Berlinale: Programme


Film file

NATIVe - Indigenous Cinema

SUME – Mumisitsinerup Nipaa

SUMÉ – The Sound of a Revolution

## ## ## ## ## ##

In the 1970s a wind of nonconformity against Danish rule awakened Greenlanders to reclaim their freedom and identity. Along with this wind came the music of the progressive rock band Sumé. Carried by the rich and evocative voices of the two charismatic frontmen Malik Høegh and Per Berthelsen, their songs helped inspire and accompany a revolution through their veracious political lyrics, sung in their marginalized native tongue. A youth movement evolved, which addressed important issues for the Greenlandic people. Fascinating archival material revives the spirit of that time, with allegorical images such as the miniature rock band playing in front of a colossal iceberg. The visuals of a bright red amplifier guide the reminiscence of former band members, fans and politicians, over to the exciting sound of this revolution.

by
Inuk Silis Høegh

Greenland / Denmark / Norway 2014

Greenlandic, Danish

Documentary form
73 min · Colour

With

Malik Høegh
Per Berthelsen
Aqqaluk Lynge

Crew

Director
Inuk Silis Høegh
Screenplay
Emile Hertling Péronard
Director of Photography
Henrik Bohn Ipsen
Editor
Per K. Kirkegaard
Sound Design
Rune Hansen
Sound
Jon McBirnie
Producer
Emile Hertling Péronard
Co-producers
Vibeke Vogel, John Arvid Berger
Co-production
Bullitt Film, Kopenhagen
Jabfilm, Tromsø

Biography

Inuk Silis Høegh

Born in Qaqortoq, Greenland in 1972, he earned a Masters in Film and TV production at the University of Bristol in 1997 and a Master of Fine Arts in Copenhagen in 2010. He has produced a number of short films, music videos and commercials and has participated in numerous international exhibitions. In 1999 he directed the Greenlandic short film Sinilluarit (Goodnight), which won the Audience Award at the Far North Film Festival in 2000. Sumé – Mumisitsinerup Nipaa is his first feature length documentary and returns to the Berlinale after having been screened at Panorama in 2015.

Filmography

1999 Sinilluarit (Goodnight); short film 2000 På Fremmed Is; documentary 2001 Eskimo Weekend; short film 2002 I samme båd; documentary 2007 Tarrarsornerit / Spejlinger; documentary 2014 Sume – Mumisitsinerup Nipaa (Sumé – The Sound Of A Revolution); documentary

Produced by

Anorak Film
Nuuk, Greenland
+45 26799654

World sales

DR Sales
Kopenhagen, Denmark
+45 28 542299

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

NATIVe - Indigenous Cinema

SUME – Mumisitsinerup Nipaa

SUMÉ – The Sound of a Revolution

## ## ## ## ## ##

In den 1970er-Jahren entwickelte sich in Grönland eine Bewegung gegen die dänische Vorherrschaft. Grönländer forderten selbstbewusst ihre Freiheit und Betonung der eigenen kulturellen Identität. Teil dieser Bewegung war die Musik der Rockband Sumé. Getragen von den Stimmen der charismatischen Frontmänner Malik Høegh und Per Berthelsen inspirierten und begleiteten ihre Lieder diese Revolution. Dezidiert politische Songtexte erklangen in der marginalisierten grönländischen Sprache. Eine Jugendbewegung entstand und thematisierte die drängenden Fragen des grönländischen Volkes. Faszinierendes Archivmaterial macht den Geist dieser Zeit wieder lebendig und erschafft allegorische Bilder wie etwa die winzige Rockband, die vor gigantischen Eisbergen ein Konzert spielt. Ein roter Lautsprecher taucht immer wieder im Bild auf, wenn sich Bandmitglieder, Fans und heutige Politiker an die aufregenden Klänge dieser Revolution erinnern.

von
Inuk Silis Høegh

Grönland / Dänemark / Norwegen 2014

Grönländisch, Dänisch

Dokumentarische Form
73 Min · Farbe

Mit

Malik Høegh
Per Berthelsen
Aqqaluk Lynge

Stab

Regie
Inuk Silis Høegh
Buch
Emile Hertling Péronard
Kamera
Henrik Bohn Ipsen
Schnitt
Per K. Kirkegaard
Sound Design
Rune Hansen
Ton
Jon McBirnie
Produzent
Emile Hertling Péronard
Co-Produzenten
Vibeke Vogel, John Arvid Berger
Co-Produktion
Bullitt Film, Kopenhagen
Jabfilm, Tromsø

Biografie

Inuk Silis Høegh

Geboren 1972 in Qaqortoq, Grönland. 1997 erwarb er einen Master in Film- und TV-Produktion in Bristol und 2010 in Kopenhagen den Master of Fine Arts. Er produziert Kurzfilme, Musikvideos und Werbefilme. Mit seinen künstlerischen Arbeiten und Installationen war er auf zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen vertreten. 1999 führte er Regie bei dem grönländischen Kurzfilm Sinilluarit (Goodnight), der auf 27 Filmfestivals lief und 2000 den Publikumspreis des Far North Film Festival gewann. Sumé – Mumisitsinerup Nipaa ist sein erster langer Dokumentarfilm und war bereits 2015 im Panorama zu Gast war.

Filmografie

1999 Sinilluarit (Goodnight); Kurzfilm 2000 På Fremmed Is; Dokumentarfilm 2001 Eskimo Weekend; Kurzfilm 2002 I samme båd; Dokumentarfilm 2007 Tarrarsornerit / Spejlinger; Dokumentarfilm 2014 Sume – Mumisitsinerup Nipaa (Sumé – The Sound Of A Revolution); Dokumentarfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Anorak Film

Weltvertrieb

DR Sales