Berlinale: Programme


Berlinale Special Gala

Maudie

Bob Cooper (Producer), Susan Mullen (Producer), Mary Young Leckie (Producer), Aisling Walsh (Director, Screenwriter), Sally Hawkins (Actress), Moderation: Jenni Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Since her childhood Maud has suffered from a severe form of arthritis which has deformed her bones and makes almost every movement agony. When her brother sells their parents’ home, this young woman has to move in with her mother in Nova Scotia. Maud is lonely but filled with a desire for life, driven by her great passion for painting. Desperate for more independence, she responds to an advert for a live-in housekeeper placed by fishmonger and social misfit, Everett. From this moment on, the two share everyday life in his little cottage. Gradually, they get to know each other and finally marry. Maud begins to decorate their home with her paintings and soon becomes something of a local celebrity. The colourful motifs on her postcards and small canvasses gain a reputation as far away as in New York and Washington. At some point, they even fill the taciturn Everett with pride.
The sensitively told story of folk artist Maud Lewis who rebels against her own physical deterioration and finds happiness in her art. At the same time the film tells the tale of an unusual, understated love that blossoms in the austere landscape of Canada’s Atlantic coastline.

by
Aisling Walsh

Canada / Ireland 2016

English

116 min · Colour

With

Sally Hawkins (Maud Lewis)
Ethan Hawke (Everett Lewis)
Kari Matchett (Sandra)
Gabrielle Rose (Tante Ida)
Zachary Bennett (Charles Dowley)

Crew

Director
Aisling Walsh
Screenplay
Sherry White
Director of Photography
Guy Godfree
Editor
Stephen O'Connell
Music
Michael Timmins
Sound Design
Steven Munro
Sound
Marco Dölle
Production Design
John Hand
Costumes
Trysha Bakker
Make-up
Marie Sue Heron
Assistant Director
Dan Murphy
Casting
John Buchan, Jason Knight
Production Manager
Mary Pantelidis
Producers
Bob Cooper, Mary Young Leckie, Mary Sexton, Susan Mullen
Executive Producers
Heather Haldane, Hussain Amarshi

Biography

Aisling Walsh

Born in Dublin, Ireland in 1958. A graduate of the National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield, England and the Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology in Dublin, she has received more than 25 international awards for her work as a director and producer of television films and series. Her feature film Song for a Raggy Boy won Best Film at the Copenhagen International Film Festival.

Filmography (selection)

1988 Joyriders 2002 Sinners; TV movie 2003 Song for a Raggy Boy 2004 Visions of Europe; segment “Invisible State” 2007 Damage; TV movie 2008 The Daisy Chain 2011 Wallander; TV movie 2012 Loving Miss Hatto; TV movie 2014 A Poet in New York; TV movie 2015 An Inspector Calls; TV movie 2016 Maudie

Produced by

Solo Productions
Toronto, Canada

Rink Rat Productions
St. Johns, Canada

Parallel Films
Dublin, Ireland

World sales

Mongrel International
Toronto, Canada
www.mongrelmedia.com/

Berlinale: Programm


Berlinale Special Gala

Maudie

Bob Cooper (Produzent), Susan Mullen (Produzentin), Mary Young Leckie (Produzentin), Aisling Walsh (Regisseurin, Drehbuchautorin), Sally Hawkins (Schauspielerin), Moderation: Jenni Zylka

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Seit ihrer Kindheit leidet Maud unter einer schweren Form der Arthritis, die zur Missbildung ihrer Knochen geführt hat und fast jede Bewegung zur Qual werden lässt. Als ihr Bruder das Elternhaus verkauft, muss die junge Frau zu ihrer Tante in Nova Scotia ziehen. Maud ist einsam, doch voller Lebenswillen. Angetrieben wird sie von ihrer großen Leidenschaft, der Malerei. Auf der Suche nach mehr Selbstständigkeit antwortet sie auf eine Anzeige, in der Everett, Fischhändler und sozialer Außenseiter, eine Haushälterin sucht. In seiner kleinen Hütte teilen die beiden fortan den Alltag, kommen einander zögerlich näher, und heiraten schließlich. Maud beginnt, ihr Heim mit ihren Bildern zu verschönern, und wird bald zu einer lokalen Berühmtheit. Ihre Postkarten und kleinen Leinwände mit farbenprächtigen Motiven gelangen bis nach New York und Washington. Auch den wortkargen Everett erfüllen sie irgendwann mit Stolz.
Die gefühlvoll erzählte Lebensgeschichte der naiven Malerin Maud Lewis, die sich gegen ihren körperlichen Verfall auflehnt und das Glück in ihrer Kunst findet. Zugleich ein Film über eine merkwürdige, spröde Liebe, die in der kargen Landschaft an Kanadas Atlantikküste zum Erblühen kommt.

von
Aisling Walsh

Kanada / Irland 2016

Englisch

116 Min · Farbe

Mit

Sally Hawkins (Maud Lewis)
Ethan Hawke (Everett Lewis)
Kari Matchett (Sandra)
Gabrielle Rose (Aunt Ida)
Zachary Bennett (Charles Dowley)

Stab

Regie
Aisling Walsh
Buch
Sherry White
Kamera
Guy Godfree
Schnitt
Stephen O'Connell
Musik
Michael Timmins
Sound Design
Steven Munro
Ton
Marco Dölle
Production Design
John Hand
Kostüm
Trysha Bakker
Maske
Marie Sue Heron
Regieassistenz
Dan Murphy
Casting
John Buchan, Jason Knight
Production Manager
Mary Pantelidis
Produzenten
Bob Cooper, Mary Young Leckie, Mary Sexton, Susan Mullen
Ausführende Produzenten
Heather Haldane, Hussain Amarshi

Biografie

Aisling Walsh

Geboren 1958 in Dublin. Absolventin der National Film and Television School im britischen Beaconsfield und des Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art in Dublin. Für ihre Arbeit als Regisseurin und Produzentin von TV-Filmen und -Serien erhielt sie über 25 internationale Preise. Ihr Spielfilm Song for a Raggy Boy wurde auf dem Copenhagen International Film Festival als bester Film ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1988 Joyriders 2002 Sinners; TV-Film 2003 Song for a Raggy Boy 2004 Visions of Europe; Regie des Segments „Invisible State“ 2007 Damage; TV-Film 2008 The Daisy Chain 2011 Wallander; TV-Film 2012 Loving Miss Hatto; TV-Film 2014 A Poet in New York; TV-Film 2015 An Inspector Calls; TV-Film 2016 Maudie

Produktion

Solo Productions
Toronto, Kanada

Rink Rat Productions
St. Johns, Kanada

Parallel Films
Dublin, Irland

Weltvertrieb

Mongrel International
Toronto, Kanada
www.mongrelmedia.com/