Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Mon rot fai

Railway Sleepers

## ## ## ## ## ##

The first railway line in Thailand, a sign of progress and wealth, was inaugurated in 1893. Looking out of the train window today, you can still see rice paddies and palm trees. In first class, foreign tourists mingle with rich Thais, toasting one another before retiring to generously-sized couchettes. The wagons at the back are jam-packed, with four passengers squashed on to benches meant for two. People selling food skillfully make their way through the train. Life gets on and off, while the camera mixes with the passengers as if it itself were one of their number. A woman sells cheap novels, children do their homework, armed soldiers conduct their checks, more and more veiled women board the train. These tiny, casually observed portraits of everyday life reflect the mood of a society that doesn’t seem to know where it’s headed, even if the train has been crossing the country from north to south for over 100 years now. It is a contemplative journey accompanied by the constant rattling of the wheels, giving viewers an insight into an unfamiliar country in surprising fashion.

by
Sompot Chidgasornpongse

Thailand 2016

Thai

Documentary form
102 min · Colour

Crew

Director
Sompot Chidgasornpongse
Director of Photography
Sompot Chidgasornpongse
Editor
Sompot Chidgasornpongse
Sound Design
Akritchalerm Kalayanamitr
Sound
Chalermrat Kaweewattana
Producers
Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Kick the Machine Films, Sompot Chidgasornpongse, At a Time Pictures

Biography

Sompot Chidgasornpongse

Born in Bangkok, Thailand, in 1980. He studied Architecture in Bangkok, and Film/Video at the California Institute of the Arts. Since then, he has worked several times as an assistant director to Apichatpong Weerasethakul, and has made 14 short films. He took part in the Berlinale Talents in 2014 as a director and editor. Mon rot fai is his first feature-length film.

Filmography

2003 Auad Dee; 10 min. 2004 To Infinity and Beyond; 11 min. 2005 Bangkok in the Evening; 16 min. · Andaman; 17 min. 2006 ABC; 3 min. · Naoko is trying to teach me how to make "Tonkatsu" in 1 minute; 1 min. · 8241.46 miles away from home; 6 min. 2007 Landscape 101 01 1101 01...; 28 min. · Physical Therapy; 1 min. 2008 Yesterday; 13 min. · Diseases and a Hundred Year Period; 20 min. · The Act of Repeating as a Basic Life Lesson; 4 min. 2009 Storytelling; 5 min. 2010 Home Video (Made in Thai Town); 21 min. 2016 Mon rot fai (Railway Sleepers)

Produced by

Kick the Machine Films
Bangkok, Thailand

At a Time Pictures
Bangkok, Thailand

World sales

At a Time Pictures
Bangkok, Thailand

Berlinale: Programm


Forum

Mon rot fai

Railway Sleepers

## ## ## ## ## ##

1893 wurde die erste Bahnlinie in Thailand als Zeichen des Fortschritts und Wohlstands eröffnet. Schaut man heute aus dem Zugfenster, blickt man immer noch auf Reisfelder und Palmenlandschaften. In der ersten Klasse mischen sich die Touristen mit reicheren Einheimischen und prosten einander zu, bevor sie sich in ihre großzügigen Liegewagen zurückziehen. Die hinteren Waggons sind überfüllt; auf Bänke, die für zwei vorgesehen sind, quetschen sich vier Reisende. Geschickt bahnen sich die Essensverkäufer ihren Weg. Das Leben steigt ein und steigt wieder aus, während die Kamera sich wie ein Fahrgast unter die Reisenden mischt. Eine Frau verkauft Groschenromane, Kinder erledigen die Hausaufgaben, bewaffnete Soldaten führen Kontrollen aus, immer mehr verschleierte Frauen füllen die Abteile. Die beiläufig beobachteten Miniaturen des Alltags im Zug geben die Stimmung einer Gesellschaft wieder, die nicht zu wissen scheint, wohin sie sich eigentlich bewegt, während der Zug seit 100 Jahren das Land von Norden nach Süden durchquert. Es ist eine kontemplative Reise zum gleichmäßigen Rattern der Räder, die den Zuschauer auf überraschende Weise ein fremdes Land erkunden lässt.

von
Sompot Chidgasornpongse

Thailand 2016

Thai

Dokumentarische Form
102 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie
Sompot Chidgasornpongse
Kamera
Sompot Chidgasornpongse
Schnitt
Sompot Chidgasornpongse
Sound Design
Akritchalerm Kalayanamitr
Ton
Chalermrat Kaweewattana
Produzenten
Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Kick the Machine Films, Sompot Chidgasornpongse, At a Time Pictures

Biografie

Sompot Chidgasornpongse

Geboren 1980 in Bangkok, Thailand. Er studierte Architektur in Bangkok und Film am California Institute of the Arts. Seither arbeitete er mehrfach als Regieassistent von Apichatpong Weerasethakul und drehte 14 Kurzfilme. 2014 nahm er als Regisseur und Cutter an den Berlinale Talents teil. Mon rot fai ist sein erster abendfüllender Film.

Filmografie

2003 Auad Dee; 10 Min. 2004 To Infinity and Beyond; 11 Min. 2005 Bangkok in the Evening; 16 Min. · Andaman; 17 Min. 2006 ABC; 3 Min. · Naoko is trying to teach me how to make "Tonkatsu" in 1 minute; 1 Min. · 8241.46 miles away from home; 6 Min. 2007 Landscape 101 01 1101 01...; 28 Min. · Physical Therapy; 1 Min. 2008 Yesterday; 13 Min. · Diseases and a Hundred Year Period; 20 Min. · The Act of Repeating as a Basic Life Lesson; 4 Min. 2009 Storytelling; 5 Min. 2010 Home Video (Made in Thai Town); 21 Min. 2016 Mon rot fai (Railway Sleepers)

Produktion

Kick the Machine Films
Bangkok, Thailand

At a Time Pictures
Bangkok, Thailand

Weltvertrieb

At a Time Pictures
Bangkok, Thailand