Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Forum 2016:
Global Movements

Flight and forced migration are among the central topics of the 2016 Forum. In this interview, section head Christoph Terhechte also discusses individual happiness-seekers, Chinese genre cinema, modern forms of slavery and the punk years of Japanese films.

Deadweight by Axel Koenzen

Looking at the programme, one gets the impression that the topic of refugees has arrived most powerfully in the Forum at the 66th Berlinale. Is that correct?

There are actually quite a few films on this topic. All works which have already been thought about for a long time, or even made, and which tackle the question of what kind of images can be found, which approaches to and perspectives on the subject exist. The films in this year’s Forum programme find very diverse answers to this.

A film which deals with the topic directly is Havarie. What distinguishes Philip Scheffner’s work?

Havarie renounces illustration. Philip Scheffner’s research revolved around a 3-minute found video clip which shows an inflatable dinghy disabled and adrift in the Mediterranean. The results of this meticulous research can be heard on the soundtrack – the occupiers of the boat, the crew of a cruise ship from which a tourist filmed the video, and so on. The film gives the viewer the opportunity to fill the statements with their own imaginings and does not force a predetermined image upon them – so we are given the chance to think for ourselves. Many documentary or hybrid works in the programme employ such a decoupling of image and sound. The text is not misused in order to explain the images and the images are not misused in order to illustrate the texts. Instead, both levels occupy their own independent territory.

Philip Scheffner has a second film in this year’s programme which also addresses the topic of refugees. And-Ek Ghes… builds upon Revision (Forum 2012): the Velcu Roma family has now arrived in Germany. Scheffner relinquishes a part of the filmmaker’s control – also a production strategy in many other films in the programme – and makes Colorado Velcu his co-director. Being part of the subject matter himself, Velcu films and produces what happens to his family in Germany. Which is very humorous and entertaining. This technique of relinquishing control in order to gain something is also used by Moritz Siebert and Estephan Wagner in Les Sauteurs (Those Who Jump). Their co-director Abou Bakar Sidibé is a refugee from Mali who is sitting tight before the gigantic border fortifications surrounding the Spanish enclave of Melilla in northern Morocco and who hopes to conquer the fences. He contributes images to this film which the European directors would never have been able to find.

Tales of Two Who Dreamt by Nicolás Pereda and Andrea Bussmann

The topic of refugees in the programme is spread across the globe. Tales of Two Who Dreamt by Nicolás Pereda and Andrea Bussmann and Manazil bela abwab (Houses without Doors) also depict people who must leave their homeland...

Tales of Two Who Dreamt is a Canadian-Mexican co-production filmed with Hungarian Roma in Toronto – it could scarcely be any more international. A married couple are in a tower-block preparing for a hearing about their family’s residence status. The building on the edge of the city appears to be abandoned and harbours many stories. Their rehearsals for the hearing are blended with these stories and a conglomerate of things heard, self-experienced and downright myths is created. Again, the characters contribute their own stories, producing and shaping the film not just as subjects but also as creators.

In the Syrian Manazil bela abwab, Avo Kaprealian documents the scenes unfolding in the streets at the beginning of the war by filming from his balcony. Over a long period of time you begin to sense how the war is intruding ever more powerfully into everyday life in the city of Aleppo, until finally the decision is made to flee. In the process, Manazil bela abwab is playing with the repetition of history because, generations ago, Avo Kaprealian’s family escaped the Turkish genocide of the Armenians. In Aleppo, an Armenian enclave in Syria emerged. Kaprealian incorporates the new flight – this time from Syria to Lebanon – and the parallels which exist by using film clips about the topic of the Armenian genocide. He combines associative observations with historical film footage.

Are there connections between the individual films engaging with the topic of flight?

There are many connections, though it’s up to the viewer to discover them. But generally, no duplications should occur. We’re trying to find works which are as diverse as possible, sometimes even contradictory in the way they approach a subject matter or the perspectives they offer. Only through that is a programme created.

Fei cui zhi cheng (City of Jade) by Midi Z

Searchers for Happiness and Slaves

Eldorado XXI and Fei cui zhi cheng (City of Jade) tell of working conditions in remote regions of the world. Are these two films comparable?

Eldorado XXI by Salomé Lamas depicts Peruvian gold-miners at 5,100 metres above sea-level. Certain similarities can be found with the Burmese jade mines portrayed by Midi Z in Fei cui zhi cheng. However, the films address entirely different points of departure. Midi Z tells the story of his brother who has been seeking his fortune in the mines for years. The prospecting work is arduous and dangerous and can only be achieved through massive drug consumption. Nevertheless, even after decades, his brother still has his hopes set on great riches. Fei cui zhi cheng shows an individual search for happiness in contrast to Eldorado XXI which is about organised exploitation.

As in Makhdoumin (Maid for Each)?

In this case it is about modern slavery. In Lebanon, practically every middle-class household has a South East Asian or African maid. They are exploited, the situation frequently ends in physical or sexual abuse. The young director Maher Abi Samra observes that this phenomenon has now also been transferred to his generation and shows the “work” of agencies who organise this abuse and place these modern slaves with their masters. This is a global problem. Conditions are supposed to be even worse in Saudi Arabia. In Hong Kong there are tens of thousands of Filipino housemaids who meet in Hong Kong Central every Sunday just to have something resembling a social life once a week.

Vlažnost (Humidity) by Nikola Ljuca and Inertia by Idan Haguel sound like two sides of the same coin...

Yes, there are some interesting parallels. The protagonist in the Serbian Vlažnost is a young man from the nouveau riche milieu who is leading an empty high society life. His wife suddenly disappears but he doesn’t address this disappearance at all and just continues with his superficial existence. Vlažnost depicts a society in which it is no longer about people but all about appearances, about functioning in an extreme capitalist society in which the rich just safeguard their material possessions.

The Israeli film Inertia, on the other hand, is a film about a woman who at some point wakes from a nightmare and realises that her husband has gone missing. At first she searches for him before it dawns on her that she can actually live just as well without him. Both films utilise the motif of a sudden disappearance as a metaphor for a society in which too many things have gone awry, a society which is no longer grounded.

Trivisa by Vicky Wong, Jevons Au and Frank Hui

Genre Cinema in Hong Kong and China

Is Hong Kong genre cinema experiencing a revival with Trivisa?

Trivisa is genre cinema celebrating with relish its own history which has been relegated to the past. Hong Kong gangster films blossomed in the 1990s but then ground to a halt when the British colony reverted to China. Today, filmmakers in Hong Kong produce for the Chinese market and no longer cultivate this original, very distinctive cinema. There are, however, exceptions like Johnny To who produced Trivisa. The film directly addresses the handing over of power in 1997. He depicts the situation amongst organised crime, the Triads, which had to look for new business models after the change. Trivisa is made by three young directors, each of whom stage the story of one of the protagonists.

Has the genre film completely disappeared from China?

Not quite, but Chinese cinema doesn’t have a big genre tradition. Aside from ghost stories, which are not permitted because ghosts are incompatible with the materialistic theories of the communist authorities. A film like Zhi fan ye mao (Life after Life) by Zhang Hanyi has no chance of appearing in cinemas in China even though the ghost motif is actually used as a metaphor. The film tells the story of a woman who returns to the world in the body of her own son in order to make her husband replant a tree, meaning the film is referring to the changes and the environmental catastrophe in the country.

Japanese Anarchism in 8mm

You are showing a series of Japanese works from 1977 to 1990 under the title “Hachimiri Madness - Japanese Indies from the Punk Years”. What is the background of these films?

Whilst the medium of video was being discovered in America and Europe in the late 1970s and early 1980s, Japanese filmmakers were having a fling with the 8mm format until the early 1990s. Most of the now famous directors, like Sion Sono and Masashi Yamamoto, made their first feature films on 8mm. The works from that time have almost completely disappeared because the material is difficult to copy and was never subtitled. Keiko Araki from PIA Film Festival in Tokyo, where the films were screened in the 1980s, Jacob Wong from Hong Kong Film Festival and I have burrowed through the archive, viewed many of these films and decided to digitise some of them in 2K and furnish them with English subtitles.

Japanese Punk Films: High-School-Terror by Macoto Tezka (1979), Tokyo Cabbageman K by Akira Ogata (1980) and The Adventure of Denchu-Kozo by Shinya Tsukamoto (1988)

The title of the series, “Japanese Indies from the Punk Years”, refers less to the music than to the rebellious attitude of punk. In their anarchy and madness, the films constitute an interesting contrast to the works of young filmmakers today, to their cautiousness and introspection. Like Aru michi (A Road) by Daichi Sugimoto. At 22 years old, he is probably the youngest filmmaker to be debuting with a feature film at the Berlinale – and he is celebrating the nostalgia for childhood! For him in his early 20s, life is already over because now the seriousness of adult life begins and so he is recalling the beautiful moments of his childhood. Sugimoto is fully aware of the inherent contradiction and he demonstrates this schizophrenia with great sensitivity. But it’s a stark contrast to the mad acts from the 1980s.

Was there a reason for this anarchist outburst?

It was more than an outburst. The punk movement ruptured a lot worldwide. The utopian ideas of the 1968 movement quickly ended in disillusion both in the West and in Japan. Even though many things changed over the decades, the anticipated revolution never arrived. The punk movement said “Fuck it, we’ll do our own thing”. Anarchism and “no future” instead of proletarian revolution.

Does this anarchism still exist today? Le Fils de Joseph and Barakah yoqabil Barakah (Barakah Meets Barakah) by Mahmoud Sabbagh sound like they delight in destroying conventions...

Le Fils de Joseph by Eugène Green

Le Fils de Joseph is, in the very least, highly idiosyncratic. Director Eugène Green lets his actors declaim as in French baroque theatre. The artificiality of the acting style forms a sharp contrast to the depiction of everyday life in the film. It tells the story of a young man who wants to know who his father is. This is carried out with a lot of humour, although also grounded in myth: Abraham and Isaac are wildly combined with other elements.

Barakah yoqabil Barakah is a classic romantic comedy, boy meets girl. In Saudi Arabia two impossibilities stand in the way of this: one is that the country’s strict interpretation of Islam does not provide for any form of dating and flirting. The other is that the medium itself, film, doesn’t really exist. The country doesn’t have a film, entertainment or visual culture. And yet Mahmut Sabbah produces a classic romantic comedy which breaks both taboos. There are lots of women with long flowing hair not covered by a hijab and many more things which do not tally with our image of Saudi Arabia. A very quirky comedy.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Forum 2016:
Globale Bewegungen

Flucht und Vertreibung sind eines der Schwerpunktthemen im Forum 2016. Im Interview spricht Sektionsleiter Christoph Terhechte außerdem über individuelle Glückssucher, das chinesische Genrekino, moderne Formen der Sklaverei und die Punkjahre des japanischen Films.

Deadweight von Axel Koenzen

Mit Blick auf das Programm entsteht der Eindruck, die Flüchtlingsthematik sei im Forum am stärksten angekommen bei der 66. Berlinale. Ist das richtig?

Es gibt tatsächlich eine Menge Filme zum Thema. Alles Arbeiten, die schon vor längerer Zeit angedacht oder auch realisiert wurden und die sich mit der Frage auseinandersetzen, welche Arten von Bilder man finden kann, welche Herangehensweisen an und Perspektiven auf das Thema es gibt. Die Filme im diesjährigen Programm des Forums finden sehr unterschiedliche Antworten.

Ein Film, der sich unmittelbar mit dem Thema beschäftigt ist Havarie. Wodurch zeichnet sich Philip Scheffners Arbeit aus?

Havarie verzichtet auf eine Bebilderung. Philip Scheffners Recherchen kreisten um einen gefundenen dreiminütigen Videoclip, der ein Schlauchboot zeigt, das manövrierunfähig im Mittelmeer treibt. Die Ergebnisse dieser akribischen Recherche sind auf der Tonebene zu hören – die Insassen des Bootes, die Besatzung des Kreuzfahrtschiffes, von dem aus ein Tourist den Clip aufgenommen hat usw. Der Film gibt dem Zuschauer die Möglichkeit, die Aussagen mit eigenen Imaginationen zu füllen und zwingt ihn nicht, ein vorgegebenes Bild zu akzeptieren - so besteht die Chance, selbst zu denken. Viele dokumentarische oder hybride Arbeiten im Programm arbeiten mit einer solchen Entkopplung von Bild und Ton. Der Text wird nicht missbraucht, um Bilder zu erklären und Bilder werden nicht missbraucht, um Texte zu illustrieren, sondern beide Ebenen besitzen eine Eigenständigkeit.

Philip Scheffner hat einen zweiten Film im diesjährigen Programm, der sich ebenfalls mit der Flüchtlingsthematik beschäftigt. And-Ek Ghes… knüpft an Revision (Forum 2012) an: Die Roma-Familie Velcu ist in Deutschland angekommen. Scheffner gibt einen Teil der Kontrolle des Filmemachers ab - was sich als inszenatorische Praxis ebenfalls in vielen Filmen des Programms findet – indem er Colorado Velcu zum Co-Regisseur macht. Als Teil des Sujets filmt und inszeniert Velcu selbst, was mit seiner Familie in Deutschland geschieht. Das ist sehr humorvoll und unterhaltsam. Diese Technik - Kontrolle abzugeben, um zu gewinnen – nutzen auch Moritz Siebert und Estephan Wagner in Les Sauteurs (Those Who Jump). Ihr Co-Regisseur Abou Bakar Sidibé ist ein malischer Flüchtling, der im Norden Marokkos vor der gigantischen Grenzbefestigungsanlage der spanischen Enklave Melilla ausharrt und hofft, die Zäune zu überwinden. Er bringt diesem Film Bilder bei, die die europäischen Regisseure gar nicht hätten finden können.

Tales of Two Who Dreamt von Nicolás Pereda und Andrea Bussmann

Die Flüchtlingsthematik im Programm ist global gestreut. Tales of Two Who Dreamt von Nicolás Pereda und Andrea Bussmann und Manazil bela abwab (Houses without Doors) zeigen ebenfalls Menschen, die ihre Heimat verlassen müssen…

Tales of Two Who Dreamt ist eine kanadisch-mexikanische Produktion, die mit ungarischen Roma in Toronto realisiert wurde – internationaler geht es kaum. Ein Ehepaar bereitet sich auf die Anhörung zum Aufenthaltsstatus der Familie in einem Wohnblock vor. Das Haus am Stadtrand wirkt verlassen und birgt viele Geschichten. Die Proben zur Anhörung vermischen sich mit diesen Stories und es entsteht ein Konglomerat aus Gehörtem, selbst Erlebtem und regelrechten Mythen. Auch hier bringen die Figuren eigene Geschichten ein, inszenieren und prägen den Film nicht nur als Sujet, sondern auch als Schöpfer.

Im syrischen Manazil bela abwab dokumentiert Avo Kaprealian zu Beginn des Krieges von seinem Balkon aus die Szenen, die sich in den Straßen ereignen. Über eine längere Zeit spürt man, wie der Krieg immer stärker in das Alltagsleben der Stadt Aleppo eindringt, bis schließlich die Entscheidung zur Flucht getroffen wird. Dabei spielt Manazil bela abwab mit der Wiederholung von Geschichte, die Familie von Avo Kaprealian ist vor Generationen dem Genozid der Türken an den Armeniern entkommen. In Aleppo entstand eine armenische Enklave in Syrien. Die erneute Flucht – diesmal aus Syrien in den Libanon – und die Parallelen, die dadurch entstehen, nimmt Kaprealian auf, indem er Ausschnitte aus Filmen verwendet, die sich dem Thema des armenischen Genozids widmen. Er montiert assoziativ Beobachtungen mit historischem Filmmaterial.

Gibt es Verbindungen zwischen den einzelnen Filmen, die sich mit dem Thema Flucht auseinandersetzen?

Verbindungen gibt es viele, die muss der Zuschauer finden. Vor allem sollen keine Dopplungen entstehen, wir suchen möglichst unterschiedliche Werke, die zum Teil auch widersprüchlich sind in der Art und Weise, wie sie sich einem Thema nähern oder welche Perspektive sie darauf haben. Erst dadurch entsteht ein Programm.

Fei cui zhi cheng (City of Jade) von Midi Z

Von Glückssuchern und Sklaven

Eldorado XXI und Fei cui zhi cheng (City of Jade) erzählen von Arbeitsbedingungen in weit abgelegenen Gegenden der Welt. Lassen sich die beiden Filme vergleichen?

Eldorado XXI von Salomé Lamas zeigt peruanische Goldminenarbeiter auf 5100 Meter Höhe und es lassen sich gewisse Parallelen finden zur burmesischen Jademine, die Midi Z in Fei cui zhi cheng porträtiert. Trotzdem thematisieren die Filme völlig verschiedene Ausgangsbedingungen. Midi Z erzählt von seinem Bruder, der schon seit Jahrzehnten sein Glück in der Mine sucht. Die Schürfarbeiten sind beschwerlich und gefährlich und lassen sich nur durch massiven Drogenkonsum bewerkstelligen. Trotzdem hofft der Bruder seit Jahrzehnten auf den großen Reichtum. Fei cui zhi cheng zeigt eine individuelle Glückssuche, im Gegensatz zu Eldorado XXI, in dem es um organisierte Ausbeutung geht.

Wie in Makhdoumin (Maid for Each)?

In dem Fall geht es um moderne Sklaverei. Im Libanon hat praktisch jeder bürgerliche Haushalt eine südostasiatische oder afrikanische Haushaltsangestellte. Sie werden ausgebeutet, die Verhältnisse enden häufig in körperlichem oder sexuellem Missbrauch. Der junge Regisseur Maher Abi Samra beobachtet, dass dieses Phänomen nun auch in seiner Generation ankommt und zeigt die „Arbeit“ der Agenturen, die den Missbrauch organisieren und diese modernen Sklavinnen an ihre Herren vermitteln. Das ist ein weltweites Phänomen. Noch schlimmer müssen die Bedingungen in Saudi-Arabien sein. In Hongkong gibt es zehntausende philippinischen Hausmädchen, die jeden Sonntag in Hongkong Central zusammenkommen, um einmal in der Woche so etwas wie ein Sozialleben führen können.

Vlažnost (Humidity) von Nikola Ljuca und Inertia von Idan Haguel klingen wie zwei Seiten einer Medaille…

Ja, es gibt eine interessante Parallele. Die Hauptfigur im serbischen Vlažnost ist ein junger Mann aus dem neureichen Milieu, der ein inhaltsloses High-Society-Leben führt. Seine Frau verschwindet plötzlich und er thematisiert dieses Verschwinden überhaupt nicht, lebt sein oberflächliches Dasein einfach weiter. Vlažnost zeigt eine Gesellschaft, in der es nicht mehr um den Menschen, sondern nur noch um den Schein geht, das Funktionieren in einer extrem kapitalistischen Gesellschaft, in der die Reichen sich nur noch ihrer materiellen Werte versichern.

Der israelische Film Inertia wiederum ist ein Film über eine Frau, die irgendwann aus einem Albtraum aufwacht und feststellt, dass ihr Mann verschwunden ist. Am Anfang sucht sie ihn, stellt dann aber fest, dass sie auch ganz gut ohne ihn leben kann. Beide Filme benutzen das Motiv des plötzlichen Verschwindens als Metapher für eine Gesellschaft, in der vieles im Argen liegt. Für eine Gesellschaft, die nicht mehr geerdet ist.

Trivisa von Vicky Wong, Jevons Au und Frank Hui

Genrefilm in Hongkong und China

Erlebt das Hongkong-Genre-Kino mit Trivisa ein Revival?

Trivisa ist Genrekino, das die eigene Geschichte, die der Vergangenheit angehört, genüsslich zelebriert. Der Hongkong-Gangster-Film erlebte in den 1990ern seine Blüte und kam mit der Rückgabe der britischen Kolonie an China zum Erliegen. Die Filmemacher in Hongkong produzieren heute für den chinesischen Markt und pflegen nicht mehr dieses originelle, sehr eigenständige Kino. Es gibt Ausnahmen wie Johnny To, der Trivisa produziert hat. Im Film wird die Machtübergabe 1997 direkt thematisiert. Er zeigt die Situation des organisierten Verbrechens, der Triaden, die sich nach dem Umbruch nach neuen Geschäftsmodellen umsehen mussten. Trivisa ist von drei jungen Regisseuren inszeniert, die jeweils eine der Hauptfiguren in Szene setzen.

Ist der Genrefilm komplett aus China verschwunden?

Nicht ganz, aber das chinesische Kino hat keine große Genre-Tradition. Außer Geistergeschichten, die aber nicht erlaubt sind, weil Geister im Widerspruch zur materialistischen Theorie der kommunistischen Machthaber stehen. Ein Film wie Zhi fan ye mao (Life after Life) von Zhang Hanyi hat keine Chance, in China ins Kino zu kommen, auch wenn er das Geistermotiv metaphorisch einsetzt. Der Film erzählt von einer Frau, die im Körper ihres eigenen Sohnes auf die Welt zurückkommt, um ihren Mann dazu zu bringen, dass er einen Baum umpflanzt, d.h. er verweist auf die Umbrüche und die ökologische Katastrophe im Land.

Japanischer Anarchismus in 8mm

Unter dem Titel „Hachimiri Madness - Japanese Indies from the Punk Years“ zeigt Ihr eine Reihe japanischer Arbeiten von 1977 bis 1990. Was ist die Geschichte dieser Filme?

Während in Amerika und Europa in den späten 1970er- und frühen 1980er-Jahren das Medium Video entdeckt wurde, haben sich japanische Filmemacher bis in die frühen 1990er hinein im 8mm-Format ausgetobt. Die meisten der heute berühmten Regisseure wie Sion Sono oder Masashi Yamamoto haben ihre ersten langen Filme auf 8mm gedreht. Die Arbeiten von damals sind fast verschwunden, weil das Material schwer zu kopieren ist und nie untertitelt wurde. Keiko Araki vom PIA Film Festival in Tokio, wo die Filme in den 1980er Jahren gezeigt wurden, Jacob Wong vom Hong Kong Film Festival und ich haben uns durch das Archiv gewühlt, zahlreiche dieser Filme angesehen und beschlossen, einige in 2K zu digitalisieren und mit englischen Untertiteln zu versehen.

Japanese Punk Films: High-School-Terror von Macoto Tezka (1979), Tokyo Cabbageman K von Akira Ogata (1980) und The Adventure of Denchu-Kozo von Shinya Tsukamoto (1988)

Der Titel der Reihe „Japanese Indies from the Punk Years“ bezieht sich weniger auf die Musik als die rebellische Haltung des Punk. Die Filme sind in ihrer Anarchie und Verrücktheit ein interessanter Kontrast zu den Arbeiten junger Filmemacher heute, deren Vorsicht und Introspektion. Wie Aru michi (A Road) von Daichi Sugimoto. Er ist mit seinen 22 Jahren wahrscheinlich der jüngste Filmemacher, der je bei der Berlinale mit einem Langfilm debütiert hat und zelebriert die Nostalgie der Kindheit! Mit Anfang 20 ist das Leben für ihn vorbei, weil nun der Ernst des Erwachsenenlebens beginnt, deshalb erinnert er sich an die schönen Momente seiner Kindheit. Sugimoto ist dieser Widerspruch durchaus bewusst, und er demonstriert diese Schizophrenie äußerst sensibel. Aber der Kontrast zu den irrwitzigen Nummern der 1980er ist hart.

Gab es einen Grund für diesen anarchistischen Ausbruch?

Es war mehr als ein Ausbruch. Die Punkbewegung hat weltweit sehr viel aufgebrochen. Die Utopien der 68er-Bewegung mündeten sowohl im Westen als auch in Japan schnell in Desillusion. Auch wenn sich über die Jahrzehnte viel verändert hat, blieb die erhoffte Revolution aus. Die Punkbewegung sagte „Scheiß drauf, wir machen unser eigenes Ding“. Anarchismus und No-Future statt proletarischer Revolution.

Gibt es diesen Anarchismus auch heute noch? Le Fils de Joseph und Barakah yoqabil Barakah (Barakah Meets Barakah) von Mahmoud Sabbagh klingen, als würden sie mit Freude Konventionen zerstören…

Le Fils de Joseph von Eugène Green

Le Fils de Joseph ist zumindest sehr eigenartig, der Regisseur Eugène Green lässt seine Schauspieler deklamieren wie im barocken französischen Theater. Die Künstlichkeit des Schauspiels steht in starkem Kontrast zur Inszenierung des Alltags im Film. Er erzählt von einem jungen Mann, der wissen will, wer sein Vater ist. Das ist mit viel Humor in Szene gesetzt, aber auch mythisch verankert, Abraham und Isaak werden wild mit anderen Elementen kombiniert.

Barakah yoqabil Barakah ist eine klassische romantische Komödie, boy meets girl. In Saudi-Arabien stehen dem zwei Unmöglichkeiten im Weg: Zum einen ist jede Art des Datings und des Flirtens nicht vorgesehen in der strikten Auslegung des Islam in diesem Land. Zum anderen gibt es das Medium selbst, den Film, eigentlich gar nicht. Das Land besitzt keine Film-, Unterhaltungs- oder visuelle Kultur. Und trotzdem inszeniert Mahmut Sabbah eine klassische romantische Komödie, die mit beiden Tabus bricht. Es gibt jede Menge Frauen mit wehendem Haupthaar ohne Hidschab und vieles mehr, was nicht mit unserem Bild von Saudi-Arabien übereinstimmt. Eine schrille Komödie.