Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special Gala

La Reina de España

The Queen of Spain

José Luis Alcaine (Cinematography), Antonio Resines (Actor), Chino Darín (Actor), Anne Deluz (Producer), Fernando Trueba (Director, Screenwriter) Moderation: Anatol Weber

Press Conference at full length
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Spanish actress Macarena Granada returns home to Spain in the mid-1950s having enjoyed a successful career in Hollywood. She is to play Queen Isabella the First of Castille in a prestigious period drama. At the studio she meets her former friends and colleagues, falls in love with a handsome crew member, leads a madcap expedition to free a resistance fighter and proves herself to be truly regal during an encounter with the fascist leader Franco, whom she despises.
Oscar®-winning director Fernando Trueba’s new film-within-a-film comedy returns to the same territory as La niña de tus ojos (The Girl of Your Dreams) which screened in Competition at the 1999 Berlinale. This time the story is set during Franco’s dictatorship and portrays both sympathisers of the regime and those who were persecuted by it. The effect that Franco’s rule had on the arts is a topic which pervades the work of this doyen of Spanish cinema. In his current film he displays a lightness of touch and adopts an amusing, chaotic approach that is no less political. The film marks Trueba’s third collaboration with his ‘queen’ Penélope Cruz, who shot to fame in his 1992 work Belle Epoque.

by
Fernando Trueba

Spain 2016

Spanish, English

128 min · Colour

With

Penélope Cruz (Macarena Granada)
Chino Darín (Leo)
Mandy Patinkin (Jordan Berman)
Cary Elwes (Gary Jones)
Clive Revill (John Scott)
Antonio Resines (Blas Fontiveros)
Santiago Segura (Castillo)
Ana Belén (Ana)
Loles León (Trini)
Jorge Sanz (Julián Torralba)

Crew

Written and directed by
Fernando Trueba
Director of Photography
José Luis Alcaine
Editor
Marta Velasco
Music
Zbigniew Preisner
Sound Design
François Musy
Sound
François Musy, Gabriel Hafner
Production Design
Juan Pedro de Gaspar
Costumes
Lala Huete
Make-up
Ana Lozano
Assistant Director
Sara Mazkiaran
Casting
Jeanne McCarthy
Production Manager
Pilar Robla
Producers
Cristina Huete, Anne Deluz
Executive Producer
Kirk D'Amico

Biography

Fernando Trueba

Born in Madrid, Spain in 1955. Since making his directing debut with Opera prima in 1980, this director and screenwriter has made a further 15 award-winning films. Belle Epoque won the Oscar® for Best Foreign Language Film as well as nine Goyas; his animated film Chico & Rita was also nominated for an Oscar®. His films have screened frequently at the Berlinale. He won a Silver Bear in 1987 for El año de las luces, and Belle Epoque and La niña de tus ojos also screened in the Competition. He has so far won two Grammys and five Latin Grammys for his work as a music producer.

Filmography (selection)

1986 El Año de las Luces 1989 The Mad Monkey 1992 Belle Epoque 1998 La niña de tus ojos 2000 Calle 54 2002 El embrujo de Shanghai 2004 El milagro de Candeal 2010 Chico & Rita 2011 L’artiste et son modèle 2016 La Reina de España (The Queen of Spain)

Produced by

Fernando Trueba PC
Madrid, Spain
+34 91 7596264

www.fernandotrueba.com

World sales

Myriad Pictures
Los Angeles, USA
+1 310 2794000

www.myriadpictures.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special Gala

La Reina de España

The Queen of Spain

José Luis Alcaine (Kamera), Antonio Resines (Schauspieler), Chino Darín (Schauspieler), Anne Deluz (Produzentin), Fernando Trueba (Regisseur, Drehbuch) Moderation: Anatol Weber

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Die spanische Schauspielerin Macarena Granada, die in Hollywood Karriere gemacht hat, kehrt Mitte der 1950er-Jahre in ihre Heimat zurück. In einem prestigeträchtigen Kostümschinken soll sie als Königin Isabella I. von Kastilien vor der Kamera stehen. Im Studio trifft sie ihre ehemaligen Freunde und Kollegen wieder. Sie verliebt sich in ein gut aussehendes Crew-Mitglied, führt eine irrwitzige Aktion zur Befreiung eines Widerstandskämpfers an und beweist bei einer Begegnung mit Faschistenführer Franco, den sie verachtet, selbst wahrhaft royalen Charakter.
Oscar®-Preisträger Fernando Trueba knüpft mit dieser Film-im-Film-Komödie an Das Mädchen deiner Träume an, der 1999 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale gezeigt wurde. Die Geschichte ist in der Zeit der Franco-Diktatur angesiedelt und porträtiert Mitläufer und Verfolgte des Regimes. Die Auswirkungen des Franquismus auf die Kunst sind immer wieder Thema im Werk des spanischen Altmeisters. Dieses Mal in amüsant-chaotischer Form und mit leichter Hand inszeniert, aber nicht weniger politisch. Bereits zum dritten Mal besetzte Trueba seine „Königin“ Penélope Cruz, der er 1992 mit Belle Epoque zum künstlerischen Durchbruch verhalf.

von
Fernando Trueba

Spanien 2016

Spanisch, Englisch

128 Min · Farbe

Mit

Penélope Cruz (Macarena Granada)
Chino Darín (Leo)
Mandy Patinkin (Jordan Berman)
Cary Elwes (Gary Jones)
Clive Revill (John Scott)
Antonio Resines (Blas Fontiveros)
Santiago Segura (Castillo)
Ana Belén (Ana)
Loles León (Trini)
Jorge Sanz (Julián Torralba)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Fernando Trueba
Kamera
José Luis Alcaine
Schnitt
Marta Velasco
Musik
Zbigniew Preisner
Sound Design
François Musy
Ton
François Musy, Gabriel Hafner
Production Design
Juan Pedro de Gaspar
Kostüm
Lala Huete
Maske
Ana Lozano
Regieassistenz
Sara Mazkiaran
Casting
Jeanne McCarthy
Production Manager
Pilar Robla
Produzenten
Cristina Huete, Anne Deluz
Ausführender Produzent
Kirk D'Amico

Biografie

Fernando Trueba

Geboren 1955 in Madrid. Seit seinem Regiedebüt Opera prima hat der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor 15 Filme realisiert, die mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet wurden. Belle Epoque gewann einen Oscar® als bester fremdsprachiger Film sowie neun Goyas; mit seinem Animationsfilm Chico & Rita war er erneut für einen Oscar® nominiert. Trueba war bereits mehrmals bei der Berlinale zu Gast: Für El año de las luces erhielt er 1987 einen Silbernen Bären, auch Belle Epoque und La niña de tus ojos liefen im Wettbewerb. Als Musikproduzent erhielt er bislang zwei Grammys und fünf Latin Grammys.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1986 El Año de las Luces 1989 The Mad Monkey 1992 Belle Epoque 1998 La niña de tus ojos 2000 Calle 54 2002 El embrujo de Shanghai 2004 El milagro de Candeal 2010 Chico & Rita 2011 L’artiste et son modèle 2016 La Reina de España (The Queen of Spain)

Produktion

Fernando Trueba PC
Madrid, Spanien
+34 91 7596264

www.fernandotrueba.com

Weltvertrieb

Myriad Pictures
Los Angeles, USA
+1 310 2794000

www.myriadpictures.com