Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

Jokinen

## ## ## ##

In 1931, the so-called Yokinen Trial, organized by the Communist Party of the USA in Harlem, New York, brought the Finnish immigrant August Jokinen to public attention. Jokinen, a janitor at the Finnish Worker’s Club, was accused of not defending three African-American communists who had been mistreated at one of the club’s dances. Following his admittance of guilt, Jokinen became an outspoken civil rights advocate until he was arrested for membership in the Communist Party and subsequently deported to Finland.
Laura Horelli tells Jokinen’s migration tale as a mixture between historical research, detective story, and arts and crafts club. Arranging her archival findings – ranging from newspaper articles to books and historical photographs – on a physical desktop, she constructs a narrative by positioning, highlighting, cutting out, masking, and coloring. Her ‘analogue desktop-documentary’ follows August Jokinen’s public story all the way to the present, to a mailbox message on a Russian mobile phone.

by
Laura Horelli

Finland 2016

English, Finnish, Russian

45 min · Colour

With

Olad Aden
Artur Andreasjan
Peter Gilbert Cotton
Katri Kuusimäki
Leslie Malton
Pertti Rönkkö

Crew

Director
Laura Horelli
Director of Photography
Anne Misselwitz
Editor
Janina Herhoffer
Sound Design
Jochen Jezussek
Sound
Benjamin Kalisch, Lukas Lücke

Biography

Laura Horelli

Laura Horelli, born in 1976 in Helsinki, Finland, lives and works in Berlin. She attended the Academy of Fine Arts, Helsinki, Department of Time and Space (MA, 2001) and the Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main as masters student of Thomas Bayrle (2002). In 2011 she received the Hannah Höch Prize for Young Artists from the City of Berlin. She was awarded a 5-year working grant by the Arts Promotion Centre Finland in 2012. Her work has been shown at numerous international exhibitions and festivals.

Filmography

1999 Mobile Phone Use / Advertising; video installation, 3 min. 2003 Helsinki Shipyard / Port San Juan; video installation, 17 min. · You Go Where You’re Sent; 19 min. 2004 Wolfen-Nord, Teil 1 und 2; with Kathrin Wildner, video installation, 13 min. 2005 712 Interviews?; video installation, 19 min. · Incomplete Picture – „Discover Japan“; video installation, 18 min. 2007 I Have Been Considering Making a Video about a Ski Resort in Northern Finland and Showing it in a Gallery in Berlin; video installation, 16 min. 2009 Shedding Details; with Gerhard Friedl, 24 min. · Haukka-pala (A-Bit-to-Bite); video installation, 28 min. 2010 Trading Places; with Ann Kaneko, installation, 27 min. 2011 The Terrace; 24 min. 2013 A Letter to Mother; 27 min. 2016 Jokinen

Produced by

Laura Horelli
Berlin, Germany

www.laurahorelli.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Jokinen

## ## ## ##

Im Jahr 1931 brachte der sogenannte Yokinen-Prozess, den die Kommunistische Partei der USA in Harlem, New York organisierte, den Finnen August Jokinen ins Zentrum des öffentlichen Interesses. Jokinen, Hausmeister im Finnischen Arbeiterclub, wurde vorgeworfen, drei afroamerikanische Kommunisten während eines vom Club ausgerichteten Tanzabends nicht vor rassistischen Anfeindungen verteidigt zu haben. Nach seinem Schuldeingeständnis wandelte sich Jokinen zu einem Vorkämpfer für Bürgerrechte und trat in dieser Funktion öffentlich auf, bis er wegen seiner Mitgliedschaft in der Kommunistischen Partei verhaftet und nach Finnland ausgewiesen wurde.
Laura Horelli erzählt Jokinens Migrationsgeschichte in einer Mischung aus historischer Recherche, Detektivgeschichte und Bastelstunde. Sie arrangiert ihre Archivfunde – Zeitungsartikel, Bücher, Fotos – auf einer Tischplatte, positioniert sie zueinander, unterstreicht, schneidet aus, deckt ab und malt aus. Die so entstehende ,analoge Desktop-Doku‘ folgt August Jokinens öffentlicher Erzählung bis in die Gegenwart – zu einer Mailboxnachricht auf einem russischen Mobiltelefon.

von
Laura Horelli

Finnland 2016

Englisch, Finnisch, Russisch

45 Min · Farbe

Mit

Olad Aden
Artur Andreasjan
Peter Gilbert Cotton
Katri Kuusimäki
Leslie Malton
Pertti Rönkkö

Stab

Regie
Laura Horelli
Kamera
Anne Misselwitz
Schnitt
Janina Herhoffer
Sound Design
Jochen Jezussek
Ton
Benjamin Kalisch, Lukas Lücke

Biografie

Laura Horelli

Laura Horelli, geboren 1976 in Helsinki, Finnland, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie studierte an der Academy of Fine Arts Helsinki, Department of Time and Space, MA (2001) sowie an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main als Meisterschülerin von Thomas Bayrle (2002). Der Berliner Senat vergab Horelli den Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis 2011. 2012 erhielt sie ein fünfjähriges Künstler*innenstipendium des finnischen Staates. Ihre Arbeiten waren in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen und auf Festivals zu sehen. Nach Jokinen (2016) ist dies ihre zweite Teilnahme beim Forum Expanded.

Filmografie

1999 Mobile Phone Use / Advertising; Videoinstallation, 3 Min. 2003 Helsinki Shipyard / Port San Juan; Videoinstallation, 17 Min. · You Go Where You’re Sent; 19 Min. 2004 Wolfen-Nord, Teil 1 und 2; mit Kathrin Wildner, Videoinstallation, 13 Min. 2005 712 Interviews?; Videoinstallation, 19 Min. · Incomplete Picture – „Discover Japan“; Videoinstallation, 18 Min. 2007 I Have Been Considering Making a Video about a Ski Resort in Northern Finland and Showing it in a Gallery in Berlin; Videoinstallation, 16 Min. 2009 Shedding Details; mit Gerhard Friedl, 24 Min. · Haukka-pala (A-Bit-to-Bite); Videoinstallation, 28 Min. 2010 Trading Places; mit Ann Kaneko, Videoinstallation, 27 Min. 2011 The Terrace; 24 Min. 2013 A Letter to Mother; 27 Min. 2016 Jokinen; 45 Min., Forum Expanded 2017 2018 Namibia Today

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion