Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Selbstkritik eines bürgerlichen Hundes

Self-criticism of a Bourgeois Dog

## ## ## ## ##

A bourgeois greyhound confesses how he turned from an ambitious but little-recognised filmmaker into a canine. When his latest project is rejected by every single funding institution, Julian is forced to take on a job as a fruit picker. When he makes a young Canadian woman named Camille believe that this is research for a communist fairytale film in which she is to play the leading role, she wants to come along, which kindles romantic notions in Julian. The pair winds up on an ostensibly idyllic but in reality deeply exploitative apple farm. Whilst Julian has a hard time coping with the physical strain, Camille throws herself enthusiastically into their supposed research and befriends Hong and Sancho, two naïve proletarians in search of happiness. Julian finds it increasingly difficult to play the communist filmmaker, then a model worker who dreams the American dream gets in his way, not to mention an unhinged monk with magical powers. With all these seething conflicts going on it’s no surprise that the farm owner is accidentally killed. In the end the entire orchard is buzzing with an outrageous plan.

by
Julian Radlmaier

Germany 2017

German, English

99 min · Colour

With

Julian Radlmaier (Julian)
Deragh Campbell (Camille)
Kyung-Taek Lie (Hong)
Beniamin Forti (Sancho)
Ilia Korkashvili (Monk)
Bruno Derksen (Bruno)
Anton Gonopolski (Anton)
Johanna Orsini-Rosenberg (Elfriede Gottfried)
Mex Schlüpfer (Farmer)
Natia Bakhtadze (Natia)

Crew

Written and directed by
Julian Radlmaier
Director of Photography
Markus Koob
Editor
Julian Radlmaier
Sound Design
Christian Obermaier, Tobias Bilz
Sound
Kai Ziarkowski
Sound Mixer
Silvio Naumann
Colourist
Matilda Mester
Production Design
Merle Vorwald
Costumes
Sara Wendt, Natia Bakhtadze
Assistant Director
Jan Bachmann, Naemi Buechtemann
Production Management
Hanna Cramer
Producer
Kirill Krasovskiy
Co-production
Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin, Berlin
rbb, Berlin

Biography

Julian Radlmaier

Born in Nuremberg, Germany in 1984, he studied directing at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (dffb). He has worked as a PA for Werner Schroeter and translated and published a series of film criticism texts by French philosopher Jacques Rancière. His short Ein Gespenst geht um in Europa (A spectre is haunting Europe) won the 2013 German Film Critics' Award for best experimental film. His feature film Ein proletarisches Wintermärchen (A proletarian winter's tale) screened at festivals including in Rotterdam and Vienna and won awards in Mexico and Brazil. Selbstkritik eines bürgerlichen Hundes (Self-criticism of a Bourgeois Dog) is his graduation film.

Filmography

2013 Ein Gespenst geht um in Europa (A spectre is haunting Europe) 2014 Ein proletarisches Wintermärchen (A proletarian winter's tale) 2017 Selbstkritik eines bürgerlichen Hundes (Self-criticsim of a Bourgeois Dog)

Produced by

faktura film
Berlin, Germany
+49 30 55514001

www.fakturafilm.de

World sales

faktura film
Berlin, Germany
+49 30 55514001

www.fakturafilm.de

Berlinale: Programm


Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Selbstkritik eines bürgerlichen Hundes

Self-criticism of a Bourgeois Dog

## ## ## ## ##

Ein bürgerlicher Windhund gesteht, wie er vom ehrgeizigen aber wenig anerkannten Filmemacher zum Vierbeiner wurde: Gerade bei sämtlichen Förderstellen abgeblitzt, sieht Julian sich gezwungen, einen Job als Erntehelfer anzunehmen. Als er der jungen Kanadierin Camille weismacht, es handle sich dabei um die Recherche für einen kommunistischen Märchenfilm, in dem sie die Hauptrolle spielen soll, will sie mitkommen, und das wiederum bringt Julians romantische Ader zum Pulsieren. Die beiden landen in der trügerischen Idylle einer ausbeuterischen Apfelplantage. Während Julian die körperliche Arbeit kaum erträgt, stürzt sich Camille enthusiastisch in die vermeintliche Recherche und freundet sich mit Hong und Sancho, zwei wundergläubigen Proletariern auf der Suche nach dem Glück, an. Für Julian wird es zunehmend unmöglicher, den kommunistischen Filmemacher zu mimen. Dann kommt ihm auch noch ein Vorzeigearbeiter mit amerikanischem Traum in die Quere und, nicht zu vergessen, dieser aus dem Ruder gelaufene Mönch mit magischen Kräften. Bei so vielen kontrolliert schäumenden Konflikten erstaunt es nicht, dass auch noch die Plantagenbesitzerin versehentlich getötet wird. Zu guter Letzt pfeifen die Spatzen einen unerhörten Plan von den Bäumen.

von
Julian Radlmaier

Deutschland 2017

Deutsch, Englisch

99 Min · Farbe

Mit

Julian Radlmaier (Julian)
Deragh Campbell (Camille)
Kyung-Taek Lie (Hong)
Beniamin Forti (Sancho)
Ilia Korkashvili (Mönch)
Bruno Derksen (Bruno)
Anton Gonopolski (Anton)
Johanna Orsini-Rosenberg (Elfriede Gottfried)
Mex Schlüpfer (Bauer)
Natia Bakhtadze (Natia)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Julian Radlmaier
Kamera
Markus Koob
Schnitt
Julian Radlmaier
Sound Design
Christian Obermaier, Tobias Bilz
Ton
Kai Ziarkowski
Mischung
Silvio Naumann
Colourist
Matilda Mester
Szenenbild
Merle Vorwald
Kostüm
Sara Wendt, Natia Bakhtadze
Regieassistenz
Jan Bachmann, Naemi Buechtemann
Produktionsleitung
Hanna Cramer
Produzent
Kirill Krasovskiy
Co-Produktion
Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin, Berlin
rbb, Berlin

Biografie

Julian Radlmaier

Geboren 1984 in Nürnberg. Er studierte Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie in Berlin (dffb), arbeitete als persönlicher Assistent von Werner Schroeter und ist Herausgeber eines Bandes mit filmkritischen Texten des französischen Philosophen Jacques Rancière, die er auch übersetzt hat. Sein Kurzfilm Ein Gespenst geht um in Europa erhielt 2013 den Preis der deutschen Filmkritik; der Spielfilm Ein proletarisches Wintermärchen wurde auf Festivals in Rotterdam und Wien gezeigt und gewann Preise in Mexiko und Brasilien. Selbstkritik eines bürgerlichen Hundes ist sein Abschlussfilm an der dffb.

Filmografie

2013 Ein Gespenst geht um in Europa (A spectre is haunting Europe) 2014 Ein proletarisches Wintermärchen (A proletarian winter's tale) 2017 Selbstkritik eines bürgerlichen Hundes (Self-criticsim of a Bourgeois Dog)

Produktion

faktura film
Berlin, Deutschland
+49 30 55514001

www.fakturafilm.de

Weltvertrieb

faktura film
Berlin, Deutschland
+49 30 55514001

www.fakturafilm.de