Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded

Seif Tagreeby

Experimental Summer

## ## ##

Seif Tagreeby follows Mahmoud and Zeinab in their search for the original version of the first Egyptian independent film of the same name produced in the 1980s. All copies of the film were either destroyed or confiscated by the Government Film Agency, an institute that governed the production and distribution of film at the time. In response, Egyptian filmmakers created their own versions of the film, all under the name Seif Tagreeby.
The importance of Seif Tagreeby comes not only from being the first independently produced film, but also because of its alternative and guerilla distribution. To fight the Government Film Agency the filmmakers screened the film in cafés, shop windows, and video clubs without state permits. In their search the two friends find that 23 different versions existed, all of them shot in winter and following a girl hearing answering machine messages. Despite their journey they cannot confirm that the original version was shot in winter, but it can be assured it was produced before the invention of the answering machine.
In continuation of the legacy Mahmoud and Zeinab are making their version of Seif Tagreeby.

Mahmoud Lotfy

Egypt / Qatar 2016


69 min · Colour & Black/White


Zainab Magdy
Essam Esmail
Ahmed Magdy
Mahmoud Eissa
Amr Wishahy
Maryam Saleh
Amina Yasser


Written and directed by
Mahmoud Lotfy
Director of Photography
Mahmoud Lotfy
Essam Esmail
Shadi El Hosseiny
Sound Design
Sama Abdul Hadi
Sama Abdul Hadi
Production Design
Mahmoud Lotfy
Assistant Director
Ehab Abdo
Production Manager
Adham Yehia
Mahmoud Lotfy


Mahmoud Lotfy

Mahmoud Lotfy was born in 1990 in Cairo, Egypt, where he lives as an independent director. He is one of the founders of Otaku Digital Film Productions and participated in the making of several independent films.


2008 Starting Dream in Street; 5 min. 2009 Silly Fiction Film; 12 min. 2012 Nescafe and Cigarettes; 8 min. 2016 Seif Tagreeby (Experimental Summer)

Produced by

Otaku Digital Film
Kairo, Egypt
+20 1 285209062

World sales

Zawya Distribution
Kairo, Egypt
+20 1 3815287

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Seif Tagreeby

Experimental Summer

## ## ##

Seif Tagreeby folgt Mahmoud und Zeinab auf ihrer Suche nach der Originalversion des gleichnamigen ersten ägyptischen Independent-Films aus den 1980er-Jahren. Alle Filmkopien wurden von der staatlichen Filmbehörde, die zu dieser Zeit die Produktion und den Vertrieb aller Filme überwachte, zerstört oder konfisziert. Als direkte Reaktion schufen ägyptische Filmemacher ihre eigenen Versionen des Films, alle unter dem Namen Seif Tagreeby.
Relevant ist Seif Tagreeby nicht nur, weil er der erste unabhängig produzierte Film war, sondern auch wegen der alternativen „Guerilla“-Vertriebswege, über die er sein Publikum fand. Als Auflehnung gegen die Filmbehörde zeigten die Filmemacher den Film in Cafés, Schaufenstern und Videoclubs ohne staatliche Genehmigung. Während ihrer Suche finden die zwei Freunde 23 Versionen des Films. Alle wurden im Winter gedreht und zeigen ein Mädchen beim Abhören eines Anrufbeantworters. Trotz ihrer Recherche können sie nicht bestätigen, dass die Originalversion im Winter gedreht wurde, aber sie sind sicher, dass sie vor der Erfindung des Anrufbeantworters produziert wurde.
Als Fortführung des Vermächtnisses drehen Mahmoud und Zeinab ihre eigene Version von Seif Tagreeby.

von
Mahmoud Lotfy

Ägypten / Katar 2016

Arabisch

69 Min · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

Zainab Magdy
Essam Esmail
Ahmed Magdy
Mahmoud Eissa
Amr Wishahy
Maryam Saleh
Amina Yasser

Stab

Regie, Buch
Mahmoud Lotfy
Kamera
Mahmoud Lotfy
Schnitt
Essam Esmail
Musik
Shadi El Hosseiny
Sound Design
Sama Abdul Hadi
Ton
Sama Abdul Hadi
Production Design
Mahmoud Lotfy
Regieassistenz
Ehab Abdo
Production Manager
Adham Yehia
Produzenten
Mahmoud Lotfy

Biografie

Mahmoud Lotfy

Mahmoud Lotfy wurde 1990 in Kairo, Ägypten geboren, wo er als unabhängiger Regisseur lebt und arbeitet. Er ist Mitbegründer von Otaku Digital Film Productions und hat an einigen unabhängigen Filmen mitgearbeitet.

Filmografie

2008 Starting Dream in Street; 5 Min. 2009 Silly Fiction Film; 12 Min. 2012 Nescafe and Cigarettes; 8 Min. 2016 Seif Tagreeby (Experimental Summer)

Produktion

Otaku Digital Film
Kairo, Ägypten
+20 1 285209062

Weltvertrieb

Zawya Distribution
Kairo, Ägypten
+20 1 3815287