Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Lago

## ## ## ##

The multi-channel sound installation Lago was produced in dialogue with the photobook of the same title by the American photographer Ron Jude. It is comprised of two musique concrète compositions constructed from site-specific field recordings from the sites of Jude’s initial photographs in and around the Salton Sea in the Southern California Sonoran Desert. Contact microphones and hydrophones were used to gather sounds from flora, desert refuse, architectural ruins, and the Salton Sea itself to create an expanded study of the acoustic ecology of the Sonoran Desert. The materials were later processed and reworked with analogue tape to reveal hidden sounds and patterns within initial materials.
The compositions weave together site-specific recordings with interviews to construct an acoustic portrait of the desert that is steeped in intimations of narrative. Lago is an attempt to document the perceptual encounter of the desert while engaging a past that shapes the encounter.

by
Joshua Bonnetta

Canada 2017

English

44 min · Soundinstallation

Crew

Director
Joshua Bonnetta
Dialogue
Josh Berger, dialogue editor
Assistant Editor
Jacob Schaffel-Scherrer

Biography

Joshua Bonnetta

Born in 1979 in Canada. Bonnetta works with analogue film and sound presented in various modes of theatrical exhibition, performances, and installation. He is an associate professor for Film and Video Art and Sound Art at Ithaca College in New York State.

Filmography (selection)

2002 Cathode Aurora; Video installation, 6 min. 2004 Patchwork; Film installation · First Snow; 2 min. · November Light; 2 min. 2007 By Grace; 3 min. 2009 Parting; Film and video installation 2010 Long Shadows; 12 min. 2012 American Colour; 25 min., Video installation, Forum Expanded 2012 · Remanence I – (Lost, Lost, Lost, Lost); 2 min., Forum Expanded 2013 2013 Strange Lines and Distances; Video installation, Forum Expanded 2013 2016 Lanterna; Installation 2017 Land of Thin Air; Video installation · Low Islands; Film installation, 65 min. · Lago; Sound installation, 44 min., Forum Expanded 2017 · El mar la mar

Produced by

Joshua Bonnetta
New York, USA
joshuabonnetta.com/

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Lago

## ## ## ##

Die Soundinstallation Lago entstand im Dialog mit dem gleichnamigen Fotobuch des US-amerikanischen Fotografen Ron Jude und setzt sich aus zwei Kompositionen im Stil der Musique Concrète zusammen. Ausgangsmaterial für diese Kompositionen sind Field Recordings, die an den Schauplätzen der Fotografien Judes in und um den Saltonsee in der Sonora-Wüste in Kalifornien gesammelt wurden. Aus den Geräuschen von Pflanzen, zurückgelassenem Müll, Bauruinen und dem Saltonsee selbst, die mithilfe von Kontakt- und Unterwassermikrophonen festgehalten wurden, entstand eine erweiterte Studie der akustischen Ökologie der Sonora-Wüste. Das Material wurde später mithilfe analoger Tonbänder bearbeitet, um versteckte Geräusche und Muster aus dem ursprünglichen Material herauszuholen.
Die Kompositionen verweben diese Aufnahmen mit Interviews und schaffen so ein akustisches Porträt der Wüste, das mit Andeutungen von Geschichten durchzogen ist. Lago versucht, die sinnliche Begegnung mit dem Wahrnehmungsraum Wüste zu dokumentieren und gleichzeitig die Vergangenheit hörbar zu machen, die diese Begegnung prägt.

von
Joshua Bonnetta

Kanada 2017

Englisch

44 Min · Soundinstallation

Stab

Regie
Joshua Bonnetta
Dialoge
Josh Berger, Schnitt des Dialogs
Schnittassistenz
Jacob Schaffel-Scherrer

Biografie

Joshua Bonnetta

Geboren 1979 in Kanada. Bonnetta arbeitet mit analogem Film- und Tonmaterial, das im Rahmen von Kinovorführungen, Performances und Installationen zur Aufführung kommt. Er ist Dozent für Film, Video- und Tonkunst am Ithaca College, New York.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

2002 Cathode Aurora; Videoinstallation, 6 Min. 2004 Patchwork; Filminstallation · First Snow; 2 Min. · November Light; 2 Min. 2007 By Grace; 3 Min. 2009 Parting; Film- und Videoinstallation 2010 Long Shadows; 12 Min. 2012 American Colour; 25 Min., Videoinstallation, Forum Expanded 2012 · Remanence I – (Lost, Lost, Lost, Lost); 2 Min., Forum Expanded 2013 2013 Strange Lines and Distances; Videoinstallation, Forum Expanded 2013 2016 Lanterna; Installation 2017 Land of Thin Air; Videoinstallation · Low Islands; Filminstallation, 65 Min. · Lago; Soundinstallation, 44 Min., Forum Expanded 2017 · El mar la mar

Produktion

Joshua Bonnetta
New York, USA
joshuabonnetta.com/