Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


Berlinale Shorts 2016:
It has to be Cinema

In 2016, 25 films from 21 countries are screening in the Berlinale Shorts competition. They tackle current political and social questions and include big cinematic images and surreal animations. In this interview, Maike Mia Höhne discusses this year’s selection and the hallmarks of her work as curator.

Lucas Doméjean in Notre Héritage by Jonathan Vinel in collaboration with Caroline Poggi

This year, almost half the selection is formed by films from directors whose work has previously featured in Berlinale Shorts. 2014 Golden Bear winners Jonathan Vinel and Caroline Poggi (Tant qu'il nous reste des fusils à pompe / As Long as Shotguns Remain, Berlinale Shorts 2014) are back with their new film Notre Héritage (Our Legacy). In what way has their formal language developed?

I was impressed by the clarity of the thesis which they discuss in their new film: Lucas is the son of famous porn director Pierre Woodman. He tries to relate to his father and to gain access to love via pornography.
On a formal level, I like their free handling of the material. Their source is the internet, they draw on the aesthetics of computer games, Pierre Woodman’s available films and they stage scenes with knights and ladies – they create their own world in which it isn’t clear where imagination begins, what is real and what is fantasy. And then they take Woodman’s casting photos of naked women on all fours, photographed from behind. And look at them very closely. Until it hurts.

European Cinema History and the Digital World

Vintage Print by Siegfried A. Fruhauf

This year’s selection reveals two trends. One is an excursion into the history of European cinema, such as in the wonderfully edited film personne by Christoph Giradet and Matthias Müller, or by Gabriel Abrantes from Portugal who, in Freud and Friends, has the courage to show no respect at all to the great heroes.
The other is the video image as a souvenir as in, for example, Oustaz by Bentley Brown from Chad in which he has edited video recordings from his childhood and adolescence into an essayistic diary film in memory of a deceased friend.

You mean, this reveals a generation of filmmakers whose memories are not stored on film but on videotape?

Exactly. For Jonathan Vinel and Caroline Poggi, the aesthetics of celluloid film with all its scratches are, in this respect, completely uninteresting. We are opening the festival with a film which quite skilfully poses the question of how memory can be depicted: Vintage Print by Siegfried A Fruhauf from Austria. A photo on a glass plate, the carrier medium for negatives in the late 1800s, is being transferred into the digital universe via film.

LOVE by Réka Bucsi

You asked earlier about filmmakers whose work we are following: after Symphony no.42 (Berlinale Shorts, 2014) the entire scene has been eagerly awaiting the new film by Réka Bucsi. And here it is: LOVE. Réka states that the word “love” isn’t actually a word anymore. The letters, the shapes, have themselves become an image. And she animates this thesis in her film with surreal situations which seek to express this emotion.

Someone else I must definitely mention in this context is Kazik Radwanski who has already presented three films in Shorts (Princess Margaret Blvd. in 2009, Out in that Deep Blue Sea in 2010 and Green Crayons in 2011) and whose second feature film How Heavy This Hammer is screening in this year’s Forum. In addition, with his production company MDFF he is showing a second film in the Forum: Tales of Two Who Dreamt by Andrea Bussmann and Nicolás Peredas. Formally speaking, Kazik Radwanski produces a very individual narrative cinema, very intimate, without resorting to kitsch.

A Man Returned by Mahdi Fleifel

Special Insights

A Man Returned is a direct continuation of a story – already Mahdi Fleifel’s third film, in which he accompanies the paths of his childhood friends with the camera...

Actually, it’s less of a continuation than the other side of the story. Reda, one of the supporting characters in Mahdi’s film Xenos (Berlinale Shorts, 2014), has returned to Ain al-Hilweh, the biggest Palestinian refugee camp in Lebanon, after three years futilely spent attempting to grain refugee status in Athens. A Man Returned considers the question of how it feels to have failed. Why do so many people remain here in Europe even though they are forced to go underground and live without documents? Because it takes a lot of courage to go back.

Being shot in a Direct Cinema style, A Man Returned is very close to its protagonist. The living conditions in the camp are made very palpable. Reda is 26 and totally high. For the past three years he’s been living in Athens, hand-to-mouth and on petty crimes. The scene which made the biggest impression on me is where Reda gives a running commentary over mobile phone footage of hostilities descending upon the camp: he is showing off with his cool poses. It gives a special insight into his everyday life which left me, as the viewer, speechless. And above all else it is about one thing: the wedding and, with it, his salvation from this life.
At the same time the problem becomes apparent that Mahdi Fleifel’s films are all borne by the fate of their protagonists. His success is founded upon other people’s unhappy lives. That is quite a cross to bear for a director.

Bai Niao by Wu Linfeng

It has to be Cinema

Your programming and combination of films also directs the view of the audience. How would you describe the hallmarks of your work as a curator?

Sex and politics. Sensuality and the body. And it has to be cinema. That means, conceived images. As in Bai Niao (White Bird) by Wu Linfeng. You can tell how much thought the director has put into the images and the rhythm by simply looking at the film. Exactly like in Notre Héritage. The protagonist in Bai Niao is HIV-positive. When a distant relative comes to visit, he sleeps with her. During the final seven minutes of the film, tiny shifts are traceable in the focus of the images that cover up morality with a white towel. The border between documentary and fictional material is subverted, making possible a glimpse of the in-between.

Nimit Luang (Prelude to the General) by Pimpaka Towira from Thailand is also very precise in its editing, composition, mise-en-scène and yet it remains mysterious. In the context of Thai history, the film becomes an expression of collective trauma. The past anticipates the future, thus making it impossible for the protagonist to escape in spite of a warning voiced at the start.

My dream would be to watch the programme in full – without any interruptions, preferably without any credits or black in between – simply transitioning from one mood to the next, from one colour to another. For 90 minutes. For 120 minutes. All day short.

Die Unzugänglichkeit der griechischen Antike und ihre Folgen by Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann and Paul Spengemann

The cinematic appreciation of many of the films in Shorts hinges on an understanding of their cinematic context. Die Unzugänglichkeit der griechischen Antike und ihre Folgen (The Inaccessibility of Ancient Greece and its Impact) presupposes a knowledge of the text recited in ancient Greek.

It’s true that the film may initially come across as puzzling. But it immediately captures the attention with its rhythm and harmonious images. Upon first viewing it, I already perceived the film as a sculpture. During the research process it then transpired that Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann studied sculpture at the HfBK in Hamburg. Even without knowledge of the text – which comes from Aeschylus’ ‘The Persians’, the world’s oldest surviving play – the film creates a connection with the audience via its images. Via the assembly hall, gymnasium, cafeteria, library, hallways, which everyone has associations with from their schooldays, whether containing humiliation or not.

There’s something similar in Hopptornet (Ten Meter Tower) by Axel Danielson and Maximilien Van Aertryck from Sweden. A really classic short film with a clear experimental design. The camera is pointed towards the platform of a ten meter diving board and immediately conjures up the memory of what it feels like to stand up there. Did I jump? Or not? The tension. The relief. To experience this film communally in the cinema will be a lot of fun. I bet the audience will react to it very directly.

Concentrated Images

One film in this year’s programme is being screened out of competition. What made you include Los Murmullos (Murmurings) in the selection?

Los murmullos by Rubén Gámez

For some years now, I have been including films in the programme which, to me, belong unquestionably in the short film canon. In its time Los murmullos from 1976 marked a caesura in new Latin American cinema. In contrast to his contemporaries, who always understood cinema to also be a weapon against capitalism, Rubén Gámez did not regard editing and cinematography as suitable media for ideological warfare. Instead he took the time to document the conditions of farmers and the influence of the chemical and agricultural industries with calm images. In view of the current TTIP negotiations, this film possesses a downright alarming topicality.
In addition, the form of Los murmullos and its examination of the topic of work spans a bridge across the programme: from Brazil, where we observe in long takes a fisherman at his unceasing, unchanging flow of work governed by the rhythm and power of the sea (Das águas que passam / Running Waters by Diego Zon) to Taiwan, with its migrant workers in Jin zhi xia mao (Anchorage Prohibited) by Chiang Wei Liang. Such workers live in a lawless zone in Taiwan and are almost wholly dependent on their traffickers who pocket just about all their income in the first few years. This is a widespread problem which we can only touch on in Shorts. Chiang Wei Liang also uses quiet images to concentrate fully on a couple and their child, producing a chamber piece in public spaces which in its focus is exemplary of the fate of so many others.

We are closing the festival with Estate (Summer) by Ronny Trocker. The film is inspired by a photo by Juan Medina which was taken on the beach of Gran Tarajal in Spain in 2006. In the foreground there is an exhausted migrant, in the background people on their summer holidays who are not at all disturbed by what is going on. In the film, the holidaymakers are wax figures frozen in their poses and only the soundtrack is alive. The sound of the sea. Children’s voices. A holidaymaker’s camera lens happens upon a black man who has just arrived. He is the only one who is able to move, who locates himself within the situation and eventually runs off.

Estate by Ronny Trocker

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


Berlinale Shorts 2016:
Kino muss es sein

2016 laufen 25 Filme aus 21 Ländern im Wettbewerb der Berlinale Shorts. Darunter Auseinandersetzungen mit aktuellen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Fragen, große Kinobilder und surreale Animationen. Im Interview spricht Maike Mia Höhne über die diesjährige Auswahl und ihre Handschrift als Kuratorin.

Lucas Doméjean in Notre Héritage von Jonathan Vinel in Zusammenarbeit mit Caroline Poggi

Filme von früheren Berlinale-Shorts-Regisseuren stellen in diesem Jahr fast die Hälfte der Auswahl. Die Gewinner des Goldenen Bären 2014, Jonathan Vinel und Caroline Poggi (Tant qu'il nous reste des fusils à pompe / Solange uns Pumpguns bleiben, Berlinale Shorts 2014), sind mit ihrem neuen Film Notre Héritage (Unser Vermächtnis) zurück. Wie hat sich ihre Formsprache entwickelt?

Mich hat die Klarheit der These beeindruckt, die die beiden mit ihrem neuen Film diskutieren: Lucas ist der Sohn des berühmten Pornoregisseurs Pierre Woodman. Also solcher versucht er sich und seinen Vater in Beziehung zu setzen und durch die Pornographie hindurch einen Zugriff auf die Liebe zu erlangen.
Auf der formalen Ebene beeindruckt mich ihr freier Umgang mit dem Material. Das Internet ist ihre Quelle, sie bedienen sich der Ästhetik von Computerspielen, den zugänglichen Filmen von Pierre Woodman, inszenieren Ritter und Ritterin - erschaffen eine eigene Welt, bei der nicht klar ist, wo die Vorstellung anfängt, was real und was Fantasie ist. Und dann nehmen sie sich die Casting-Bilder von Woodman, nackte Frauen, auf allen vieren, von hinten fotografiert. Und schauen ganz genau hin. Solange, bis es wehtut.

Europäische Kinogeschichte und die digitale Welt

Vintage Print von Siegfried A. Fruhauf

In der Programmauswahl haben sich dieses Jahr zwei Trends gezeigt. Zum einen die Auseinandersetzung mit der europäischen Kinogeschichte, wie in dem wunderbar montierten Film personne von Christoph Girardet und Matthias Müller oder bei Gabriel Abrantes aus Portugal, der in Freud und Friends den Mut hat, keine Achtung zu haben vor den großen Helden.
Und zum anderen das Videobild als Erinnerungsbild, wie in Oustaz von Bentley Brown aus dem Tschad, in dem er in Gedenken an einen verstorbenen Freund Videoaufnahmen aus seiner Kindheit und Jugend zu einem essayistischen Tagebuchfilm montiert.

Du meinst also, es zeigt sich eine Generation von Filmemachern, deren Erinnerungen nicht auf Film, sondern auf Video festgehalten sind?

Genau, für Jonathan Vinel und Caroline Poggi ist der Look von Celluloid-Filmen mit ihren Kratzern in dieser Hinsicht überhaupt nicht interessant. Wir eröffnen das Festival mit einem Film, der die Frage nach der Erinnerungsabbildung ganz gut vorgibt: Vintage Print von Siegfried A. Fruhauf aus Österreich. Eine Fotografie auf Glasplatte, dem Trägermedium für das Negativ im ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert, wird über den Film in die digitale Welt überführt.

LOVE von Réka Bucsi

Weil Du vorhin nach Filmemachern gefragt hast, deren Schaffen wir verfolgen: Nach Symphony no.42 (Berlinale Shorts 2014) hat die ganze Szene auf den neuen Film von Réka Bucsi gewartet. Und hier ist er: LOVE. Réka stellt fest, dass das Wort LOVE eigentlich schon gar kein Wort mehr ist. Die Buchstaben, die Formen sind selbst zu einem Bild geworden. Und diese These ANIMIERT sie in ihrem FILM mit surrealen Situationen, die das Gefühl zum Ausdruck bringen wollen.

Und wen ich in diesem Zusammenhang auch unbedingt noch erwähnen muss ist Kazik Radwanski, der schon drei Filme bei den Shorts präsentiert hat (Princess Margaret Blvd. – 2009, Out in that Deep Blue Sea – 2010 und Green Crayons – 2011) und dessen zweiter Langfilm How Heavy This Hammer dieses Jahr im Forum läuft. Dazu kommt, dass er mit seiner Produktionsfirma MDFF noch einen zweiten Film im Forum zeigt: Tales of Two Who Dreamt von Andrea Bussmann und Nicolás Peredas. Kazik Radwanski macht formal ganz eigenes fiktionales Kino, ganz nah, ohne kitschig zu sein.

A Man Returned von Mahdi Fleifel

Besondere Einblicke

Eine direkt Fortschreibung der Geschichte ist A Man Returned - bereits der dritte Film von Mahdi Fleifel, in dem er den Weg seiner Jugendfreunde mit der Kamera begleitet...

Eigentlich weniger eine Fortschreibung als die andere Seite der Geschichte. Reda, einer der Neben-Protagonisten aus Mahdis Film Xenos (Berlinale Shorts 2014) ist nach drei Jahren, in denen er sich vergeblich um seine Anerkennung als Flüchtling in Athen bemüht hat, zurück in Ain El-Helweh, dem größten palästinensischen Flüchtlingslager im Libanon. A Man Returned geht der Frage nach, wie es sich anfühlt, wenn man es nicht geschafft hat. Wieso bleiben so viele Menschen hier in Europa, obwohl sie in den Untergrund gehen und ohne Papiere leben müssen? Weil es viel Mut erfordert zurückzugehen.
A Man Returned ist in seinem Stil des cinéma direct sehr nah an seinem Protagonisten. Die Lebensumstände im Lager werden spürbar. Reda ist 26 und total auf Droge. Die letzten drei Jahre hat er in Athen auf der Straße gelebt. Die Szene, die auf mich den stärksten Eindruck gemacht hat, ist die, in der Reda Handybilder von über das Lager hereinbrechenden Kriegshandlungen kommentiert: Er protzt mit seiner coolen Pose. Ein besonderer Einblick in seinen Alltag, der mich als Zuschauerin sprachlos zurücklässt. Und über allem geht es um das eine: die Hochzeit und mit ihr die Erlösung aus diesem Leben.
Gleichzeitig schwingt auch die Problematik mit, dass Mahdi Fleifels Filme alle vom Schicksal ihrer Protagonisten getragen werden. Sein Erfolg ist auf dem schlechten Leben der Anderen begründet. Das musst Du erst mal aushalten als Regisseur.

Bai Niao von Wu Linfeng

Kino muss es sein

Durch die Programmierung und Kombination der Filme lenkst auch Du den Blick des Zuschauers. Wie würdest Du Deine eigene Handschrift beschreiben?

Sex und Politik. Sinnlichkeit und Körper. Und Kino muss es sein. Also gedachtes Bild. Wie in Bai Niao (Weißer Vogel) von Wu Linfeng. Dem Film siehst Du einfach an, wie viele Gedanken sich der Regisseur über die Bilder und den Rhythmus gemacht hat. Genau wie Notre Héritage. Der Protagonist aus Bai Niao ist HIV-positiv. Als eine entfernte Verwandte zu Besuch kommt, schläft er mit ihr. In den letzten sieben Minuten des Films werden durch die Konzentration des Bildes kleine Verschiebungen spürbar, die Moral mit einem weißen Handtuch zugedeckt. Die Trennlinie zwischen dokumentarischem und fiktionalem Material wird unterlaufen, ein Blick auf das Dazwischen möglich.

Auch Nimit Luang (Prelude to the General) von Pimpaka Towira aus Thailand ist sehr genau in der Montage, im Bildaufbau, in der Inszenierung und bleibt dabei doch geheimnisvoll. Im Kontext der thailändischen Geschichte wird der Film Ausdruck des kollektiven Traumas. Das Vergangene greift auf die Zukunft vor und so gibt es auch für die Protagonistin kein Entkommen, trotz einer anfangs ausgesprochenen Warnung.

Mein Traum wäre es, die Programme einmal durchlaufen zu lassen - ohne Unterbrechungen, am liebsten keinen Abspann, kein Schwarz – einfach von einer Stimmung, einer Farbe in die nächste überleitend. 90 Minuten lang. 120 Minunten lang. Tagekurz.

Die Unzugänglichkeit der griechischen Antike und ihre Folgen von Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann und Paul Spengemann

Die filmischen Kontexte sind für das Filmverständnis vielerShorts entscheidend. In Die Unzugänglichkeit der griechischen Antike und ihre Folgen wird die Kenntnis des auf Altgriechisch vorgetragenen Textes vorausgesetzt…

Es stimmt, der Film mag zunächst rätselhaft erscheinen. Aber durch seinen Rhythmus, seine stimmigen Bilder fällt er sofort auf. Ich habe den Film schon beim ersten Sehen als Skulptur empfunden. In der Recherche kam dann raus, dass Gerrit Frohne-Brinkmann an der HfBK in Hamburg Bildhauerei studiert hat. Auch ohne die Kenntnis des Textes - es handelt sich um „Die Perser“ von Aischylos, das älteste erhaltene Drama der Welt - schafft der Film über die Bilder eine Verbindung zum Zuschauer. Durch die Räume Aula, Turnhalle, Cafeteria, Bibliothek, Flure, zu denen jeder Assoziationen aus der Schulzeit hat, von Demütigung oder auch nicht.

Ähnlich bei Hopptornet (Zehn-Meter-Turm) von Axel Danielson und Maximilien Van Aertryck aus Schweden. Ein ganz klassischer Kurzfilm mit einer klaren Versuchsanordnung. Die Kamera ist auf die Plattform eines Zehn-Meter-Turms gerichtet und sofort setzt die Erinnerung an das Gefühl ein, wie es ist, dort oben zu stehen. Bin ich gesprungen? Oder nicht? Die Anspannung. Die Befreiung. Durch das gemeinsame Filmerlebnis im Kino wird der Film so richtig Spaß machen. Ich wette, die Zuschauer werden sehr direkt auf den Film reagieren.

Konzentrierte Bilder

Ein Film des diesjährigen Programms wird außer Konkurrenz gezeigt. Warum hast Du Los Murmullos (Gemurmel) in die Auswahl aufgenommen?

Los murmullos von Rubén Gámez

Seit einigen Jahren nehme ich Filme mit ins Programm, die für mich eindeutig in den Kanon des kurzen Films gehören. Los murmullos von 1976 war zu seiner Zeit eine Zäsur im neuen lateinamerikanischen Kino. Anders als seine Kollegen, die Kino immer auch als Waffe gegen den Kapitalismus verstehen, ist für Rubén Gámez der ideologische Kampf nicht mittels Montage und Fotografie zu führen. Er nimmt sich stattdessen die Zeit, in ruhigen Bildern die Verhältnisse der Bauern und den Einfluss der Chemie- und Landwirtschaftsindustrie zu dokumentieren. Mit Blick auf die derzeitigen TTIP-Verhandlungen ist der Film von geradezu beunruhigender Aktualität. Außerdem schlägt Los murmullos formal und über die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Arbeit eine Brücke über das Programm: Von Brasilien, wo wir in langen Einstellungen einen Fischer bei seinen immer gleichen Arbeitsabläufen beobachten, die vom Rhythmus und der Kraft des Meeres bestimmt werden (Das águas que passam I Vorbeifließende Wasser von Diego Zon), bis nach Taiwan mit den Wanderarbeitern in Jin zhi xia mao (Ankern verboten) von Chiang Wei Liang. In Taiwan leben Arbeitsmigranten in rechtlosen Räumen und in starker Abhängigkeit von ihren Schleppern, die in den ersten Jahren so gut wie den gesamten Lohn kassieren. Ein weit verbreitetes Problem, das wir in den Shorts nur anreißen können. Auch Chiang Wei Liang konzentriert sich in ruhigen Bildern ganz auf ein Paar mit seinem Kind. Er inszeniert ein Kammerspiel im öffentlichen Raum, in seiner Konzentration exemplarisch für das Schicksal so vieler.

Wir schließen das Festival mit Estate (Sommer) von Ronny Trocker. Der Film ist inspiriert von einer Fotografie von Juan Medina, die 2006 am Strand von Gran Tarajal in Spanien aufgenommen wurde. Im Vordergrund ein erschöpfter Migrant, im Hintergrund Menschen in den Sommerferien, die sich überhaupt nicht stören lassen. Im Film sind die Feriengäste in ihren Posen erstarrte Wachsfiguren, nur der Ton ist lebendig. Meeresrauschen. Kinderstimmen. Durch die Kameralinse eines Urlaubers fällt der Blick auf einen Schwarzen, der gerade angekommen ist. Er ist der einzige, der sich bewegen kann, der sich innerhalb der Situation verortet und schließlich wegläuft.

Estate von Ronny Trocker