Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Generation 14plus

Loving Lorna

## ## ## ##

‘Being up with the horses, up at the stables, it's kind of dragged me away from the trouble and just turned me into a good kid.’

Horses have been part of daily life for generations in the deprived Dublin suburb of Ballymun – and for 17-year-old Lorna and her family too. Her unemployed father finds structure and purpose in daily life by caring for his horses, while her sick mother wistfully remembers the days when she used to turn heads as she galloped through the town. These days it's Lorna who likes to spend all her free time in the stable or riding Bigfoot, her horse. She's long since set her heart on becoming a farrier when she leaves school – if only it weren't for her constant back pain. A poetic film about longing, happiness, dreams and the transient nature of life.

by
Annika Karlsson
Jessica Karlsson

Sweden 2017

English

Documentary form
61 min · Colour

Crew

Written and directed by
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson
Director of Photography
Kate McCullough
Editor
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson
Music
Micael Henriquez
Sound Design
Torsten Rundqvist
Sound
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson
Production Design
Agnes Florin, Sepidar Hosseini
Producers
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson

Biography

Annika Karlsson

Born in 1984, she studied film at the Fridhem’s Folk High School in Sweden and also has a degree in project management and cross media from Stockholm University of the Arts. Alongside her work as a film director, she is also a project manager at the Fanzingo media house in Stockholm.

Filmography

2012 Taxidancing; short documentary 2017 Loving Lorna; documentary

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2017

Jessica Karlsson

Born in 1984, she studied film science at Lund and Copenhagen University and also has a degree in pedagogy from Stockholm University. She is currently working as a coach on an EU project at Film Stockholm as well as on various youth film projects. Her short documentary Taxidancing was co-directed with her twin sister Annika. The film screened at numerous festivals and also received a cinema release in Sweden.

Filmography

2012 Taxidancing; short documentary 2017 Loving Lorna; documentary

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2017

Produced by

Systerskaparna AB

World sales

Systerskaparna AB

Berlinale: Programm


Generation 14plus

Loving Lorna

## ## ## ##

„Mit den Pferden zu sein, hier bei den Ställen, hat mich irgendwie ferngehalten von dem Ärger und hat mich zu einem guten Kind gemacht.“

In Ballymun, einem sozial benachteiligten Vorort von Dublin, gehören Pferde seit Generationen zum Leben dazu. Auch zu dem der 17-jährigen Lorna und ihrer Familie. Dem Alltag ihres erwerbslosen Vaters geben seine Pferde Sinn und Struktur, während sich ihre kranke Mutter nach der Zeit zurücksehnt, als sie noch selbst durch den Ort galoppierte und die Blicke auf sich zog. Jetzt ist es Lorna, die ihre Tage am liebsten im Stall und auf dem Rücken ihres Pferdes Bigfoot verbringt. Dass sie Hufschmiedin werden möchte, wenn sie mit der Schule fertig ist, steht für sie schon seit Langem fest. Wenn nur ihre schlimmen Rückenschmerzen nicht wären. Ein poetischer Film über Sehnsucht, Glück, Träume und Vergänglichkeit.

von
Annika Karlsson
Jessica Karlsson

Schweden 2017

Englisch

Dokumentarische Form
61 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie, Buch
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson
Kamera
Kate McCullough
Schnitt
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson
Musik
Micael Henriquez
Sound Design
Torsten Rundqvist
Ton
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson
Production Design
Agnes Florin, Sepidar Hosseini
Produzentinnen
Annika Karlsson, Jessica Karlsson

Biografie

Annika Karlsson

Geboren 1984. Besuchte die Filmschule Fridhem in Schweden und studierte Projektmanagement und Cross Media an Stockholms konstnärliga högskola. Neben ihrer Arbeit als Regisseurin ist sie als Projektmanagerin beim Medienhaus Fanzingo in Stockholm tätig.

Filmografie

2012 Taxidancing; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2017 Loving Lorna; Dokumentarfilm

Jessica Karlsson

Geboren 1984. Studierte Filmwissenschaften an den Universitäten in Lund und Kopenhagen sowie Pädagogik an der Universität Stockholm. Sie arbeitet als Coach in einem EU-Projekt der Organisation Film Stockholm und in diversen Jugend-Filmprojekten. Zusammen mit ihrer Zwillingsschwester Annika drehte sie die Kurzdokumentation Taxidancing, die auf mehreren Festivals gezeigt wurde und in die schwedischen Kinos kam.

Filmografie

2012 Taxidancing; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm 2017 Loving Lorna; Dokumentarfilm

Produktion

Systerskaparna AB
Aspudden, Schweden
+46 70 8470562

Weltvertrieb

Systerskaparna AB
Aspudden, Schweden
+46 70 8470562