Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2016

International Jury

Meryl Streep (USA)

Meryl Streep has appeared in over 40 films and is considered one of the world’s most talented and versatile actresses. She has received countless awards and nominations, including three wins among her unprecedented 19 Oscar nominations. She was honoured with a Golden Globe eight times and nominated an additional 20 times. Meryl Streep’s international breakthrough came in the late 1970s with the TV series Holocaust and Michael Cimino’s The Deer Hunter (1978, her first Oscar nomination), as well as the couples drama Kramer vs. Kramer (D: Robert Benton, 1979), for which she garnered her first Oscar statuette. She won further Academy Awards for her compelling performance in Sophie’s Choice (D: Alan J. Pakula, 1982) as well as her portrayal of Margaret Thatcher in The Iron Lady (D: Phyllida Lloyd, 2011). Meryl Streep has been a guest at the Berlin International Film Festival on a number of occasions. In 1999, she was awarded the Berlinale Camera and, in 2003, she shared the Silver Bear with Julianne Moore and Nicole Kidman for their performances in The Hours (D: Stephen Daldry). In 2006, she could again be seen in the Berlinale Competition in Robert Altman’s ensemble comedy A Prairie Home Companion. The 2012 Berlinale Homage was dedicated to Meryl Streep and she was also awarded an Honorary Golden Bear for lifetime achievement. Most recently, Meryl Streep excelled in films such as the historical drama Suffragette (D: Sarah Gavron, 2015), Ricki and the Flash (D: Jonathan Demme, 2015) and the musical Into the Woods (D: Rob Marshall, 2014). She will next be seen in Stephen Frear’s Florence Foster Jenkins. As president of the Berlinale 2016 jury, Meryl Streep takes on the role of a juror at a film festival for the first time in her longstanding career.

Lars Eidinger (Germany)

Lars Eidinger is one of Germany’s most accomplished actors. He alternates between stage, screen and television roles without difficulty. Since 1999, he has been a member of the ensemble at Berlin’s Schaubühne theatre, where he has also directed plays. His most outstanding performances on the stage include Thomas Ostermeier’s production of “Hamlet”, which Eidinger has played nationally and internationally over 250 times since 2008.
His breakthrough on the screen was in Maren Ade’s Everyone Else, which won the Jury Grand Prix (Silver Bear) at the Berlinale in 2009. He participated in the Berlinale Competition again in 2012 with Home for the Weekend (D: Hans-Christian Schmid), and in 2015 with Sworn Virgin (D: Laura Bispuri). In that same year he was also in the Panorama section with Dora or the Sexual Neuroses of Our Parents (D: Stina Werenfels). Eidinger, who has received many prizes, such as the Grimme Award and the German Film Critics’ Award, has played in international cinema productions, including most recently the period drama Matilda (D: Alexey Uchitel). Now, after Clouds of Sils Maria, he is working with Olivier Assayas again, as well as with Philipp Kadelbach in London, on the BBC series SS-GB starring Sam Riley.

Nick James (United Kingdom)

Nick James is an internationally renowned film critic, author and programmer from the United Kingdom. In the late 1980s he began to write articles about film for “City Limits” magazine, where he soon became head of the film section. Since 1997 he is editor of the internationally celebrated film magazine “Sight & Sound”. His articles on film, art and literature have been published in, for instance, “The Guardian”, “The Observer”, “The Independent”, “Vogue”, the “London Review of Books” and “The Literary Review”. In 2002 “Heat”, his book about Michael Mann’s film of the same name, was published. In 2010 he received the title of Chevalier de L’ordre des arts et des lettres from the French Ministry of Culture. Since 2012 he has curated the “Deep Focus” film series, which is put on twice a year by the British Film Institute at BFI Southbank.

Brigitte Lacombe (France)

Since the 1970s, French photographer Brigitte Lacombe, who lives in New York, has ranked among the world’s best-known and most successful artists in her field. Her photographs frequently appear in publications such as “Vanity Fair”, “Vogue”, “The New Yorker”, “Zeit Magazin”, “The Financial Times”, and “The New York Times Magazine”. In 1975, one of her first big assignments took her to the Cannes Film Festival and ever since she has had very close links to the world of cinema. She works regularly as a special photographer visiting the film sets of directors such as Martin Scorsese, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Spike Jonze, Sam Mendes, David Mamet and Michael Haneke. From 2009 to 2013, she was commissioned by the Doha Film Institute (DFI) to take portraits of over 350 international filmmakers and actors, mostly from the Middle East region. Lacombe, who has received many prizes, including the Art Directors Club’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Photography, has published two books to date: “Lacombe anima / persona” (Steidl-Dangin, 2008) and “Lacombe cinema / theatre” (Schirmer/Mosel, 2001).

Clive Owen (United Kingdom)

In 1991, right at the start of his career, Berlinale audiences got to see Clive Owen in Stephen Poliakoff’s Close My Eyes, which screened in the Panorama section. With it the English actor began a long list of impressive performances in which he has succeeded in balancing small arthouse productions such as Croupier (D: Mike Hodges, 1998) or Shadow Dancer (D: James Marsh, Competition - out of competition 2012) with big mainstream hits such as Sin City (2005). He received the Golden Globe and a nomination for an Oscar for Mike Nichols’s Closer (2005), and worked with directors such as Robert Altman (Gosford Park, 2001), Alfonso Cuarón (Children of Men, 2006) and Spike Lee (Inside Man, 2006). Owen, who is currently playing the lead in Soderbergh’s TV series The Knick (since 2014), for which he has been Golden Globe nominated, starred in Tom Tykwer’s political thriller The International (2008), which opened the Berlinale in 2009. This spring he will begin production on Luc Besson’s Valérian and the City of a Thousand Planets.

Alba Rohrwacher (Italy)

Alba Rohrwacher numbers amongst the most important actress of her generation. The daughter of a German father and Italian mother, she made her feature film debut with An Italian Romance (D: Carlo Mazzacurati) in 2004. Since then she has worked with numerous renowned Italian and international directors. She has already won the Italian David di Donatello film award twice (2007 and 2008). In 2009 she was celebrated as a European Shooting Star at the Berlinale and in Venice in 2014 she won the Coppa Volpi for Best Actress for her performance in Hungry Hearts (D: Saverio Costanzo). She had already made two Berlinale Special guest appearances, with What More Do I Want (D: Silvio Soldini, 2010) and Doris Dörrie's Bliss (2012), before she shone in the lead role in Laura Bispuri's 2015 Competition entry Sworn Virgin. Amongst her other successes are I Am Love (2009) by Luca Guadagnino, Dormant Beauty by Marco Bellocchio (2012) and Alice Rohrwacher’s The Wonders (2014).

Małgorzata Szumowska (Poland)

Małgorzata Szumowska is among Poland’s most prominent filmmakers. She graduated in film directing from the Polish National Film, Television and Theatre School in Łódź. She has won several international awards and her films have been presented at the most important film festivals worldwide. Her first two feature films, Happy Man (2000) and Stranger (2004) were both nominated by the European Film Academy for European Discovery of the Year. The next movie 33 Scenes from Life was awarded at the film festival in Locarno. Szumowska’s films have been seen frequently in Berlin. Stranger was shown in the Panorama section in 2005. In 2012, Elles starring Juliette Binoche opened the Panorama and went on to theatrical distribution in more than 40 countries. Her first film in Competition at the Berlin International Film Festival was In the Name of, which won the Teddy Award at the 63rd Berlinale. Małgorzata Szumowska was seen in Competition here most recently in 2015, with Body, for which she won the Silver Bear for Best Director. The film went on to garner the most awards of any Polish film in 2015.

Best First Feature Jury

Michel Franco (Mexico)

Director and producer Michel Franco was born in Mexico City and started making films whilst he was still a student. After various short films and commercials, he celebrated his feature debut in 2009 with Daniel & Ana, which was invited to the Directors' Fortnight sidebar in Cannes. Three years later he received the Un Certain Regard Award for After Lucia, also in Cannes. In 2015 he returned to the Croisette, where his Chronic, with Tim Roth in the lead role, won the Best Screenplay Award in the Competition. That same year 600 Miles, which Franco produced and was directed by Gabriel Ripstein, screened in the Panorama section of the Berlinale, winning the award for Best First Feature. Franco was also involved as a producer in the Venezuelan-Mexican coproduction Desde allá (D: Lorenzo Vigas), which won the Golden Lion at the 2015 Venice Film Festival.

Enrico Lo Verso (Italy)

Enrico Lo Verso was born in Palermo in 1964 and grew up in Syracuse. His first leading role, in The Stolen Children (1992) by Gianni Amelio, brought the Sicilian actor to international attention as well as gaining him nominations for the European Film Award and the Golden Globes in the Best Actor category. Following this he appeared before the camera for Gérard Corbiau in Farinelli (1994), Gianni Amelio in Lamerica (1994, European Film Award) and Ridley Scott in Hannibal (2001). He went on to later film with Giuseppe Tornatore Baarìa (2009). In addition, he has worked with such greats as Ettore Scola and Ricky Tognazzi. In 2012 audiences saw him in Edoardo Ponti's The Nightshift Belongs to the Stars, which won the Best Narrative Short award at the Tribeca Film Festival.

Ursula Meier (Switzerland)

Part Swiss part French director Ursula Meier studied film at the Institut des Arts de Diffusion (IAD) in Belgium. She was second assistant director on two films by Alain Tanner while also making her own short films. After two documentaries, she directed the TV film Strong Shoulders for Arte. Her first feature for the big screen, Home, premiered at the 2008 Cannes Film Festival Semaine de la Critique. Her next film, Sister, was shown in Competition at the 2012 Berlinale and won a Silver Bear Special Award. Both films were the Swiss submissions for Best Foreign Language Film Oscar, Home in 2009 and Sister in 2013. Ursula Meier directed the Quiet Mujo segment of the omnibus film Bridges of Sarajevo presented in official selection at the 2014 Cannes Film Festival. Ursula Meier was at the 2015 Berlinale with her documentary short Kacey Mottet Klein, Birth of an Actor (Generation).

International Short Film Jury

Katerina Gregos (Greece)

Katerina Gregos is a curator, writer and lecturer. She has curated, for instance, the Belgian Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennale, and the 5th Thessaloniki Biennial: “Between the Pessimism of the Spirit and the Optimism of the Will” (both 2015); “The Politics of Play” for the 7th Göteborg Biennial (2013); “Newtopia: The State of Human Rights” in Mechelen and Brussels, as well as the Manifesta 9 (all 2012); “Speech Matters” for the Danish Pavilion at the 54th Venice Biennale, and the 4th Fotofestival Mannheim-Ludwigshafen-Heidelberg (both 2011); Contour: the 4th Biennial of Moving Image, Belgium (2009). Prior to that Gregos was artistic director of Argos Centre for Art and Media in Brussels.

Sheikha Hoor Al-Qasimi (United Arab Emirates)

Sheikha Hoor Al-Qasimi is president and director of the Sharjah Art Foundation, director of the Sharjah Biennial and is on the Board of Directors of MoMA PS1 in New York, and of the KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin. In 2012 she was on the selection committee of the 7th Berlin Biennale. Al-Qasimi curated the United Arab Emirates Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015. Furthermore, she works as an artist and lecturer and is currently Scholar in Residence at The Institute for Comparative Modernities (ICM) at Cornell University.

Avi Mograbi (Israel)

Avi Mograbi works as a filmmaker, video artist and lecturer. His films have been presented at numerous festivals. Mograbi’s previous Berlinale films comprise At the Back/The Details (Forum Expanded 2012), Detail (Forum 2004) and August (Forum 2002); he presented Avenge But One of My Two Eyes at Cannes Film Festival (Out of Competition, 2005). The Berlin Akademie der Künste conferred him with the Konrad Wolf Prize for Outstanding Artistic Achievement in 2009. In 2011 he was invited to participate in the DAAD Berlin Artists-in-Residence programme. Mograbi studied Art and Philosophy in Tel Aviv and at the Hamidrasha School of Art.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the Festival Director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

The members of the 2016 Generation Kplus Children's Jury: Fabian Behrendt, Mathilda Fastabend, Felix Fuentes-Hare, Julian Leisle, Lilia Channary Noack, Mette Maren Schmahl, Fritzi Schneider-Reuter, Moritz Süßenbach, Sophie Tischmann, Tamino Köhne, Irma Weiche.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The members of the 2016 Generation 14plus Youth Jury: Vincent Edusei, Emilia Forck, Mira Leskien, Carlotta Saumweber, Tim Schiffer and Esther Siebelitz.

Generation Kplus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation). The "Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk.

Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2016 were: Anne Kodura, Nagesh Kukunoor and Kathy Loizou.

Generation 14plus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The "Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.

Members of the Generation 14plus International Jury 2016 were: Sam de Jong, Petros Silvestros and Liz Watts.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2016

Internationale Jury

Meryl Streep (USA)

Meryl Streep wirkte in mehr als 40 Filmen mit und gilt als eine der talentiertesten und vielseitigsten Schauspielerinnen weltweit, erhielt zahllose Preise und Nominierungen, inklusive ihrer beispiellosen 19 Oscar-Nominierungen. Dreimal gewann sie den begehrten Preis. Insgesamt acht Mal wurde sie mit dem Golden Globe ausgezeichnet, weitere 20 Mal erhielt sie eine Nominierung. Der internationale Durchbruch gelang Meryl Streep Ende der 1970er Jahre mit der TV-Serie Holocaust, Michael Ciminos The Deer Hunter (1978, erste Oscar-Nominierung) und mit dem Scheidungsdrama Kramer gegen Kramer (R: Robert Benton, 1979), für das sie ihren ersten Oscar erhielt. Weitere Academy Awards brachten ihr die intensive Darstellung in Sophies Entscheidung (R: Alan J. Pakula, 1982) ein sowie ihre Rolle der Margaret Thatcher in Die Eiserne Lady (R: Phyllida Lloyd, 2011). Auf der Berlinale wurde sie nicht nur 1999 mit der Berlinale Kamera und 2012 mit einem Goldenen Ehrenbären für ihr Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet, sondern gewann auch gemeinsam mit Nicole Kidman und Julianne Moore 2003 den Silbernen Bären als Beste Darstellerin für The Hours – Von Ewigkeit zu Ewigkeit. 2006 war sie mit Robert Altman’s Last Radio Show erneut im Wettbewerb vertreten. Zuletzt war Streep unter anderem in so unterschiedlichen Filmen wie Suffragette – Taten statt Worte von Sarah Gavron, Jonathan Demmes Ricki – Wie Familie so ist oder dem Musical Into the Woods zu sehen. In Kürze wird sie in Stephen Frears Florence Foster Jenkins zu sehen sein. Als Jury-Präsidentin der Berlinale 2016 übernimmt sie erstmals in ihrer langen Karriere die Jurorenaufgabe bei einem Filmfestival.

Lars Eidinger (Deutschland)

Lars Eidinger gehört zu den prominentesten deutschen Darstellern. Er wechselt spielend zwischen Bühnen-, Kino- und Fernsehrollen. Seit 1999 gehört er zum Ensemble der Berliner Schaubühne, wo er zum Teil auch selbst inszeniert. Zu seinen herausragenden Bühnenarbeiten gehört die „Hamlet“-Inszenierung von Thomas Ostermeier, mit der er seit 2008 über 250 Mal auf nationalen und internationalen Bühnen gestanden hat.
Der Durchbruch im Kino gelang ihm mit Maren Ades Alle anderen, der bei der Berlinale 2009 den Großen Preis der Jury (Silberner Bär) gewann. Im Berlinale-Wettbewerb war er erneut 2012 mit Was bleibt (R: Hans-Christian Schmid) und 2015 mit Vergine giurata (Sworn Virgin, R: Laura Bispuri) sowie mit Dora oder Die sexuellen Neurosen unserer Eltern (R: Stina Werenfels) im Panorama 2015. Eidinger, der unter anderem mit dem Grimme-Preis und dem Preis der deutschen Filmkritik ausgezeichnet wurde, spielt auch in internationalen Kinoproduktionen, darunter zuletzt im russischen Historiendrama Matilda (R: Aleksey Uchitel). Nach Die Wolken von Sils Maria arbeitet er aktuell erneut mit Olivier Assayas und dreht mit Philipp Kadelbach in London die BBC Serie SS-GB mit Sam Riley.

Nick James (Großbritannien)

Nick James ist ein international renommierter Filmkritiker, Autor und Kurator aus Großbritannien. Ende der 1980er Jahre begann er für „City Limits“ über Film zu schreiben, wo er bald zum Leiter des Filmressorts avancierte. Seit 1997 ist er Redakteur des international renommierten Filmmagazins „Sight & Sound“. Seine Artikel zu Film, Kunst und Literatur erschienen unter anderem in „The Guardian”, „The Observer”, „The Independent”, der „Vogue”, „The London Review of Books” und „The Literary Review”. „Heat“, sein Buch über den gleichnamigen Film von Michael Mann wurde 2002 veröffentlicht. 2010 wurde er vom französischen Kulturministerium mit dem Titel Chevalier de L’ordre des arts et des lettres ausgezeichnet. Seit 2012 kuratiert er die zweimal jährlich stattfindende Filmreihe „Deep Focus“ des British Film Institute beim BFI Southbank.

Brigitte Lacombe (Frankreich)

Die in New York lebende Französin Brigitte Lacombe gehört seit den 1970er Jahren zu den bekanntesten und erfolgreichsten Fotografinnen der Welt, deren Bilder regelmäßig in Publikationen wie „Vanity Fair“, „Vogue“, „The New Yorker“, „Zeit Magazin“, „The Financial Times“ und „The New York Times Magazine“ zu sehen sind. Seit einer ihrer ersten großen Aufträge sie 1975 zum Filmfestival in Cannes führte, ist sie dem Kino ganz besonders verbunden und fotografiert regelmäßig die Dreharbeiten von Regisseuren wie Martin Scorsese, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Spike Jonze, Sam Mendes, David Mamet oder Michael Haneke. Von 2009 bis 2013 machte sie im Auftrag des Doha Film Institutes (DFI) Aufnahmen von über 350 internationalen Filmemachern und Schauspielern, überwiegend aus dem Nahen Osten. Lacombe, die unter anderem vom Art Directors Club für ihr Lebenswerk ausgezeichnet wurde, veröffentlichte bislang die Bücher „Lacombe anima / persona“ (Steidl-Dangin, 2008) und „Lacombe cinema / theater“ (Schirmer/Mosel, 2001).

Clive Owen (Großbritannien)

Dem Berlinale-Publikum präsentierte sich Clive Owen gleich zu Beginn seiner Karriere, als er 1991 mit Stephen Poliakoffs Schließe meine Augen, Begehre oder Töte mich im Panorama vertreten war. Damit hat der Engländer seine beeindruckende Laufbahn begonnen, in der ihm immer wieder der Spagat zwischen kleinen Arthouse-Produktionen wie Croupier (R: Mike Hodges, 1998) oder Shadow Dancer (R: James Marsh, Wettbewerb - außer Konkurrenz 2012) und großen Mainstream-Erfolgen wie Sin City (2005) gelingt. Er erhielt für Hautnah von Mike Nichols den Golden Globe (2005) sowie eine Oscar-Nominierung, stand vor der Kamera von Regisseuren wie Robert Altman (Gosford Park, 2001), Alfonso Cuarón (Children of Men, 2006) oder Spike Lee (Inside Man, 2006). Mit Tom Tykwer drehte Owen den Politthriller The International (2008), der 2009 die Berlinale eröffnete. Seit 2014 spielt er die Hauptrolle in Steven Soderberghs TV-Serie The Knick, für die er eine Golden-Globe-Nominierung erhielt. Im Frühjahr beginnen die Dreharbeiten zu Luc Bessons Valerian und die Stadt der Tausend Planeten.

Alba Rohrwacher (Italien)

Alba Rohrwacher zählt zu den wichtigsten Schauspielerinnen ihrer Generation. Die Tochter eines deutschen Vaters und einer italienischen Mutter gab 2004 mit L’amore ritrovato (R: Carlo Mazzacurati) ihr Leinwanddebüt, seither arbeitet sie mit zahlreichen renommierten italienischen und internationalen Regisseuren zusammen. Bereits zweimal (2007 und 2008) wurde sie mit dem italienischen Filmpreis David di Donatello ausgezeichnet, als European Shooting Star wurde sie 2009 auf der Berlinale geehrt und in Venedig erhielt sie 2014 für Hungry Hearts (R: Saverio Costanzo) die Coppa Volpi als Beste Darstellerin. Bei der Berlinale war sie mit Was will ich mehr (R: Silvio Soldini, 2010) und Doris Dörries Glück (2012) zweimal im Berlinale Special zu Gast, bevor sie 2015 in der Hauptrolle in Laura Bispuris Wettbewerbsbeitrag Vergine giurata (Sworn Virgin) brillierte. Zu ihren weiteren Erfolgen gehören u.a. Ich bin die Liebe (2009) von Luca Guadagnino, Bella addormentata von Marco Bellocchio (2012) und Alice Rohrwachers Land der Wunder (2014).

Małgorzata Szumowska (Polen)

Małgorzata Szumowska ist eine der bekanntesten polnischen Filmemacherinnen. Das Regiehandwerk erlernte sie an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Film, Fernsehen und Theater in Łódź. Sie ist Preisträgerin mehrerer internationaler Auszeichnungen und mit ihren Filmen Stammgast bei den renommiertesten Filmfestivals weltweit. Ihre ersten beiden Spielfilme, Happy Man (2000) und Leben in mir (2004), wurden in der Kategorie Entdeckung des Jahres für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert. Sie gewann für ihre Regiearbeit in 33 Szenen aus dem Leben den Silbernen Leoparden beim Filmfestival in Locarno. Bei der Berlinale war sie bereits mit zahlreichen Filmen vertreten: Leben in mir wurde 2005 im Programm des Panoramas gezeigt sowie 2012 Das bessere Leben mit Juliette Binoche in der Hauptrolle, der zudem die Sektion eröffnete und in über 40 Ländern in die Kinos kam. Ihr erster Wettbewerbsbeitrag Im Namen des… bei den 63. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin wurde mit dem Teddy Award ausgezeichnet. Zuletzt war Małgorzata Szumowska mit Body im Wettbewerb 2015 zu sehen, für den sie mit dem Silbernen Bären für die Beste Regie geehrt wurde. Body war der am häufigsten ausgezeichnete polnische Film im Jahr 2015.

Jury Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Michel Franco (Mexiko)

Der in Mexico City geborene Regisseur und Produzent Michel Franco begann während seines Studiums mit dem Filmemachen. Nach verschiedenen Kurzfilmen und Werbeclips wurde er 2009 mit seinem Spielfilmdebüt Daniel & Ana in die Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes eingeladen. Drei Jahre später erhielt er für After Lucia, ebenfalls in Cannes, den Prix Un Certain Regard. 2015 kehrte er an die Croisette zurück, wo er für Chronic mit Tim Roth in der Hauptrolle im Wettbewerb mit dem Drehbuchpreis bedacht wurde. Im gleichen Jahr lief auf der Berlinale der von Franco produzierte Film 600 Millas von Regisseur Gabriel Ripstein in der Sektion Panorama, der als bester Erstlingsfilms ausgezeichnet wurde. Franco wirkte außerdem als Produzent an der venezolanisch–mexikanischen Koproduktion Desde allá von Lorenzo Vigas mit, der 2015 den Goldenen Löwen bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Venedig gewonnen hat.

Enrico Lo Verso (Italien)

Enrico Lo Verso wurde 1964 in Palermo geboren und wuchs in Syrakus auf. Seine erste Hauptrolle in Gestohlene Kinder (1992) von Gianni Amelio verhalf dem sizilianischen Schauspieler bereits zum internationalen Durchbruch. Er erhielt eine Nominierung sowohl als Bester Schauspieler für den Europäischen Filmpreis als auch für die Golden Globes. Anschließend stand er für Gérard Corbiau in Farinelli, der Kastrat (1994), für Gianni Amelio in Lamerica (1994, Europäischer Filmpreis) und für Ridley Scott in Hannibal (2001) vor der Kamera und drehte später mit Giuseppe Tornatore Baarìa – Eine italienische Familiengeschichte (2009). Darüber hinaus arbeitete er mit Größen wie Ettore Scola und Ricky Tognazzi. 2012 war er in Edoardo Pontis The Nightshift Belongs to the Stars zu sehen, der beim Tribeca Film Festival mit dem Preis für den Besten Kurzen Spielfilm ausgezeichnet wurde.

Ursula Meier (Schweiz)

Die schweizerisch-französische Regisseurin Ursula Meier studierte Film am Institut des Arts de Diffusion (IAD) in Belgien. Sie war zweite Regieassistentin bei zwei Filmen von Alain Tanner. Zeitgleich arbeitete sie an ihren eigenen Kurzfilmen. Nach zwei Dokumentarfilmen führte sie für die Arte-Produktion Strong Shoulders Regie. Ihr Spielfilmdebüt Home feierte bei der Semaine de la Critique Premiere. 2012 war sie mit ihrem nächsten Film, Winterdieb, im Wettbewerb der Berlinale zu Gast, der den Silbernen Bären als Sonderpreis gewann. Home und Winterdieb waren die Schweizer Beiträge für den Oscar in der Kategorie Bester Fremdsprachiger Film 2009 und 2013. Ursula Meier führte bei dem Kapitel Quiet Mujo des Episodenfilms Bridges of Sarajevo, der im Wettbewerb in Cannes 2014 gezeigt wurde, Regie. Ihr Kurzdokumentarfilm Kacey Mottet Klein, Birth of an Actor wurde 2015 auf der Berlinale in der Sektion Generation gezeigt.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Katerina Gregos (Griechenland)

Katerina Gregos ist Kuratorin, Autorin und Dozentin. Zu den von ihr kuratierten Projekten gehören: der Belgische Pavillon der 56. Biennale von Venedig, die Hauptausstellung der 5. Biennale von Thessaloniki: „Between the Pessimism of the Spirit and the Optimism of the Will” (beide 2015); „The Politics of Play” für die 7. Göteborg Biennale (2013); „Newtopia: The State of Human Rights” gezeigt in Mechelen, Brüssel sowie auf der Manifesta 9 (2012); „Speech Matters” für den Dänischen Pavillon der 54. Biennale von Venedig und das 4. Fotofestival Mannheim-Ludwigshafen-Heidelberg (beide 2011); Contour: the 4th Biennial of Moving Image, Belgien (2009). Zuvor war Gregos künstlerische Leiterin des Argos Centre for Art and Media in Brüssel.

Sheikha Hoor Al-Qasimi (Vereinigte Arabische Emirate)

Sheikha Hoor Al-Qasimi ist Präsidentin und Direktorin der Sharjah Art Foundation und Leiterin der Sharjah Biennale sowie u.a. im Aufsichtsrat des MoMA PS1, New York, und des KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, vertreten und war 2012 Teil des Auswahlkomitees der 7. Berlin Biennale. 2015 kuratierte sie den Pavillon der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate der 56. Biennale von Venedig. Sie arbeitet zudem als Künstlerin und Dozentin und ist gegenwärtig Scholar in Residence am Institute for Comparative Modernities (ICM) der Cornell University.

Avi Mograbi (Israel)

Avi Mograbi arbeitet als Filmemacher, Videokünstler und Dozent. Seine filmischen Arbeiten präsentierte Mograbi auf zahlreichen Festivals. Auf der Berlinale zeigte er At the Back/The Details (Forum Expanded 2012), Detail (Forum 2004) und August (Forum 2002), bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes Avenge But One of My Two Eyes (Out of Competition 2005). Von der Akademie der Künste in Berlin erhielt er 2009 den Konrad-Wolf-Preis für seine herausragenden künstlerischen Leistungen. 2011 war er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Er studierte Kunst in Tel Aviv und Philosophie an der Hamidrasha School of Art.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Die Mitglieder der Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2016: Fabian Behrendt, Mathilda Fastabend, Felix Fuentes-Hare, Julian Leisle, Lilia Channary Noack, Mette Maren Schmahl, Fritzi Schneider-Reuter, Moritz Süßenbach, Sophie Tischmann, Tamino Köhne, Irma Weiche.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus 2016: Vincent Edusei, Emilia Forck, Mira Leskien, Carlotta Saumweber, Tim Schiffer und Esther Siebelitz.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk.

2016 wurden in die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury berufen: Anne Kodura, Nagesh Kukunoor und Kathy Loizou.

Generation 14plus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.

2016 wurden in die Generation 14plus Internationale Jury berufen: Sam de Jong, Petros Silvestros und Liz Watts.