Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Bawabet Yafa

Jaffa Gate

##

“Sunday, 18 December 1917, Field Marshall Allenby entered Jerusalem in a great military ceremony, marking the official victory and the conquest of Jerusalem... I still recall this great day, when he entered the Jaffa Gate.” Wasif Jawhariyyeh
The multimedia installation Bawabet Yafa questions the notion of heritage and memory in Palestine by looking into the space of the Jaffa Gate through the lens of early photography in Palestine and the lively memories of Wasif Jawhariyyeh. This narrative tells an alternative story of the relationship between the material past and the national imagination that takes future generations into account and shows that the built environment, although not recognized as heritage, was part of the spatial discourse related to knowledge production about past events (in the future). Bawabet Yafa makes it possible to speculate, “What would have happened if Jawhariyyeh had kicked Ashbee’s* butt?”
*Charles Robert Ashbee was the appointed civic adviser to the British Mandate of Palestine and responsible for removing the clock tower of the Jaffa Gate. Wasif Jawhariyyeh was his secretary.

by
Riwaq
Khaldun Bshara

Palestine 2016

Arabic, English

4 min · Black/White · Videoinstallation

Crew

Research
Khaldun Bshara
Director
Mohanad Yaqubi, of the video “On That Day”, Riwaq, Khaldun Bshara
Set Construction
Yousef Taha, 3D model
Khaldun Bshara

Khaldun Bshara, born in 1972 in Palestine, is an architect, restorer, and anthropologist who lives and works in Ramallah. He is the Director of Riwaq Centre in Ramallah, where he has worked since 1994. Bshara has carried out many architectural design and restoration projects and is the author of a number of books and articles. Bshara’s work explores the relation between space and identity formation. Particularly, he is interested in margins, peripheries, or liminal spaces that challenge grand identity narratives and grand theories on space.

Produced by

Idioms Film
Ramallah, Palestine
+970 2297 6157

www.idiomsfilm.com

Riwaq
Ramallah, Palestine
+97 22 406925

riwaq.org

World sales

Idioms Film
Ramallah, Palestine
+970 2297 6157

www.idiomsfilm.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Bawabet Yafa

Jaffa Gate

##

„Sonntag, 18. Dezember 1917: Mit großem militärischem Zeremoniell zieht Feldmarschall Allenby in Jerusalem ein und markiert damit den offiziellen Sieg und die Eroberung der Stadt... Ich erinnere mich immer noch an diesen großen Tag als er durch das Jaffator kam.“ Wasif Jawhariyyeh
Die Multimedia-Installation Bawabet Yafa befragt die Konzepte Erbe und Gedächtnis im palästinensischen Kontext am Beispiel des Jaffators. Mithilfe früher palästinensischer Fotografie und der gelebten Erinnerung Wasif Jawhariyyehs erzählt sie eine alternative Geschichte der Beziehung zwischen materieller Vergangenheit und kollektiven Vorstellungen von Nation. Sie denkt zukünftige Generationen mit und zeigt, dass die Bauten, die uns umgeben, obwohl sie nicht als Erbe anerkannt sind, Teil der räumlichen Diskurse waren, die Wissensproduktion über vergangene Ereignisse (in der Zukunft) beeinflussten. Bawabet Yafa lässt uns spekulieren, was passiert wäre, „hätte Jawhariyyeh Ashbee* eine Abreibung verpasst.“
*Charles Robert Ashbee, städtebaulicher Berater des britischen Mandatsgebiets von Palästina, war verantwortlich für den Abriss des Uhrenturms am Jaffator. Wasif Jawhariyyeh war sein Sekretär.

von
Riwaq
Khaldun Bshara

Palästina 2016

Arabisch, Englisch

4 Min · Schwarz-Weiß · Videoinstallation

Stab

Recherche
Khaldun Bshara
Regie
Mohanad Yaqubi, des Videos „On That Day“, Riwaq, Khaldun Bshara
Bau-Ausführung
Yousef Taha, 3D Modell
Khaldun Bshara

Khaldun Bshara, geboren 1972 in Palästina, ist Architekt, Restaurator und Anthropologe und lebt in Ramallah. Er ist der Direktor des Riwaq Centre in Ramallah, wo er seit 1994 arbeitet. Bshara hat Architektur- und Restaurationsprojekte durchgeführt und ist Autor zahlreicher Bücher und Artikel. Seine Arbeit untersucht die Beziehung zwischen Raum und Identitätsbildung. Er interessiert sich vor allem für Randgebiete, Peripherien und begrenzte Räume, die identitätsstiftende Erzählungen und Raumtheorien herausfordern.

Produktion

Weltvertrieb

Idioms Film
www.idiomsfilm.com