Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Hawamesh Aan Al-Hegra

Footnotes on Migration

## ##

In 2008, a group of researchers, writers, and filmmakers worked on producing a documentary that attempted to describe experiences of migration by sea from the north coast of Egypt to Europe. Eight years later, now in the face of exasperatingly high and desperate global migratory movements, two members of Take to the Sea, the collective behind the documentary, revisit the video footage produced in the process, looking back at some of the frail moments left ashore in formal narratives of migration and documentary filmmaking.
Hawamesh Aan Al-Hegra is an attempt to look into the space between the filmmakers and their subjects, at times collapsing it and at others disrupting it. Set between a projection of a scrutinized sun – pixilated and zoomed in from the video footage – and an assemblage of video fragments, Hawamesh Aan Al-Hegra sneaks out of its traditional origins as a documentary and zooms into the materiality of images that endure on pixels and in memory.

by
Take to the Sea

Egypt 2016

Arabic

10 min · Colour · 2-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Crew

Director
Take To The Sea

Biography

Take to the Sea

Take to the Sea started as an open-ended research project concerned with irregular migration from Egypt to Italy via the Mediterranean Sea in early 2008. Since then it has mutated many times, and different minds and motivations have migrated to and through it to produce image, sound, and text-based work that has circulated in film festivals, art exhibitions, and various publications in Arabic and English. In a more recent avatar, Take to the Sea turned the tide in on itself: They now interrogate their own ideas about migration, displacement, borders, and agency instead of looking to other subjects.

Filmography

2011 Not Yet Anywhere; sound installation · Fragments of a Suspended Practice; installation 2013 I Swear I Saw This; video installation, loop · A Roomful of Lost Memory; installation · The answer is that we all depend heavily on wires, but we hardly ever think about them.; video installation 2016 Hawamesh Aan Al-Hegra (Footnotes on Migration)

Produced by

Take to the Sea
Kairo, Egypt
+20 1127 491481

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Hawamesh Aan Al-Hegra

Footnotes on Migration

## ##

Im Jahr 2008 nahm eine Gruppe aus Forscher*innen, Schriftsteller*innen und Filmemacher*innen die Arbeit an einem Dokumentarfilm auf. Der Film sollte die Migration über den Seeweg von der Nordküste Ägyptens nach Europa beschreiben. Acht Jahre später, nun angesichts erbitterter und verzweifelter globaler Migrationsbewegungen, wenden sich zwei Mitglieder von Take to the Sea, dem Kollektiv hinter der Dokumentation, den damals entstandenen Videoaufnahmen erneut zu. Sie nehmen einige der fragilen Momente in den Blick, die in Narrativen der Migration und im dokumentarischen Kino oft keinen Platz finden.
Hawamesh Aan Al-Hegra möchte den Raum zwischen Filmemacher*in und deren Subjekt untersuchen, diese Distanz durchbrechen beziehungsweise ganz in sich zusammenfallen lassen. Die Installation besteht aus zwei Videos: Auf der einen Seite die Projektion einer bis zur Verpixelung vergrößerten Sonne, auf der anderen eine Zusammenstellung von Videofragmenten. Diese neue Konfiguration entzieht die Arbeit ihren Anfängen als klassischer Dokumentarfilm und zoomt auf der Suche nach möglichen neuen Bedeutungen in die Materialität der Bilder hinein, in Pixel und Erinnerungen.

von
Take to the Sea

Ägypten 2016

Arabisch

10 Min · Farbe · 2-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Stab

Regie
Take To The Sea

Biografie

Take to the Sea

Take to the Sea wurde Anfang 2008 als offenes Forschungsprojekt gegründet, das sich mit irregulärer Migration von Ägypten über das Mittelmehr nach Italien beschäftigte. Seitdem sind verschiedene Köpfe und Motivationen dazu gestoßen und das Kollektiv hat sich wiederholt verändert. Ihre Bild-, Sound- und Text-basierten Arbeiten wurden auf Filmfestivals und in Kunstausstellungen gezeigt und in arabisch- und englischsprachigen Publikationen veröffentlicht. Inzwischen haben Take to the Sea einen Gezeitenwechsel vollzogen: Sie untersuchen nun ihre eigenen Vorstellungen von Migration, Vertreibung, Grenzen und Handlungsmacht anstatt andere Subjekte zu untersuchen.

Filmografie

2011 Not Yet Anywhere; Soundinstallation · Fragments of a Suspended Practice; Installation 2013 I Swear I Saw This; Videoinstallation, loop · A Roomful of Lost Memory; Installation · The answer is that we all depend heavily on wires, but we hardly ever think about them.; Videoinstallation 2016 Hawamesh Aan Al-Hegra (Footnotes on Migration)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Take to the Sea