Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Forum Expanded

Isla Santa Maria 3D

## ## ##

Isla Santa Maria – according to myth – is an island formed from the wreckage of a replica of one of Christopher Columbus’s ships, created for the World’s Columbian Exposition 1893 in Chicago. Based on this myth, Isla Santa Maria 3D draws together the violent colonialist legacy of Columbus with developments of perspective drawing and stereoscopic image-making as two histories that reordered the way we see the world. The film’s cast of characters – a dancing conquistador, an oracle appearing as a floating hologram, a group of representatives from another planet, and a flock of Victorian era revelers on a beach – are pulled out of time into a nonlinear narrative that overlaps histories, truths, and fantasies to re-imagine possible futures.

Oliver Husain

Canada 2016


18 min · Colour · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation, 3D


Liz Peterson (Dr. Hologram)
Naishi Wang (Conquistador)


Written and directed by
Oliver Husain
Director of Photography
Iris Ng
Oliver Husain
Michelle Irving
Sound Design
Michelle Irving
Michelle Irving
Production Design
Oliver Husain
Stuart Farndell
Buzz Buzz
Commissioned by
Images Festival and Gallery TPW, Toronto
Oliver Husain


Oliver Husain

Oliver Husain is an artist and filmmaker based in Toronto, Canada. His films and videos have been shown internationally at a variety of locations in solo and group exhibitions and in numerous film festivals and screenings.

Filmography (selection)

1999 Ron & Leo; 13 min. 2002 Q; 16 min. 2005 Swivel; 15 min. · Shrivel; 8 min. · Squiggle; 22 min. 2007 Rushes for Five Hats; 13 min. 2008 Mount Shasta; 8 min. 2009 Purfled Promises; 8 min. 2012 Item Number; 15 min. 2013 Parade; 11 min. 2016 Isla Santa Maria 3D

Produced by

Oliver Husain
Toronto, Canada
+1 647 8926827

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Isla Santa Maria 3D

## ## ##

Die Isla Santa Maria ist – wenn man dem Mythos Glauben schenkt – eine Insel, die aus dem Wrack des Nachbaus eines der Schiffe Christopher Columbus’ entstand, der für die World’s Columbian Exposition 1893 in Chicago angefertigt wurde. Ausgehend von diesem Mythos verknüpft Isla Santa Maria 3D zwei historische Ereignisse, die die Art, wie wir die Welt sehen, neu ordneten: Columbus’ brutales koloniales Vermächtnis und die Entwicklung perspektivischer Zeichnung und stereoskopischer Bilder. Die Figuren, die den Film bevölkern – ein tanzender Konquistador, ein als schwebendes Hologramm erscheinendes Orakel, eine Gruppe Repräsentant*innen eines fremden Planeten und eine Gruppe viktorianischer Müßiggänger*innen am Strand – sind aus der Zeit gerissen, hinein in eine non-lineare Erzählung, in der sich Geschichte, Wahrheit und Fantasie zu einer Neuerfindung der Zukunft vermengen.

von
Oliver Husain

Kanada 2016

Englisch

18 Min · Farbe · 1-Kanal-Videoinstallation, 3D

Mit

Liz Peterson (Dr. Hologram)
Naishi Wang (Konquisador)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Oliver Husain
Kamera
Iris Ng
Schnitt
Oliver Husain
Musik
Michelle Irving
Sound Design
Michelle Irving
Ton
Michelle Irving
Production Design
Oliver Husain
Kostüm
Stuart Farndell
Maske
Buzz Buzz
In Auftrag gegeben von
Images Festival and Gallery TPW, Toronto
Produzent
Oliver Husain

Biografie

Oliver Husain

Oliver Husain lebt und arbeitet als Künstler und Filmemacher in Toronto, Kanada. Seine Filme und Videos waren international in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen sowie auf zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals und in Screenings zu sehen.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1999 Ron & Leo; 13 Min. 2002 Q; 16 Min. 2005 Swivel; 15 Min. · Shrivel; 8 Min. · Squiggle; 22 Min. 2007 Rushes for Five Hats; 13 Min. 2008 Mount Shasta; 8 Min. 2009 Purfled Promises; 8 Min. 2012 Item Number; 15 Min. 2013 Parade; 11 Min. 2016 Isla Santa Maria 3D

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Oliver Husain