Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded

Ulrike’s Brain

## ## ## ## ## ##

Referencing sixties B-movies like They Saved Hitler’s Brain and The Brain That Would Not Die, Ulrike’s Brain finds Doctor Julia Feifer (Susanne Sachsse) arriving at an academic conference with an organ box. Inside the box: the brain of Ulrike Meinhof, which was saved by the authorities along with the brains of the three other leaders of the RAF after their deaths in Stammheim prison. Doctor Feifer can communicate telepathically with Ulrike’s brain, which is directing her to lead a new feminist revolution. To that end, she is searching for the ideal female body to transplant Ulrike’s brain into. At the same time, her arch-rival, Detlev Schlesinger, an extreme right-wing ideologue, arrives at the conference with the ashes of Michael Kühnen, the former German neo-Nazi leader and infamous homosexual who died of AIDS in 1989. When the two Frankenstein’s monsters of the extreme left and the extreme right meet, chaos ensues.

Bruce LaBruce

Germany / Canada 2017

German, English

55 min · Colour


Gertrude Stammheim
Susanne Sachsse
Jonathan Johnson
Saskia Timm
Stefan Sandrock
Florian Töbe
Yves Hanke
Joseph Wolfgang Ohlert


Written and directed by
Bruce LaBruce
Director of Photography
Bernd Schoch, Heiko Alberti
Joern Hartmann
BunnyCat production
Katja-Inga Baldowski
Maria Trifu
Jürgen Brüning, Bruce LaBruce, Sonja Klümper, Paula Alamillo Rodriguez, Jonathan Johnson


Bruce LaBruce

Born in Southampton, Canada in 1964, he attended film school in Toronto and studied film theory at York University. His film Hustler White screened in the Panorama in 1996 and was his first international cinema success. His work has often featured in the Berlinale, most recently Pierrot Lunaire which screened in the 2014 Forum Expanded and won the Teddy Award. He has also directed numerous music videos and theatre plays and contributes writing and photographs to international magazines, newspapers and websites. His work as an artist has appeared in numerous international exhibitions.


1987 Bruce and Pepper Wayne Gacy’s Home Movies; 20 min. · Boy/Girl; 15 min. 1988 Slam!; 8 min. · I Know What It’s Like to be Dead.; 20 min. 1991 No Skin Off My Ass; 73 min. 1994 Super 8 1/2; 105 min. 1996 Hustler White; 80 min., IFB Panorama 1998 Skin Flick; 90 min. 2004 The Raspberry Reich; 90 min., IFB Panorama 2007 Otto; or, Up with Dead People; 95 min. 2008 Give Piece of Ass a Chance; 15 min. 2009 The Bad Breast; or, The Strange Case of Theda Lange; 20 min. 2010 Weekend In Alphaville; 20 min. · L.A. Zombie; 65 min. 2012 Offing Jack; 20 min. 2013 Defense de Fumer; 7 min. · Gerontophilia; 83 min. 2014 Pierrot Lunaire; 55 min., Forum Expanded 2014 2017 Refugee’s Welcome; 20 min. · The Misandrists; 90 min. · Ulrike’s Brain

Produced by

Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion
Berlin, Germany
+49 30 61620146

World sales

Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion
Berlin, Germany
+49 30 61620146

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Ulrike’s Brain

## ## ## ## ## ##

In Anspielung auf B-Movies der 1960er-Jahre wie They Saved Hitler’s Brain und The Brain That Would Not Die erzählt Ulrike’s Brain die Geschichte von Doktor Julia Feifer (Susanne Sachsse), die mit einem Behälter für Organtransporte unter dem Arm auf einer akademischen Konferenz auftaucht. In der Kiste befindet sich Ulrike Meinhofs Gehirn, das neben den Gehirnen dreier weiterer Führungskader der Roten Armee Fraktion nach deren Tod im Gefängnis Stammheim von den Behörden konfisziert wurde. Doktor Feifer empfängt telepathisch von Ulrikes Gehirn den Befehl, eine neue feministische Revolution anzuführen. Zu diesem Zweck ist sie auf der Suche nach dem idealen weiblichen Körper, in den sie das Gehirn einpflanzen kann. Zur gleichen Zeit erreicht auch Feifers Erzrivale, der ultra-rechte Ideologe Detlev Schlesinger, die Konferenz. Er wiederum ist im Besitz der Asche des ehemaligen deutschen Neonazi-Anführers und berüchtigten Homosexuellen Michael Kühnen, der 1989 an den Folgen von AIDS verstarb. Chaos bricht aus, als die zwei Frankensteinmonster der extremen Linken und Rechten aufeinandertreffen.

von
Bruce LaBruce

Deutschland / Kanada 2017

Deutsch, Englisch

55 Min · Farbe

Mit

Gertrude Stammheim
Susanne Sachsse
Jonathan Johnson
Saskia Timm
Stefan Sandrock
Florian Töbe
Yves Hanke
Joseph Wolfgang Ohlert

Stab

Regie, Buch
Bruce LaBruce
Kamera
Bernd Schoch, Heiko Alberti
Schnitt
Joern Hartmann
Musik
BunnyCat production
Kostüm
Katja-Inga Baldowski
Maske
Maria Trifu
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Jürgen Brüning, Bruce LaBruce, Sonja Klümper, Paula Alamillo Rodriguez, Jonathan Johnson

Biografie

Bruce LaBruce

Geboren 1964 in Southampton, Kanada. Er besuchte die Filmschule in Toronto und studierte Filmtheorie an der York University. Sein Film Hustler White lief 1996 im Panorama und wurde sein erster internationaler Kinoerfolg. Er war mehrfach Gast der Berlinale, zuletzt 2014 im Forum Expanded mit Pierrot Lunaire, für den er den Teddy Award gewann. Er führte auch Regie bei zahlreichen Musikvideos und Theaterstücken, schreibt und fotografiert für internationale Magazine, Zeitungen und Webseiten. Als Künstler war er in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen vertreten.

Filmografie

1987 Bruce and Pepper Wayne Gacy’s Home Movies; 20 Min. · Boy/Girl; 15 Min. 1988 Slam!; 8 Min. · I Know What It’s Like to be Dead.; 20 Min. 1991 No Skin Off My Ass; 73 Min. 1994 Super 8 1/2; 105 Min. 1996 Hustler White; 80 Min., IFB Panorama 1998 Skin Flick; 90 Min. 2004 The Raspberry Reich; 90 Min., IFB Panorama 2007 Otto; or, Up with Dead People; 95 Min., IFB Panorama 2008 Give Piece of Ass a Chance; 15 Min. 2009 The Bad Breast; or, The Strange Case of Theda Lange; 20 Min. 2010 Weekend In Alphaville; 20 Min. · L.A. Zombie; 65 Min. 2012 Offing Jack; 20 Min. 2013 Defense de Fumer; 7 Min. · Gerontophilia; 83 Min. 2014 Pierrot Lunaire; 55 Min., Forum Expanded 2014 2017 Refugee’s Welcome; 20 Min. · The Misandrists; 90 Min. · Ulrike’s Brain

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion

Weltvertrieb

Jürgen Brüning Filmproduktion