Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded

Towards Memory

## ## ##

How come some occurrences are edited out of history and some over-emphasized? Who is giving whom the right to speak and when? How is history visible and audible in the present? What is an anti-monument? What are ways in which an archive relates to the present?
Towards Memory is a video and research project in collaboration with Namibian women who as children were sent to the former GDR during the Namibian struggle for independence and against apartheid, which started in 1979. After the fall of the Berlin Wall they were abruptly sent back to Namibia.
The video installation is based on archival research, video interviews, and contemporary commemorations of 25 years of independence and the genocide of the Herero and Nama. The project scrutinizes the entanglement of German and Namibian politics dealing with the consequences and (in-)visibilities of colonialism, genocide, displacement, and apartheid.

Katrin Winkler

Germany 2016

German, English

32 min · Colour · 2-Kanal-Videoinstallation


Monica Nambelela
Lucia Engombe
Fatima Pedru
Esther Utjiua Muinjange


Katrin Winkler
Director of Photography
Katrin Winkler
Katrin Winkler, Noam Gorbat
Sound Design
Stefan Röselmair
Kauna Hoabeb
Katrin Winkler


Katrin Winkler

Katrin Winkler, born in 1983 in Starnberg, Germany, works in the fields of expanded cinema, critical research, video, and photography. A recurring theme in her practice is the invisibility and visibility of history and its entanglement with the contemporary moment. She was an assistant at the Katutura Community Art Center, Windhoek, Namibia. She holds a BFA in Photography from the Hochschule München, an MFA in Photography and Media with Allan Sekula from the California Institute of the Arts, Los Angeles, and was a master student of Clemens von Wedemeyer at the Academy of Fine Arts, Leipzig. Her work has been shown in exhibitions around the world.


2009 Not Only A.; 13 min. 2011 To Protect and to Serve; 10 min., loop 2013 We don‘t just want a piece of the pie, we want the whole fucking bakery!; video installation, 28 min., loop 2016 Towards Memory

Produced by

Katrin Winkler
Berlin, Germany
+49 176 72266091

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Towards Memory

## ## ##

Warum sind manche Ereignisse aus der aktuellen Geschichtsschreibung ausgeklammert und andere überbetont? Wer gibt wem das Recht sich zu äußern und zu welchem Zeitpunkt? Wie ist Geschichte im gegenwärtigen Moment sichtbar und hörbar? Was ist ein Anti-Monument? Auf welche Art und Weise wirkt ein Archiv auf die Gegenwart?
Towards Memory ist ein Video- und Rechercheprojekt, das in Zusammenarbeit mit namibischen Frauen entstand, die als Kinder ab 1979 während des Namibischen Unabhängigkeits- und Anti-Apartheid-Kampfs in die damalige DDR gesandt wurden. Nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer wurden sie schnell wieder zurückgeschickt.
Grundlage der Videoinstallation sind Archivrecherchen, Videointerviews und aktuelle Erinnerungsfeierlichkeiten zur 25-jährigen Unabhängigkeit Namibias und dem Genozid an den Herero und Nama. Das Projekt fragt nach der Verknüpfung deutscher und namibischer Geschichte und dem politischen Umgang mit den Konsequenzen und (Un-)Sichtbarkeiten von Kolonialismus, Genozid, Vertreibung und Apartheid.

von
Katrin Winkler

Deutschland 2016

Deutsch, Englisch

32 Min · Farbe · 2-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Mit

Monica Nambelela
Lucia Engombe
Fatima Pedru
Esther Utjiua Muinjange

Stab

Regie
Katrin Winkler
Kamera
Katrin Winkler
Schnitt
Katrin Winkler, Noam Gorbat
Sound Design
Stefan Röselmair
Ton
Kauna Hoabeb
Produzentin
Katrin Winkler

Biografie

Katrin Winkler

Katrin Winkler wurde 1983 in Starnberg geboren. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit bewegt sich zwischen Expanded Cinema, intensiven Recherchen, Video und Fotografie. Inwieweit Geschichte (un-)sichtbar und mit der Gegenwart verwoben ist, ist eine wiederkehrende Thematik in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis. Sie absolvierte einen Recherche- und Assistenzaufenthalt am Katutura Community Art Center, Windhuk, Namibia. Sie studierte Fotografie an der Hochschule München (BFA), Fotografie und Medien unter anderem bei Allan Sekula am California Institute of the Arts, Los Angeles (MFA) und war Meisterschülerin bei Clemens von Wedemeyer an der HGB, Leipzig. Ihre Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt.

Filmografie

2009 Not Only A.; 13 Min. 2011 To Protect and to Serve; 10 Min., Loop 2013 We don‘t just want a piece of the pie, we want the whole fucking bakery!; Videoinstallation, 28 min., Loop 2016 Towards Memory

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Katrin Winkler