Berlinale: Programme


Berlinale Shorts

Estás vendo coisas

You are seeing things

Du siehst Dinge

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

“It is all a dream”, she sings, “a hallucination. You are seeing things… estás vendo coisas!” In Estás vendo coisas, two protagonists of the Tecno brega scene stage a musical in which they appear as the stars.
Tecno brega is the name of a music style from the north of Brazil: The music is produced and distributed at low cost and without any regard for copyright law. Music consumers assert themselves as producers, passive is transformed into active. The region characterised by poverty and restructuring has acquired a new and sexy self-confidence. Parties are a part of the distribution process, music videos are another. The pictorial world of the videos, which are largely shot in immediate living environments, is characterised by kitsch texts and depict unattainable dream worlds.

by
Bárbara Wagner
Benjamin de Burca

Brazil 2017

Portuguese

Documentary form
18 min · Colour

With

MC Porck
Dayana Paixão
Leydson Dedesso
Neguinho Do Charme
Alan Cassio
Italo Monteiro
Jurema Fox

Crew

Director
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca
Screenplay
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca, Pedro Sotero
Director of Photography
Pedro Sotero
Music
Dany Bala, Tiquinho Lira, Carlinhos Sá
Sound Design
Daniel Turini, Fernando Henna
Art Director
Benjamin de Burca
Producer
Carol Vergolino

Biography

Bárbara Wagner

Born in Brasilia, Brazil in 1980, she graduated with an MFA from the Dutch Art Institute in Arnhem in 2012. Her photographic work is centered on the ‘popular body’ and how ordinary people present their bodies to a supposedly interested public. It has been exhibited across the world, is held in international collections and has been published in monographs. Since 2011 she has been collaborating with Benjamin de Burca and their work has featured in international exhibitions including at the São Paulo Museum of Modern Art, the Biennale on La Réunion and EVA International in Ireland.

Filmography (short films)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things)

Benjamin de Burca

Born in Munich, Germany in 1975, he studied Fine Art at Glasgow School of Art and has an MA from Ulster University. From 2000-2006 he worked as a community-based artist with young people involved in gangs. From 2006-2008 he was co-director of Belfast's Catalyst Arts centre. He works in painting, collage, photography, film, video and installation and has exhibited extensively internationally, often with Bárbara Wagner. Working collaboratively with Wagner since 2011, they use documentary narrative structures to observe diverse relations between tradition and progress in emerging economies.

Filmography (short films)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things)

Produced by

Alumia Produção e Conteúdo
Recife, Brazil
+55 81 981866855

World sales

Alumia Produção e Conteúdo
Recife, Brazil
+55 81 981866855

Berlinale: Programm


Berlinale Shorts

Estás vendo coisas

You are seeing things

Du siehst Dinge

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

„Es ist alles ein Traum“, singt sie, „eine Halluzination. Du siehst Dinge … estás vendo coisas!“ In Estás vendo coisas inszenieren zwei Protagonisten der Tecnobrega-Szene ein Musical, in dem sie selbst die Stars sind.
Tecnobrega ist der Name einer Musikrichtung aus dem Norden Brasiliens: Die Musik wird sehr kostengünstig und ohne Rücksicht auf Urheberrechte produziert und vertrieben. Musikkonsumenten erheben sich zu Produzenten, aus passiv wird aktiv. Die von Armut und Strukturwandel gekennzeichnete Region hat sich so ein neues Sexy-Selbstbewusstsein erarbeitet. Parties sind Teil des Vertriebsweges, Musikvideos ein anderer. Die Bildwelten der Videos, die zumeist im direkten Lebensumfeld gedreht werden, sind bestimmt durch kitschige Texte und zeigen unerreichbare Traumwelten. Fiktion, Traum und Realität reichen sich die Hand.

von
Bárbara Wagner
Benjamin de Burca

Brasilien 2017

Portugiesisch

Dokumentarische Form
18 Min · Farbe

Mit

MC Porck
Dayana Paixão
Leydson Dedesso
Neguinho Do Charme
Alan Cassio
Italo Monteiro
Jurema Fox

Stab

Regie
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca
Buch
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca, Pedro Sotero
Kamera
Pedro Sotero
Musik
Dany Bala, Tiquinho Lira, Carlinhos Sá
Sound Design
Daniel Turini, Fernando Henna
Art Director
Benjamin de Burca
Produzentin
Carol Vergolino

Biografie

Bárbara Wagner

Geboren 1980 in Brasília. 2012 Abschluss des Kunststudiums am Dutch Art Institute im niederländischen Arnhem. In ihrem fotografischen Werk beschäftigt sich Wagner damit, wie gewöhnliche Menschen ihren Körper einer vermeintlich interessierten Öffentlichkeit präsentieren. Die Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, in Sammlungen aufgenommen und in Monografien veröffentlicht. Seit 2011 Zusammenarbeit mit Benjamin de Burca. Mehrere gemeinsame internationale Ausstellungen, unter anderem im Museu de Arte Moderna de São Paulo, bei der Biennale auf La Réunion und bei EVA International in Irland.

Filmografie (Kurzfilme)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things)

Benjamin de Burca

Geboren 1975 in München. Studium der Malerei an der Glasgow School of Art und der University of Ulster. Zwischen 2000 und 2006 künstlerische Beschäftigung mit Jugend- und Gang-Kultur in Glasgow und Belfast. 2006 bis 2008 Co-Direktor des Kulturzentrums Catalyst Arts in Belfast. Seine künstlerische Praxis reicht von Malerei, Collage und Fotografie über Film, Video und Installation. Seit 2011 Zusammenarbeit mit Bárbara Wagner, mit der er mehrfach international ausgestellt hat. In ihren Arbeiten, die die Beziehung zwischen Tradition und Fortschritt in aufstrebenden Industriegesellschaften untersuchen, nutzen sie dokumentarische Erzählstrukturen.

Filmografie (Kurzfilme)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things)

Produktion

Alumia Produção e Conteúdo
Recife, Brasilien
+55 81 981866855

Weltvertrieb

Alumia Produção e Conteúdo
Recife, Brasilien
+55 81 981866855