Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Additional Information

Mar 16, 2015:
The Berlinale Mourns the Loss of Lia van Leer

Wim Wenders and Lia van Leer 2011 at the awarding of the Berlinale Camera

On March 13, Lia van Leer, the doyenne of Israeli cinema, died at the age of 90. Lia van Leer was the founder of the cinematheques in Haifa, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, and established the Israel Film Archive as well as the Jerusalem Film Festival.

"Lia van Leer was a striking personality whose commitment to cinema and to Israeli filmmaking in particular was incomparable. We have lost a fervent advocate of the seventh art. But above all Lia was a good friend whom I will miss greatly", says Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

In the 1950s Lia van Leer already had a great passion for international cinema. With her husband Wim, she launched several film clubs and the Israel Film Archive in 1960. She also founded the cinematheques in Haifa, Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, as well as many other initiatives. In 1984 she established the Jerusalem Film Festival, whose director she remained until a few years ago. She received countless awards, including the prestigious Israel Prize for Lifetime Achievement for her contribution to society and the state of Israel. Lia van Leer was invited to the Berlinale many times and was president of the International Jury in 1995. In 2003 she mentored the festival’s new initiative, the Berlinale Talent Campus. In 2011 the Berlin International Film Festival awarded Lia van Leer the Berlinale Camera.


Press Office
March 16, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (193 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Zusätzliches

16.03.2015:
Die Berlinale trauert um Lia van Leer

Wim Wenders und Lia van Leer 2011 bei der Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera

Im Alter von 90 Jahren ist am 13. März Lia van Leer, die Doyenne des israelischen Kinos gestorben. Lia van Leer war die Gründerin der Kinematheken in Haifa, Tel Aviv und Jerusalem und initiierte sowohl das israelische Filmarchiv als auch das Filmfestival Jerusalem.

„Lia van Leer war eine beeindruckende Persönlichkeit, deren Engagement für das Kino und ganz besonders für das israelische Filmschaffen unvergleichlich war. Wir haben eine Kämpferin für die siebte Kunst verloren. Aber Lia war vor allem auch eine gute Freundin, deren Verlust mir nahe geht“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Bereits in den 50er Jahren entwickelte Lia van Leer eine ausgeprägte Leidenschaft für das internationale Kino. Zusammen mit ihrem Ehemann Wim rief sie mehrere Filmclubs ins Leben und gründete 1960 das Israel Film Archive. Es folgten die Haifa, Tel Aviv und Jerusalem Kinematheken und viele weitere Initiativen. 1984 gründete sie das Jerusalem Film Festival, dessen Direktorin sie bis vor einigen Jahren blieb. Sie wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem erhielt sie 2004 den renommierten Israel Prize für ihr Lebenswerk und ihren Beitrag für die Gesellschaft und den Staat Israel. Lia van Leer war mehrfach zu Gast bei der Berlinale und übernahm 1995 den Vorsitz der Internationalen Jury. 2003 war sie beim ersten Berlinale Talent Campus Patin für die junge Initiative.

2011 ehrten die Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin Lia van Leer mit der Auszeichnung der Berlinale Kamera.


Presseabteilung
16. März 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (194 KB)