Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded


## ## ## ## ##

To rotate around one’s own axis can be cumbersome and at the same time it can make one light weighted. It is a repetitive movement and does not go forward. It is never linear but still it can make things change or transcend them. Spinning generates energy, creates an outside and an inside. It is stagnant and fast; it takes place on a micro and macrocosmic level. Everything is inconsistent.
Spin is an experimental film about ‘spinning’ in the field of tension of experimental physics (science) and Sufism (mysticism/Islam). It deals with different concepts of truth and their complexities. It also deals with the conception of body and spirit as instruments to experience and generate wisdom and with the space that emerges between sciences and spirituality. It looks at their borders, the borders of the tangible and perceivable for the human being.
Starting in a salt desert, fictional invisible characters meet, searching for a placing of their being. Poems, interviews with physicists, philosophers, a Sufi sheikha, a semazen (dervish), and fictional dialogues are interwoven with an audiovisual exploration of rotation, examining different forms of doubting, differentiating, and thinking.

Ginan Seidl

Germany 2017

Turkish, German, English

80 min · Colour


Susanne Sachsse (narrator)
Norman Sieroka
Ş. Barihüda Tanrikorur
Cheihka H. Nur Artiran
Zafer Gürel
Veli Aksoy
Helena Eckert
Karen Barad


Written and directed by
Ginan Seidl
Director of Photography
Ray Peter Maletzki
Ginan Seidl
Sound Design
Ginan Seidl
Ginan Seidl
Ray Peter Maletzki, Stephan Helmut Beier, Ginan Seidl


Ginan Seidl

Ginan Seidl, born in 1984 in Berlin, lives and works in Halle (Saale) and Berlin. After she finished her studies of plastic arts in Halle (Saale), Berlin, and Mexico City, she participated in the Professional Media Master Class and Master Class Lab of Werkleitz e.V. in 2012 and 2016. She has won several art awards and had residencies in Istanbul and Mexico. Her work has been shown in international film festivals, exhibitions, and art festivals. She is a member of the collective Rosenpictures.


2011 Inverse Geometrie; 10 min. 2012 Rotation; 8 min., Forum Expanded 2013 2013 Ferferak; 5 min. · Subconscious Areas; video installation 2015 Remote City; 20 min. · Boy; 30 min. · Istambul; 20 min. 2017 Spin

Produced by

Rosenpicture Filmproduktion GbR
Halle/Saale, Germany
+49 157 51239044

Ginan Seidl
Halle/Saale, Germany

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Spin

## ## ## ## ##

Sich um die eigene Achse zu drehen ist nicht einfach, zuweilen kann es einen schwindlig machen. Das Drehen ist eine repetitive Bewegung, die nicht vom Fleck kommt. Sie ist nie linear und doch kann sie Dinge verändern oder über sie hinauswachsen und sie umwandeln. Sie produziert Energie und erschafft ein Innen und ein Außen, ist zugleich schnell und unbeweglich, findet auf der Makro- und auf der Mikroebene statt. Nichts stimmt überein.
Spin ist eine filmische Annäherung an das ,spinning‘ zwischen experimenteller Physik und Sufismus. Der Film befasst sich mit Konzepten von Wahrheit und deren Komplexität, mit Körper und Geist als Instrumente der Erfahrung und Wissensproduktion und dem Raum zwischen Spiritualität und Wissenschaft. Er schaut auf die Randbereiche dieser Themen und Begriffe, auf die Grenzen des Fassbaren und des menschlich Erfahrbaren.
In einer Salzwüste treffen sich fiktionale, unsichtbare Figuren. Sie suchen nach einem Ort für ihr Sein. Gedichte, Interviews mit Physikern, Philosophinnen, der Sufi Cheikha, einem Semazen (Derwisch) und fiktionale Dialoge verbinden sich mit audiovisuellen Erkundungen von Rotationsbewegungen und untersuchen Formen von Zweifel, Unterscheidung und Denken.

von
Ginan Seidl

Deutschland 2017

Türkisch, Deutsch, Englisch

80 Min · Farbe

Mit

Susanne Sachsse (Sprecherin)
Norman Sieroka
Ş. Barihüda Tanrikorur
Cheihka H. Nur Artiran
Zafer Gürel
Veli Aksoy
Helena Eckert
Karen Barad

Stab

Regie, Buch
Ginan Seidl
Kamera
Ray Peter Maletzki
Schnitt
Ginan Seidl
Sound Design
Ginan Seidl
Ton
Ginan Seidl
Produzentinnen
Ray Peter Maletzki, Stephan Helmut Beier, Ginan Seidl

Biografie

Ginan Seidl

Ginan Seidl, geboren 1984 in Berlin, lebt und arbeitet in Halle (Saale) und Berlin. Nachdem sie ihr Kunststudium in Halle (Saale), Berlin und Mexico City abschloss, nahm sie 2012 und 2016 an der Professional Media Master Class und dem Master Class Lab von Werkleitz e.V. teil. Sie erhielt verschiedene Kunstpreise und war Residenzstipendiatin in Istanbul und Mexiko. Ihre Arbeiten wurden auf internationalen Filmfestivals und in diversen Ausstellungen und Kunstfestivals gezeigt. Sie ist Teil des Filmkunstkollektivs Rosenpictures.

Filmografie

2011 Inverse Geometrie; 10 Min. 2012 Rotation; 8 Min., Forum Expaned 2013 2013 Ferferak; 5 Min. · Subconscious Areas; Videoinstallation 2015 Remote City; 20 Min. · Boy; 30 Min. · Istambul; 20 Min. 2017 Spin

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Rosenpicture Filmproduktion GbR

Ginan Seidl