Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Purple, Bodies in Translation – Part II of A Yellow Memory from the Yellow Age

## ## ##

The installation is based on two texts that discuss the act of translating war and resilience. It is designed as an immersive experience, to create a reflective space for the audience to think through the intricacies of the wars in Syria and Iraq, mediated through testimony. The video merely shows a color: purple, projected on a mirrored screen that allows the viewers to see their own reflection, to see themselves within the subtitled text.
Lina Mounzer’s essay ‘War in Translation: Giving Voice to the Women of Syria’ weaves the testimonies she is translating with her own personal experience of living through the civil war in Lebanon, and how her own experience shapes how she processes and internalizes the testimonies in order to distill the essence of the words.
Stefan Tarnowski’s essay ‘Subtitling a Film’ describes the intricacies of translating subtitles for the anonymous film collective Abounaddara and the special collaborative process of working for someone he has never met. Tarnowski uses this experience to reflect on the role of the subtitle, the details lost in translation, and what additional elements and contradictions are created by the differences between subtitles and image.

by
Joe Namy

Lebanon 2017

English, Arabic

15 min · Colour · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Crew

Director
Joe Namy

Biography

Joe Namy

Joe Namy, born in 1978 in Lansing, USA, is based in Beirut, Lebanon. He works with visual media and music, often addressing aspects of identity, memory, power, and currents encoded in organized sound. He is currently serving as an advisor for the Ashkal Alwan Home Workspace independent study program. He studied jazz, Arabic, and heavy metal drumming in Detroit, where he started out making hip-hop music videos. His work has been exhibited, screened, and amplified internationally in museums, galleries, and festivals. Some of his projects fall under the sound art platform titled Electric Kahraba, which operates as an experimental radio program.

Filmography

2008 Locusts; 10 min. 2009 People Not Places; 12 min. · Jnoub (South Lebanon); 12 min. 2010 Detroit Summer; 4 min. · Foreclosure Reversal; 4 min. · Under the Shade of Apprehension; 7 min. 2014 Testify; 6 min. · Half Step; 1 min., Forum Expanded 2014 2015 Dive; 5 min. · Stones Gods People; 5 min., Forum Expanded 2016 2017 Purple, Bodies in Translation – Part II of A Yellow Memory from the Yellow Age

Produced by

Joe Namy
Beirut, Lebanon

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Purple, Bodies in Translation – Part II of A Yellow Memory from the Yellow Age

## ## ##

Die Installation basiert auf zwei Texten, in denen der Vorgang des Übersetzens von Krieg und Widerstand diskutiert wird. Sie eröffnet den Zuschauer*innen übermittelt durch Zeugenberichte einen immersiven Erfahrungs- und Reflexionsraum zur Durchdringung der Komplexität des Kriegs in Syrien und im Irak. Das Bild zeigt nur eine Farbe: Purpur, projiziert auf eine reflektierende Leinwand, so dass die Spiegelung des Publikums mit dem untertitelten Text verschmilzt.
Lina Mounzers Aufsatz ,War in Translation: Giving Voice to the Women of Syria‘ verwebt die Zeugenaussagen, die sie übersetzt, mit ihren eigenen Erfahrungen aus dem Bürgerkrieg im Libanon und mit der Frage, wie diese Einfluss auf die Art und Weise ausüben, in der sie Berichte verarbeitet und verinnerlicht, um die Essenz der Worte herauszudestillieren.
Stefan Tarnowskis Aufsatz ,Subtitling a Film‘ beschreibt die Feinheiten des Übersetzens von Untertiteln für das anonyme Filmkollektiv Abounaddara und die Arbeit mit jemandem, den man nie getroffen hat. Auf diesen Erfahrungen basierend untersucht Tarnowski die Rolle von Untertiteln, indem er hinterfragt, welche Details in einer Übersetzung verloren gehen und welche Ergänzungen und Widersprüche zwischen Untertitel und Bild entstehen.

von
Joe Namy

Libanon 2017

Englisch, Arabisch

15 Min · Farbe · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Stab

Regie
Joe Namy

Biografie

Joe Namy

Joe Namy, geboren 1978 in Lansing, USA, ist ein in Beirut, Libanon, lebender Künstler. Er arbeitet mit visuellen Medien und Musik. Seine Projekte setzen sich mit Identität, Erinnerung, Macht und Strömungen in organisierten Klängen auseinander. Er ist aktuell Berater für das unabhängige Studienprogramm Home Workspace organisiert von Ashkal Alwan. Er studierte Jazz, Arabisch und Heavy-Metal-Schlagzeug in Detroit, wo er begann Hip-Hop Videos zu machen. Seine Arbeiten wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals und in Ausstellungen gezeigt. Einige seiner Arbeiten veröffentlicht er auf der Soundart-Plattform Electric Kahraba, die auch als experimentelles Radioprogramm operiert.

Filmografie

2008 Locusts; 10 Min. 2009 People Not Places; 12 Min. · Jnoub (South Lebanon); 12 Min. 2010 Detroit Summer; 4 Min. · Foreclosure Reversal; 4 Min. · Under the Shade of Apprehension; 7 Min. 2014 Testify; 6 Min. · Half Step; 1 Min., Forum Expanded 2014 2015 Dive; 5 Min. · Stones Gods People; 5 Min., Forum Expanded 2016 2017 Purple, Bodies in Translation – Part II of A Yellow Memory from the Yellow Age

Produktion

Joe Namy
Beirut, Libanon