Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Awards

Feb 14, 2015:
Berlinale 2015: Crystal Bears and Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk Awards in Generation Kplus

Min lilla syster, Dhanak, Hadiatt Abi, The Tie

The members of the Children’s Jury in Generation Kplus

Nathan J. Frank
Midori Fuchs
Hannah Kähler
Ilayda Koyuncu
Lasse Kühlcke
Jascha Richter
Anaïs Rother
Alanza Schmidt
Joseph Askar Schönfelder
Gustav Wallgren
Béla Eric Winde

give the following awards:

Crystal Bear for the Best Film: Min lilla syster (My Skinny Sister)
by Sanna Lenken, Sweden / Germany 2015
The film’s unique perspective, stunning performances and challenging theme really touched our hearts.

Special Mention: Dhanak (Rainbow)
by Nagesh Kukunoor, India 2014
This year, we chose a colorful, touching and humorous film. The story and the performances of the young protagonists impressed us deeply.

Crystal Bear for the Best Short Film: Hadiatt Abi (Gift of My Father)
by Salam Salman, Iraq / Great Britain / Netherlands / USA 2014
We liked the short film because it is sad and touching at the same time. Based on a true event, the film is shocking and striking, with the last scene in particular being really convincing.

Special Mention Short Film: The Tie
by An Vrombaut, Belgium 2014
The story is thrilling and sweetly told, a film made for all generations. We were enchanted by the exciting animation.

Dhanak, Min lilla syster, Giovanni en het waterballet, Agnes

The members of the International Jury Generation Kplus

Bettina Blümner
Tom Hern
Michal Matus

give the following awards:

The Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury for the best feature film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk: Dhanak (Rainbow)
by Nagesh Kukunoor, India 2014
This dynamically-directed film delivers joy and heartbreak in equal measure - the young brother and sister at its heart and the unbreakable love between them are irresistible. As we journey across the country with these two young people, we become deeply invested in their quirky “against all odds” quest. We were constantly surprised by the twists and turns in their journey, and the unusual, eccentric characters that awaits them at each and every juncture! Filled with color, magic, music, spontaneity and a plenty of emotion, this film lives up to its name and delivers a celebration of life to savor long after the end credits roll!

Special Mention: Min lilla syster (My Skinny Sister)
by Sanna Lenken, Sweden / Germany 2015
The script of this feature film is well-balanced and thoughtfully structured. The direction is considered and convincing, and the performances - particularly that of its talented young leading lady ¬- are superb. Despite tackling a challenging issue head-on, the filmmakers succeed in delivering real humor and charm as well as uneasy tension and visceral emotion.

The Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury for the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk: Giovanni en het waterballet (Giovanni and the Water Ballet)
by Astrid Bussink, Netherlands 2014
This exceptionally charming, laugh-out-loud-hilarious, piece of cinema about a very special, charismatic boy with an unusual dream, not only won the hearts of Generation Kplus audiences, but ours too! We are endeared by the priceless, intimate moments that we are invited to share with the film’s hero and heroine. We conclude that such honest moments could only be captured by a filmmaking team that had truly earned the trust of their subjects - and for this, we applaud the director and the team. This film is visually dynamic, funny and has a poignant, inspiring, although understated message. Simply put, we fell in love with this boy.

Special Mention: Agnes
by Anja Lind, Sweden 2014
This delicate, sensitive film invites the audience into a very young protagonist’s perspective - where we are able to understand and empathize with her hurt and vulnerability. The restrained performances are pitched at befittingly natural level and the cinematography and sound support the story beautifully whilst never becoming obvious.

Award ceremony and screening of the winning film today at 3.30 p.m. at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Cinema 1.


Press Office
February 14, 2015

Download PressRelease (152 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Preise und Ehrungen

14.02.2015:
Berlinale 2015: Gläserne Bären und Preise des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes bei Generation Kplus

Min lilla syster, Dhanak, Hadiatt Abi, The Tie

Die Mitglieder der Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Nathan J. Frank
Midori Fuchs
Hannah Kähler
Ilayda Koyuncu
Lasse Kühlcke
Jascha Richter
Anaïs Rother
Alanza Schmidt
Joseph Askar Schönfelder
Gustav Wallgren
Béla Eric Winde

vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Film: Min lilla syster (My Skinny Sister)
von Sanna Lenken, Schweden / Deutschland 2015
Durch die neue Perspektive und die beeindruckende schauspielerische Leistung berührt uns der Film mit seiner schwierigen Thematik zutiefst. Die ausdrucksstarke Musik unterstreicht die tollen und schönen Bilder.

Lobende Erwähnung: Dhanak (Rainbow)
von Nagesh Kukunoor, Indien 2014
In diesem Jahr haben wir einen sehr bunten, berührenden und humorvollen Film ausgesucht. Die Geschichte und die schauspielerische Leistung der Kinder beeindrucken uns sehr.

Gläserner Bär für den Besten Kurzfilm: Hadiatt Abi (Gift of My Father)
von Salam Salman, Irak / Großbritannien / Niederlande / USA 2014
Wir mögen den Kurzfilm, weil er traurig und berührend zugleich ist. Der Film, der auf einer wahren Geschichte beruht, ist schockierend und beeindruckend. Insbesondere die Schlussszene hat uns alle überzeugt.

Lobende Erwähnung: The Tie
von An Vrombaut, Belgien 2014
Die Geschichte ist spannend und süß erzählt, wie gemacht für alle Generationen. Die tollen Animationen begeistern uns.

Dhanak, Min lilla syster, Giovanni en het waterballet, Agnes

Die Mitglieder der Internationalen Jury Generation Kplus

Bettina Blümner
Tom Hern
Michal Matus

vergeben die folgenden Preise:

Großer Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus für den besten Langfilm, im Wert von € 7.500, gestiftet vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk: Dhanak (Rainbow)
von Nagesh Kukunoor, Indien 2014
Die dynamische Regieführung des Films birgt gleichermaßen Freude und Herzzerbrechen – im Mittelpunkt stehen ein kleiner Junge und seine Schwester und deren unzertrennliche Liebe zueinander. Wir begleiten diese zwei jungen Menschen auf ihrer Reise und werden in ein skurriles Abenteuer voller unerwarteter Wendungen verwickelt. Immer wieder wurden wir überrascht von den Drehungen und Wendungen sowie den außergewöhnlichen, teils verschrobenen Charakteren, denen die beiden auf ihrer Reise begegnen. Farbenfroh und voller Magie, Musik, Spontanität und Emotionen wird dieser Film seinem Namen gerecht. Er ist eine Hymne auf das Leben, die noch lange nach dem Abspann zu hören ist.

Lobende Erwähnung: Min lilla syster (My Skinny Sister)
von Sanna Lenken, Schweden / Deutschland 2015
Das Drehbuch des Films zeichnet sich durch seine Ausgewogenheit und seine durchdachte Struktur aus. So wie die Regieführung in ihrer Behutsamkeit überzeugt, so brilliert auch die Darbietung – insbesondere der jungen Hauptdarstellerin. Der Regisseurin gelingt es, ein anspruchsvolles Thema mit viel Humor und Charme zu behandeln und dabei gleichzeitig unangenehme Spannungen und tiefsitzende Gefühle zu vermitteln.

Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus für den besten Kurzfilm, im Wert von € 2.500, gestiftet vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk: Giovanni en het waterballet (Giovanni and the Water Ballet)
von Astrid Bussink, Niederlande 2014
Dieses außergewöhnlich charmante, super-witzige Stück Filmkunst über einen sehr besonderen, charismatischen Jungen mit einem ungewöhnlichen Traum gewann nicht nur die Herzen des Generation-Kplus-Publikums, sondern auch die unseren. Wir sind von den unschlagbaren, intimen Momenten verzaubert, die wir mit dem Helden und der Heldin des Films teilen dürfen. Wir glauben, dass solch ehrliche Momente nur von einem Filmteam eingefangen werden können, welches das ganze Vertrauen seiner Protagonisten genießt - dafür gratulieren wir der Regisseurin und ihrem Team. Dieser Film ist visuell dynamisch, lustig und hat eine ergreifende, inspirierende und dabei unaufdringliche Botschaft. Auf den Punkt gebracht: Wir haben uns in diesen Jungen verliebt.

Lobende Erwähnung: Agnes
von Anja Lind, Schweden 2014
Dieser zarte, feinfühlige Film lässt das Publikum die Perspektive einer sehr jungen Protagonistin einnehmen. Wir lernen ihre Verletzlichkeit zu verstehen und können an ihrem Schmerz teilhaben. Die zurückhaltende Darstellung überzeugt mit ihrer Natürlichkeit und wird dabei von Kameraführung und Tongestaltung auf wunderschöne Art und Weise unterstützt, ohne an Spannung zu verlieren.

Preisverleihung und Vorführung des Preisträgerfilms heute um 15:30 Uhr im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Kino 1.


Presseabteilung
14. Februar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung (152 KB)