Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh’s Chocolate Cake

##

Islam Chipsy from Egypt and Aïsha Devi from Switzerland are two musicians whose main strength lies in their live performances, informed by a non-repetitive unique style that YouTube or SoundCloud will never be able to reproduce.
One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh’s Chocolate Cake documents the process of a week of meetings between Aïsha and Chipsy in Cairo, Egypt where they were asked to produce a collaborative music track. Shot on a VHS camera, the experimental, performative project was conceived to be full of improvisation, with no fear of failure from either the filmmakers or the musicians, and no pressure to produce a final product, be that a finished piece of music or a documentary film.
Cultural exchange is not the process of “Here’s my culture, I’ll have some of yours” that we sometimes think it is. Rather, it is something that should be mutual and deeply based in commonality and equality. One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh’s Chocolate Cake is an inquiry into the difficulties of artistic collaboration and questions whether anything is ever actually exchanged within so-called cultural exchange.

by
Marouan Omara
Islam Kamal

Egypt / Switzerland 2016

English, Arabic, French

37 min · Colour

With

Islam Chipsy
Aïsha Devi

Crew

Director
Marouan Omara, Islam Kamal
Director of Photography
Islam Kamal
Editor
Islam Kamal, Michael Shafek
Sound Design
Raef Ali
Sound
Sameh Nabil
Production Manager
Sameh Gamal
Producers
Thomas Burkhalter, Mark Lotfy

Biography

Marouan Omara

Marouan Omara, born 1987 in Cairo, Egypt, is a filmmaker based between Cairo and Alexandria. He holds a diploma in filmmaking from the Art & Technology of Cinema Academy and a BA in Applied Arts from Helwan University. He currently works as an adjunct professor for film production at the American University in Cairo. He also works closely with Fig Leaf Studios, an independent company that leads many international co-productions in Egypt. He was the managing director of Cairo Industry Forum, as part of Cairo International Film Festival 2014, and part of the selection committee in 2015. His films have been shown in major international film festivals.

Filmography

2013 Crop; 47 min. 2015 Azziara (The Visit); 43 min. 2016 One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh's Chocolate Cake

Islam Kamal

Islam Kamal was born in 1978 in Alexandria, Egypt, where he is also based today as a visual artist and a filmmaker. He studied painting in the faculty of fine arts at Alexandria University and in 2004 filmmaking at the Jesuit Cultural Center in Alexandria. In the same year he started working as a director of photography for several films and directed several short films and documentaries. Since 2006 he has been the head of the video production department at Fig Leaf Studios, an audio-visual production house founded in 2005.

Filmography

2004 Icarus; 10 min. · Made in Max; 10 min. · City Report; 13 min. 2006 Gudranne; 9 min. 2007 Filmer les pierres naturelles; 9 min. 2008 God Creates Still Life; 15 min. · Surface; 10 min. · Public Domain; 24 min. 2009 Shali Ghali; 24 min. 2010 Local Copy; 21 min. 2011 Dream 79; 10 min. 2012 Hayat; 16 min. 2015 Azziara (The Visit); 43 min. · Expired; 14 min., Forum Expanded 2016 2016 One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh's Chocolate Cake

Produced by

Fig Leaf Studios
Alexandria, Egypt
+2 3 5553883

www.figleafstudios.com

Norient Sounds
Bern, Switzerland

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh’s Chocolate Cake

##

Islam Chipsy aus Ägypten und Aïsha Devi aus der Schweiz sind zwei Musiker*innen, deren größte Stärke ihre Live-Performances sind. Ihr unnachahmlicher, von Improvisation und Variation geprägter jeweiliger Stil lässt sich nur schwer in Aufnahmen auf YouTube und SoundCloud reproduzieren.
One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh’s Chocolate Cake dokumentiert eine einwöchige Zusammenarbeit zwischen Aïsha und Chipsy in Kairo. Sie waren gebeten worden, gemeinsam einen Track zu produzieren. Das auf VHS gedrehte experimentelle und performative Projekt war als Improvisation angelegt, ohne Angst vor dem Scheitern, weder auf Seiten des Filmteams noch auf Seiten der Musiker*innen. Vor allem sollte kein Druck bestehen, am Ende ein fertiges Produkt vorweisen zu müssen, sei es ein Musikstück oder ein Dokumentarfilm.
Kulturaustausch funktioniert nicht nach dem Prinzip „Hier ist meine Kultur, jetzt hätte ich gerne ein bisschen von deiner.“ Vielmehr sollte der Prozess auf einer soliden Basis von gegenseitigem Respekt und Gemeinschaftlichkeit von statten gehen. Der Film untersucht die Schwierigkeiten künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit und hinterfragt, ob im Kulturaustausch tatsächlich irgendetwas ausgetauscht wird.

von
Marouan Omara
Islam Kamal

Ägypten / Schweiz 2016

Englisch, Arabisch, Französisch

37 Min · Farbe

Mit

Islam Chipsy
Aïsha Devi

Stab

Regie
Marouan Omara, Islam Kamal
Kamera
Islam Kamal
Schnitt
Islam Kamal, Michael Shafek
Sound Design
Raef Ali
Ton
Sameh Nabil
Production Manager
Sameh Gamal
Produzenten
Thomas Burkhalter, Mark Lotfy

Biografie

Marouan Omara

Marouan Omara, geboren in 1987 in Kairo, Ägypten, ist ein Filmemacher und lebt zwischen Kairo und Alexandria. Er hat ein Diplom in Film von der Art & Technology of Cinema Academy und einen BA von der Helwan University. Aktuell arbeitet er als Lehrbeauftragter für Filmproduktion an der American University in Kairo. Er arbeitet eng mit der unabhängigen Produktionsfirma Fig Leaf Studios zusammen. 2014 war er Geschäftsführer des Cairo Industry Forum, einem Teil des Cairo International Film Festival und 2015 in dessen Auswahlkomitee. Seine Filme wurden auf internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt.

Filmografie

2013 Crop; 47 Min. 2015 Azziara (The Visit); 43 Min. 2016 One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh's Chocolate Cake

Islam Kamal

Islam Kamal wurde 1978 in Alexandria, Ägypten geboren, wo er heute als Künstler und Filmemacher lebt und arbeitet. Er studierte Malerei an der Alexandria University und 2004 Film am Jesuits Cultural Center in Alexandria. Zeitgleich begann er als Kameramann bei verschiedenen Produktionen mitzuwirken. Er realisierte als Regisseur mehrere Kurz- und Dokumentarfilme. Seit 2006 leitet er die Videoabteilung der ein Jahr zuvor gegründeten Filmproduktionsfirma Fig Leaf Studios.

Filmografie

2004 Icarus; 10 Min. · Made in Max; 10 Min. · City Report; 13 Min. 2006 Gudranne; 9 Min. 2007 Filmer les pierres naturelles; 9 Min. 2008 God Creates Still Life; 15 Min. · Surface; 10 Min. · Public Domain; 24 Min. 2009 Shali Ghali; 24 Min. 2010 Local Copy; 21 Min. 2011 Dream 79; 10 Min. 2012 Hayat; 16 Min. 2015 Azziara (The Visit); 43 Min. · Expired; 14 Min., Forum Expanded 2016 2016 One Plus One Makes a Pharaoh's Chocolate Cake

Produktion

Fig Leaf Studios
Alexandria, Ägypten
+2 3 5553883

www.figleafstudios.com

Norient Sounds
Bern, Schweiz