Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Competition (out of competition)

Final Portrait

Armie Hammer (Actor), Stanley Tucci (Director, Screenwriter), Clémence Poésy (Actress), Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Press Conference at full length
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Paris in 1964. Alberto Giacometti is the one who decides when it is time for work, drink, doubt, destruction, flirtation or laughter in his studio. An established artist whose works fetch record prices, he hides his earnings in his studio. This is just one of the causes of many an argument with his wife Annette, another being the fact that his mistress Caroline receives all his attention. His brother Diego, also an artist, is all too familiar with his idiosyncrasies. One day, Giacometti asks American art critic and biographer James Lord to pose for him. But their sittings, scheduled to take a week, are frequently interrupted by visits to the bistro or long car rides, with no end in sight. Lord postpones his return flight several times.
This films peers into the workshop and personality of this famous Swiss painter and sculptor, two years before his death. In his fifth film as a director, actor Stanley Tucci shows the artist with all his strengths and weaknesses and relates the chaos of his artistic output, doubts, and courageous ability to destroy and begin afresh. We are observing a genius at work. Tucci’s screenplay is based on James Lord’s biography ‘A Giacometti Portrait’.

Stanley Tucci

Great Britain / France 2017


90 min · Colour


Geoffrey Rush (Alberto Giacometti)
Armie Hammer (James Lord)
Clémence Poésy (Caroline)
Tony Shalhoub (Diego Giacometti)
James Faulkner (Pierre Matisse)
Sylvie Testud (Annette Arm)


Written and directed by
Stanley Tucci
Director of Photography
Danny Cohen
Camilla Toniolo
Evan Lurie
Sound Design
Tim Hands, Jack Gillies, Tim Cavagin
Gary Dodkin
Production Design
James Merifield
Liza Bracey
Catherine Scoble
Assistant Director
Lance Roehrig
Nina Gold
Production Manager
Filiz-Theres Erel
Gail Egan, Nik Bower, Ilann Girard
Executive Producers
Fred Hogge, Deepak Nayar
Robbie Leacock


Stanley Tucci

Born in Peeksville, USA in 1960, he is at home both in front of the camera and behind it, working as a producer, director, writer and actor. He has won two Emmy Awards, two Golden Globes and one Oscar® nomination for his work so far. Big Night, his debut as a co-director, screened in the Berlinale’s Culinary Cinema section and his second feature film The Impostors was presented at Cannes. He has also written two cookbooks, inspired by the traditions of his own Italian roots as well as those of his British wife, Felicity Blunt.


1996 Big Night (Big Night – Nacht der Genüsse) 1998 The Impostors (The Impostors – Zwei Hochstapler in Not) 2000 Joe Gould's Secret 2007 Blind Date 2017 Final Portrait

Produced by

Potboiler Films
London, Great Britain

Riverstone Pictures
London, Great Britain

Arsam International
Paris, France

World sales

HanWay Films
London, Great Britain
+44 207 2900750

Berlinale: Programm


Wettbewerb (außer Konkurrenz)

Final Portrait

Armie Hammer (Schauspieler), Stanley Tucci (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor), Clémence Poésy (Schauspielerin), Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

1964 in Paris: Alberto Giacometti bestimmt, wann in seinem Atelier gearbeitet, getrunken, gezweifelt, zerstört, geflirtet und gelacht wird. Er ist ein etablierter Künstler, seine Werke erzielen Rekorderlöse auf dem Markt. Das Geld versteckt er in seinem Atelier. Mit Ehefrau Annette gibt es nicht nur deshalb öfter Krach, denn seine Geliebte Caroline bekommt alle Zuwendung des Meisters. Sein Bruder Diego, ebenfalls Künstler, kennt seine Macken. Giacometti bittet den amerikanischen Kunstkritiker und Biografen James Lord, ihm Modell zu sitzen. Die Sitzungen, eigentlich auf eine Woche angelegt, werden immer wieder von Bistro-Besuchen oder Spazierfahrten unterbrochen und wollen kein Ende nehmen. Mehrfach verschiebt Lord seinen Heimflug.
Ein Blick in Werkstatt und Persönlichkeit des berühmten Schweizer Malers und Bildhauers, zwei Jahre vor dessen Tod. In seiner fünften Regiearbeit fürs Kino porträtiert Schauspieler Stanley Tucci den Künstler mit allen Stärken und Schwächen und erzählt vom Chaos des künstlerischen Schaffens, den Zweifeln, dem Mut zur Zerstörung und zum Neuanfang – ein Genie bei der Arbeit. Tuccis Drehbuch basiert auf der Biografie „A Giacometti Portrait“ von James Lord.

von
Stanley Tucci

Großbritannien / Frankreich 2017

Englisch

90 Min · Farbe

Mit

Geoffrey Rush (Alberto Giacometti)
Armie Hammer (James Lord)
Clémence Poésy (Caroline)
Tony Shalhoub (Diego Giacometti)
James Faulkner (Pierre Matisse)
Sylvie Testud (Annette Arm)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Stanley Tucci
Kamera
Danny Cohen
Schnitt
Camilla Toniolo
Musik
Evan Lurie
Sound Design
Tim Hands, Jack Gillies, Tim Cavagin
Ton
Gary Dodkin
Production Design
James Merifield
Kostüm
Liza Bracey
Maske
Catherine Scoble
Regieassistenz
Lance Roehrig
Casting
Nina Gold
Production Manager
Filiz-Theres Erel
Produzenten
Gail Egan, Nik Bower, Ilann Girard
Ausführende Produzenten
Fred Hogge, Deepak Nayar
Co-Produzent
Robbie Leacock

Biografie

Stanley Tucci

Geboren 1960 in Peekskill, USA. Als Produzent, Regisseur, Autor und Schauspieler ist er sowohl vor als auch hinter der Kamera zu Hause. Für seine Rollen in Kino- und TV-Produktionen erhielt er bislang zwei Emmys, zwei Golden Globes und eine Oscar®-Nominierung. Big Night, sein Debüt als Co-Regisseur, lief in der Sektion Kulinarisches Kino. Sein zweiter Spielfilm The Impostors wurde auf den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes präsentiert. Er ist außerdem Verfasser von zwei Kochbüchern, die von seinen italienischen Wurzeln und der britischen Herkunft seiner Frau Felicity Blunt inspiriert sind.

Filmografie

1996 Big Night (Big Night – Nacht der Genüsse) 1998 The Impostors (The Impostors – Zwei Hochstapler in Not) 2000 Joe Gould's Secret 2007 Blind Date 2017 Final Portrait

Produktion

Potboiler Films
London, Großbritannien

Riverstone Pictures
London, Großbritannien

Arsam International
Paris, Frankreich

Weltvertrieb

HanWay Films
London, Großbritannien
+44 207 2900750

www.hanwayfilms.com