Berlinale: Programme


Forum Expanded

Off Frame aka Revolution until Victory

Off-Rahmen aka Revolution bis zum Sieg

## ##

“… and for those who suffer from invisibility, the camera would be their weapon.” (Elias Sanbar)
Off Frame aka Revolution Until Victory traces the fragments of a revolution, combining images from a dream for freedom, using films from the Palestinian struggle cinema, a term used for films produced in relation to the Palestinian revolution between 1968 and 1982. For the outside world, these films represented a model of a people engaged in political struggle, explaining why they are fighting and against whom. But for Palestinians these films marked the transformation of their identity: from refugee to freedom fighter.
The Palestinian revolution collaborated with filmmakers, actors, and activists from Syria, Italy, UK, Lebanon, France, Germany, Argentina, and many others, and made partnerships with institutions in Berlin, Moscow, Baghdad, and Cuba. Despite their prolific output, very few of their works remain. The film brings together moments from a selection of these militant films into one timeline. The only coherent relation between all the shots, clips, and sequences is that they all straddle the borders between fiction and propaganda, dream and reality, in order to represent a narrative of a people in struggle.

by
Mohanad Yaqubi

Palestine / France / Qatar 2016

Arabic, English

63 min · Colour & Black/White

With

Mustafa Abu Ali
Sulafa Jadallah
Hani Jawaharieh
Yaser Arafat
Jean-Luc Godard
Salah Ta'amari

Crew

Director
Mohanad Yaqubi
Screenplay
Reem Shilleh
Director of Photography
Sara Sea
Editor
David Osit
Sound Design
Carl Svensson
Assistant Director
Ramzi Hazboun
Production Manager
Sami Said
Producers
Sami Said, Mohanad Yaqubi, Delphine Landes

Biography

Mohanad Yaqubi

Mohanad Yaqubi, born in 1981 in Kuwait, is a filmmaker and producer and teaches Film Studies at the International Art Academy in Palestine. He is one of the founders of the Ramallah-based production outfit Idioms Film and the research and curatorial collective Subversive Film, which focuses on militant film practices. He has directed and produced several short films, both fiction and documentary, which have been shown in international festivals.

Filmography

2004 Fix; 9 min. · Carnaval; 26 min. 2005 Insomnia; 10 min. 2006 June, 2006; 28 min. 2007 Around; 3 min. · Rico in the Night; 8 min. 2008 Rollescape; 9 min. 2010 EXIT; 10 min. 2013 Al-Jisser; 24 min. 2014 No Exit; 11 min. 2016 On that Day; 4 min. · Off Frame aka Revolution until Victory

Produced by

Idioms Film
Ramallah, Palestine
+970 2297 6157

www.idiomsfilm.com

Monkey Bay Productions
Marseille, France
monkeybay.tv

World sales

Idioms Film
Ramallah, Palestine
+970 2297 6157

www.idiomsfilm.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Off Frame aka Revolution until Victory

Off-Rahmen aka Revolution bis zum Sieg

## ##

„... und für jene, die an Unsichtbarkeit leiden, wird die Kamera zur Waffe werden.“ (Elias Sanbar)
Off Frame aka Revolution until Victory spürt den Fragmenten einer Revolution nach und setzt Bilder eines Traums von Freiheit zusammen. Er nutzt dazu Filme aus der Zeit des palästinensischen Widerstandskinos, die zwischen 1968 und 1982 im Zusammenhang mit der palästinensischen Revolution produziert wurden. Für den Rest der Welt zeigten diese Filme ein Beispiel eines Volks im Widerstand. Sie erklärten, wofür und gegen wen diese Menschen kämpften. Doch für die Palästinenser markierten sie einen Identitätswandel: von Geflüchteten zu Freiheitskämpfern.
Die palästinensische Revolution arbeitete mit Filmemacher*innen, Schauspieler*innen und Aktivist*innen aus vielen Teilen der Welt zusammen und ging Partnerschaften mit Institutionen in Berlin, Moskau, Bagdad und auf Kuba ein. Trotz des hohen Produktionsaufkommens haben nur wenige Filme bis heute überlebt. Allen Einstellungen, Ausschnitten und Sequenzen, die Yaqubi kombiniert, ist gemein, dass sie die Geschichte eines Volks im Widerstand auf der Grenze zwischen Fiktion und Propaganda, Traum und Wirklichkeit erzählen.

von
Mohanad Yaqubi

Palästina / Frankreich / Katar 2016

Arabisch, Englisch

63 Min · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß

Mit

Mustafa Abu Ali
Sulafa Jadallah
Hani Jawaharieh
Yaser Arafat
Jean-Luc Godard
Salah Ta'amari

Stab

Regie
Mohanad Yaqubi
Buch
Reem Shilleh
Kamera
Sara Sea
Schnitt
David Osit
Sound Design
Carl Svensson
Regieassistenz
Ramzi Hazboun
Production Manager
Sami Said
Produzentinnen und Produzenten
Sami Said, Mohanad Yaqubi, Delphine Landes

Biografie

Mohanad Yaqubi

Mohanad Yaqubi, geboren 1981 in Kuwait, unterrichtet neben seiner Arbeit als Filmemacher und Produzent Filmwissenschaften an der International Art Academy in Palästina. Er ist Mitbegründer der Produktionsfirma Idioms Film in Ramallah und des Kollektivs Subversive Film, das sich mit militanter Filmpraxis beschäftigt. Er ist Regisseur und Produzent sowohl dokumentarischer als auch fiktionaler Kurzfilme. Seine Filme wurden auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt.

Filmografie

2004 Fix; 9 Min. · Carnaval; 26 Min. 2005 Insomnia; 10 Min. 2006 June, 2006; 28 Min. 2007 Around; 3 Min. · Rico in the Night; 8 Min. 2008 Rollescape; 9 Min. 2010 EXIT; 10 Min. 2013 Al-Jisser; 24 Min. 2014 No Exit; 11 Min. 2016 On that Day; 4 Min. · Off Frame aka Revolution until Victory

Produktion

Idioms Film
Ramallah, Palästina
+970 2297 6157

www.idiomsfilm.com

Monkey Bay Productions
Marseille, Frankreich
monkeybay.tv

Weltvertrieb

Idioms Film
Ramallah, Palästina
+970 2297 6157

www.idiomsfilm.com