Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special Tribute

Werner Nekes – Das Leben zwischen den Bildern

## ## ## ##

From the moment he co-founded the Hamburg Film Coop in 1967, until his death in January 2017, Werner Nekes was considered one of the most eminent experimental filmmakers. His extensive œuvre is closely linked to almost 40,000 optical apparatuses, objects, images, anamorphoses, books and documents from six centuries: like an archaeologist, he dug up and collected these items in order to explore film history as a history of media, make it tangible and continue to develop it in his films. In conversations with his friends and colleagues, among them Bernd Upnmoor, Helmut Herbst, Alexander Kluge, Klaus Wyborny, Daniel Kothenschulte and Helge Schneider, Ulrike Pfeiffer takes us on a journey into the broad expanse of Nekes' cabinet of wonder and his cinematic works. At the same time, this documentary provides an insight into the history of experimental film in Germany.
Nekes’ thoughts on painting, the moving image and the influence of visual perception on the way humans understand the world finds immediate expression in a cubistic dance film shot on 16mm, from which we’re shown extracts. Nekes talks about the film and likens the camera’s scope for design to the choices of action open to a child as it explores the world.

by
Ulrike Pfeiffer

Germany 2017

German

Documentary form
87 min · Colour

Crew

Written and directed by
Ulrike Pfeiffer
Director of Photography
Bernd Meiners
Editor
Kawe Vakil
Music
André Feldhaus
Sound Design
Andreas Hellmanzik
Assistant Director
Daniel Gaziano
Production Manager
Connie Kellers
Producer
Gerd Haag
Executive Producer
Gerd Haag
Co-producers
Mike Beilfuß, Matthias Greving
Co-production
KINESCOPE Film, Bremen

Biography

Ulrike Pfeiffer

Ulrike Pfeiffer was born in Korbach, Germany and lives in Hamburg. After completing an apprenticeship as a photographer with Siegfried Wack in Cologne, she studied art photography at the University of Applied Sciences for Art and Design in Cologne from 1974 to 1978. Between 1979 and 1984 she took a degree in film at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin. Alongside her work as a cinematographer and photographer, she also makes her own films on 8mm, super 8, 16mm, 35mm and video. She is a guest lecturer at the Hamburg University of Technology, the University of the Arts in Bremen and the University of Fine Arts of Hamburg and has been a board member of Cinegraph - Hamburgisches Centrum für Filmforschung e.V. since 2009.

Filmography (selection)

1981 Das ist ein Ende; short film 1982 Babalu; short film 1983 Gala; short film 1984 Rokoko(chen); short film 1988 Oh! Die vier Jahreszeiten; co-director: Ute Aurand; short film 1991 Die Prinzessin auf der Erbse; co-director: Ute Aurand; short film 1997 Rokoko 2001 Salut Pierrot; short film 2013 Der Froschkönig von Gazaupouy; short film 2017 Werner Nekes – Das Leben zwischen den Bildern

Produced by

TAG/TRAUM Filmproduktion
Köln, Germany
+49 221 65025900

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special Ehrung

Werner Nekes – Das Leben zwischen den Bildern

## ## ## ##

Seit er 1967 die Hamburger Film Coop mitbegründete, galt Werner Nekes bis zu seinem Tod im Januar 2017 als einer der bedeutendsten Experimentalfilmer. Sein umfangreiches Œuvre ist eng verbunden mit fast 40.000 optischen Apparaturen, Objekten, Bildern, Anamorphosen, Büchern und Dokumenten aus sechs Jahrhunderten: Wie ein Archäologe hat er sie ausgegraben und gesammelt, um Filmgeschichte als Mediengeschichte zu erforschen, erfahrbar zu machen und in seinen Filmen weiterzuentwickeln. Anhand von Gesprächen mit Freunden und Weggefährten, darunter Bernd Upnmoor, Helmut Herbst, Alexander Kluge, Klaus Wyborny, Daniel Kothenschulte und Helge Schneider schickt Ulrike Pfeiffer uns in die Weiten seiner Wunderkammer und filmischen Werke. Gleichzeitig gewährt die Dokumentation Einblick in die Geschichte des Experimentalfilms in Deutschland.
Nekes Gedanken über Malerei, das Bewegtbild und den Einfluss der visuellen Wahrnehmung auf das Weltbild des Menschen fanden unmittelbar Eingang in einen kubistischen Tanzfilm in 16mm, über den er spricht und aus dem Szenen zu sehen sind. Die Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten mit der Kamera vergleicht er dabei mit den Handlungsmöglichkeiten eines Kindes, das sich die Welt erobert.

von
Ulrike Pfeiffer

Deutschland 2017

Deutsch

Dokumentarische Form
87 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie, Buch
Ulrike Pfeiffer
Kamera
Bernd Meiners
Schnitt
Kawe Vakil
Musik
André Feldhaus
Sound Design
Andreas Hellmanzik
Regieassistenz
Daniel Gaziano
Production Manager
Connie Kellers
Produzent
Gerd Haag
Executive Producer
Gerd Haag
Co-Produzenten
Mike Beilfuß, Matthias Greving
Co-Produktion
KINESCOPE Film, Bremen

Biografie

Ulrike Pfeiffer

Geboren in Korbach, lebt in Hamburg. Sie absolvierte eine Fotografenlehre bei Siegfried Wack in Köln und studierte von 1974 bis 1978 künstlerische Fotografie an der Fachhochschule für Kunst und Design in Köln. Von 1979 bis 1984 absolvierte sie ein Filmstudium an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie in Berlin. Neben der Arbeit als Kamerafrau und Fotografin realisierte sie als Regisseurin und Produzentin eigene Filme in 8mm, Super-8, 16mm, 35mm und Video. Sie ist Gastdozentin für Film an der TU Hamburg-Harburg und den Hochschulen für Bildende Künste in Bremen und Hamburg und seit 2009 im Vorstand bei Cinegraph – Hamburgisches Centrum für Filmforschung e.V.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1981 Das ist ein Ende; Kurzfilm 1982 Babalu; Kurzfilm 1983 Gala; Kurzfilm 1984 Rokoko(chen); Kurzfilm 1988 Oh! Die vier Jahreszeiten; Co-Regie: Ute Aurand; Kurzfilm 1991 Die Prinzessin auf der Erbse; Co-Regie: Ute Aurand; Kurzfilm 1997 Rokoko 2001 Salut Pierrot; Kurzfilm 2013 Der Froschkönig von Gazaupouy; Kurzfilm 2017 Werner Nekes – Das Leben zwischen den Bildern

Produktion

TAG/TRAUM Filmproduktion
Köln, Deutschland
+49 221 65025900