Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Generation Kplus


Owls & Mice

Der Fall Mäuserich

## ## ## ## ##

‘So Peepeep is literally in here?’ · ‘Exactly. Or at least his bones are.’

Meral is new in the city and immediately finds a playmate: he is small, grey and a mouse. So it's not so bad that her new classmates are not quite as welcoming. She has her hands full with Peepeep anyway. To keep her new friend from getting caught in a mousetrap, she takes him along on a school camp. He will surely feel at home in the woods, with the hedgehogs, deer and other animals. But such an outing to the wilderness holds its own danger, especially for an ignorant city mouse. To the children's horror, Peepeep lands up in the talons of an owl! Yet after their initial shock, they come to understand more about the cycle of life. What sounds like an off-putting experience turns out to be an exciting lesson about the wonders of nature, interspersed with musical numbers.

Simone van Dusseldorp

Netherlands 2016


80 min · Colour

Rating R0


Hiba Ghafry (Meral)
Jashayra Oehlers (Desi)
Felix van de Weerdt (Vito)
Mathieu Hinzen (Jason)
Mariana Aparicio Torres (Serine)
Mimoun Oaissa (Aziz)
Birgit Schuurman (Teacher Ietje)


Written and directed by
Simone van Dusseldorp
Director of Photography
Ton Peters, Stephan Polman
Peter Alderliesten
Kees van der Vooren
Sound Design
Peter Flamman
Sander den Broeder
Production Design
Florian Legters
Monica Petit
Françoise Mol
Assistant Director
Anne van Dongen
Elske Falkena, Janusz Gosschalk, Leonie Luttik
Line Producer
Juri Keuter, Fleur van den Berg
Eva Eisenloeffel, Leontine Petit, Joost de Vries
Executive Producer
Elsemijn Teulings
Anna van der Staak
VPRO, Hilversum


Simone van Dusseldorp

Born in Tilburg, the Netherlands in 1967, she studied photography at the Dutch Academy of Art and Design St Joost, audiovisual communication at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie, and then directing at the Netherlands Film Academy in Amsterdam. Her graduation film Waterlanders won first prize at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen. She directed a number of short films and childrens’ television series before making Diep, her debut feature film. Uilenbal (Owls & Mice) was the opening film at last year's Cinekid children’s film festival in Amsterdam.

Filmography (selection)

2000 Het; short film 2001 Exit; short film 2005 Diep (Deep) 2009 Kikkerdril (Frogs & Toads) 2010 Briefgeheim (Secret Letter) 2015 Het leven volgens Nino (Life According to Nino) 2016 Uilenbal (Owls & Mice)

Produced by

Lemming Film
Amsterdam, Netherlands
+31 20 6610424

World sales

Attraction Distribution
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
+1 514 7580055

Berlinale: Programm


Generation Kplus

Uilenbal

Owls & Mice

Der Fall Mäuserich

## ## ## ## ##

„Also Peepeep ist buchstäblich hier drinnen?“ · „Genau. Oder zumindest sind es seine Knochen.“

Meral ist neu in der Stadt und findet gleich einen Spielkameraden: Er ist klein, grau und ein Mäuserich. Gar nicht so schlimm also, dass der Empfang seitens der neuen Mitschüler etwas kühler ausfällt. Peepeep sorgt für genügend Wirbel. Um ihn vor der Mausefalle zu retten, nimmt Meral ihn mit ins Landheim. Im Wald wird er sich zuhause fühlen. Dort gibt es Igel, Rehe und viele andere Tiere. Aber so ein Ausflug in die Natur birgt auch Gefahren – vor allem für Stadtmäuse. Zum Entsetzen der Kinder gerät Peepeep in die Fänge einer Eule! Doch nach dem ersten Schock lernen sie den Kreislauf des Lebens verstehen. Was nach einer abschreckenden Erfahrung klingt, erweist sich als cooles, mit Musicalpassagen bereichertes Lehrstück über die Wunder der Natur.

von
Simone van Dusseldorp

Niederlande 2016

Niederländisch

80 Min · Farbe

Altersfreigabe FSK 0

Mit

Hiba Ghafry (Meral)
Jashayra Oehlers (Desi)
Felix van de Weerdt (Vito)
Mathieu Hinzen (Jason)
Mariana Aparicio Torres (Serine)
Mimoun Oaissa (Aziz)
Birgit Schuurman (Lehrerin Ietje)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Simone van Dusseldorp
Kamera
Ton Peters, Stephan Polman
Schnitt
Peter Alderliesten
Musik
Kees van der Vooren
Sound Design
Peter Flamman
Ton
Sander den Broeder
Production Design
Florian Legters
Kostüm
Monica Petit
Maske
Françoise Mol
Regieassistenz
Anne van Dongen
Casting
Elske Falkena, Janusz Gosschalk, Leonie Luttik
Herstellungsleitung
Juri Keuter, Fleur van den Berg
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Eva Eisenloeffel, Leontine Petit, Joost de Vries
Ausführende Produzentin
Elsemijn Teulings
Co-Produzentin
Anna van der Staak
Co-Produktion
VPRO, Hilversum

Biografie

Simone van Dusseldorp

Geboren 1967 in Tilburg, Niederlande. Studierte Fotografie an der niederländischen Kunstakademie St. Joost, audiovisuelle Kommunikation an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie und schließlich Regie an der niederländischen Film- und Fernsehakademie in Amsterdam. Ihr Abschlussfilm Waterlanders erhielt den ersten Preis bei den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen. Sie führte bei diversen Kurzfilmen und Kinderserien Regie, bevor sie mit Diep ihr Spielfilmdebüt vorlegte. Uilenbal eröffnete vergangenes Jahr das Amsterdamer Kinderfilmfestival Cinekid.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

2000 Het; Kurzfilm 2001 Exit; Kurzfilm 2005 Diep (Deep) 2009 Kikkerdril (Frogs & Toads) 2010 Briefgeheim (Secret Letter) 2015 Het leven volgens Nino (Life According to Nino) 2016 Uilenbal (Owls & Mice)

Produktion

Lemming Film
Amsterdam, Niederlande
+31 20 6610424

Weltvertrieb

Attraction Distribution
Montreal, Quebec, Kanada
+1 514 7580055