Berlinale: Programme


Forum Expanded

Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon

## ##

Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon shows ten bridges on Yahagi River, which runs near where I grew up in Okazaki, Aichi Prefecture, Japan. I shot each bridge twice, first in the morning and again in the evening of the day. I exposed only one sixth of the frame at a time and exposed the entire film six times to have a full-size image, from the left side of the frame to the right side. The morning shots show the left side dark, as it was darker when I did the first exposure than when I was exposing the last part, and the evening shots show vice versa. Yahagi River has about 70 bridges. The bridge in the first shot is the closest to the source of the river, which is in Hiraya Village, Nagano Prefecture, and the last bridge is the last one before the river merges into the ocean.

by
Tomonari Nishikawa

Japan / USA 2016

Without dialogue

10 min · Colour · 16 mm

Crew

Director
Tomonari Nishikawa
Director of Photography
Tomonari Nishikawa
Editor
Tomonari Nishikawa
Sound
Tomonari Nishikawa
Producer
Tomonari Nishikawa

Biography

Tomonari Nishikawa

Tomonari Nishikawa lives and works in Japan and the USA. In his work he explores the idea of documenting situations/phenomena through a chosen medium and technique, often focusing on its process. He is co-founder of the Kuala Lumpur Experimental Film and Video Festival (KLEX) and of Transient Visions: Festival of the Moving Image, in New York, and is currently teaching in the Cinema Department at Binghamton University. His works have been shown at major international festivals.

Filmography

2003 Apollo; 6 min. 2005 Sketch Film #1; 3 min. · Sketch Film #2; 3 min. · Market Street; 5 min. 2006 Sketch Film #3; 3 min. · Clear Blue Sky; 4 min. 2007 Sketch Film #4; 3 min. · Sketch Film #5; 3 min. · Into the Mass; 6 min. 2008 16-18-4; 3 min., Forum Expanded 2009 2009 Lumphini 2552; 3 min. 2010 Tokyo - Ebisu; 5 min. · Shibuya - Tokyo; 10 min. 2013 45 7 Broadway; 5 min. 2014 sound of a million insects, light of a thousand stars; 2 min. · Manhattan One Two Three Four; 3 min. 2016 Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon

Produced by

Tomonari Nishikawa
Vestal, USA
+1 607 9568

World sales

Tomonari Nishikawa
Vestal, USA
+1 607 9568

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon

## ##

Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon zeigt zehn Brücken über den Fluss Yahagi, der nahe meiner japanischen Heimat in Okazaki in der Präfektur Aichi verläuft. Ich nahm jede Brücke zweifach auf, zunächst morgens, dann ein weiteres Mal am Abend des selben Tags. Dabei belichtete ich nur jeweils ein Sechstel jedes Bildes. Den gesamten Film belichtete ich sechs Mal, so dass am Ende wieder der gesamte Bildkader vom linken bis zum rechten Rand des Bildes ausgefüllt war. In den Aufnahmen aus den Morgenstunden ist die linke Seite des Bildes dunkel, da es zur Zeit der ersten Belichtung dunkler war als bei der letzten. Bei den Aufnahmen, die abends entstanden, ist es entsprechend umgekehrt. Es gibt circa 70 Brücken über den Yahagi. In der ersten Einstellung ist die Brücke zu sehen, die der Quelle des Flusses am nächsten liegt. Die letzte Brücke im Film ist die letzte Brücke vor der Mündung des Flusses in den Ozean.

von
Tomonari Nishikawa

Japan / USA 2016

Ohne Dialog

10 Min · Farbe · 16 mm

Stab

Regie
Tomonari Nishikawa
Kamera
Tomonari Nishikawa
Schnitt
Tomonari Nishikawa
Ton
Tomonari Nishikawa
Produzent
Tomonari Nishikawa

Biografie

Tomonari Nishikawa

Tomonari Nishikawa lebt und arbeitet in Japan und den USA. In seiner Praxis untersucht er die Dokumentation von Situationen und Phänomenen durch ein bestimmtes Medium oder eine Technik. Er ist Mitbegründer des Kuala Lumpur Experimental Film and Video Festival (KLEX) und des Transient Visions: Festival of the Moving Image, in New York. Aktuell unterrichtet er am Cinema Department der Binghamton University. Seine Arbeiten wurden auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt.

Filmografie

2003 Apollo; 6 Min. 2005 Sketch Film #1; 3 Min. · Sketch Film #2; 3 Min. · Market Street; 5 Min. 2006 Sketch Film #3; 3 Min. · Clear Blue Sky; 4 Min. 2007 Sketch Film #4; 3 Min. · Sketch Film #5; 3 Min. · Into the Mass; 6 Min. 2008 16-18-4; 3 Min., Forum Expanded 2009 2009 Lumphini 2552; 3 Min. 2010 Tokyo - Ebisu; 5 Min. · Shibuya - Tokyo; 10 Min. 2013 45 7 Broadway; 5 Min. 2014 sound of a million insects, light of a thousand stars; 2 Min. · Manhattan One Two Three Four; 3 Min. 2016 Ten Mornings Ten Evenings and One Horizon

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2017

Produktion

Tomonari Nishikawa

Weltvertrieb

Tomonari Nishikawa