Berlinale: Programme

Film file



## ## ## ## ## ## ##

For her first television film – a remake of Fassbinder’s Die bitteren Tränen der Petra von Kant – director Vera wants the perfect cast. But the first day of shooting is fast approaching and the numerous casting sessions have yet to find a suitable actress to play the leading role. Although the producer and crew are getting ever more exasperated with Vera, Gerwin is happy about the extra work, as he earns his money as an audition reader, delivering the lines of dialogue to the starry candidates at the various castings. When the male lead suddenly has to back out, Gerwin thinks that this might just be his chance.
Director Nicolas Wackerbarth captures the complex essence of Fassbinder’s film and simultaneously creates a profound work of his own. Casting takes an unflinching look at the murky depths of human relationships driven by power, passion and desperation. Yet Wackerbarth also brings bitter truths to light about power relations and dependencies in the German television industry almost in passing. Casting is both intelligent and entertaining, marked by exciting turning points, humour and the breathtaking acting performances by a truly virtuoso ensemble.

Nicolas Wackerbarth

Germany 2017


91 min · Colour


Andreas Lust (Gerwin)
Judith Engel (Vera)
Ursina Lardi (Almut Dehlen)
Corinna Kirchhoff (Luise Maderer)
Andrea Sawatzki (Annika Strassmann)
Milena Dreissig (Ruth)
Nicole Marischka (Hanne)
Stephan Grossmann (Manfred)
Marie-Lou Sellem (Mila Ury-Tesche)


Nicolas Wackerbarth
Nicolas Wackerbarth, Hannes Held
Director of Photography
Jürgen Carle
Saskia Metten
Sound Design
Jürgen Kramlofsky
Tom Doepgen
Production Design
Klaus-Peter Platten
Franziska Specht
Commissioning Editor
Katharina Dufner, Jan Berning


Nicolas Wackerbarth

Born in Munich in 1973. He studied acting in Munich, then direction at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (dffb). Nicolas Wackerbarth is co-editor of the film magazine “Revolver”. As well as working as a director, writer, and actor, Nicolas Wackerbarth teaches at various art schools and at the dffb.


2004 Anfänger; 30 min. 2006 Westernstadt; 38 min. 2007 Halbe Stunden; 20 min. 2011 Unten Mitte Kinn; 89 min. 2013 Halbschatten (Everyday Objects); 80 min., Berlinale Forum 2013 2017 Casting

Produced by

SWR – Südwestrundfunk
Baden-Baden, Germany
+49 7221 92923741

Berlinale: Programm


Forum

Casting

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Für ihren ersten Fernsehfilm – ein Remake von Fassbinders Die bitteren Tränen der Petra von Kant – sucht Regisseurin Vera die Idealbesetzung. Doch kurz vor dem ersten Drehtag und nach zahlreichen Castings hat sie die Hauptrolle immer noch nicht gefunden. Während Produzent und Team an Vera verzweifeln, freut sich Gerwin über die Mehrarbeit. Denn er verdient sein Geld als Proben-Anspielpartner und spricht Dialogsätze für die prominenten Bewerberinnen ein. Als der männliche Hauptdarsteller plötzlich abspringt, wittert Gerwin seine Chance.
Regisseur Nicolas Wackerbarth trifft Fassbinders Vorlage in ihrem vielschichtigen Wesen und schafft gleichzeitig ein ganz eigenes, tiefgründiges Werk. Casting wirft einen schonungslosen Blick in die Abgründe menschlicher Beziehungen, die gesteuert sind durch Macht, Leidenschaft und Verzweiflung. Doch ganz nebenbei fördert Wackerbarth auch bittere Wahrheiten über Kräfteverhältnisse und Abhängigkeiten in der deutschen Fernsehbranche zu Tage. Casting ist ein ebenso kluger wie unterhaltsamer Film, geprägt durch spannende Wendepunkte, Humor – und das atemberaubende Schauspiel eines virtuosen Ensembles.

von
Nicolas Wackerbarth

Deutschland 2017

Deutsch

91 Min · Farbe

Mit

Andreas Lust (Gerwin)
Judith Engel (Vera)
Ursina Lardi (Almut Dehlen)
Corinna Kirchhoff (Luise Maderer)
Andrea Sawatzki (Annika Strassmann)
Milena Dreissig (Ruth)
Nicole Marischka (Hanne)
Stephan Grossmann (Manfred)
Marie-Lou Sellem (Mila Ury-Tesche)

Stab

Regie
Nicolas Wackerbarth
Buch
Nicolas Wackerbarth, Hannes Held
Kamera
Jürgen Carle
Schnitt
Saskia Metten
Sound Design
Jürgen Kramlofsky
Ton
Tom Doepgen
Production Design
Klaus-Peter Platten
Produzentin
Franziska Specht
Redaktion
Katharina Dufner, Jan Berning

Biografie

Nicolas Wackerbarth

Geboren 1973 in München. Er studierte Schauspiel in München und Filmregie an der dffb in Berlin. Nicolas Wackerbarth ist Mitherausgeber der Filmzeitschrift „Revolver“. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Regisseur, Autor und Schauspieler ist er als Dozent an verschiedenen Kunsthochschulen und an der dffb tätig.

Filmografie

2004 Anfänger; 30 Min. 2006 Westernstadt; 38 Min. 2007 Halbe Stunden; 20 Min. 2011 Unten Mitte Kinn; 89 Min. 2013 Halbschatten (Everyday Objects); 80 Min., Berlinale Forum 2013 2017 Casting

Produktion

SWR – Südwestrundfunk
Baden-Baden, Deutschland
+49 7221 92923741