Berlinale: Programme


Competition

The Dinner

 

Cotty Chubb (Producer), Steve Coogan (Actor), Oren Moverman (Director, Screenwriter), Laura Linney (Actress), Richard Gere (Actor)
Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Press Conference at full length
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Paul has no desire to go out to dinner with his brother Stan, a well-known politician, and his sister-in-law Barbara. But his wife Claire insists on him accompanying her. The couples meet at a hip restaurant but, in between each exquisite course, dark family secrets are brought out onto the table. The couples’ sons are responsible for a terrible crime – as yet undiscovered – and their parents must now decide how to deal with the situation. An argument soon ensues, since public disclosure would change the lives of each of them forever.
Oren Moverman puts moral conflict right at the heart of his thriller that sometimes has the intimate feel of a four-hander. The quarrel between the adults confronted with the fact that their children have committed a monstrous act is punctuated with flashbacks both to the crime and to the childhood of brothers Paul and Stan. The film reveals the power struggle between two couples as they shift alliances. Should they face up to their responsibility or deny it? How do you make the right decision and what price does the next generation have to pay for it?

by
Oren Moverman

USA 2016

English

120 min · Colour

With

Richard Gere (Stan Lohman)
Laura Linney (Claire Lohman)
Steve Coogan (Paul Lohman)
Rebecca Hall (Katelyn Lohman)
Chloë Sevigny (Barbara Lohman)

Crew

Written and directed by
Oren Moverman
Director of Photography
Bobby Bukowski
Editor
Alex Hall
Music
Elijah Brueggemann
Sound Design
Jacob Ribicoff
Sound
Tony Volante
Production Design
Kelly McGehee
Costumes
Catherine George
Make-up
Luann Chaps
Assistant Director
Curtis Smith
Casting
Jodi Angstreich, Maribeth Fox, Laura Rosenthal
Production Manager
Jon Read
Producers
Julia Lebedev, Eddie Vaisman, Cotty Chubb, Lawrence Inglee
Executive Producers
Eva Maria Daniels, Angel Lopez, Olga Segura

Biography

Oren Moverman

Born in Tel Aviv, Israel in 1969. A screenwriter (he wrote Married Life for Ira Sachs and I’m not There for Todd Haynes among others) and producer, he made his debut as a director with The Messenger in 2009, which screened in the Berlinale Competition and won the Silver Bear for Best Screenplay and the Peace Film Award. This screenplay was also nominated for an Oscar®. As a co-writer, he was also involved in Udi Aloni’s film Junction 48, which won the Panorama Audience Award in 2016.

Filmography

2009 The Messenger 2011 Rampart 2015 Time out of Mind 2016 The Dinner

Produced by

Code Red
Los Angeles, USA

Sight Unseen Pictures
Los Angeles, USA

ChubbCo
Los Angeles, USA

Blackbird
New York, USA

World sales

Protagonist Pictures
London, Great Britain
+44 207 7349000

Berlinale: Programm


Wettbewerb

The Dinner

 

Cotty Chubb (Produzent), Steve Coogan (Schauspieler), Oren Moverman (Regisseur, Drehbuchautor), Laura Linney (Schauspielerin), Richard Gere (Schauspieler)
Moderation: Jenni Zylka

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Paul hat keine Lust auf das Dinner mit seinem Bruder Stan, einem bekannten Politiker, und seiner Schwägerin Barbara. Doch seine Frau Claire besteht darauf, dass er sie begleitet. In dem angesagten Restaurant kommen zwischen den exquisiten Speisen dunkle Familiengeheimnisse auf den Tisch. Die Söhne der beiden Paare sind, bislang unentdeckt, für ein schreckliches Verbrechen verantwortlich. Ihre Eltern müssen nun entscheiden, wie sie mit der Situation umgehen. Es kommt zum Streit, denn eine öffentliche Enthüllung würde das Leben für jeden Einzelnen von ihnen für immer verändern.
Oren Moverman stellt moralische Konflikte in den Mittelpunkt seines zum Teil wie ein Kammerspiel anmutenden Thrillers. Die Auseinandersetzung der Erwachsenen, die damit umgehen müssen, dass ihre Kinder etwas Monströses getan haben, ist von Rückblenden auf das Verbrechen, aber auch auf die Kindheit der Brüder Paul und Stan durchbrochen. Der Film zeigt ein Kräftemessen zweier Paare, die wechselnde Allianzen bilden. Sollen sie sich der Verantwortung stellen oder sie verleugnen? Wie trifft man die richtige Entscheidung, und welchen Preis hat die nächste Generation dafür zu zahlen?

von
Oren Moverman

USA 2016

Englisch

120 Min · Farbe

Mit

Richard Gere (Stan Lohman)
Laura Linney (Claire Lohman)
Steve Coogan (Paul Lohman)
Rebecca Hall (Katelyn Lohman)
Chloë Sevigny (Barbara Lohman)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Oren Moverman
Kamera
Bobby Bukowski
Schnitt
Alex Hall
Musik
Elijah Brueggemann
Sound Design
Jacob Ribicoff
Ton
Tony Volante
Production Design
Kelly McGehee
Kostüm
Catherine George
Maske
Luann Chaps
Regieassistenz
Curtis Smith
Casting
Jodi Angstreich, Maribeth Fox, Laura Rosenthal
Production Manager
Jon Read
Produzenten
Julia Lebedev, Eddie Vaisman, Cotty Chubb, Lawrence Inglee
Ausführende Produzentinnen
Eva Maria Daniels, Angel Lopez, Olga Segura

Biografie

Oren Moverman

Geboren 1969 in Tel Aviv. Der Drehbuchautor (unter anderem für Married Life von Ira Sachs und I’m Not There von Todd Haynes) und Produzent legte 2009 mit The Messenger sein Regiedebüt vor. Der Film lief im Wettbewerb der Berlinale und wurde mit dem Silbernen Bären für das beste Drehbuch und dem Friedensfilmpreis ausgezeichnet. Des Weiteren wurde das Drehbuch für einen Oscar® nominiert. Als Co-Drehbuchautor war Moverman auch an Udi Alonis Junction 48 beteiligt, der 2016 den Panorama-Publikumspreis gewann.

Filmografie

2009 The Messenger 2011 Rampart 2015 Time out of Mind 2016 The Dinner

Produktion

Code Red
Los Angeles, USA

Sight Unseen Pictures
Los Angeles, USA

ChubbCo
Los Angeles, USA

Blackbird
New York, USA

Weltvertrieb

Protagonist Pictures
London, Großbritannien
+44 207 7349000