Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Panorama Dokumente


## ## ## ## ## ## ##

‘This film seeks to create an image of the world that can only be made if you don't follow a topic, try to judge or pursue a particular aim. It’s about allowing oneself to drift along, propelled by nothing except your own curiosity and intuition.’ These are the words of Michael Glawogger, whose earlier films had often been about global exploitation. In 2014 the director died during his aimless journey through the Balkans, Italy, North and West Africa after contracting malaria just five months earlier. Two years after his death, his editor Monika Willi took on the task of completing his film. Combining hard cuts with a gentler, quieter style of editing she has shaped from Glawogger’s footage a fascinating, visually stunning document accompanied by a strong but unobtrusive mixture of original and composed sounds. Untitled is a restless film about movement and travelling, about the unknown and the other. Above all however – and this is what turns the magic of the images and the act of observing into a truly exciting experience – this is a film about the poetry of the arbitrary. A trip across the world in order to observe, listen and experience. A journey that is raw, courageous and honest.

Michael Glawogger
Monika Willi

Austria / Germany 2017

English, German

Documentary form
107 min · Colour


Fiona Shaw (Narrator)


Michael Glawogger, Monika Willi
Michael Glawogger, Attila Boa, Monika Willi
Director of Photography
Attila Boa
Monika Willi
Wolfgang Mitterer
Sound Design
Matz Müller, Erik Mischijew
Manuel Siebert
Production Manager
Eva Cifrain
Tommy Pridnig, Peter Wirthensohn
Roman Paul, Gerhard Meixner
Razor Film, Berlin


Michael Glawogger

Born in Graz in 1959, he studied at the San Francisco Art Institute and the Film Academy Vienna. He made his name both as a documentary and feature film director. His film Slumming screened in the Berlinale Competition, Kill Daddy Good Night screened in the Panorama and Cathedrals of Culture screened in Berlinale Special. Glawogger died in 2014 whilst directing Untitled in Liberia.

Filmography (selection)

1998 Megacities; documentary 2005 Workingman's Death; documentary 2006 Slumming; IFB Competition 2009 Das Vaterspiel 2011 Whore's Glory; documentary 2014 Cathedrals of Culture; documentary, segment “The National Library of Russia”, IFB Berlinale Special 2017 Untitled; documentary

Monika Willi

Born in Innsbruck, Austria in 1968, she is a film editor who has long been collaborating with directors Michael Glawogger and Michael Haneke. She won the Austrian Film Award for Best Editing for Barbara Albert's Die Lebenden, the Filmplus Editing Award for Das weiße Band and for Thank you for Bombing by Barbara Eder. Untitled is her first film as a co-director.

Filmography (as director)

2017 Untitled; documentary

Produced by

Lotus Film
Wien, Austria
+43 1 7863387

World sales

Autlook Filmsales
Wien, Austria
+43 664 5105552

Berlinale: Programm


Panorama Dokumente

Untitled

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Dieser Film soll ein Bild der Welt entstehen lassen, wie es nur gemacht werden kann, wenn man keinem Thema nachgeht, keine Wertung sucht und kein Ziel verfolgt. Wenn man sich von nichts treiben lässt außer der eigenen Neugier und Intuition“, so Michael Glawogger, dessen frühere Filme häufig die globale Ausbeutung behandelten. 2014 verstarb der Regisseur auf seiner ziellosen Reise durch den Balkan, Italien, Nordwest- und Westafrika bereits nach fünf Monaten an Malaria. Zwei Jahre später übernahm seine Editorin Monika Willi die Fertigstellung des Films. Mal mit scharfen Schnitten, mal sanft und leise montiert sie aus dem entstandenen Material ein faszinierendes, bildgewaltiges Dokument, unterlegt mit einem starken, aber unaufdringlichen Mix aus Original- und komponierten Tönen. Untitled ist ein nie zur Ruhe kommender Film über Bewegung und das Unterwegssein, über das Fremde und die Fremde. Vor allem aber, und das macht die Magie der Bilder aus und das Betrachten zu einem aufregenden Erlebnis, ist es ein Film über die Poesie des Zufalls. Eine Reise durch die Welt, um zu beobachten, zuzuhören und zu erleben – mutig, roh und offen.

von
Michael Glawogger
Monika Willi

Österreich / Deutschland 2017

Englisch, Deutsch

Dokumentarische Form
107 Min · Farbe

Mit

Fiona Shaw (Erzählerin)

Stab

Regie
Michael Glawogger, Monika Willi
Buch
Michael Glawogger, Attila Boa, Monika Willi
Kamera
Attila Boa
Schnitt
Monika Willi
Musik
Wolfgang Mitterer
Sound Design
Matz Müller, Erik Mischijew
Ton
Manuel Siebert
Production Manager
Eva Cifrain
Produzenten
Tommy Pridnig, Peter Wirthensohn
Co-Produzenten
Roman Paul, Gerhard Meixner
Co-Produktion
Razor Film, Berlin

Biografie

Michael Glawogger

Geboren 1959 in Graz. Nach dem Studium am San Francisco Art Institute und an der Wiener Filmakademie machte er sich als Dokumentarfilmer und Spielfilmregisseur einen Namen. Mit Slumming war er im Wettbewerb der Berlinale vertreten, im Panorama zeigte er Das Vaterspiel und im Berlinale Special Cathedrals of Culture. 2014 starb Glawogger während der Dreharbeiten zu Untitled in Liberia.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1998 Megacities; Dokumentarfilm 2005 Workingman's Death; Dokumentarfilm 2006 Slumming; IFB Wettbewerb 2009 Das Vaterspiel; IFB Panorama 2011 Whore's Glory; Dokumentarfilm 2014 Cathedrals of Culture; Dokumentarfilm, Regie des Segements „Episode Russische Nationalbibliothek; St. Petersburg“, IFB Berlinale Special 2017 Untitled; Dokumentarfilm

Monika Willi

Geboren 1968 in Innsbruck. Die Filmeditorin verbindet eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit den Regisseuren Michael Glawogger und Michael Haneke. Für Barbara Alberts Film Die Lebenden gewann sie den Österreichischen Filmpreis für den besten Schnitt, für Hanekes Das weiße Band sowie für Thank you for Bombing von Barbara Eder den Filmplus Schnittpreis. Untitled ist ihre erste Co-Regiearbeit.

Filmografie (als Regisseurin)

2017 Untitled; Dokumentarfilm

Produktion

Lotus Film
Wien, Österreich
+43 1 7863387

Weltvertrieb

Autlook Filmsales
Wien, Österreich
+43 664 5105552