Berlinale: Programme


Berlinale Shorts

Street of Death

## ## ## ## ##

On the outskirts of the city, right by the water, lies an arterial road that leads to Beirut’s international airport. Most of the houses standing there are illegal constructions, quickly erected for a life alongside the road.
Karam Ghossein, who also works as a cameraman for other video artists from Lebanon, combines pictures from a commissioned production he shot on the occasion of a friend’s wedding in 2004 with street impressions from the present day. Past events can’t be told apart from the observations of today: a kaleidoscope of stories that take place on this highway. From the sea, to the sky and back. Thoughts on the death of friends, and not so good friends. Exceedingly concrete by contrast, are the shots and screams in the night, the ambulances. Rituals of masculinity such as riding a motorcycle on its rear wheel. Fights for power and reputation that have stood the test of time. Ghossein’s friend never inquired after the video footage, he has long since taken a new wife. Pink wedding dresses, illegitimate children. Stories merge to become a new life.

by
Karam Ghossein

Lebanon / Germany 2017

Arabic

22 min · Colour

With

Mounzer Baalbaki (Voice-Over)

Crew

Written and directed by
Karam Ghossein
Director of Photography
Karam Ghossein
Editor
Vartan Avakian
Colour Correction
Belal Hibri
Sound Design
Ramzi Madi, Gábor Ripli
Producers
Emily Dische-Becker, Karam Ghossein
Co-production
Lamha Productions, Beirut, Libanon

Biography

Karam Ghossein

Born in Nabatiye, South Lebanon in 1988, he lives in Beirut. He studied film and television at the Lebanese University. Since 2006 he has worked on numerous experimental, documentary and fiction short films as well as on TV productions, including as cinematographer on Al Marhala Al Rabiaa (The Fourth Stage) which screened in the 2016 Forum Expanded. His work has been shown at venues including MoMA in New York and the Centre Pompidou in Paris. Street of Death is his debut film as a director.

Filmography

2017 Street of Death

Produced by

Friendly Fire Films
Berlin, Germany
+49 176 37768555

World sales

Friendly Fire Films
Berlin, Germany
+49 176 37768555

Berlinale: Programm


Berlinale Shorts

Street of Death

## ## ## ## ##

Am Rande der Stadt, direkt am Wasser, liegt eine große Ausfallstraße, die zum internationalen Flughafen von Beirut führt. Die Häuser, die dort stehen, sind zum großen Teil illegale Konstruktionen, schnell hochgezogen für ein Leben an der Straße.
Karam Ghossein, der auch als Kameramann für andere Videokünstler aus dem Libanon arbeitet, verbindet Bilder, die er 2004 als Auftragsproduktion anlässlich der Hochzeit eines Freundes gedreht hat, mit Impressionen der Straße von heute. Die Ereignisse der Vergangenheit sind nicht zu unterscheiden von den Beobachtungen in der Gegenwart: ein Kaleidoskop von Geschichten, die an diesem Highway passieren. Aus dem Meer, in den Himmel und zurück. Gedanken an den Tod von Freunden und nicht so guten Freunden. Sehr konkret sind hingegen die Schüsse und Schreie in der Nacht, die Krankenwagen. Rituale der Männlichkeit wie das Motorradfahren auf dem Hinterreifen. Kämpfe um Macht und Ansehen, die die Zeit überdauert haben. Ghosseins Freund hat niemals nach den Videoaufnahmen gefragt, heute ist er längst mit einer neuen Frau zusammen. Rosa Hochzeitskleider, uneheliche Kinder. Geschichten verdichten sich zu einem neuen Leben.

von
Karam Ghossein

Libanon / Deutschland 2017

Arabisch

22 Min · Farbe

Mit

Mounzer Baalbaki (Stimme)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Karam Ghossein
Kamera
Karam Ghossein
Schnitt
Vartan Avakian
Farbkorrektur
Belal Hibri
Sound Design
Ramzi Madi, Gábor Ripli
Produzenten
Emily Dische-Becker, Karam Ghossein
Co-Produktion
Lamha Productions, Beirut, Libanon

Biografie

Karam Ghossein

Der 1988 in Nabatiye im südlichen Libanon geborene Filmemacher lebt in Beirut. Er studierte Film und Fernsehen an der Université Libanaise. Seit 2006 hat er an experimentellen, dokumentarischen und auch fiktionalen Kurzfilmen sowie an TV-Produktionen mitgearbeitet, darunter als Kameramann für den Film Al Marhala Al Rabiaa (Berlinale Forum Expanded 2016). Zudem waren seine Arbeiten unter anderem im New Yorker MoMA und im Centre Pompidou in Paris zu sehen. Street of Death ist seine erste eigene Regiearbeit.

Filmografie

2017 Street of Death

Produktion

Friendly Fire Films
Berlin, Deutschland
+49 176 37768555

Weltvertrieb

Friendly Fire Films
Berlin, Deutschland
+49 176 37768555