Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Die Jungfrauenmaschine

Virgin Machine

## ## ##

Young Hamburg journalist Dorothee Müller is fed up with her persistent lover, Heinz. A complete ingénue, she innocently embarks upon an exploration of romantic love – is it merely a ‘woman’s malady’? The places where she undertakes this research include a pleasure-addicted hormone researcher’s practice and the monkey house at the zoo. Unable to find any satisfactory answers, Dorothee decides to leave Europe and head for California where she continues her research by conducting interviews and some personal explorations. In swinging San Francisco she meets three remarkable women: a cheeky Hungarian named Dominique who sneers at the German work ethic and offers to help Dorothee in her research; Susie Sexpert, a specialist in sexual pleasures who has an astonishing collection of dildos, and finally the attractive Ramona, who performs a hot strip as a drag king in a lesbian bar. By the end of her journey Dorothee has rediscovered her own sexuality and put several illusions firmly behind her.

by
Monika Treut

Germany 1988

German

84 min · Black/White

With

Ina Blum (Dorothee Müller)
Marecelo Uriona (Bruno)
Gad Klein (Heinz)
Mona Mur (Singer)
Peter Kern (Endocrinologist)
Hans-C. Blumenberg (Caller)
Erica Marcus (Landlady)
Carla Wood Saivre (Woman in the Hotel Room)
Fakir Musafar (Man in the Hotel Room)
Shelly Mars (Ramona)
Dominique Gaspar (Dominique)
Flora Gaspar (Flora)
Susie Bright (Susie Sexpert)
Fanny Fatal (Stripper)
Pearl Harbour (Visitor)

Crew

Director
Monika Treut
Director of Photography
Elfi Mikesch
Editor
Renate Merck
Sound
Alf Olbrisch
Sound Mixer
Richard Borowski
Assistant Director
Thomas Tielsch, Greta Schiller
Production Management
Anita Horz
Producer
Monika Treut
Commissioning Editor
Eberhard Scharfenberg
Co-production
NDR, Hamburg

Biography

Monika Treut

Born in Mönchengladbach, Germany in 1954, she completed a PhD in literature at Marburg in 1982. She began working with video in 1976 and founded Hyena Films with Elfi Mikesch in 1984. She has directed many award-winning films about feminism, gender, sexuality and human rights in countries including the USA, Brazil and Taiwan. After her 1991 comedy My Father is Coming, she made a series of documentaries including The Raw and the Cooked which screened in the Culinary Cinema in 2012; Zona Norte screened in the Panorama in 2016. In 2017 she is receiving a Teddy Award for her lifetime achievement.

Filmography (selection)

1985 Verführung: Die grausame Frau (Seduction: The Cruel Woman); IFB Forum 1988 Die Jungfrauenmaschine (Virgin Machine) 1989 Annie; IFB Panorama 1991 My Father Is Coming; IFB Panorama 1992 Max; IFB Panorama · Dr. Paglia; IFB Panorama 1998 Didn't Do It For Love; IFB Panorama 1999 Gendernauts – A Journey Through Shifting Identities; IFB Panorama 2001 Kriegerin des Lichts (Warrior of Light); IFB Panorama 2005 Den Tigerfrauen wachsen Flügel (Tigerwomen Grow Wings); IFB Panorama 2009 Ghosted; IFB Panorama 2012 Das Rohe und das Gekochte (The Raw and the Cooked); documentary, IFB Culinary Cinema 2014 Von Mädchen und Pferden (Of Girls and Horses) 2016 Zona Norte; IFB Panorama

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2017

Produced by

Hyena Films

Förderverein TEDDY e.V. (TEDDY Sponsorship Society) is honouring filmmaker Monika Treut with the Special TEDDY Award 2017 for her lifetime achievement.
In honour of this occasion, Panorama are screening her film DIE JUNGFRAUENMASCHINE.
Funded by Filmbüro Hamburg and Filmbüro NRW.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Die Jungfrauenmaschine

Virgin Machine

## ## ##

Dorothee Müller, eine junge Hamburger Journalistin, ist ihres aufdringlichen Liebhabers Heinz überdrüssig. Arglos und in aller Unschuld macht sie sich an eine Untersuchung über romantische Liebe – ist sie nur eine „Krankheit der Frauen“? Schauplätze ihrer Recherche sind unter anderem die Praxis eines genusssüchtigen Hormonforschers und das Affenhaus im Zoo. Weil sie keine befriedigenden Antworten auf ihre Fragen findet, entschließt sich Dorothee, die Alte Welt zu verlassen. Sie reist nach Kalifornien und setzt hier ihre Untersuchung mit Interviews und durch Selbstbeobachtung fort. Im lebenslustigen San Francisco trifft sie drei bemerkenswerte Frauen: Dominique, eine verschmitzte Ungarin, die sich über die deutsche Arbeitsmoral mokiert und ihr als hilfreiche Freundin zur Seite steht, Susie Sexpert, die Spezialistin für sexuelle Genüsse, mit ihrer erstaunlichen Dildosammlung, und schließlich die attraktive Ramona, die in einem Lesbenlokal einen heißen Strip als Dragking hinlegt. Am Ende der Reise hat Dorothee ihre eigene Sexualität neu entdeckt und einige Illusionen hinter sich gelassen.

von
Monika Treut

Deutschland 1988

Deutsch

84’ · Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

Ina Blum (Dorothee Müller)
Marecelo Uriona (Bruno)
Gad Klein (Heinz)
Mona Mur (Sängerin)
Peter Kern (Hormonspezialist)
Hans-C. Blumenberg (Anrufer)
Erica Marcus (Landlady)
Carla Wood Saivre (Frau im Hotelzimmer)
Fakir Musafar (Mann im Hotelzimmer)
Shelly Mars (Ramona)
Dominique Gaspar (Dominique)
Flora Gaspar (Flora)
Susie Bright (Susie Sexpert)
Fanny Fatal (Stripperin)
Pearl Harbour (Besucherin)

Stab

Regie
Monika Treut
Kamera
Elfi Mikesch
Montage
Renate Merck
Ton
Alf Olbrisch
Mischung
Richard Borowski
Regieassistenz
Thomas Tielsch, Greta Schiller
Produktionsleitung
Anita Horz
Produzentin
Monika Treut
Redaktion
Eberhard Scharfenberg
Co-Produktion
NDR, Hamburg

Biografie

Monika Treut

Geboren 1954 in Mönchengladbach. Studium der Literaturwissenschaft in Marburg, 1982 Promotion. Ab 1976 Arbeit mit Video. 1984 Gründung der Firma Hyena Films mit Elfi Mikesch. Sie drehte zahlreiche preisgekrönte Filme zu den Themen Feminismus, Gender, Sexualität und Menschenrechte in den USA, Brasilien und Taiwan. Nach der Komödie My Father is Coming (1991) folgte eine Reihe von Dokumentarfilmen. Das Kulinarische Kino zeigte 2012 den Dokumentarfilm Das Rohe und das Gekochte, mit Zona Norte war sie 2016 im Panorama vertreten. 2017 wurde sie mit dem Teddy Award für ihr Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1985 Verführung: Die grausame Frau (Seduction: The Cruel Woman); Co-Regie: Elfi Mikesch; Forum 1988 Die Jungfrauenmaschine (Virgin Machine); Forum 1989 Annie; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm; Panorama 1991 My Father is Coming; Panorama 1992 Max; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm; Panorama · Female Misbehavior; Dokumentarfilm · Dr. Paglia; Kurz-Dokumentarfilm; Panorama 1998 Didn't Do It for Love; Dokumentarfilm; Panorama 1999 Gendernauts – A Journey Through Shifting Identities; Dokumentarfilm; Panorama 2001 Kriegerin des Lichts (Warrior of Light); Dokumentarfilm; Panorama 2005 Den Tigerfrauen wachsen Flügel (Tigerwomen Grow Wings); Dokumentarfilm; Panorama 2009 Ghosted; Panorama 2012 Das Rohe und das Gekochte (The Raw and the Cooked); Dokumentarfilm, Kulinarisches Kino 2014 Von Mädchen und Pferden (Of Girls and Horses) 2016 Zona Norte; Dokumentarfilm; Panorama

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Hyena Films

Der Förderverein TEDDY e.V. ehrt die Filmemacherin Monika Treut mit dem Special TEDDY Award 2017 für ihr Lebenswerk.
Aus diesem Anlass zeigt Panorama ihren Film DIE JUNGFRAUENMASCHINE.
Unterstützt durch das Filmbüro Hamburg und das Filmbüro NRW.