Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2015

Awards

Jan 27, 2015:
Berlinale Camera 2015 to Honour Naum Kleiman

Since 1986 the Berlin International Film Festival has presented the Berlinale Camera to film personalities or institutions to which it feels particularly indebted and wishes to express its thanks.

At the 65th Berlin International Film Festival, film historian and former director of the Moscow Film Museum Naum Kleiman will be awarded the Berlinale Camera.

Born in 1937 in Kishinev (now Moldova), film historian, author, lecturer and curator Naum Kleiman is one of the most important advocates of film culture in contemporary Russia. He was co-founder of the legendary Eisenstein Archives, and their director from 1967 to 1985. In 1989 he founded the Moscow Cinema Museum, the Musei Kino, whose director he became in 1992. In these years of upheaval, it was a place of great significance for Moscow and an entire generation of young Russian filmmakers. In 2005 the Cinema Museum lost its premises due to a property scandal and since then has only existed as an archive. From 2005 up into 2014, Naum Kleiman and his team fought for a new building. With unflagging commitment, they kept the “Cinema Museum in exile” alive by organising almost daily screenings in movie theatres and museums all over Moscow. In July 2014, the Russian culture minister replaced Kleiman with a pro-government director. In protest at how the new director was managing the museum, the entire staff resigned in October 2014.

As a scholar Naum Kleiman has published extensively on, e.g., the work of Sergei Eisenstein, film theory and the history of Soviet and Russian cinema. He has received numerous awards, including a FIPRESCI Prize (1987) for the retrospectives he organised during the Moscow International Film Festival, the French L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (1992), a “Felix” from the European Film Academy (EFA, 1993), as well as a Goethe Medal (1995). Kleiman has been on juries at many film festivals worldwide, including the International Jury of the Berlinale Competition. For years he was also an advisor and active supporter of the Berlinale’s Forum section.

The presentation of the Berlinale Camera to Naum Kleiman will take place at the Delphi Filmpalast at 4.30 pm on February 12, 2015. To celebrate the occasion, Tatiana Brandrup’s documentary Cinema: A Public Affair (2015) about Kleiman and events leading up to his dismissal will be screened afterwards.

The Berlinale Camera has been awarded since 1986. Until 2003 it was donated by Berlin-based jeweller David Goldberg. From 2004 through 2013 Georg Hornemann Objects, a Dusseldorf-based atelier, sponsored the trophy, which goldsmith Hornemann then redesigned for the Berlinale in 2008: Modelled on a real camera, the Berlinale Camera has 128 finely crafted individual components. Many of these silver and titanium parts, such as the swivel head and tripod, are movable.


Press Office
January 27, 2015

Download PressRelease (130 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2015

Preise und Ehrungen

27.01.2015:
Berlinale Kamera 2015: Ehrung für Naum Kleiman

Mit der Berlinale Kamera zeichnen die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin seit 1986 Filmpersönlichkeiten oder Institutionen aus, denen sie sich besonders verbunden fühlen und denen sie mit dieser Ehrung ihren Dank ausdrücken möchten.

Bei den 65. Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin wird der Filmhistoriker und ehemalige Leiter des Moskauer Filmmuseums Naum Kleiman mit der Berlinale Kamera geehrt.

Der 1937 in Kischinijow im heutigen Moldawien geborene Filmhistoriker, Publizist, Dozent und Kurator Naum Kleiman ist einer der bedeutendsten Verfechter der Filmkultur im heutigen Russland. Er war Mitbegründer und von 1967 bis 1985 Leiter des legendären Sergei-Eisenstein-Archivs. 1989 gründete er die Moskauer Cinemathek, das Musej Kino, dessen Leitung er 1992 übernahm. Dieser Ort hatte große Bedeutung für das Moskau der Wendejahre und eine ganze Generation junger russischer Filmschaffender. 2005 wurde das Musej Kino Opfer eines Immobilienskandals und existiert seither nur noch als Archiv. Von 2005 bis 2014 kämpften Naum Kleiman und sein Team darum, ein neues Gebäude zu erhalten. Mit unermüdlichem Engagement hielten sie die „Cinemathek im Exil“ am Leben, indem sie nahezu täglich Filmvorstellungen in Kinos und Museen in ganz Moskau organisierten. Im Juli 2014 wurde Naum Kleiman vom russischen Kulturminister durch eine regierungstreue Direktorin ersetzt. Unter Protest gegen deren Geschäftsführung trat im Oktober des Jahres die gesamte Belegschaft von ihren Posten zurück.

Naum Kleiman publizierte umfangreich zum Werk Sergei Eisensteins, zur Filmtheorie und zur Geschichte des sowjetischen und russischen Kinos. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter einen FIPRESCI-Preis für seine Retrospektiven im Rahmen des Moscow International Film Festivals (1987), den französischen L'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (1992), den „Felix“ der European Film Academy, EFA (1993) sowie eine Goethe-Medaille (1995). Naum Kleiman war Mitglied in zahlreichen Jurys internationaler Filmfestivals, u.a. 1993 in der Wettbewerbsjury der Berlinale. Dem Forum der Berlinale stand er viele Jahre als Berater und tatkräftiger Helfer zur Seite.

Die Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an Naum Kleiman findet am 12. Februar 2015 um 16:30 Uhr im Delphi Filmpalast statt. Im Anschluss wird der Dokumentarfilm Cinema: A Public Affair von Tatiana Brandrup gezeigt.

Die Berlinale Kamera wird seit 1986 verliehen. Bis 2003 war der Berliner Juwelier David Goldberg Stifter dieser Auszeichnung. In den Jahren 2004 bis 2013 übernahm das Düsseldorfer Atelier Georg Hornemann Objects die Stiftung des Preises und im Rahmen der Berlinale 2008 wurde die Trophäe vom Goldschmiedekünstler Hornemann neu gestaltet: Die Berlinale Kamera besteht aus 128 Einzelteilen und ist einer realen Filmkamera nachempfunden. Viele der Silber und Titanteile von Schwenkkopf bis Stativ sind beweglich.


Presseabteilung
27. Januar 2015

Download Pressemitteilung (168 KB)