Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded



Hashti, in most traditional houses in Iran, is an octagonal space of distribution and circulation to direct the person towards the various parts of the house, the private (andarouni) and semi-public (birouni) reserved for the reception from abroad and the access to spaces of service.
Based on the idea that Tehran itself represents a house, so to speak the inner circle of the Islamic Republic of Iran, the outskirts of the city become the space of transition between inside and outside, between urban and non-urban. Thus the film looks at urban developments in four very different areas in the outskirts of Tehran: the mountain of Tochal in the north, the area around the artificial Lake Chitgar in the west, the construction of social housing called Pardis Town in the far east, and the neighborhood Nafar Abad at the southern edges of the city.

Daniel Kötter

Iran 2016


59 min · Colour


Sara Reyhani
Ramash Imanifard
Alireza Labeshka
Amoo Abbas


Written and directed by
Daniel Kötter
Director of Photography
Daniel Kötter
Daniel Kötter
Sound Design
Marcin Lenarczyk
Hedieh Ahmadi
Production Manager
Alireza Labeshka
Daniel Kötter, Sadra Keyhani


Daniel Kötter

Daniel Kötter, born in 1975 in Bergisch Gladbach, Germany, is a director and video artist whose work oscillates deliberately between different media and institutional contexts, combining techniques of structuralist film with documentary elements and experimental music theater. It has been shown in numerous galleries, video festivals, concert halls, and theaters all over the world.

Filmography (selection)

2006 checkpoint; 7 min. 2007 Ein Kinderspiel; 18 min. 2008 First approach; 11 min. 2009 schutzfilm – Thaumatrope; 9 min. · side effect; 2 min. · Film für übers Sofa; 12 min. 2010 state-theater #1 LAGOS; 25 min. 2011 state-theater #2 TEHRAN; 25 min. · state-theater #3 BERLIN; 50 min. · Vernissage; 11 min. 2012 Making of History; 40 min. · communal retreat; 15 min. · Konzert; 13 min. · Neues Theater; 41 min. · Bühne; 17 min., Forum Expanded 2013 · state-theater #4 DETROIT; 53 min. 2013 Studio; 11 min. · participants and objectives – 8 takes on filming music; 45 min. · state-theater #6 MÖNCHENGLADBACH; 46 min. 2014 state-theater #5 BEIRUT; 65 min. 2016 Repetitionen; 22 min. · Ingolfs Oper; 60 min. · HASHTI Tehran

Produced by

Teheran, Iran

Daniel Kötter
Berlin, Germany
+49 163 7296782

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

HASHTI Tehran

##

In den meisten traditionellen Häusern im Iran bezeichnet „Hashti“ einen achteckigen zentralen Raum, von dem aus Personen in die weiteren Teile des Gebäudes geleitet werden: in die privaten Räume (andarouni) und die semi-privaten (birouni), die dem Empfang auswärtiger Gäste vorbehalten sind und von denen aus Zugang zu den Dienst- und Serviceräumen besteht.
Ausgehend von der Idee, dass Teheran selbst als ein Haus verstanden werden kann – sozusagen als innerer Kreis der Islamischen Republik Iran – werden die Vororte der Stadt zu einem Übergangsraum zwischen innen und außen, urban und nicht-urban. HASHTI Tehran untersucht Wohnungsbau und Stadtentwicklung in vier sehr unterschiedlichen Gebieten in den Randzonen der iranischen Hauptstadt: Die Berge von Tochal im Norden, das Gebiet um den künstlichen See Chitgar im Westen, Pardis Town, eine Sozialbausiedlung weit östlich gelegen und das Viertel Nafar Abad am südlichen Rand der Stadt.

von
Daniel Kötter

Iran 2016

Farsi

59 Min · Farbe

Mit

Sara Reyhani
Ramash Imanifard
Alireza Labeshka
Amoo Abbas

Stab

Regie, Buch
Daniel Kötter
Kamera
Daniel Kötter
Schnitt
Daniel Kötter
Sound Design
Marcin Lenarczyk
Ton
Hedieh Ahmadi
Production Manager
Alireza Labeshka
Produzenten
Daniel Kötter, Sadra Keyhani

Biografie

Daniel Kötter

Daniel Kötter, geboren 1975 in Bergisch Gladbach, ist ein international tätiger Filmemacher und Musiktheater-Regisseur. Seine Arbeiten changieren zwischen verschiedenen medialen und institutionellen Kontexten und verbinden Techniken des strukturalistischen Experimentalfilms mit performativen und dokumentarischen Elementen. Sie wurden weltweit auf zahlreichen Film- und Videokunstfestivals, in Galerien, Theatern und Konzerthäusern gezeigt.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

2006 checkpoint; 7 Min. 2007 Ein Kinderspiel; 18 Min. 2008 First approach; 11 Min. 2009 schutzfilm – Thaumatrope; 9 Min. · side effect; 2 Min. · Film für übers Sofa; 12 Min. 2010 state-theater #1 LAGOS; 25 Min. 2011 state-theater #2 TEHRAN; 25 Min. · state-theater #3 BERLIN; 50 Min. · Vernissage; 11 Min 2012 Making of History; 40 Min. · communal retreat; 15 Min. · Konzert; 13 Min. · Neues Theater; 41 Min. · Bühne; 17 Min., Forum Expanded 2013 · state-theater #4 DETROIT; 53 Min. 2013 Studio; 11 Min. · participants and objectives – 8 takes on filming music; 45 Min. · state-theater #6 MÖNCHENGLADBACH; 46 Min. 2014 state-theater #5 BEIRUT; 65 Min. 2016 Repetitionen; 22 Min. · Ingolfs Oper; 60 Min. · HASHTI Tehran

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

KAAF

Daniel Kötter