Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams

## ## ##

Across a series of flashbacks, an extended Indigenous family argues about what caused their boat’s motor to break down and leave them stranded out in the bush. As they consider the roles played in the incident by the ancestral presence, the regulatory state and the Christian faith, Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams explores the multiple demands and inescapable vortexes of contemporary indigenous life.
The film is the most surreal and near-psychedelic of the Karrabing Film Collective’s productions to date. It explores how the collective’s Indigenous filmmakers experience the containments of missionary-Christian moral codes as well as settler-colonial rule-of-law, and how these layer, displace, but ultimately are absorbed into ancestral territorial arrangements secured in sweat and through generational obligation.

by
Karrabing Film Collective

Australia 2016

English

29 min · Colour · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation

With

Trevor Bianamu (Trevor)
Rex Edmunds (Over)
Linda Yarrowin (Jojo)
Rex Sing (Rex)
Patsy-Ann Jorrock (Ancestral Spirit #1)
Lorraine Lane (Ancestral Spirit #2)
Robyn Lane (Ancestral Spirit #3)
Sandra Yarrowin (Ancestral Spirit #4)
Sharon Lane (Welfare Worker #1)
Daphne Yarrowin (Contemporary and 1952 Pastor)

Crew

Director
Elizabeth A. Povinelli
Screenplay
Karrabing Film Collective
Director of Photography
Natasha Lewis
Editor
Elizabeth A. Povinelli
Sound Design
Leandros Ntounis
Sound
Leandros Ntounis
Production Design
Sandra Yarrowin
Assistant Director
Sandra Yarrowin
Production Manager
Cecilia Lewis

Biography

Karrabing Film Collective

The Karrabing Film Collective began in 2008, in the shadow of the Australian state’s assault on Indigenous social worlds and lands. The collective is a grassroots arts and film group who use their aesthetic practices as a means of self-organization and social analysis. Most Karrabing are Indigenous and live in a rural community in the Northern Territory with low or no income. Their films and art works represent their lives, create bonds with their land, and intervene in global images of indigeneity. They develop local artistic languages and forms, while allowing audiences to understand new forms of collective indigenous agency. Their medium is a form of survivance – a refusal to relinquish their country and a means of investigating contemporary social conditions of inequality.
Karrabing Film Collective members: Trevor Bianamu, Gavin Bianamu, Sheree Bianamu, Ricky Bianamu, Taleesh Bianamu, Danielle Bigfoot, Kelvin Bigfoot, Rex Edmunds, Chloe Gordon, Claudette Gordon, Ryan Gordon, Claude Holtze, Ethan Jorrock, Marcus Jorrock, Reggie Jorrock, Patsy-Anne Jorrock, Daryl Lane, Lorraine Lane, Robyn Lane, Sharon Lane, Tess Lea, Cecilia Lewis, Angelina Lewis, Marcia Bigfoot Lewis, Natasha Lewis, Serina Lippo, Joslyn McDonald, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Rex Sing, Kerin Sing, Shannon Sing, Claude Yarrowin, Daphne Yarrowin, Linda Yarrowin, Roger Yarrowin, Sandra Yarrowin, Quentin Shields

Filmography

2012 Karrabing, Low Tide Turning; 14 min. 2014 When the Dogs Talked; 34 min. 2015 Windjarrameru, The Stealing C*nt$; 35 min. 2016 Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams

Produced by

Karrabing Indigneous Corporation
Nightcliff, Australia
+1 917 6225926

www.karrabing.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams

## ## ##

Mithilfe einer Reihe von Rückblenden erzählt Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams vom Streit einer indigenen Großfamilie über die Ursache eines Motorschadens, der ihr Boot lahmlegt und sie im Busch gestrandet zurücklässt. Die Familienmitglieder stellen Vermutungen an: die Anwesenheit der Ahnen, die staatliche Gesetzgebung und der christliche Glaube sollen an dem Zwischenfall die Schuld tragen. Der Film entfaltet durch ihre Gespräche und Erzählungen ein Panorama der unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse und unvermeidlichen Fallstricke des zeitgenössischen indigenen Lebens.
Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams ist die bis dato surrealste, fast schon psychedelische, Arbeit des indigenen Karrabing Film Collective. Der Film untersucht die Erfahrungen der Filmemacher*innen mit den Einschränkungen durch sowohl missionarisch-christliche Moralvorstellungen als auch die durch Siedler geschaffene koloniale Gesetzgebung und wie diese alte, durch Schweiß gesicherte, über Generationen überlieferte und eingehaltene territoriale Arrangements überlagern und verschieben, um schlussendlich von ihnen absorbiert zu werden.

von
Karrabing Film Collective

Australien 2016

Englisch

29 Min · Farbe · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation

Mit

Trevor Bianamu (Trevor)
Rex Edmunds (Over)
Linda Yarrowin (Jojo)
Rex Sing (Rex)
Patsy-Ann Jorrock (Ahnengeist #1)
Lorraine Lane (Ahnengeist #2)
Robyn Lane (Ahnengeist #3)
Sandra Yarrowin (Ahnengeist #4)
Sharon Lane (Sozialarbeiter #1)
Daphne Yarrowin (Pastorin, aktuell und von 1952)

Stab

Regie
Elizabeth A. Povinelli
Buch
Karrabing Film Collective
Kamera
Natasha Lewis
Schnitt
Elizabeth A. Povinelli
Sound Design
Leandros Ntounis
Ton
Leandros Ntounis
Production Design
Sandra Yarrowin
Regieassistenz
Sandra Yarrowin
Production Manager
Cecilia Lewis

Biografie

Karrabing Film Collective

Das Karrabing Film Collective wurde 2008 im Kontext der Angriffe des australischen Staats auf soziale und territoriale Strukturen der indigenen Bevölkerung gegründet. Das Kollektiv ist eine Grassroots-Kunst- und Filmgruppe, die ihre ästhetische Praxis als ein Mittel zur Selbstorganisation und sozialen Analyse nutzt. Die indigenen Karrabing-Mitglieder (der Großteil der Gruppe) leben in ländlichen Gemeinden im Norden mit geringem oder ohne Einkommen. Ihre Filme und Arbeiten zeigen ihr Leben, schaffen Verbindungen zu ihrem Land und greifen in das globale Bild von Indigenität ein. Sie entwickeln eigene künstlerische Sprachen und Formen und erlauben somit den Zuschauer*innen neue Formen des kollektiven indigenen Handelns zu verstehen. Das Medium (der Kunst) ist dabei eine Form der Überlebensstrategie – eine Weigerung das eigene Land zu entäußern und ein Mittel für die Untersuchung aktueller gesellschaftlicher Bedingungen der Ungleichheit.
Karrabing Film Collective Mitglieder: Trevor Bianamu, Gavin Bianamu, Sheree Bianamu, Ricky Bianamu, Taleesh Bianamu, Danielle Bigfoot, Kelvin Bigfoot, Rex Edmunds, Chloe Gordon, Claudette Gordon, Ryan Gordon, Claude Holtze, Ethan Jorrock, Marcus Jorrock, Reggie Jorrock, Patsy-Anne Jorrock, Daryl Lane, Lorraine Lane, Robyn Lane, Sharon Lane, Tess Lea, Cecilia Lewis, Angelina Lewis, Marcia Bigfoot Lewis, Natasha Lewis, Serina Lippo, Joslyn McDonald, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Rex Sing, Kerin Sing, Shannon Sing, Claude Yarrowin, Daphne Yarrowin, Linda Yarrowin, Roger Yarrowin, Sandra Yarrowin, Quentin Shields

Filmografie

2012 Karrabing, Low Tide Turning; 14 Min. 2014 When the Dogs Talked; 34 Min. 2015 Windjarrameru, The Stealing C*nt$; 35 Min. 2016 Wutharr, Saltwater Dreams

Produktion

Karrabing Indigneous Corporation
Nightcliff, Australien
+1 917 6225926

www.karrabing.com