Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Dieste [Uruguay]

## ## ##

The final part of Heinz Emigholz’s "Streetscapes" series is again a triptych. A prologue examines three buildings from the 1930s designed by Julio Vilamajó in Montevideo which could have inspired the work of Eladio Dieste, the subject of the main part of the film. The industrial and functional buildings presented span the period from 1955 to 1994; their organic brick construction is astonishing and inspiring. Emigholz’s camera gives itself over to the elegantly curved lines, revelling in the buoyant, graceful shell architecture, which lets both air and light pass through, while also examining its surroundings to discover parallels in nature. Then the camera makes its way in turn through dismal, rubbish-strewn industrial areas to cathedral-like factory halls that house eerie mountains of unidentified substances.
The epilogue “Dieste [Spain]” presents later buildings designed by the architect, who died in 2000, smaller-scale copies of his larger church buildings. Closed off and compact, they come across like caricatures, out of place in the foreign setting. They form a sobering footnote that only illustrates the uniqueness of successful architecture all the more vividly.

by
Heinz Emigholz

Germany 2017

Without dialogue

Documentary form
95 min · Colour

Crew

Written and directed by
Heinz Emigholz
Director of Photography
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Editor
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Sound Design
Christian Obermaier, Jochen Jezussek
Sound
Markus Ruff
Producer
Frieder Schlaich
Producer
Irene von Alberti

Biography

Heinz Emigholz

Heinz Emigholz was born in 1948 in Achim, near Bremen, Germany. Since 1973 he has worked as a freelance filmmaker, artist, writer, cinematographer, producer, and journalist. In 1974, he began an encyclopedic series of drawings, Die Basis des Make-Up, which was the subject of a major exhibition at Berlin’s Hamburger Bahnhof museum in 2007/08. In 1978 he founded his own production company, Pym Films. In 1984, he began a film series called Photographie und jenseits / Photography and Beyond. From 1993 to 2013, he held a professorship in experimental filmmaking at the Berlin University of the Arts, where he is a co-founder of the Institute for Time-Based Media and the university’s art and media course. Since 2012 he has been a member of the Academy of Arts in Berlin.

Filmography (selection)

1973 Schenec-Tady I 1974 Arrowplane · Tide 1976 Hotel 1981 Normalsatz 1985 Die Basis des Make-Up 1987 Die Wiese der Sachen (The Meadow of Things) 1999 Maillarts Brücken (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 3) (Maillart's Bridges) 2003 Goff in der Wüste (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 7) (Goff in the Desert) 2005 D’Annunzios Höhle (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 8) (D'Annunzio's Cave) 2008 Loos ornamental (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 13) 2012 Parabeton – Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton (Parabeton – Pier Luigi Nervi and Roman Concrete
) · Perret in Frankreich and Algerien (Perret in France and Algeria) 2014 The Airstrip – Aufbruch der Moderne, Teil III (The Airstrip – Decampment of Modernism, Part III) 2015 Le Corbusier [IIIII] Asger Jorn [Relief] 2017 2+2=22 [The Alphabet] · Bickels [Socialism] · Streetscapes [Dialogue] · Dieste [Uruguay] 2018 Two Basilicas

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Filmgalerie 451
www.filmgalerie451.de

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Dieste [Uruguay]

## ## ##

Auch der letzte Teil der "Streetscapes" von Heinz Emigholz ist ein Triptychon. Ein Prolog erkundet drei Bauten von Julio Vilamajó aus dem Montevideo der 1930er Jahre, die vielleicht als Inspiration dienten für das Werk von Eladio Dieste. Diesem ist der Hauptteil des Films gewidmet. Von 1955 bis 1994 reicht die Folge der vorgestellten Industrie- und Zweckbauten, die durch ihre organischen Ziegelsteinkonstruktionen erstaunen und begeistern. Emigholz' Kamera gibt sich den elegant geschwungenen Linien hin, schwelgt in der beschwingten, graziösen, licht- und luftdurchlässigen Schalenarchitektur, erforscht ihre Umgebung, entdeckt Parallelen in der Natur. Dann wieder bahnt sie sich durch trostlose, vermüllte Gewerbegebiete den Weg zu kathedralenartigen Fabrikhallen, in denen sich gespenstische Berge unidentifizierter Substanzen auftürmen.
Der Nachtrag "Dieste [Spain]" stellt späte Bauten des im Jahr 2000 verstorbenen Architekten vor, Kopien seiner großen Kirchenbauten in kleinerem Maßstab. Verschlossen und gedrungen, wirken sie wie Karikaturen, am fremden Ort seltsam deplatziert. Eine ernüchternde Fußnote, die die Einmaligkeit geglückter Architektur umso anschaulicher bezeugt.

von
Heinz Emigholz

Deutschland 2017

Ohne Dialog

Dokumentarische Form
95 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie, Buch
Heinz Emigholz
Kamera
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Schnitt
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Sound Design
Christian Obermaier, Jochen Jezussek
Ton
Markus Ruff
Produzent
Frieder Schlaich
Produzentin
Irene von Alberti

Biografie

Heinz Emigholz

Heinz Emigholz wurde 1948 in Achim bei Bremen geboren. Seit 1973 ist er als freischaffender Filmemacher, bildender Künstler, Kameramann, Autor, Publizist und Produzent tätig. 1974 begann er mit der enzyklopädischen Zeichenserie Die Basis des Make-Up, der 2007/08 im Berliner Museum Hamburger Bahnhof eine große Einzelausstellung gewidmet war. 1978 gründete er die Produktionsfirma Pym Films. 1984 war der Auftakt der Filmserie Photographie und jenseits. Von 1993 bis 2013 hatte er den Lehrstuhl für Experimentelle Filmgestaltung an der Universität der Künste Berlin inne. Er ist Mitbegründer des dortigen Instituts für zeitbasierte Medien und des Studiengangs Kunst und Medien. Seit 2012 ist er Mitglied in der Sektion Bildende Kunst der Akademie der Künste in Berlin.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1973 Schenec-Tady I; 27 Min., Forum 1975 1974 Arrowplane; 24 Min., Forum 1974 · Tide; 33 Min., Forum 1976 1976 Hotel; 27 Min., Forum 1976 1981 Normalsatz; 105 Min., Forum 1982 1985 Die Basis des Make-Up; 85 Min. 1987 Die Wiese der Sachen (The Meadow of Things); 87 Min., Panorama 1988 1999 Maillarts Brücken (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 3) (Maillart's Bridges); 24 Min., Forum 2001 2003 Goff in der Wüste (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 7) (Goff in the Desert); 110 Min., Forum 2003 2005 D’Annunzios Höhle (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 8) (D'Annunzio's Cave); 60 Min., Forum 2005 2008 Loos ornamental (Photographie und jenseits – Teil 13); 72 Min., Forum 2008 2012 Parabeton – Pier Luigi Nervi und römischer Beton (Parabeton – Pier Luigi Nervi and Roman Concrete
); 100 Min., Forum 2012 · Perret in Frankreich and Algerien (Perret in France and Algeria); 110 Min. 2014 The Airstrip – Aufbruch der Moderne, Teil III (The Airstrip – Decampment of Modernism, Part III); 108 Min., Forum 2014 2015 Le Corbusier [IIIII] Asger Jorn [Relief]; 29 Min., Forum Expanded 2016 2017 2+2=22 [The Alphabet]; 88 Min., Forum 2017 · Bickels [Socialism]; 92 Min., Forum 2017 · Streetscapes [Dialogue]; 132 Min., Forum 2017 · Dieste [Uruguay]; 95 Min., Forum 2017 2018 Two Basilicas

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Filmgalerie 451
www.filmgalerie451.de