Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2017

International Jury

Paul Verhoeven (Netherlands)

The Dutch director and screenwriter Paul Verhoeven began his directing career in 1969 with the successful Dutch television series Floris. After his feature film debut Business is Business in 1971, came the erotic thriller Turkish Delight in 1973, a big hit in the Netherlands that also garnered a nomination for Best Foreign Language Film at the 1974 Academy Awards. Following his international breakthrough Soldier of Orange (1977) and The Fourth Man (1983), Paul Verhoeven moved to Hollywood to focus on an evolution of style in his work. Large productions featuring lots of action and special effects, like RoboCop (1987), and especially Total Recall (1990), were big box-office hits that revolutionised the science fiction film genre while maintaining credibility as auteur films. The provocative, erotic thriller Basic Instinct (1992), which was nominated for two Academy Awards, saw Paul Verhoeven return to themes prevalent in his Dutch works. In 1997 and 2000, he once again focused on science fiction with Starship Troopers and Hollow Man. After nearly 20 years in Hollywood, Paul Verhoeven returned to the Netherlands in 2006 to film Black Book (2006). Starting in 2007, he moved his attention to writing. In 2016 he returned to the screen with Elle, which not only won the Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture in the category Foreign Language, but also earned Isabelle Huppert the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama.

Dora Bouchoucha Fourati (Tunisia)

Tunisian producer Dora Bouchoucha Fourati is something of an institution in the film world. The English literature graduate started off as a teacher and translator of screenplays. In 1992, she launched the Carthage Film Festival “Projects' Workshop” to assist Arabs and Africans in developing their scripts and the follow-up initiative “Takmil” to support post-production in 2014. In 1995, she founded her own production company Nomadis Images. The many fiction and documentary features, and short films she has produced and co-produced include: Raja Amari’s multiple award-winning Satin Rouge (2002), Barakat! (dir: Djamila Sahraoui, Berlinale Forum 2006), Raja Amari’s Buried Secrets (2009) and Foreign Body (Berlinale Forum 2017). She produced all of Mohamed Ben Attia’s short films and his full-length debut Hedi, which screened in the Berlinale Competition in 2016 and won the Best First Feature Award and Silver Bear for Best Actor (Majd Mastoura). Dora Bouchoucha also founded the screenwriting workshop SUD ECRITURE for Arab and African scripts in 1997 which has launched many award winning films to date. She was festival director of the Carthage Film Festival in 2008, 2010, and 2014. She was appointed president of the Fonds Sud Cinéma of the CNC in 2010; and president of the follow-up institution, Aide aux Cinemas du Monde, in 2014.

Olafur Eliasson (Iceland)

Born in Denmark of Icelandic parentage, Olafur Eliasson quickly garnered international attention after completing the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts. He participated in the Berlin Biennale in 1998 and the Venice Biennale in 2003, and his piece “The weather project”, which was installed in the Turbine Hall of the Tate Modern, attracted over two million visitors. Today, with his sculptures, installations, paintings, photographs and films that often focus on physical phenomena in nature as well as climate change, he has become one of the world’s most important contemporary artists. Eliasson, who founded his studio in Berlin in 1995, has received countless awards. Besides being involved in art, he is the founder of a global sustainable energy project and social business called Little Sun, as well as the international architectural firm Studio Other Spaces. His latest artworks include a number of installations at the Palace of Versailles in 2016.

Maggie Gyllenhaal (USA)

Celebrated American actress Maggie Gyllenhaal is one of the outstanding talents of her generation. After studying literature at Columbia University in New York and acting at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London, she became known for her roles in Donnie Darko (dir: Richard Kelly, 2001) and in Spike Jonze’s Berlinale Competition entry Adaptation (2002). Her big breakthrough came when she played the lead in the film Secretary (dir: Steven Shainberg, 2002). For it she received her first Golden Globe nomination and won several awards, including an IFP/Gotham Award for Breakthrough Performance. She went on to star in, e.g., Mike Newell’s Mona Lisa Smile (2003), Marc Forster’s Stranger than Fiction (2006), Oliver Stone’s World Trade Center (2006), Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight (2008), Sam Mendes’s Away We Go (2009), and Roland Emmerich’s White House Down (2013). For her role in Scott Cooper’s Crazy Heart (2009) she was nominated for an Oscar. In 2014 she headlined the British TV series The Honourable Woman, for which she garnered a Golden Globe Award and an Emmy nomination. Gyllenhaal, who in recent years has performed on Broadway, is currently cast to star in The Deuce, a new HBO series that she is also producing.

Julia Jentsch (Germany)

After finishing her studies at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts, Julia Jentsch, who was born in Berlin, began her career on the stage. In 2002 “Theater heute” magazine rated her the best female debut of the year. Her breakthrough on the screen was in The Edukators (2004, dir: Hans Weingartner) and in Sophie Scholl – The Final Days (Berlinale Competition 2005), for which she won not only the Berlinale’s Silver Bear, but also both the German and European Film Awards. The film itself, which was directed by Marc Rothemund, was nominated for the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film. Since then Julia Jentsch has starred in a number of works, including 33 Scenes from Life by Polish director Małgorzata Szumowska, Hannah Arendt by Margarethe von Trotta, and I Served the King of England by Jiří Menzel. With Effie Briest (Berlinale Special 2009, dir: Hermine Huntgeburth) and 24 Weeks (Berlinale Competition 2016; dir: Anne Zohra Berrached), Jentsch was again invited to the Berlinale. Most recently she performed in front of the camera in Hans-Christian Schmid’s mini-series Das Verschwinden, which will be released in 2017.

Diego Luna (Mexico)

Diego Luna’s breakthrough role came with Alfonso Cuarón’s Y tu mamá también, for which he shared the Marcello Mastroianni Award with Gael García Bernal at the Venice Film Festival in 2001. His feature film acting credits include Frida (dir. Julie Taymor, 2002), The Terminal (dir: Steven Spielberg, 2004), Rudo y Cursi (dir: Carlos Cuarón, 2008), Milk (dir: Gus van Sant, Berlinale Panorama 2009), Contraband (dir: Baltasar Kormákur, 2012) and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (dir: Gareth Edwards, 2016). Next fall he will star in Flatliners (dir: Niels Arden Oplev). Luna’s directorial debut, titled Abel, premiered at the film festival in Cannes in 2010. This was followed by César Chávez (Berlinale Special 2014) and Mr. Pig, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in 2016. He and Bernal co-founded “Ambulante” in 2005, a charity organization dedicated, among other things, to promoting documentary film. Luna is also a member of the board of the Washington Office on Latin America.

Wang Quan’an (People's Republic of China)

The director and screenwriter trained first as an actor before he turned to filmmaking. After studying at the Beijing Film Academy, Wang Quan'an, who was born in Yan'an in Shaanxi province, presented his debut film Lunar Eclipse in 1999. It screened in the Berlinale's Forum section in 2002 after making various award-winning appearances at festivals around the world. He was selected with Tuya's Marriage for the Competition in 2007 and, as the third Chinese filmmaker in the festival's history, won the Golden Bear. Three years later, Apart Together was chosen as the Berlinale's opening film and went on to win the Silver Bear for Best Script, which Wang co-wrote with Jin Na. He returned to the Berlinale Competition in 2012 with White Deer Plain, an adaptation of the historical novel of the same name, where his director of photography, Lutz Reitemeier, won the Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution.

GWFF Best First Feature Award Jury

Jayro Bustamante (Guatemala)

In 2015 with his debut feature, Ixcanul, Jayro Bustamante was the first Guatemalan director invited to participate in the Competition of the Berlinale. Cast with amateur actors from the region of the Kaqchikel Maya, the film won the Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize. Ixcanul went on to screen at 60 other film festivals, including those in Karlovy Vary, Jerusalem, Telluride, Toronto, Biarritz, Cartagena, Mumbai, Guadalajara, Ghent, and San Sebastián, and took home 52 awards. What is more, Ixcanul was the second Guatemalan movie ever submitted for an Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film. Jayro Bustamante, who had previously studied in Paris and Rome, as well as directed commercials for Ogilvy & Matter, has also made a variety of short, documentary, and animated films. Currently he is working on his next two full-length feature films: Temblores and Los tenis de barrondo.

Clotilde Courau (France)

Clotilde Courau began her acting career at 16 and performed on stage while still at acting school. For her screen debut in Jacques Doillon’s The Little Gangster, which ran in the Berlinale Competition in 1991, she received the European Film Award and her first nomination for a César. Ever since, Clotilde Courau has been an established star of French cinema. She is known for films such as Elisa (dir: Jean Becker, 1995); The Bait (dir: Bertrand Tavernier, 1995); the opening film of the Berlinale 2007, La vie en rose (dir: Olivier Dahan); and In the Shadow of Women (dir: Philippe Garrel, 2015). She has also starred in international productions, e.g. in Paul Mazursky’s The Pickle (1993) and Rod Lurie’s Deterrence (1999). Courau regularly performs on the stage: recently she played in “Piaf, l’être intime”, which she also directed. Her latest film Le Ciel attendra by Marie Castille Mention-Schaar will open in German cinemas in 2017.

Mahmoud Sabbagh (Saudi Arabia)

Born in Jeddah (Saudi Arabia) in 1983, author, director and producer Mahmoud Sabbagh presented his debut feature, Barakah Meets Barakah, in the Berlinale’s Forum section in 2016. There this remarkably humorous film won the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury. It went on to be screened at, e.g., the Toronto International Film Festival, and ultimately entered the race – only the second Saudi Arabian film ever to do so – for the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film. For some years now, Sabbagh, who has a degree in documentary filmmaking from New York’s Columbia University, has been considered one of the pioneers of a new independent generation of filmmakers in his country. Among other works, he has directed and penned a documentary on the controversial poet Hamza Shehata as well as the highly-regarded online TV series Cash.

Glashütte Original – Documentary Award Jury

Daniela Michel (Mexico)

Born in Mexico City, Daniela Michel is a film critic and founding director of the Morelia International Film Festival, an annual event launched in 2003 to support a new generation of Mexican filmmakers. After studying filmmaking she received a degree in English Literature. She has curated retrospectives of Mexican cinema in and outside Mexico. Michel has also served on the Jury for the “Un Certain Regard” and “La Semaine de la Critique” sections of the Cannes Film Festival, the Venice Film Festival, the Sundance Film Festival, the Locarno International Film Festival, the San Sebastian International Film Festival, the International Documentary Festival Amsterdam (IDFA), the Sarajevo Film Festival, among other festivals, as well as the Rockefeller Foundation’s Media Arts Fellowships and the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative.

Laura Poitras (USA)

Laura Poitras, who was born in the USA, first studied at the San Francisco Art Institute and then The New School in New York. Her work crosses the boundaries of documentary film, journalism, and art. In 2006 she began her 9/11 Trilogy with the film My Country, My Country, for which she received her first Oscar nomination. This was followed by The Oath (2010), which like My Country, My Country, was shown in the Berlinale’s Forum section. With CITIZENFOUR, the third part of her trilogy, Poitras won the Academy Award for Best Documentary in 2015. With this film about Edward Snowden, she also took home awards from the German Film Prize, the Director’s Guild of America, and BAFTA. Her reporting on NSA surveillance has appeared in Der Spiegel, The Guardian, and the Washington Post, and received a Pulitzer Prize and the Nannen Prize for Press Freedom. In 2016, she mounted her first solo museum exhibition at the Whitney Museum of American Art. She is co-creator of the visual journalism project, Field of Vision.

Samir (Iraq)

Samir was born in Bagdad and moved with his family to Switzerland when he was seven years old. In the 1980s, after studying at Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) and training to be a typesetter, he began working as a cameraman, director, and screenwriter. Over the years he has made more than 40 short and full-length films. In 1994, he – and documentary filmmaker Werner Schweizer and producer Karin Koch – took over Dschoint Ventschr (spoken like Joint Venture) Filmproduktion, which concentrates on promoting young Swiss talents. Samir has directed both fiction and documentary films for the cinema and television – including Snow White (2005), which received multiple awards – as well as many stage productions. His documentary Iraqi Odyssey was screened in the Berlinale Panorama in 2015 and submitted by Switzerland for an Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film.

International Short Film Jury

Kimberly Drew (USA)

Kimberly Drew is a curator, writer and the social media manager at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. Her blog “Black Contemporary Art”, founded in 2011, and her Instagram channel “museummammy” are among the most influential digital platforms for African and African-American art worldwide. She has been awarded the AIR Gallery Feminist Curator Award and the Gold Rush Award by the Rush Philanthropic Arts Foundation for her curatorial work. Kimberly Drew studied art history and African-American studies with an emphasis on museum studies at Smith College in Northampton, USA.

Christian Jankowski (Germany)

Jankowski works in the area of concept and media arts using film, video, photography and performance, as well as painting, sculpture and installations. His special focus is on the performative interaction between the artist and an audience far removed from the professional art world. His works are exhibited in numerous museums and collections, and have been shown at the Venice Biennale in 1999 and 2013, among other events. In 2016, he curated the European Biennial of Contemporary Art in Zurich, “Manifesta 11”. Christian Jankowski also holds a professorship in sculpture at the Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design.

Carlos Núñez (Chile)

Festival programmer and film producer Carlos Núñez is the co-founder and artistic director of SANFIC, the Santiago International Film Festival, an important forum for Chilean and Latin American film. In addition, he is the director and co-founder of the production and distribution company Storyboard Media. Among other films, he has co-produced La Mujer de Barro by Sergio Castro San Martín, which screened in Forum at the 2015 Berlinale. Carlos Núñez is also a university lecturer and a member of Cinema23, a platform for the promotion of film culture in Latin America, Spain and Portugal.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the Festival Director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the Festival Director.


The members of the 2017 Generation Kplus Children's Jury: Kay Arend, Antonie Beckmann, Laurentius Fritz, Ilja Gavrylov, Ida Kirschning, Louis Lemperle-McGrath, Emilia Schmidt, Lea Schönfeldt, Ben Trabhardt, Till Trabhardt, Pina Zehnpfennig.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the Festival Director.


The members of the 2017 Generation 14plus Youth Jury: Rosa Ehrlich, Oscar R. Franck, Hannah Kähler, Luka Kowalewsky, Marie Kühn, Quinten Samrotzki, Rosa Schaefer Bastian.

Generation Kplus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation). The "Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk.


Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2017 were: Fabian Gasmia, Aneta Ozorek, Yoon Ga-eun.

Generation 14plus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The "Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.

Members of the Generation 14plus International Jury 2017 were: Benjamin Cantu, Roberto Doveris, Jennifer Reeder.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2017

Internationale Jury

Paul Verhoeven (Niederlande)

Der niederländische Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Paul Verhoeven startete seine Regiekarriere 1969 mit der erfolgreichen niederländischen TV-Serie Floris – Der Mann mit dem Schwert. Auf sein Spielfilmdebüt Was sehe ich…! Was sehe ich…! (1971) folgte 1973 der erotisch aufgeladene Thriller Türkische Früchte, der ihm neben großer Popularität auch eine Nominierung als Bester fremdsprachiger Film bei den Oscars 1974 einbrachte. Nach seinem internationalen Durchbruch mit Der Soldat von Oranien (1977) und Der vierte Mann (1983) zog Paul Verhoeven nach Hollywood, um sich einem stilistischen Wandel in seiner Arbeit zuzuwenden. Mit actionreichen Großproduktionen wie RoboCop (1987) und Total Recall – Die totale Erinnerung (1990), beides gegenwartskritische Reflexionen der Zukunft, feierte er beeindruckende Box-Office-Hits, revolutionierte das Science-Fiction-Genre und blieb sich dabei als Autorenfilmer treu. Mit dem provokanten Erotikthriller Basic Instinct (1992), der zwei Oscar-Nominierungen erhielt, kehrte er zu Themen seiner niederländischen Filme zurück; es folgten die Science-Fiction-Filme Starship Troopers (1997) und Hollow Man – Unsichtbare Gefahr (2000). Nach nahezu 20 Jahren in Hollywood ging Paul Verhoeven 2006 in die Niederlande zurück, um Black Book (2006) zu drehen und widmete sich ab 2007 mehr dem Schreiben. 2016 feierte er sein Comeback mit Elle, für den er den Golden Globe für den besten fremdsprachigen Film gewann und der Isabelle Huppert den Golden Globe als Beste Darstellerin in einem Drama einbrachte.

Dora Bouchoucha Fourati (Tunesien)

Die tunesische Produzentin Dora Bouchoucha Fourati ist eine feste Institution in der Filmwelt. Die diplomierte Anglistin begann ihre Karriere als Lehrerin und mit dem Übersetzen von Drehbüchern. Beim Carthage Film Festival initiierte sie 1992 den „Projects‘ Workshop“, um arabische und afrikanische Filmemacher bei der Drehbuchentwicklung zu unterstützen, sowie 2014 die Nachfolgeinitiative „Takmil“ zur Postproduktionsförderung. 1995 gründete sie ihre Produktionsfirma Nomadis Images. Zu den zahlreichen von ihr produzierten bzw. co-produzierten Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen sowie Kurzfilmen gehören u.a. Raja Amaris vielfach ausgezeichneter Roter Satin (2002), Barakat! (Regie: Djamila Sahraoui, Berlinale Forum 2006) sowie Raja Amaris Buried Secrets (2009) und Foreign Body (Berlinale Forum 2017). Sie produzierte alle Kurzfilme von Mohamed Ben Attia und dessen Langfilmdebüt Hedis Hochzeit, das 2016 im Berlinale Wettbewerb lief und den Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm und den Silbernen Bären für den Besten Darsteller (Majd Mastoura) gewann. 1997 gründete Dora Bouchoucha den Workshop SUD ECRITURE für arabische und afrikanische Drehbücher, aus dem bisher zahlreiche preisgekrönte Filme hervorgegangen sind. 2008, 2010 und 2014 war sie Festivalleiterin des Carthage Film Festival in Tunis. 2010 wurde sie Präsidentin des Fonds Sud Cinéma der französischen Filmförderungsbehörde CNC und 2014 Präsidentin der Nachfolgeinstitution Aide aux Cinemas du Monde.

Olafur Eliasson (Island)

Der als Sohn isländischer Eltern in Dänemark geborene Olafur Eliasson sorgte nach seinem Studium an der Königlich Dänischen Kunstakademie schnell für internationales Aufsehen. Nach Beiträgen für die Berlin Biennale 1998 und die Biennale in Venedig 2003 wurde etwa sein Werk „The weather project“ in der Turbinenhalle der Tate Modern von über zwei Millionen Besuchern gesehen. Mit seinen Skulpturen, Installationen, Gemälden, Fotografien und Filmen, die sich immer wieder mit physikalischen Phänomenen in der Natur, aber auch mit dem Klimawandel auseinandersetzen, gehört er zu den wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Künstlern. Eliasson, der 1995 sein Studio in Berlin gründete, wurde vielfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet. Neben der Kunst widmet er sich auch zahlreichen anderen Aufgaben und gründete unter anderem das globale Projekt für nachhaltige Energie und soziale Unternehmen Little Sun sowie das internationale Büro für Architektur und Kunst Studio Other Spaces. Zu seinen jüngsten Arbeiten zählen die Installationen in Versailles 2016.

Maggie Gyllenhaal (USA)

Die renommierte US-Schauspielerin Maggie Gyllenhaal gilt als eines der herausragenden Talente ihrer Generation. Nach einem Studium in New York und Schauspielunterricht an der Londoner Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, wurde sie zunächst durch ihre Rollen in Donnie Darko (Regie: Richard Kelly, 2001) oder Spike Jonzes Berlinale-Beitrag Adaption – Der Orchideen-Dieb (2002) bekannt. Der Durchbruch gelang ihr mit der Hauptrolle in Secretary (Regie: Steven Shainberg, 2002), für die sie ihre erste Golden Globe-Nominierung sowie zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhielt, darunter den IFP/Gotham Award als Beste Nachwuchsdarstellerin. Weiterhin stand sie u.a. in Mike Newells Mona Lisas Lächeln (2003), Marc Forsters Schräger als Fiktion (2006), Oliver Stones World Trade Center (2006), Christopher Nolans The Dark Knight (2008), Sam Mendes‘ Away We Go (2009) und Roland Emmerichs White House Down (2013) vor der Kamera. Eine Oscar-Nominierung erhielt sie für Crazy Heart (2009) von Scott Cooper. 2014 war sie in der britischen TV-Serie The Honourable Woman zu sehen, für die sie mit dem Golden Globe und einer Emmy-Nominierung geehrt wurde. Eine weitere Serienrolle hat Gyllenhaal, die immer wieder auch am Broadway auf der Bühne steht, aktuell in der HBO-Produktion The Deuce übernommen, für die sie auch als Produzentin verantwortlich zeichnet.

Julia Jentsch (Deutschland)

Nach ihrem Studium an der Schauspielschule Ernst Busch begann die gebürtige Berlinerin Julia Jentsch ihre Karriere zunächst am Theater und wurde 2002 von „Theater heute“ als Beste Nachwuchsschauspielerin ausgezeichnet. Ihren Kinodurchbruch feierte sie mit Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei (Regie: Hans Weingartner, 2004) und Sophie Scholl – Die letzten Tage (Berlinale Wettbewerb 2005), für den sie nicht nur mit dem Silbernen Bären der Berlinale, sondern auch mit dem Deutschen und dem Europäischen Filmpreis geehrt wurde. Der Film von Marc Rothemund wurde außerdem als Bester fremdsprachiger Film für den Oscar nominiert. Seither war Jentsch in Werken wie 33 Szenen aus dem Leben der polnischen Regisseurin Małgorzata Szumowska, Margarethe von Trottas Hannah Arendt oder Ich habe den englischen König bedient von Jiří Menzel zu sehen. Mit Effie Briest (Regie: Hermine Huntgeburth, Berlinale Special 2009) sowie dem Wettbewerbsbeitrag 24 Wochen (2016) von Anne Zohra Berrached war sie erneut zu Gast bei der Berlinale. Zuletzt stand sie für die Mini-Serie Das Verschwinden von Hans-Christian Schmid vor der Kamera, die 2017 zu sehen sein wird.

Diego Luna (Mexiko)

Diego Luna feierte seinen großen Durchbruch mit Y tu mamá también (2001) von Alfonso Cuarón, für den er gemeinsam mit Gael García Bernal 2001 beim Filmfestival in Venedig mit dem Premio Marcello Mastroianni geehrt wurde. Zu seinen weiteren Filmen als Schauspieler gehören Frida (Regie: Julie Taymor, 2002), Steven Spielbergs Terminal (2004), Milk von Gus van Sant (Berlinale Panorama 2009), Rudo y Cursi (Regie: Carlos Cuarón, 2008), Baltasar Kormákurs Contraband (2012) und Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Regie: Gareth Edwards, 2016). Im Herbst wird er in Flatliners (Regie: Niels Arden Oplev) zu sehen sein. Lunas Regiedebüt Abel feierte bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes 2010 Premiere, anschließend inszenierte er die Filme César Chávez (der 2014 im Berlinale Special lief) und Mr. Pig, der 2016 zum Sundance Film Festival eingeladen wurde. Gemeinsam mit Bernal gründete er 2005 die Wohltätigkeitsorganisation „Ambulante“, die sich unter anderem der Förderung des Dokumentarfilms verschrieben hat. Luna ist darüber hinaus Vorstandsmitglied des Washington Office on Latin America.

Wang Quan’an (Volksrepublik China)

Der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor absolvierte zunächst eine Schauspielausbildung, bevor er sich dem Filmemachen zuwandte. Nach seinem Studium an der Pekinger Filmhochschule legte der in Yan’an in der Provinz Shaanxi geborene Wang Quan’an 1999 seinen Debütfilm Yue Shi vor, der auf verschiedenen Filmfestivals rund um die Welt mit Preisen bedacht wurde und 2002 auch im Forum der Berlinale lief. Mit Tuyas Ehe wurde er 2007 in den Wettbewerb eingeladen und gewann als dritter chinesischer Filmemacher in der Geschichte des Festivals den Goldenen Bären. Drei Jahre später wurde sein Film Tuan Yuan als Eröffnungsfilm der Berlinale ausgewählt und schließlich mit dem Silbernen Bären für das Beste Drehbuch ausgezeichnet, für das Wang gemeinsam mit Jin Na verantwortlich zeichnete. 2012 kehrte er mit der Romanverfilmung Bai lu yuan erneut in den Berlinale-Wettbewerb zurück, wo sein Kameramann Lutz Reitemeier mit einem Silbernen Bären für eine Herausragende Künstlerische Leistung geehrt wurde.

Jury GWFF Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Jayro Bustamante (Guatemala)

Jayro Bustamante war mit seinem Spielfilmdebüt Ixcanul 2015 als erster guatemaltekischer Regisseur im Wettbewerb der Berlinale zu Gast. Der mit Laiendarstellerinnen aus der Region der Kaqchikel Mayas umgesetzte Film erhielt den Silbernen Bären Alfred-Bauer-Preis und wurde danach bei weiteren 60 Filmfestivals präsentiert, darunter in Karlovy Vary, Jerusalem, Telluride, Toronto, Biarritz, Cartagena, Mumbai, Guadalajara, Ghent und San Sebastián. Insgesamt wurde Ixcanul mit 52 Preisen ausgezeichnet und war darüber hinaus die überhaupt erst zweite guatemaltekische Einreichung für den Oscar als bester nicht-englischsprachiger Film. Zuvor hatte Jayro Bustamante, der unter anderem in Paris und Rom studierte und als Werbefilmer für Ogilvy & Matter arbeitete, bereits verschiedene Kurz-, Dokumentar- und Animationsfilme inszeniert. Aktuell arbeitet er an seinen nächsten beiden langen Spielfilmen: Temblores und Los tenis de barrondo.

Clotilde Courau (Frankreich)

Bereits im Alter von 16 Jahren begann Clotilde Courau ihre Karriere als Schauspielerin und trat schon während ihrer Schauspielausbildung am Theater auf. Schon für ihr Leinwanddebüt in Jacques Doillons Der kleine Gangster, der 1991 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief, wurde sie mit dem Europäischen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet und erstmals für den César nominiert. Seither gehört Courau zu den festen Größen des französischen Films und war unter anderem in Filmen wie Elisa (Regie: Jean Becker, 1995), Der Lockvogel (1995) von Bertrand Tavernier, dem Berlinale-Eröffnungsfilm 2007 La vie en rose (Regie: Olivier Dahan) und Im Schatten der Frauen (2015) von Philippe Garrel zu sehen. Immer wieder steht sie auch für internationale Produktionen vor der Kamera, u.a. für Paul Mazursky (The Pickle, 1993) oder Rod Lurie (Deterrence, 1999). Regelmäßig kehrt Courau zum Theater zurück, zuletzt etwa unter eigener Regie in „Piaf, l’être intime“. 2017 wird sie in Le ciel attendra von Marie Castille Mention-Schaar im Kino zu sehen sein.

Mahmoud Sabbagh (Saudi Arabien)

Der 1983 in Dschidda in Saudi-Arabien geborene Autor, Regisseur und Produzent Mahmoud Sabbagh präsentierte sein Spielfilmdebüt Barakah Meets Barakah 2016 im Forum der Berlinale. Der überraschend humorvolle Film gewann dort den Preis der Ökumenischen Jury, lief später unter anderem beim Filmfestival in Toronto und ging schließlich - als zweiter Film aus Saudi-Arabien überhaupt - ins Rennen um den Oscar für den besten nicht-englischsprachigen Film. In seiner Heimat gehört Sabbagh, der einen Abschluss der New Yorker Columbia University im Fach Dokumentarfilm hat, bereits seit einigen Jahren zu den Vorreitern einer neuen, unabhängigen Generation Filmemacher und verantwortete als Regisseur und Autor unter anderem eine Dokumentation über den umstrittenen Dichter Hamza Shehata sowie die viel beachtete WebTV-Serie Cash.

Jury Glashütte Original Dokumentarfilmpreis

Daniela Michel (Mexiko)

Die in Mexiko Stadt geborene Daniela Michel ist Filmkritikerin sowie Gründerin und Leiterin des Festival Internacional de Cine de Morelia – ein jährlich stattfindendes Event, das 2003 lanciert wurde, um eine junge Generation von mexikanischen Filmemachern zu unterstützen und zu fördern. Bevor sie ihren Abschluss in Englischer Literatur machte, studierte Michel zunächst Film. Sie kuratierte Retrospektiven des mexikanischen Kinos sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb Mexikos. Bei zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals war sie in der Jury vertreten, darunter in Cannes (Sektionen „Un Certain Regard” und “La Semaine de la Critique”), Venedig, Sundance, Locarno, San Sebastian, Sarajevo und das Dokumentarfilmfestival Amsterdam (IDFA). Zudem war sie in der Auswahlkommission des Rockefeller Foundation’s Media Arts Fellowships und der Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative.

Laura Poitras (USA)

Die US-Amerikanerin Laura Poitras studierte zunächst am San Francisco Art Institute und später an The New School in New York. Ihre Arbeit überschreitet die Grenzen zwischen Dokumentarfilm, Journalismus und Kunst. 2006 begann sie ihre 9/11-Trilogie mit My Country, My Country, für den sie ihre erste Oscar-Nominierung erhielt. Es folgte The Oath (2010), der wie schon My Country, My Country im Forum der Berlinale präsentiert wurde. Den Abschluss der Trilogie bildet CITIZENFOUR, für den Poitras 2015 den Academy Award für den besten Dokumentarfilm gewann. Der Film über Edward Snowden brachte ihr außerdem den Deutschen Filmpreis, den Director’s Guild of America Award und den BAFTA ein. Für ihre Berichterstattung über die NSA Überwachung, die in Der Spiegel, The Guardian und The Washington Post erschien, wurde sie mit dem Pulitzer-Preis und dem Henri Nannen Preis für Pressefreiheit geehrt. 2016 zeigte Poitras im New Yorker Whitney Museum of American Art ihre erste Einzelausstellung. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des Journalismusprojektes Field of Vision.

Samir (Irak)

Samir wurde in Bagdad geboren und zog im Alter von sieben Jahren mit seiner Familie in die Schweiz. Nach einem Studium an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und einer Ausbildung zum Schriftsetzer begann er in den Achtziger Jahren seine Arbeit als Kameramann, Regisseur und Drehbuchautor. Sein Werk umfasst inzwischen über 40 Kurz- und Langfilme. 1994 übernahm er mit Dokumentarfilmer Werner Schweizer und Produzentin Karin Koch die Dschoint Ventschr Filmproduktion, die sich auf die Förderung junger Schweizer Talente konzentriert. Als Regisseur verantwortete Samir Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme für Kino und Fernsehen – darunter Snow White (2005), der mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde - ebenso wie Theaterinszenierungen. Sein Dokumentarfilm Iraqi Odyssey lief 2015 im Panorama der Berlinale und wurde von der Schweiz für den Oscar als bester nicht-englischsprachiger Film eingereicht.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Kimberly Drew (USA)

Drew ist Kuratorin, Autorin und Social-Media-Managerin des Metropolitan Museum of Art New York. Ihr 2011 gegründeter Blog „Black Contemporary Art“ und ihr Instagram-Kanal „museummammy“ zählen zu den einflussreichsten digitalen Plattformen für afrikanische und afroamerikanische Kunst weltweit. Für ihre kuratorische Arbeit erhielt Drew u.a. den Feminist Curator Award der AIR Gallery und den Gold Rush Award der Rush Philanthropic Arts Foundation. Drew studierte Kunstgeschichte und Afroamerikanische Studien mit Schwerpunkt Museum Studies am Smith College in Northampton, USA.

Christian Jankowski (Deutschland)

Jankowski arbeitet im Bereich der Konzept- und Medienkunst mit Film, Video, Fotografie und Performance, aber auch mit Malerei, Bildhauerei und Installation. Besonders beschäftigt er sich mit der performativen Interaktion zwischen Künstler und einem Publikum fernab des professionellen Kunstbetriebs. Seine Arbeiten sind in zahlreichen Museen und Sammlungen vertreten und wurden u.a. 1999 und 2013 auf der Biennale von Venedig gezeigt. 2016 kuratierte er die Europäische Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst „Manifesta 11“ in Zürich. Jankowski hat eine Professur für Bildhauerei an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart inne.

Carlos Núñez (Chile)

Der Programmer und Produzent Carlos Núñez ist Mitbegründer und Künstlerischer Leiter des SANFIC Santiago International Film Festival, das ein wichtiges Forum insbesondere für den chilenischen und lateinamerikanischen Film darstellt. Zudem ist Núñez Direktor und Mitbegründer der Produktions- und Distributionsfirma Storyboard Media. Er koproduzierte u.a. den Film La Mujer de Barro von Sergio Castro San Martín, der 2015 im Forum der Berlinale zu sehen war. Núñez ist Mitglied von Cinema23, einer Plattform zur Förderung der Filmkultur in Lateinamerika, Spanien und Portugal. Des Weiteren ist er als Hochschuldozent tätig.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.


Die Mitglieder der Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2017: Kay Arend, Antonie Beckmann, Laurentius Fritz, Ilja Gavrylov, Ida Kirschning, Louis Lemperle-McGrath, Emilia Schmidt, Lea Schönfeldt, Ben Trabhardt, Till Trabhardt, Pina Zehnpfennig.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.


Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus 2017: Rosa Ehrlich, Oscar R. Franck, Hannah Kähler, Luka Kowalewsky, Marie Kühn, Quinten Samrotzki, Rosa Schaefer Bastian.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk.


2017 wurden in die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury berufen: Fabian Gasmia, Aneta Ozorek, Yoon Ga-eun.

Generation 14plus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.


2017 wurden in die Generation 14plus Internationale Jury berufen: Benjamin Cantu, Roberto Doveris, Jennifer Reeder.