Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Tamaroz

Simulation

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

One night, three bored young men in a car decide to pay a visit to an older man they only know vaguely. At first he’s glad to see them but soon afterwards thinks they’ve come to burgle him and turns a gun on them. When the police turns up, they’re all taken into custody.
This already simple story is pared down ever more: Filmed entirely in a black box, Tamaroz turns green screen technology on its head. Apart from the green studio walls, which are usually used to copy objects and characters into other environments when making computer games and such like, the props are green and remain visible as projection screens. The cars are white. The male characters wear jeans and T-shirts, while the protagonist's sister and niece are in black. All of them wear the same blue plastic shoes and act in a slowed down, emotionless manner within an environment akin to a huge void. Only the iridescent blue light and a few external noises remind the viewer of what might be an outside world.
The monotony creates suspense: The impossibility of coming into contact with reality becomes increasingly tangible. In Tamaroz, abstraction becomes a place of exile.

by
Abed Abest

Iran 2017

Farsi

84 min · Colour

With

Abed Abest (Abed)
Vahid Rad (Vahid)
Majid Yousefi (Aris)
Danial Khojasteh (Esi)
Shahrzad Seifi (Elham)
Asghar Piran (Father)
Javad Pourheidari (Captain, Major, Colonel)
Javad Pouladi (Sentry)
Hananeh Shahrokhi (Maryam)
Alireza Saveh Doroudi (Soldier)
Iman Basim (Private)

Crew

Written and directed by
Abed Abest
Director of Photography
Hamid Khozouie Abyaneh
Editor
Haydeh Safiyari
Music
Bamdad Afshar
Sound Design
Bamdad Afshar
Sound
Shahin Poor Dadashi
Production Design
Majid Yousefi
Producer
Maryam Shafie

Biography

Abed Abest

Born in 1987 in Bandar Abbas, Iran. As an actor, he has worked in productions by Amir-Reza Koohestani and Reza Gouran, among others. He also played the lead role in Shahram Mokri’s film Fish & Cat (Iran 2013).

Filmography

2011 I Haven't Seen Hossien Since the Day Before Yesterday; 8 min. 2014 The Corner; 40 min. 2017 Tamaroz (Simulation)

Produced by

Hich Film
Teheran, Iran
+98 21 88053224

World sales

Iranian Independents
Teheran, Iran
+98 912 3198693

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Tamaroz

Simulation

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Drei gelangweilte junge Männer beschließen eines Abends im Auto, einen älteren Mann zu besuchen, den sie flüchtig kennen. Er empfängt sie mit Freude, hält sie kurz darauf für Einbrecher und bedroht sie mit einer Waffe. Die eintreffende Polizei nimmt sie in Gewahrsam.
Die Einfachheit der Geschichte erfährt eine weitere Reduktion: Vollständig in einer Blackbox gefilmt, stellt Tamaroz die Greenscreentechnik auf den Kopf. Neben den grünen Studiowänden, die u.a. bei der Herstellung von Computerspielen dazu dienen, Gegenstände und Figuren durch Einkopierung in eine andere Umgebung zu versetzen, sind alle Requisiten grün und bleiben als Projektionsfläche sichtbar. Autos sind weiß. Die männlichen Figuren sind in Jeans und T-Shirt, Schwester und Nichte des Protagonisten schwarz gekleidet. Alle tragen die gleichen blauen Kunststoffschuhe und agieren verlangsamt und emotionslos in einer Umgebung, die eine große Leerstelle darstellt. Nur das changierende bläuliche Licht und ein paar Geräusche erinnern an so etwas wie eine Außenwelt.
Die Monotonie erzeugt Spannung: Immer spürbarer wird die Unmöglichkeit, mit der Realität in Berührung zu kommen. In Tamaroz wird Abstraktion zum Ort des Exils.

von
Abed Abest

Iran 2017

Farsi

84 Min · Farbe

Mit

Abed Abest (Abed)
Vahid Rad (Vahid)
Majid Yousefi (Aris)
Danial Khojasteh (Esi)
Shahrzad Seifi (Elham)
Asghar Piran (Vater)
Javad Pourheidari (Captain, Major, Colonel)
Javad Pouladi (Sentry)
Hananeh Shahrokhi (Maryam)
Alireza Saveh Doroudi (Soldat)
Iman Basim (Gefreiter)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Abed Abest
Kamera
Hamid Khozouie Abyaneh
Schnitt
Haydeh Safiyari
Musik
Bamdad Afshar
Sound Design
Bamdad Afshar
Ton
Shahin Poor Dadashi
Production Design
Majid Yousefi
Produzentin
Maryam Shafie

Biografie

Abed Abest

Geboren 1987 in Bandar Abbas, Iran. Als Schauspieler wirkte er unter anderem in Inszenierungen von Amir-Reza Koohestani und Reza Gouran mit, in Shahram Mokris Film Fish & Cat (Iran 2013) spielt er die Hauptrolle.

Filmografie

2011 I Haven't Seen Hossien Since the Day Before Yesterday; 8 Min. 2014 The Corner; 40 Min. 2017 Tamaroz (Simulation)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Hich Film

Weltvertrieb

Iranian Independents