Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Aus einem Jahr der Nichtereignisse

From a Year of Non-Events

## ## ## ## ##

Willi is nearly 90 years old and lives alone on a farm in northern Germany. He likes to talk to his cat, he feeds his chickens and makes his rounds with the aid of a squeaky walker. The garden is overgrown. His house is full of all the things that have accumulated there over the course of a long life, relics of bygone times. Occasionally someone comes to visit, or a moped passes by, but not much happens otherwise. As the seasons change, the film paints a portrait of the everyday life of this resolute, slightly dishevelled old man. It’s also a visual essay on the cycle of life, as the camera observes nature, captures fruit and flowers in bloom in all their glory. Textures equally come to the fore: the cat’s fur, the pattern on the coffee service, the structure of a marzipan cake; at times the camera photographs apples or plastic garden chairs as if they were still lifes. The images transcend mere depiction – they contain a feeling of evanescence, which is enhanced by the fragility of the Super-8 and 16-mm material used to film them. Even the black screens that appear when the reels are changed reveal the passage of time.

by
Ann Carolin Renninger
René Frölke

Germany 2017

German

Documentary form
83 min · Black/White & Colour

Crew

Director
Ann Carolin Renninger, René Frölke
Director of Photography
René Frölke, Ann Carolin Renninger
Editor
René Frölke
Producers
Ann Carolin Renninger, René Frölke

Biography

Ann Carolin Renninger

Born in 1979 in Flensburg. She studied Cultural Studies and has developed and produced various documentaries. Aus einem Jahr der Nichtereignisse is her first film.

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2017

René Frölke

Born in 1978 in East Germany. He has worked as a freelance editor, cinematographer and director for many years. In 2007, he began studying art in Karlsruhe. In 2010, he made his first feature-length documentary, Von der Vermählung des Salamanders mit der grünen Schlange.

Filmography

2007 Jour de grève; 14 min. 2008 Ropinsalmi; 12 min. 2010 Führung; 37 min., Forum Expanded 2011 · Von der Vermählung des Salamanders mit der grünen Schlange; 94 min. 2012 Jeremy Y. call Bobby O. oder Morgenthau Without Tears; 84 min. 2014 Le beau danger; 100 min., Berlinale Forum 2014 2017 Aus einem Jahr der Nichtereignisse (From a Year of Non-Events)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2017

Produced by

Berlinale: Programm


Forum

Aus einem Jahr der Nichtereignisse

From a Year of Non-Events

## ## ## ## ##

Willi ist fast 90 Jahre alt und lebt allein auf einem Bauernhof in Norddeutschland. Er spricht gern mit seiner Katze, füttert das Federvieh und geht auf seinen quietschenden Rollator gestützt über das Gelände. Der Garten ist verwildert. Im Haus haben sich vielerlei Gegenstände aus einem langen Leben angesammelt, Relikte vergangener Zeiten. Ab und zu kommt Besuch oder ein Moped fährt vorbei, sonst geschieht nicht viel. Im Wechsel der Jahreszeiten zeichnet der Film ein Porträt vom Alltag des resoluten, ein wenig zerzausten alten Mannes, das zugleich ein visueller Essay über den Zyklus des Lebens ist. Die Kamera macht Beobachtungen in der Natur, filmt Obst und Blüten in voller Pracht. Sie interessiert sich auch für Texturen, das Fell der Katze, das Muster des Kaffeegeschirrs, die Struktur einer Marzipantorte. Hin und wieder fotografiert sie Äpfel oder Gartenstühle aus Plastik wie Stillleben. Die Aufnahmen transzendieren die bloße Abbildung, in ihnen enthalten ist ein Gefühl der Vergänglichkeit, das durch die Fragilität des verwendeten Super-8- und 16-mm-Materials unterstützt wird. Auch die beim Rollenwechsel entstandenen Schwarzbilder machen das Vergehen von Zeit sichtbar.

von
Ann Carolin Renninger
René Frölke

Deutschland 2017

Deutsch

Dokumentarische Form
83 Min · Schwarz-Weiß & Farbe

Stab

Regie
Ann Carolin Renninger, René Frölke
Kamera
René Frölke, Ann Carolin Renninger
Schnitt
René Frölke
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Ann Carolin Renninger, René Frölke

Biografie

Ann Carolin Renninger

Geboren 1979 in Flensburg. Sie studierte Kulturwissenschaften und arbeitet im Bereich Entwicklung und Produktion von Dokumentarfilmen. Aus einem Jahr der Nichtereignisse ist ihr erster Film.

René Frölke

Geboren 1978 in der DDR. Er ist als Cutter, Kameramann und Regisseur tätig. 2007 nahm er ein Kunststudium in Karlsruhe auf, 2010 realisierte er seinen ersten eigenen abendfüllenden Dokumentarfilm Von der Vermählung des Salamanders mit der grünen Schlange.

Filmografie

2007 Jour de grève; 14 Min. 2008 Ropinsalmi; 12 Min. 2010 Führung; 37 Min., Forum Expanded 2011 · Von der Vermählung des Salamanders mit der grünen Schlange; 94 Min. 2012 Jeremy Y. call Bobby O. oder Morgenthau Without Tears; 84 Min. 2014 Le beau danger; 100 Min., Berlinale Forum 2014 2017 Aus einem Jahr der Nichtereignisse (From a Year of Non-Events)

Produktion

joon film
Berlin, Deutschland
+49 176 24089634

www.joonfilm.de