filmischer und realer Welt ist unauflösbar. Damit beschäftigt sich das unabhängige indische Kino sehr häufig. Bei Camera Threat haben wir es mit einem deutschen Regisseur zu tun, der lange dort gelebt und gearbeitet hat.
Die Vorführung des Films stellt eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Der Film wird in einer Doppelprojektion gezeigt, wobei das Digitale und das Analoge auf der Leinwand verschmelzen. Bei den Splitscreens ist auf einer Seite 35mm und auf der anderen Seite DCP zu sehen. Die Inszenierung des Films reicht also bis in den Kinoraum hinein, da sie besondere technische Vorkehrungen erfordert.
Der Titel des Films Camera Threat ist richtungsweisend, es geht darum, wie die Kamera als etwas Bedrohliches wahrgenommen wird, beispielsweise in einer Casting-Situation oder bei einer Familienfeier. Ein Blick geht immer in eine Richtung und stellt so ein Verhältnis von Ungleichheit her, ein hierarchisches Verhältnis. Eine strukturelle Frage, die eine gesellschaftliche ist und damit die Realität betrifft.

Ulysses in the Subway von Marc Downie, Paul Kaiser, Flo Jacobs, Ken Jacobs

Die Bedingungen des Sehens

SST: Ein Filmemacher, der sich mit den Bedingungen der Wahrnehmung auseinandersetzt, ist Ken Jacobs. Was zeichnet seine Arbeit Popeye Sees 3D aus?

SST: Ken Jacobs ist der wahre Erfinder des dreidimensionalen Kinos. Er erkundet seit den 1950er Jahren mit Filmen und Performances die Bedeutung des dreidimensionalen Sehens im Kino und die Implikationen, die das für das Medium hat. Durch technische Entwicklungen hat er jetzt die Möglichkeit Dinge zu tun, die er schon immer realisieren wollte. Jedes 3D-Bild, das er erzeugt, ist gehaltvoller als vieles von dem, was wir heute zu sehen bekommen, weil die Technik für ihn nie Selbstzweck ist. Für ihn kann die filmische Form nur dann Relevanz haben, wenn sie sich aus einem Prozess des Arbeitens, Denkens und Sehens heraus ergibt. Deshalb dreht er auch nur dort, wo er lebt, in Manhattan, denn das, was er filmt, seine Umgebung, ist einerseits Ausgangspunkt und andererseits Materialisierung.

Kann man über Jacobs Arbeit auch den narrativen Film wiederentdecken?

SST: Unbedingt. Erzählformen sind nicht in Stein gemeißelt und anhand von Arbeiten wie Popeye Sees 3D lässt sich erkennen, wie sie sich in alle Richtungen entwickeln.

Ein besonderes Wahrnehmungserlebnis ist auch die von Khaldun Bshara konzipierte Installation Bawabet Yafa (Jaffa Gate)…

Ulrich Ziemons: Die verwendeten historischen Fotografien wurden in verschiedene Ebenen geteilt. Durch einen Zoom ins Bild verschieben sie sich in Abhängigkeit zur virtuellen Linse unterschiedlich. Es entsteht der Eindruck räumlicher Tiefe. Die Bilder wurden in der Umgebung des Jaffatores aufgenommen, das nach dem Einzug der Briten 1917 nach den Vorstellungen der neuen Kolonialherren umgestaltet wurde. Der Turm wurde abgerissen. In der Installation ist neben dem Video auch ein Modell des Tors in seiner ursprünglichen Form - mit Turm - zu sehen. Die Organisation RIWAQ untersucht mit dieser Arbeit wie sich Erinnerung in Architektur manifestiert. Wie Rekonstruktion funktionieren kann und welche ideologischen Implikationen es hätte, das Tor wieder in seiner ursprünglichen Form aufzubauen.

Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams von Karrabing Film Collective

Die Folgen des Archivs

Das Archiv liegt Euch seit Jahren am Herzen. Gibt es 2017 ein besonderes Event zu diesem Thema?

SST: Unter dem Titel „Think Film No. 5 - Archival Constellations“ veranstalten wir einen ganzen Panel-Tag nur zu Archivfragen. Wir wollen Themen, die wir aufgreifen, auch längerfristig im Auge behalten, nicht nur während eines Festivals. Deswegen haben wir zwei der Archivprojekte, die wir schon letztes Mal präsentiert haben, wieder eingeladen - um zu zeigen, was seither passiert ist. Eines aus Indonesien und eines aus Nigeria. Es gibt aber auch neue Projekte zu entdecken, darunter inoffizielle Filmarchive oder solche, die gar nicht physisch existieren, wie das von Subversive Film erarbeitete Archiv von Filmen aus dem Kontext der palästinensischen Revolution, das die Frage stellt, ob sich eine nie abgeschlossene Revolution überhaupt archivieren lässt. Es geht um Archive, die sich bislang nicht oder kaum in die Filmgeschichte einschreiben konnten. Ihre Relevanz liegt in den Verbindungen, die sie eingehen, um Sichtbarkeit zu erhalten, also in denen, die mit ihnen arbeiten. Die Arbeit mit Archiven steht immer in Produktionszusammenhängen. Das indigene australische Karrabing Film Collective hat sich nicht explizit dem Archiv verschrieben, sondern produziert Filme, die neue, eigene Narrative einführen, altes in Frage stellen und somit die Grundlage für künftige Archive schaffen, die die Archivlandschaft insgesamt verändern und aus dem Gleichgewicht bringen können.

UZ: Den Beginn des Projektes bildete die Kartographierung des Territoriums der „aboriginal community“, um die territorialen Dispute zu dokumentieren - es gibt keine Verträge, die das Land, das der indigenen Bevölkerung zusteht, definieren würden. Deshalb ist die koloniale Kartographie schwer anfechtbar. Videos und Handyvideos dienten dazu, Beweismittel zu schaffen, Fakten. Ausgehend davon hat das Kollektiv eine experimentelle Spielfilmpraxis entwickelt. In der Gruppenausstellung wird ihre letzte Arbeit Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams zu sehen sein, die sich mit den Regeln der Narration auseinandersetzt. Wie werden Geschichten erzählt? Wie können sie aus verschiedenen Perspektiven erzählt werden?

UHF42 von Mike Crane

Mit UHF42 zeigt Ihr zum ersten Mal eine Serie im Forum Expanded…

UZ: UHF42 ist als Serie angelegt und wurde im Fernsehsender Wattan TV in Ramallah mit den dortigen Mitarbeitern produziert. Der amerikanische Künstler Mike Crane vermischt die Bilder ihres Alltags mit einer inszenierten Soap-Opera. Wir zeigen die beiden ersten Folgen.

Wobei das serielle Denken in Eurer kuratorischen Arbeit seit jeher fest verwurzelt ist, oder?

SST: Ja. Wir begleiten viele Künstler, Künstlerinnen, Filmemacher und Filmemacherinnen über mehrere Jahre, es kommen aber immer wieder neue dazu. Auch bestimmte Fragestellungen beschäftigen uns sehr lange und das möchten wir mit der Öffentlichkeit teilen. Nachhaltigkeit ist uns sehr wichtig, weil wir unsere Arbeit immer auch als Forschung verstehen. Die Recherche ist uns oft wichtiger als die Präsentation fertiger Ergebnisse. Insofern ist jede Veranstaltung während der Berlinale als Teil eines öffentlich geführten Forschungsprojekts zu sehen, das uns das ganze Jahr hindurch begleitet und nicht nur während der zehn Festivaltage.