Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

World Cinema Fund

Feb 06, 2015:
World Cinema Fund:
New initiatives and two discussion rounds at WCF Day on February 11

The World Cinema Fund (WCF), which celebrated its 10th anniversary in October 2014, is growing and expanding its funding capabilities. Last year, the WCF was able to put forth new initiatives and secure its continued existence for another three years.

The WCF was founded in 2004 as an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation (KSB) and the Berlin International Film Festival, and quickly became one of the leading institutions in the area of international funding for ambitious film projects. The Goethe-Institut became a cooperation partner in 2005. In 2015, the German Federal Foreign Office is increasing its direct commitment and will join the KSB as a main partner of the WCF.

Since 2004, the WCF has granted funding for the production or distribution of 124 projects in total, selected from 2,364 submissions from Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central and Southeast Asia, the Caucasus region, and the countries Nepal, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. All WCF films produced to date have had a cinematic release and / or screened in the programmes of well-known international film festivals - achievements that document the initiative's international success.

WCF-funded films at the 2015 Berlinale

The 2015 Berlinale programme also attests to the WCF's success. Five WCF-funded films are in this year's festival programme.

Competition: Cha và con và (Big Father, Small Father and Other Stories) by Phan Dang Di from Vietnam
Forum: Abaabi ba boda boda (The Boda Boda Thieves) by the "Yes! That’s us" Collective (Uganda / South Africa / Kenya) and Al-wadi (The Valley) by Ghassan Salhab (Lebanon)
NATIVe: Hamaca Paraguaya (Paraguayan Hammock) by Paz Encina (Paraguay 2006) and Madeinusa by Claudia Llosa (Peru 2006)

WCF Europe
The new WCF funding initiative WCF Europe will be made possible starting in 2015 through additional financing by the Creative Europe MEDIA programme of the European Commission. The new initiative will enable the WCF to expand its work beyond its current borders and directly involve European partners as well.
The new programme's objectives include the funding of artistically compelling projects created through co-productions by so-called "small players" - countries that have not been very active, or nearly inactive, until now. With WCF Europe, the WCF aims to actively contribute to the geographic and economic democratisation of the film production landscape.
WCF Europe will also supplement the WCF distribution funding programme, supporting the increased visibility of films from WCF regions and countries inside and outside of Europe, in addition to Germany.

WCF Day, Wednesday, February 11, 2015, 11.00 am
Filmmuseum Berlin – Deutsche Kinemathek, Potsdamerstr. 2, 4th floor

The WCF invites all friends of the WCF, as well as international trade professionals, press, and the festival audience to WCF Day on February 11, 2015. Following a greeting by festival director Dieter Kosslick and WCF project manager Vincenzo Bugno and Lutz Nitsche (German Federal Cultural Foundation), Antje Glawe (WCF) will present the new project WCF on Demand.

WCF on Demand
For WCF on Demand, the WCF is making a selection of ten funded films available to interested viewers worldwide via a video-on-demand platform. The cooperation partner and funding source for WCF on Demand is the German Federal Cultural Foundation (KSB).

Two WCF podium discussions (in English) will take place following the presentation.

Panel Discussion 1, 11.30 am
Not only about cinema / Accepting the challenge

Dealing with fundamentalism, tolerance, freedom of expression
With Viola Shafik (director, film theorist, Egypt – Germany), Sepideh Farsi (director, Iran - France), Ala Al-Hamarneh (Center for Research on the Arab World CERAW, Mainz University, Jordan - Germany); Cristina Nord (film critic, Die Tageszeitung, Germany), Alin Öjeni Tasçiyan (film critic, Turkey)

When can art be regarded as opposition? When a breaking of taboo? When a moral violation? Who decides, and under what circumstances? Art as transgression: A (historical) cinematic and non-cinematic exploration.

Panel Discussion 2, 1.00 pm
Priority: Distribution

Visibility of cinema from Latin America, Africa, Middle East and other regions in Europe and outside of Europe
With Jan de Clercq (Lumière Films, Belgium), Alaa Karkouti (MAD Solutions, Egypt), Artur Liebhart (Planete + Docfilm Festival, Against Gravity, Poland), Leo Cordero (Mantarraya, Mexico)

How can the visibility of cultural and geographical diversity in film production be increased worldwide? Is additional networking and cooperation among committed distributors necessary?

Panel moderator: Vincenzo Bugno / World Cinema Fund


The World Cinema Fund is an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin International Film Festival in cooperation with the Federal Foreign Office and with further support by the Goethe Institute.



Press Office
February 6, 2015

Download Press Release, PDF (212 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

World Cinema Fund

06.02.2015:
World Cinema Fund:
WCF-Day am 11. Februar stellt neue Initiativen vor und lädt zu zwei Diskussionsrunden ein

Der World Cinema Fund (WCF), der im Oktober 2014 sein zehnjähriges Bestehen feierte, wächst und ergänzt sein Förderangebot. Im vergangenen Jahr konnten neue Initiativen befördert und die Existenz des WCF für weitere Jahre abgesichert werden.

Der WCF wurde 2004 als Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes (KSB) und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele gegründet und hat sich schnell als eine der führenden Institutionen im Bereich der internationalen Filmförderung anspruchsvoller Produktionen etabliert. 2005 kam das Goethe-Institut als Kooperationspartner hinzu. Mit dem Jahr 2015 verstärkt das Auswärtige Amt sein direktes Engagement und wird neben der KSB ein Hauptförderer des WCF.

Seit 2004 hat der WCF Produktions- bzw. Verleihförderung an insgesamt 124 Projekte unter 2.364 Einreichungen aus Afrika, Lateinamerika, dem Nahen / Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien, dem Kaukasus und den Ländern Nepal, Bangladesch und Sri Lanka vergeben. Alle bisher produzierten WCF-Filme liefen im Kino und / oder in den Programmen renommierter internationaler Filmfestivals und belegen den internationalen Erfolg der Initiative.

WCF-geförderte Filme bei der Berlinale 2015

Auch das Programm der Berlinale 2015 zeugt von den Erfolgen des WCF. Fünf vom WCF-geförderte Filme laufen im Festivalprogramm.

Wettbewerb: Cha và con và (Unsere sonnigen Tage) von Phan Dang Di aus Vietnam
Forum: Abaabi ba boda boda (The Boda Boda Thieves) vom Kollektiv „Yes! That’s us“ (Uganda / Südafrika / Kenia) und Al-wadi (The Valley) von Ghassan Salhab (Libanon)
NATIVe: Hamaca Paraguaya (Paraguayan Hammock) von Paz Encina (Paraguay 2006) und Madeinusa von Claudia Llosa (Peru 2006)

WCF Europe
Die neue WCF-Initiative WCF Europe wird ab 2015 mit der zusätzlichen Finanzierung des Creative-Europe-MEDIA-Programms der europäischen Kommission ermöglicht. Damit kann der WCF seine Tätigkeit außerhalb der bestehenden Grenzen erweitern und auch europäische Partner direkt involvieren.
Ziel des neuen Programms ist auch die Förderung von künstlerisch überzeugenden Projekten, die im Rahmen von Koproduktionen aus Ländern entstehen, so genannte „small players“, die bis jetzt international kaum oder nicht besonders aktiv waren. Mit WCF Europe möchte der WCF zu einer zusätzlichen geographisch-ökonomischen Demokratisierung der Produktionslandschaft beitragen.
Auch das WCF-Verleihförderprogramm wird durch WCF Europe ergänzt. Damit wird die Sichtbarkeit von Filmen aus WCF-Regionen und -Ländern nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern außerhalb und innerhalb Europas gefördert.

WCF-Day, Mittwoch, 11. Februar 2015, 11:00 Uhr
Filmmuseum Berlin – Deutsche Kinemathek, Potsdamerstr. 2, 4.OG

Der WCF lädt alle WCF-Freunde sowie internationale Branchen- und Pressevertreter und das Publikum zum WCF-Day am 11. Februar 2015 ein. Nach der Begrüßung durch Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick, WCF-Projektmanager Vincenzo Bugno und Lutz Nitsche (Kulturstiftung des Bundes) wird Antje Glawe (WCF) das Projekt WCF on Demand vorstellen.

WCF on Demand
Mit WCF on Demand stellt der WCF eine Auswahl von zehn geförderten Filmen im Rahmen einer Video-on-Demand-Plattform interessierten Zuschauern weltweit zur Verfügung. Kooperationspartner und Fördermittelgeber des WCF bei diesem Projekt ist die Kulturstiftung des Bundes (KSB).

Im Anschluss an die Präsentation finden zwei Podiumsdiskussionen des WCF statt (in englischer Sprache).

Panel-Diskussion 1, 11:30 Uhr
Not only about cinema / Accepting the challenge

Dealing with Fundamentalism, tolerance, freedom of expression
Mit Viola Shafik (Regisseurin, Filmwissenschaftlerin, Ägypten – Deutschland), Sepideh Farsi (Regisseurin, Iran - Frankreich), Ala Al-Hamarneh (Center for Research on the Arab World CERAW, Universität Mainz, Jordanien - Deutschland); Cristina Nord (Filmkritikerin, Die Tageszeitung, Deutschland), Alin Öjeni Tasçiyan (Filmkritikerin, Türkei)

Wann ist Kunst als Opposition aufzufassen, wann als Tabubruch, wann als ethische Verletzung? Wer bestimmt das und unter welchen Umständen? Kunst als Grenzüberschreitung: Ein (historischer) filmischer und nicht filmischer Versuch.

Panel-Diskussion 2, 13:00 Uhr
Priority: Distribution

Visibility of cinema from Latin America, Africa, Middle East and other regions in Europe and outside of Europe
Mit Jan de Clercq (Lumière Films, Belgien), Alaa Karkouti (MAD Solutions, Ägypten), Artur Liebhart (Planete + Docfilm Festival, Against Gravity, Polen), Leo Cordero (Mantarraya, Mexiko)

Wie kann man die kulturelle und geographische Vielseitigkeit der Filmproduktion weltweit zunehmend sichtbar machen? Ist eine zusätzliche Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit zwischen engagierten Verleihern notwendig?

Moderation der Panels: Vincenzo Bugno / World Cinema Fund


Der World Cinema Fund ist eine Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, in Kooperation mit dem Auswärtigen Amt sowie weiterer Unterstützung durch das Goethe-Institut.



Presseabteilung
6. Februar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (219 KB)