Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum

Obour al bab assabea

Crossing the Seventh Gate

## ##

"La Septième Porte" (The Seventh Door) is the title of a 300-page film historical work dedicated to Moroccan cinema between 1907 and 1986. It was written by Ahmed Bouanani (1938–2011) by hand over many years, but was never published. Neither his contribution to film history nor the five films (four of them shorts) he made between 1966 and 1980, which also pursue the politics of memory, could count on support in postcolonial Morocco. Ali Essafi’s portrait film equally takes a stand against the state-driven policy of forgetting. He visited Bouanani three years before the latter’s death. The filmmaker, poet and novelist who also made drawings was leading a reclusive life in a remote village with his wife Naïma and many cats, living in the midst of huge piles of books and manuscripts, those that had been spared from a devastating fire. He was physically frail but unbroken in spirit. The discussions about how he saw his position, censorship, the filmmaking ban he received and his work as a film editor are combined with film excerpts, photos, a TV interview and other documents to map out the contours of an independent artist and his oeuvre that are both full of integrity.

by
Ali Essafi

Morocco 2017

French, Arabic

Documentary form
80 min · Black/White & Colour

Crew

Written and directed by
Ali Essafi
Director of Photography
Hakim Belabbes, Hassan Ouazzani, Ali Essafi
Editor
Chaghig Arzoumanian
Sound Design
Rana Eid
Sound
Touda Bouanani, Ali Essafi
Producer
Ali Essafi, Cinemaat Prod
Producer
Rasha Salti

Biography

Ali Essafi

Born in 1963 in Fez, Morocco. He completed a degree in Psychology in France, where he began working as an assistant director on numerous documentary and feature films from 1991. In 1997, he made his first film, Général, nous voilà!. He returned to Morocco in 2002, and was the artistic director for Moroccan television (SNRT) from 2006 until 2009. Ali Essafi works as a filmmaker, curator, cinematographer, and video artist.

Filmography

1997 Général, nous voilà!; 60 min. 1998 Le Silence des champs de betteraves; 54 min. 1999 Paris mois par mois; 26 min. 2001 Ouarzazate; 55 min. 2002 Al Jazira, les Arabes de 1424!; 66 min. 2004 Le Blues des Shikhates; 57 min. 2011 Fuite!; 29 min. 2015 Le Cosmonaute; 80 min. · Nos sombres années 70; 75 min. 2017 Obour al bab assabea (Crossing the Seventh Gate)

Produced by

Cinemaat Prod
Casablanca, Morocco

Berlinale: Programm


Forum

Obour al bab assabea

Crossing the Seventh Gate

## ##

„La Septième Porte“, die siebte Tür, ist der Titel einer 300 Seiten umfassenden Filmgeschichte, die sich dem marokkanischen Kino von 1907 bis 1986 widmet. Verfasst hat das Werk Ahmed Bouanani (1938–2011), handschriftlich, über viele Jahre hinweg – veröffentlicht wurde es nicht. Weder Bouananis Beitrag zum Gedächtnis des Kinos noch seine zwischen 1966 und 1980 entstandenen fünf Filme (vier davon sind kurz), die ebenfalls Erinnerungspolitik betreiben, konnten im postkolonialen Marokko mit Unterstützung rechnen. Gegen staatlich betriebenes Vergessen geht auch Ali Essafis Porträtfilm an. Er hat Ahmed Bouanani drei Jahre vor dessen Tod in einem abgelegenen Dorf besucht. Dort lebte der Filmemacher, Dichter, Romanautor und Zeichner zurückgezogen, körperlich fragil, aber ungebrochen im Geiste, mit seiner Frau Naïma und vielen Katzen inmitten hoher Stapel von Büchern und Manuskripten – dem, was nach einem verheerenden Brand noch übrig war. Anhand von Gesprächen über sein Selbstverständnis, die Zensur, das Drehverbot, die Arbeit als Cutter, von Filmausschnitten, Fotos, einem TV-Interview und anderer Dokumente entstehen die Konturen eines integren, unabhängigen Künstlers und seines Schaffens.

von
Ali Essafi

Marokko 2017

Französisch, Arabisch

Dokumentarische Form
80 Min · Schwarz-Weiß & Farbe

Stab

Regie, Buch
Ali Essafi
Kamera
Hakim Belabbes, Hassan Ouazzani, Ali Essafi
Schnitt
Chaghig Arzoumanian
Sound Design
Rana Eid
Ton
Touda Bouanani, Ali Essafi
Produzent
Ali Essafi, Cinemaat Prod
Produzentin
Rasha Salti

Biografie

Ali Essafi

Geboren 1963 in Fez, Marokko. Er studierte Psychologie in Frankreich, wo er ab 1991 als Regieassistent an zahlreichen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen mitarbeitete. 1997 realisierte er seinen ersten Film Général, nous voilà!. 2002 kehrte er nach Marokko zurück und war von 2006 bis 2009 als Künstlerischer Leiter für das marokkanische Fernsehen (SNRT) tätig. Ali Essafi ist als Filmemacher, Kurator, Kameramann und Videokünstler tätig.

Filmografie

1997 Général, nous voilà!; 60 Min. 1998 Le Silence des champs de betteraves; 54 Min. 1999 Paris mois par mois; 26 Min. 2001 Ouarzazate; 55 Min. 2002 Al Jazira, les Arabes de 1424!; 66 Min. 2004 Le Blues des Shikhates; 57 Min. 2011 Fuite!; 29 Min. 2015 Le Cosmonaute; 80 Min. · Nos sombres années 70; 75 Min. 2017 Obour al bab assabea (Crossing the Seventh Gate)

Produktion

Cinemaat Prod
Casablanca, Marokko