Berlinale: Programme


Panorama Dokumente

Bones of Contention

## ## ## ## ##

There are 120,000 victims of Franco’s regime buried in the unmarked mass graves that stretch for kilometres alongside Spain’s country roads. One of these victims is the world-renowned Spanish author Federico García Lorca, who was shot and killed by the fascists during the early days of the Spanish Civil War. The mystery that surrounds the exact location of his remains has made him a symbol for those seeking to remember and disclose the hidden stories of gays and lesbians under Franco, people who continued to be subjected to violent repression long after the end of the dictatorship. Spain is today one of the most progressive countries when it comes to homosexuality, and yet the nation still refuses to account comprehensively for its dark past before a court of law. Andrea Weiss’ sensitive film gives a voice to the victims from the LGBTIQ* community. Her documentary tells their stories and their struggle for clarification, justice and human rights as well as their continued efforts to provide those who were murdered and ‘disappeared’ with a dignified burial. Impressive archive material documents this repressed history which finds a painful echo in Lorca’s poetry and music.

by
Andrea Weiss

USA 2017

Spanish, English

Documentary form
75 min · Colour & Black/White

Crew

Written and directed by
Andrea Weiss
Director of Photography
Carmen Vidal Balanzat
Editor
Andrea Weiss
Music
Joaquín Turina, Federico García Lorca, Duo DS
Sound
Sergio Fernandez Borras
Production Design
Rebekah Haug
Production Manager
Ariadna Puig Cabeza
Producer
Andrea Weiss
Executive Producer
Greta Schiller

Biography

Andrea Weiss

Born in Bristol, Pennsylvania in 1956, she is a documentary filmmaker and non-fiction author. In 1984 she co-founded with Greta Schiller the film production company Jezebel Productions which was recently honoured with a retrospective in Buenos Aires. She co-wrote and co-directed Escape to Life: the Erika and Klaus Mann Story which screened in the New German Films section of the Berlinale in 2001. She has received numerous awards and fellowships including the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme. She has a PhD in history and has been professor of film and video at the City College of New York since 2003.

Filmography

1986 International Sweethearts Of Rhythm 1989 Tiny & Ruby: Hell Divin' Women; co-director: Greta Schiller, IFB Panorama 1996 A Bit Of Scarlet; IFB Panorama 1998 Seed Of Sarah 2001 Escape To Life: The Erika And Klaus Mann Story; co-director: Wieland Speck, IFB Neue Deutsche Filme 2007 U.N. Fever 2017 Bones Of Contention

Produced by

Jezebel Productions
New York, USA
+1 212 5944470

World sales

Doc & Film International
Paris, France
+33 1 42775687

www.docandfilm.com

Berlinale: Programm


Panorama Dokumente

Bones of Contention

## ## ## ## ##

Kilometerlang säumen ungekennzeichnete Massengräber Spaniens Landstraßen, in denen über 120.000 Opfer des Franco-Regimes verschüttet liegen. Unter ihnen ist auch der weltberühmte spanische Schriftsteller Federico García Lorca, der in den ersten Tagen des Spanischen Bürgerkriegs von Faschisten erschossen wurde. Das Rätsel um den Verbleib seiner sterblichen Überreste macht ihn zur Symbolfigur im Bemühen um das Erinnern und Aufdecken verborgener Schicksale von Schwulen und Lesben unter Franco, die weit über das Ende der Diktatur hinaus gewaltsamen Repressionen ausgesetzt waren. Spanien, das heute im Umgang mit Homosexualität zu den fortschrittlichsten Ländern gehört, verweigert nach wie vor eine umfassende strafrechtliche Aufarbeitung seiner dunklen Vergangenheit. Einfühlsam verschafft Andrea Weiss Francos Opfern aus der LGBTIQ*-Community Gehör. Der Film zeigt ihre Lebensgeschichten im Kampf um Aufklärung, Gerechtigkeit und Menschenrechte sowie den anhaltenden Streit um eine würdige Neubestattung der verschwundenen Ermordeten. Beeindruckendes Archivmaterial dokumentiert die verdrängte historische Realität, die in Lorcas Dichtungen und Musik schmerzvollen Widerhall findet.

von
Andrea Weiss

USA 2017

Spanisch, Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
75 Min · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß

Stab

Regie, Buch
Andrea Weiss
Kamera
Carmen Vidal Balanzat
Schnitt
Andrea Weiss
Musik
Joaquín Turina, Federico García Lorca, Duo DS
Ton
Sergio Fernandez Borras
Production Design
Rebekah Haug
Production Manager
Ariadna Puig Cabeza
Produzentin
Andrea Weiss
Ausführende Produzentin
Greta Schiller

Biografie

Andrea Weiss

Geboren 1956 in Bristol, Pennsylvania. Die Dokumentarfilmerin und Sachbuchautorin gründete 1984 zusammen mit Greta Schiller die Produktionsfirma Jezebel Productions, die kürzlich mit einer Retrospektive in Buenos Aires geehrt wurde. Sie war Co-Autorin und Co-Regisseurin des Films Flucht ins Leben – Die Erika und Klaus Mann-Story, der 2001 in der Sektion Neue Deutsche Filme gezeigt wurde. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien und war unter anderem Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Die promovierte Historikerin ist seit 2003 Professorin für Film und Video am City College in New York.

Filmografie

1986 International Sweethearts Of Rhythm 1989 Tiny & Ruby: Hell Divin' Women; Co-Regie: Greta Schiller, IFB Panorama 1996 A Bit Of Scarlet; IFB Panorama 1998 Seed Of Sarah 2001 Escape To Life: The Erika And Klaus Mann Story; Co-Regie: Wieland Speck, IFB Neue Deutsche Filme 2007 U.N. Fever 2017 Bones Of Contention

Produktion

Jezebel Productions
New York, USA
+1 212 5944470

Weltvertrieb

Doc & Film International
Paris, Frankreich
+33 1 42775687

www.docandfilm.com