Berlinale: Programme

Film file



## ##

Fernando Birri's ORG is a monstrous, nearly three-hour long film that’s only rarely been screened since it premiered at the 1979 Venice Film Festival. Ever since his debut Tire Dié, this 91-year-old director, who is also a poet, painter, teacher and film school founder, has been a key figure in Latin American cinema. For Birri, ORG was the result of his experience of exile in Italy: “The film is a nightmare with closed eyes because it counts among the most terrible moments of my life, my second exile, which lasted a very long time.” The story of ORG is based on the same ancient Indian legend that Thomas Mann also drew on for his story “The Transposed Heads”. But above all, ORG is an experiment in perception that features over 26,000 cuts and some 700 audio tracks.
ORG was partly funded by leading actor Mario Girotti, better known as Terence Hill. Viewing the film today provides a kaleidoscopic insight into the experimental, aesthetic and political trends of the 1970s.
Birri bequeathed Arsenal a 35-mm print of his film in 1991. It was digitised as part of the "Living Archive" project. A DVD of the film is also being released to coincide with the Berlinale.

Fernando Birri

Italy 1967-78


177 min · Colour


Terence Hill (Zohommm)
Lidija Juraçik (Shuick)
Isaak Twen Obu (Grrr)
Nolika Pereda (P.P. (Primer Piano))
Pietro Santalamazza (Toute-la-mémoire-du-monde)
Francesco Di Giacomo (Ave phoenix)


Written and directed by
Fernando Birri
Director of Photography
Mario Masini, Ugo Piccone, Mario Vulpiani, Houston Simmons, Cesare Ferzi
Fernando Birri, Paolo Zamattio, Giuliano Nucci, Settimio Presutto
Sergio Pagoni, Enrico Rava
Sound Design
Fernando Birri
Eugenio Rondani, Houston Simmons
Nato Frasca, Dafne Ciriacchi, Giacomo Carlo Carducci, Sandro La Ferla
Visual Effects
Fernando Birri, Settimio Presutto
Terence Hill


Fernando Birri

Born in Santa Fe de la Vera Cruz, Argentina in 1925, a descendant of Italian emigrants. He graduated in Film Direction in Rome. In 1956, Birri returned to Argentina and founded Latin America’s first film school, the Instituto de Cinematografía de la Universidad del Litoral, in the city of his birth. Ever since his debut Tire Dié, this director, who is also a poet, painter and teacher, has been a key figure in Latin American cinema.

Filmography (selection)

1951 Selinunte · Alfabeto Notturno (Night School in Toretta) 1953 Immagini popolari siciliane sacre e profane; co-directed by Mario Verdone 1959 La verdadera historia de la primera fundacion de Buenos Aires 1960 Tire dié · Buenos días, Buenos Aires 1961 Los inundados (Flooded Out) 1963 La pampa gringa 1967 Castagnino, diario romano 1979 ORG 1983 Rafael Alberti, un retrato de poeta 1984 Remitente: Nicaragua / Carta al mundo 1985 Mi hijo el Chè 1988 Un señor muy viejo con alas enormes 1997 Che: Muerte de la utopía? 1999 El siglo del viento 2006 ZA 05. Lo viejo y lo nuevo 2007 Elegia Friulana 2011 El Fausto Criollo

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

ORG

 
## ##

Fernando Birris ORG ist ein monströser, seit seiner Uraufführung beim Festival von Venedig 1979 äußerst selten gezeigter, knapp dreistündiger Film. Der heute 91-jährige Regisseur, Dichter, Maler, Lehrer und Gründer von Filmschulen gilt seit seinem Debütfilm Tire Dié als eine zentrale Figur des lateinamerikanischen Kinos. Für Birri war der Film das Ergebnis seiner italienischen Exilerfahrung: „Der Film ORG ist ein Alptraum mit geschlossenen Augen, weil er zu den schrecklichsten Augenblicken meines Lebens zählt, zu meinem zweiten Exil, das sehr lange dauerte.“ Die Geschichte von ORG basiert auf einer antiken indischen Legende, die auch Thomas Mann in seiner Erzählung „Die vertauschten Köpfe“ aufgegriffen hat. Vor allem aber ist der Film ein Wahrnehmungsexperiment mit über 26.000 Schnitten und knapp 700 Tonspuren.
Teils finanziert vom Hauptdarsteller Mario Girotti, auch bekannt als Terence Hill, ermöglicht ORG einen kaleidoskopartigen Einblick in die experimentellen, ästhetischen und politischen Strömungen der 1970er Jahre.
Birri überließ dem Arsenal 1991 eine 35-mm-Kopie, die im Rahmen des Projekts „Living Archive“ digitalisiert wurde. Zur Berlinale erscheint auch die DVD des Films.

von
Fernando Birri

Italien 1967-78

Italienisch

177 Min · Farbe

Mit

Terence Hill (Zohommm)
Lidija Juraçik (Shuick)
Isaak Twen Obu (Grrr)
Nolika Pereda (P.P. (Primer Piano))
Pietro Santalamazza (Toute-la-mémoire-du-monde)
Francesco Di Giacomo (Ave phoenix)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Fernando Birri
Kamera
Mario Masini, Ugo Piccone, Mario Vulpiani, Houston Simmons, Cesare Ferzi
Schnitt
Fernando Birri, Paolo Zamattio, Giuliano Nucci, Settimio Presutto
Musik
Sergio Pagoni, Enrico Rava
Sound Design
Fernando Birri
Ton
Eugenio Rondani, Houston Simmons
Kostüm
Nato Frasca, Dafne Ciriacchi, Giacomo Carlo Carducci, Sandro La Ferla
Visual Effects
Fernando Birri, Settimio Presutto
Produzent
Terence Hill

Biografie

Fernando Birri

Geboren 1925 als Nachkomme italienischer Auswanderer in Santa Fe de la Vera Cruz, Argentinien. Er studierte Filmregie in Rom, kehrte 1956 nach Argentinien zurück und gründete in seiner Geburtsstadt das Instituto de Cinematografía de la Universidad del Litoral, die erste Filmschule Lateinamerikas. Der Regisseur, Dichter, Maler und Lehrer gilt seit seinem Langfilmdebüt, dem sozialkritischen Dokumentarfilm Tire Dié, als einer der Begründer des Neuen Lateinamerikanischen Kinos.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1951 Selinunte · Alfabeto Notturno (Night School in Toretta) 1953 Immagini popolari siciliane sacre e profane; Koregie: Mario Verdone 1959 La verdadera historia de la primera fundacion de Buenos Aires 1960 Tire dié · Buenos días, Buenos Aires 1961 Los inundados (Flooded Out) 1963 La pampa gringa 1967 Castagnino, diario romano 1979 ORG 1983 Rafael Alberti, un retrato de poeta 1984 Remitente: Nicaragua / Carta al mundo 1985 Mi hijo el Chè 1988 Un señor muy viejo con alas enormes 1997 Che: Muerte de la utopía? 1999 El siglo del viento 2006 ZA 05. Lo viejo y lo nuevo 2007 Elegia Friulana 2011 El Fausto Criollo