Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Panorama Dokumente


## ## ## ## ##

Singer Chavela Vargas gained a name for herself firstly in Mexico and later worldwide chiefly for her interpretation of traditional rancheras. These songs were mainly composed by men and mostly speak of unfulfilled love for women, world-weariness and loneliness. Chavela performed them with her own unique feeling for rhythm and her distinctively rough and yet vulnerable voice. Her masculine appearance and red poncho made her unmistakable. In Acapulco, which in the 1960s was the playground for the rich and famous in the world of politics and culture, she rubbed shoulders with many celebrities, turning the heads of Frida Kahlo and Ava Gardner with her charm and striking beauty. After a 13-year break from performing brought on as a result of her addiction to alcohol she was rediscovered in the 1990s and enjoyed a glorious comeback as the muse of artists and directors such as Pedro Almodóvar. The unpublished material in this film, as well as the interviews with Chavela herself and her contemporaries, colleagues and partners have resulted in an affectionate portrait of a charismatic and exceptional artist - who was openly lesbian throughout her life until her death in 2012 at the age of 93.

Catherine Gund
Daresha Kyi

USA 2017

Spanish, English

Documentary form
90 min · Colour & Black/White


Chavela Vargas
Pedro Almodóvar


Catherine Gund, Daresha Kyi
Carla Gutierrez
Gil Talmi
Executive Producers
Lynda Weinman, Bruce Heavin
Catherine Gund, Daresha Kyi


Catherine Gund

Born in Geelong, Australia in 1965, she is a producer, director and writer. Her work focuses on arts, culture and social issues. She is a founder of the Aubin Pictures production company. Her film Born to Fly was nominated for an Emmy; What’s On Your Plate? screened in Culinary Cinema in 2009.


1996 When Democracy Works; short film 1998 Hallelujah! Ron Athey: A Story of Deliverance 1999 Object Lessons; short film 2004 Making Grace 2009 What’s On Your Plate?; documentary, IFB Culinary Cinema 2014 Born to Fly 2017 Chavela

Daresha Kyi

Born in Los Angeles, USA in 1962, she has been a filmmaker and producer for more than 25 years. She studied at the Tisch School of the Arts in New York and is part of the team of the production company Aubin Pictures.


1986 Just Because of Who We Are; Co-director: Heramedia, short film 1991 Land Where My Fathers Died; short film 2017 Chavela

Produced by

Aubin Pictures
New York, USA

World sales

Latido Films
Madrid, Spain
+34 91 5488877

Berlinale: Programm


Panorama Dokumente

Chavela

## ## ## ## ##

Durch die Darbietung traditioneller Rancheras wurde die Sängerin Chavela Vargas erst in Mexiko und später weltweit bekannt. Die Lieder, die – vor allem von Männern komponiert – meist von unerfüllter Liebe zu Frauen, Weltschmerz und Einsamkeit handeln, trug sie mit einem einzigartigen Gefühl für Rhythmik und markant-rauer, zugleich verletzlicher Stimme vor. Ihr burschikoses Auftreten und der Poncho machten sie unverwechselbar. In Acapulco, in den 1960er-Jahren Treffpunkt für Prominenz aus Politik und Kultur, verkehrte sie mit zahlreichen Berühmtheiten und verdrehte mit ihrem Charme und ihrer auffallenden Schönheit Frida Kahlo oder Ava Gardner den Kopf. Nach einer 13-jährigen, dem intensiven Alkoholgenuss geschuldeten Auftrittspause wurde sie Anfang der 1990er-Jahre wiederentdeckt. Sie hatte ein beeindruckendes Comeback und war Muse von Künstlern und Regisseuren wie Pedro Almodóvar. Aus teils unveröffentlichtem Material und Interviews mit Chavela selbst, ihren Weggefährten, Kolleginnen und Partnerinnen entstand ein liebevolles Porträt der charismatischen und zeitlebens offen lesbisch lebenden Ausnahmekünstlerin, die 2012 im Alter von 93 Jahren starb.

von
Catherine Gund
Daresha Kyi

USA 2017

Spanisch, Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
90 Min · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

Chavela Vargas
Pedro Almodóvar

Stab

Regie
Catherine Gund, Daresha Kyi
Schnitt
Carla Gutierrez
Musik
Gil Talmi
Ausführende Produzenten
Lynda Weinman, Bruce Heavin
Produzentinnen
Catherine Gund, Daresha Kyi

Biografie

Catherine Gund

Geboren 1965 in Geelong, Australien. Die Produzentin, Regisseurin und Autorin beschäftigt sich in ihren Werken mit Kunst, Kultur und Fragen der sozialen Gerechtigkeit. Sie ist Gründerin der Produktionsfirma Aubin Pictures. Ihr Film Born to Fly wurde für einen Emmy nominiert. What’s On Your Plate? lief 2009 in der Sektion Kulinarisches Kino.

Filmografie

1996 When Democracy Works; Kurzfilm 1998 Hallelujah! Ron Athey: A Story of Deliverance 1999 Object Lessons; Kurzfilm 2004 Making Grace 2009 What’s On Your Plate?; Dokumentarfilm, IFB Kulinarisches Kino 2014 Born to Fly 2017 Chavela

Daresha Kyi

Geboren 1962 in Los Angeles. Die Filmemacherin und Produzentin ist seit über 25 Jahren im Filmgeschäft tätig. Sie studierte an der Tisch School of the Arts in New York und gehört zum Team der Produktionsfirma Aubin Pictures.

Filmografie

1986 Just Because of Who We Are; Co-Regie: Heramedia, Kurzfilm 1991 Land Where My Fathers Died; Kurzfilm 2017 Chavela

Produktion

Aubin Pictures
New York, USA

Weltvertrieb

Latido Films
Madrid, Spanien
+34 91 5488877