Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Berlinale Talents 2016:
The Point of View is Decisive

The motto for the 14th edition of Berlinale Talents is “The Nature of Relations”. In this interview, the sections heads Florian Weghorn and Christine Tröstrum talk about the qualities required by a Talent to succeed today, how the age profile of Talents has changed over the years and how easy it can be to meet Meryl Streep.

The 2016 Key Visual

In an age of connectivity, this year’s motto is “The Nature of Relations”. In what ways can relationships be natural?

Christine Tröstrum: To us, it’s about the levels of impact of human relations. Everything is interconnected but many people often no longer consciously recognise this in all its detail and correlations. As the saying goes, they can’t see the wood for the trees.

Florian Weghorn: And of course, forming and maintaining relationships is in the DNA of Berlinale Talents. We are envisioning these processes and ensuring they are more strongly present and recognisable in the formats of our events. Terms like “interdisciplinary work” and “joined-up thinking” are on everyone’s lips at the moment, even in the good old-fashioned film industry. We’re testing them on a very practical level: at our events, the guests don’t just talk about the special connection they have with a director; instead, directors and producers sit together on the stage.

Collective work has always been one of the features of film production. At the same time, since the 1960s there’s been an extremely virulent concept of the “auteur”. Has collaboration become particularly noticeable again today?

FW: We don’t aspire defining what is currently in or out of fashion. However, we rarely encounter the ideal of the hermetic film auteur in his quiet little room. Amongst the Talents, there are filmmakers who are currently forming collectives where they band together – also out of financial necessity because of the lack of infrastructure or following the collapse of other protections for the arts in society. Filmmaking, whether on a large or small scale, always requires this personal, well connected microcosm in which to produce and also to find an audience.

The Point of View Makes the Shot

How adaptable must a talent be today in order to make it in the film industry? Is there a danger, amidst all this networking, of losing one’s personal vision?

FW: Quite the opposite, a personal vision is a prerequisite for survival today. And it also plays a strong role in our selection of applicants. Alongside artistic achievement and an innovative approach, the selection panel asks how much evidence there is of a point of view. There must be a resonance emerging within a country, within the film project’s intended target audience. A certain echo must be tangible, a relevance and a reference to current subject matters.

During "Global Speed Matching" in 2016.

CT: The point of view is fundamental, and we encourage that in the Talents. Then comes experience and, only after that, skills. If you look at the educational landscape today the standard, except in a few countries, is very high. We define the promotion of talent as paying attention to the coherence of different levels including artistic credibility, the ability to intrigue audiences and much more. We support the Talents in developing a tenacity in their individual artistic expression. This is one of the most important pieces of advice we can give to people.

Does this attitude also carry over into the actual audio-visual work? Does the phrase “the point of view makes the shot” still hold true?

FW: More than ever. If you want to make yourself heard over today’s general hubbub, you must hit the right note very clearly. Or be massively out of tune. We neither train nor encourage people in one particular direction. The fact that Berlinale Talents invites 300 instead of just ten participants substantially increases the probability of off-key voices and surprising moments which, fortunately, are not at all predictable.

CT: The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, Monika Grütters, is supporting Berlinale Talents 2016. She, too, calls for the courage to be experimental and to not necessarily please people. Germany needs this discussion about how we want to support talent in the future. We want to push this debate forward.

Talents with Experience

Has the nature of the support at Berlinale Talents changed in recent years?

CT: A lot has changed, above all our own aspirations and approach. In the 14th year of our existence, the average age of our participants is now 33. At some point we have made a very clear distinction between support for the up-and-coming and support for talents. A great deal is being done around the world to support the next generation of filmmakers; in Germany, in spite of all the complaints, the situation is downright luxurious. But when it comes to the second or third feature film project, the talents are often left on their own. That is why we focus on life-long learning, on exchange and developing networks.

The manager of the Hubert Bals Fund Iwana Chronis at the Talents 2015.

FW: Our participants are already talents when they come to us. From the 300 Talents selected this year, 58 have already had a film in the Berlinale – as director, sound designer or cinematographer. This comes about quite naturally. We are offering these people guidance so they can continue along their chosen path or try out some new directions.

How is this development reflected in the formats of the events?

CT: The events are becoming more interactive; participants can also be experts. This year, following our breakfasts, there is an hour-long “Talents Circle”. Working on the principle of the World Café, participants meet guests in small groups, have an exchange on a topic and can change groups as they wish. At the end there is a short recap for the entire group.

FW: This year, for example, we have also converted the “Editing Studio” and “Camera Studio” into work labs where participants from one craft can come together in order to explore new approaches in a playful way and thus have an exchange. That might sound banal but, in the compartmentalised everyday lives of cinematographers or editors, it is a real rarity.

You talk a lot about the opportunities which are opening up, about support, yet at the same time, the Talents must assert themselves in a really tough industry. Is this pressure of competition also tangible during Berlinale Talents?

FW: We are astonished at how fast connections are made during Berlinale Talents and how quickly events lead to people wanting to work creatively together in the future. There is very little competition at play. But we actually have to do some real pioneering work in the market environment. The old hands in film sales and distribution like to keep successful strategies to themselves, and sometimes understandably so. But our “Sales & Distribution Studio” seeks to change this by focusing on networking.

Talents in front of the HAU Hebbel am Ufer; the official venue of Berlinale Talents.

CT: From this studio, for example, a group has emerged over the years which still collaborates from time to time and jointly acquires film rights. To place art-house films successfully in the market is like swimming with sharks because there are simply too many productions around. Anyone who really wants to make money out of this needs to draw on more flexible models. And for us that is the collective.

Regionality and Escape

The topic of refugees is omnipresent in Germany at the moment. Is it also playing a role with you this year?

FW: During the six days our participants from 78 countries can see that it is fun to interact with one another, even in a contentious manner. And of course we have filmmakers in our network of over 6,000 alumni who are actually in a refugee situation. Their stories not only inform their films, they must also find a place in Berlinale Talents as life stories. Because to arrive in Germany also means to work and establish new relations – which brings us back to that topic once again.

Are there still differences between the cultures or has film culture become globalised and homogenised in the networking age?

CT: The worldwide network has actually rendered the differences more visible. Differentiation is necessary if you want to stand out at all. Locality is, in some sense, a “unique selling point”, if you will. And digital networks mean we can explore the inner structures much more deeply, hear quieter voices, discover cinematic pearls and engage in discussions with people. That is a great gift.

Prominent guests; Wim Wenders at the Talents in 2015.

As in every year, rather than being a closed shop, Berlinale Talents has many events in its programme which are open to the public. Does this mean that, as a Berlinale visitor keen to meet the President of the International Jury, I don’t have to stand and wait beside the Red Carpet?

FW: Yes, Meryl Streep will be attending our opening panel and, fully in keeping with “The Nature of Relations”, will talk about the relationship she has as an actress to her roles. We are generally offering a very varied programme for Berliners and festival-goers. You can experience award-winning animation filmmakers with their pencil on the stage, photographer Jim Rakete is meeting cinematographer Michael Ballhaus, and Dogme 95 filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg, on the trail of collectiveness, is returning in his mind to his time as a child amongst hippies. You can also find the Talents on the big screen in over 80 films at the festival and, a first for us, also in a TV series which we’re screening on the final day of Talents in HAU1. So the audience can establish many new relations, quite naturally.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Berlinale Talents 2016:
Die Haltung ist das Entscheidende

Im 14. Jahr setzt Berlinale Talents auf das Motto „The Nature of Relations“. Im Interview sprechen die Sektionsleiter Florian Weghorn und Christine Tröstrum über die Fähigkeiten, die ein Talent heute mitbringen muss, um sich durchzusetzen, wie sich die Altersstruktur der Talents über die Jahre geändert hat und wie einfach es sein kann, Meryl Streep zu treffen.

Das Key Visual 2016

Ganz im Sinne eines Zeitalters der Konnektivität ist das Motto dieses Jahr „The Nature of Relations“. Inwieweit können Beziehungen natürlich sein?

Christine Tröstrum: Uns geht es um die Wirkungsebenen menschlicher Beziehungen. Alles hängt mit allem zusammen. Viele Menschen nehmen dies oft nicht mehr in allen Einzelheiten und Zusammenhängen bewusst wahr. Sprichwörtlich sagt man: „Den Wald vor lauter Bäumen nicht sehen.“

Florian Weghorn: Und natürlich liegt das Gestalten und Pflegen von Beziehungen auch in der Natur von Berlinale Talents. Wir vergegenwärtigen uns diese Prozesse und machen sie in den Veranstaltungsformaten stärker leb- und sichtbar. Begriffe wie „interdisziplinäres Arbeiten“ oder „connected thinking“ bringt ja derweil jeder leicht über die Lippen, selbst im guten alten Filmbusiness. Wir erproben sie auf ganz praktischen Ebenen: Bei uns sprechen die Gäste nicht nur darüber, welche außergewöhnliche Verbindung sie zu einem Regisseur haben, sondern Regisseur und Produzent sitzen zusammen auf der Bühne.

Ein Merkmal der Filmproduktion ist ja seit jeher die kollektive Arbeit. Gleichzeitig gibt es seit den1960er Jahren einen äußerst virulenten Autorenbegriff. Ist gemeinsames Arbeiten heute wieder besonders präsent?

FW: Wir wagen nicht zu definieren, was gerade en vogue ist oder nicht. Das Ideal des eremitischen Filmautoren in der stillen Kammer begegnet uns aber eher selten. Unter den Talenten sind Filmemacher, die gerade Kollektive gründen, die sich zusammenrotten, auch aus Notwendigkeiten heraus – finanzieller Natur, aufgrund fehlender Infrastrukturen oder nach dem Wegbrechen anderer gesellschaftlicher Schutzräume für Kunst. Filmemachen, im Großen und im Kleinen, erfordert immer diesen persönlichen, gut vernetzten Mikrokosmos, in dem ich produziere und auch meine Zuschauer finde.

Die Einstellung ist die Einstellung

Wie anschlussfähig muss ein Talent heute sein, um sich in der Filmbranche durchsetzen zu können? Besteht die Gefahr, in diesem Beziehungsgeflecht die eigene Vision zu verlieren?

FW: Im Gegenteil, die eigenständige Vision ist Voraussetzung, um heute bestehen zu können. Das spielt auch eine starke Rolle für unsere Bewerber. Neben künstlerischer Leistung und einem innovativen Ansatz stellt sich das Auswahlgremium die Frage, inwieweit eine Haltung erkennbar ist. Es muss ein Resonanzraum entstehen, innerhalb eines Landes, innerhalb der Zielgruppe des Filmvorhabens. Da muss ein gewisser Widerhall, eine Relevanz und ein Bezug auf aktuelle Themen spürbar sein.

Während des „Global Speed Matching“ 2015.

CT: Die Haltung ist das Fundament, darin bestärken wir die Talente. Darauf aufbauend kommt die Erfahrung hinzu und dann erst die skills. Schaut man heute auf die Ausbildungslage, ist bis auf wenige Länder, der Standard sehr hoch. Unter Talentförderung verstehen wir, auf die Stimmigkeit unterschiedlicher Ebenen zu achten. Hinzu kommt künstlerische Glaubwürdigkeit, Faszinationskraft und vieles mehr. Wir unterstützen die Talente, eine Beharrlichkeit in ihrem ureigenen künstlerischen Ausdruck zu finden. Das ist ein entscheidender Rat, den man jedem mit auf den Weg gibt.

Überträgt sich diese Haltung auch in die konkrete audiovisuelle Arbeit? Gilt noch der Satz „Die Einstellung ist die Einstellung“?

FW: Mehr denn je. Wenn du dir heute Gehör verschaffen willst, musst du im allgemeinen Stimmengewirr sehr klar den richtigen Ton treffen. Oder gern auch schwer daneben liegen. Wir bilden weder aus, noch fördern wir in eine bestimmte Richtung. Die Tatsache, dass Berlinale Talents 300 und nicht nur zehn Teilnehmer einlädt, erhöht massiv die Wahrscheinlichkeit schräger Stimmen und überraschender Momente, die zum Glück nicht vorhersehbar waren.

CT: Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien Monika Grütters fördert Berlinale Talents 2016, auch sie fordert den Mut zum Experimentieren und nicht zwangsläufig gefallen zu müssen. Deutschland braucht diese Diskussion, wie wir zukünftig Talente fördern wollen. Diesen Diskurs möchten wir weiter anstoßen.

Talente mit Erfahrung

Hat sich die Art der Förderung bei Berlinale Talents in den letzten Jahren geändert?

CT: Es hat sich viel verändert, allem voran unser eigener Anspruch und Ansatz. Im 14. Jahr unseres Bestehens haben wir es durchschnittlich mit 33-jährigen Teilnehmern zu tun. Wir haben Nachwuchsförderung irgendwann ganz klar von Talentförderung unterschieden. Es wird weltweit im Filmbereich sehr viel zur Förderung nachwachsender Filmgenerationen getan, in Deutschland ist die Situation trotz aller Beschwerden geradezu luxuriös. Kommt es zum zweiten, dritten Langfilmprojekt, werden die Talente oft alleine gelassen. Unsere Schwerpunkte liegen deshalb auf lebenslangem Lernen, auf Austausch und Netzwerkarbeit.

Die Leiterin des Hubert Bals Fund Iwana Chronis bei den Talents 2015.

FW: Unsere Teilnehmer sind bereits Talente, wenn sie zu uns kommen. Unter den ausgewählten 300 Talenten dieses Jahr waren 58 schon vorher mit einem Film bei der Berlinale - als Regisseur, Sounddesigner oder Kameramann. Das ergibt sich ganz natürlich so. Diesen Menschen bieten wir Orientierung an, damit sie ihren eingeschlagenen Weg weiter gehen oder auch ein paar Weichen neu stellen können.

Wie setzt Ihr diese Entwicklung in den Veranstaltungsformaten um?

CT: Die Veranstaltungen werden interaktiver, Teilnehmer können auch Experten sein. Im Anschluss an unsere Frühstücke gibt es in diesem Jahr für jeweils eine Stunde sogenannte „Talents Circle“. Angelehnt an das Prinzip des World-Cafés treffen sich die Teilnehmer in kleinen Runden mit Gästen, tauschen sich zu einem Thema aus und haben die Möglichkeit, den Kreis nach eigenem Wunsch zu wechseln. Am Ende gibt es eine kleine Zusammenfassung für die gesamte Gruppe.

FW: Wir haben in diesem Jahr zum Beispiel auch das „Editing Studio“ und das „Camera Studio“ in Werklabore verwandelt, in denen Teilnehmer eines Gewerks zusammenkommen, gemeinsam und spielerisch neue Ansätze erforschen, und sich dabei untereinander austauschen. Das klingt banal, ist aber im vereinzelten Lebensalltag von Kameraleuten oder Filmeditoren eine absolute Seltenheit.

Ihr sprecht viel von Möglichkeiten, die sich auftun, von Förderung, aber gleichzeitig müssen sich die Talente ja in einer knallharten Branche durchsetzen. Spürt man diesen Konkurrenzdruck auch bei den Talents?

FW: Wir sind erstaunt, wie schnell bei uns Verbindungen entstehen und wie schnell eine Veranstaltung dazu führt, dass Leute zukünftig kreativ zusammenarbeiten wollen. Da ist wenig Konkurrenz im Spiel. Im Marktumfeld haben wir in der Tat Pionierarbeit zu leisten. Die alten Hasen im Filmverkauf und -verleih behalten erfolgreiche Methoden aus manchmal verständlichen Gründen gern für sich. Unser „Sales & Distribution Studio“ will das ändern und setzt auf Vernetzung.

Talente vor dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer, der offiziellen Spielstätte der Talents

CT: Aus diesem Studio heraus ist beispielsweise über die Jahre eine Gruppe entstanden, die teilweise immer noch zusammenarbeitet und Filmrechte gemeinsam akquiriert. Arthouse-Filme erfolgreich am Markt zu platzieren, gleicht einem Ausflug ins Haifischbecken, weil es insgesamt zu viele Produktionen gibt. Wer wirklich Geld damit verdienen will, muss auf flexiblere Modelle zurückgreifen. Für uns ist es das Kollektiv.

Regionalität und Flucht

Omnipräsent in Deutschland ist heute das Flüchtlingsthema. Spielt das auch bei Euch in diesem Jahr eine Rolle?

FW: Unsere Teilnehmer aus 78 Ländern können in den sechs Tagen sehen, dass es Spaß macht, miteinander umzugehen, auch kontrovers. Bei über 6000 Alumni haben wir natürlich auch Filmemacher in unserem Netzwerk, die tatsächlich in Flüchtlingssituationen sind. Deren Geschichten fließen nicht nur in Filme ein, sondern müssen auch als Lebensgeschichten einen Platz finden bei Talents. Ankommen in Deutschland heißt ja auch arbeiten und neue Beziehungen aufbauen – und damit sind wir schon wieder beim Thema.

Gibt es noch Unterschiede zwischen den Kulturen oder hat sich die Filmkultur restglobalisiert im Zeitalter der Vernetzung?

CT: Durch die weltweite Vernetzung werden eher noch die Unterschiede sichtbarer. Ausdifferenzierung ist erforderlich, um überhaupt noch aufzufallen. Lokalität ist in gewisser Weise ein „unique selling point“, wenn du so willst. Und durch die digitale Vernetzung können wir heute viel tiefer in Binnenstrukturen hineinschauen, leisere Stimmen hören, filmische Perlen entdecken, und mit Menschen ins Gespräch kommen. Das ist ein großes Geschenk.

Prominente Gäste: Wim Wenders bei den Talents 2015.

Wie jedes Jahr ist Berlinale Talents keine geschlossene Veranstaltung, sondern viele Programmpunkte sind für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Das heißt, wenn ich die Präsidentin der Internationalen Jury erleben will, muss ich mich als Berlinale-Besucher nicht an den Roten Teppich stellen und warten?

FW: Ja, Meryl Streep kommt zum Eröffnungspanel und wird ganz im Sinne von „The Nature of Relations“ ein Gespräch über ihre Beziehung als Schauspielerin zu ihren Rollen führen. Das Angebot für die Berliner und die Festivalgäste ist auch sonst breit gefächert. Es gibt preisgekrönte Animationsfilmer mit Zeichenstift auf der Bühne zu erleben, der Fotograf Jim Rakete trifft auf den Kameramann Michael Ballhaus, und der Dogmafilmer Thomas Vinterberg kehrt auf den Spuren des Kollektivs gedanklich in seine Zeit als Kind unter Hippies zurück. Die Talente findet man auch auf der Leinwand, in über 80 Filmen im Festival und erstmals bei uns in einer TV Serie, die wir am letzten Tag von Talents im HAU1 zeigen. Das Publikum kann also viele neue Beziehungen knüpfen, ganz natürlich.